This business is not BBB accredited.

Imperial Landscapes of Colorado LLC

Phone: (970) 682-9943 2519 W County Road 60E, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.imperiallandscapesofcoloradoco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business does landscape contracting.


BBB Accreditation

On 11/17/2015 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Imperial Landscapes of Colorado LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Imperial Landscapes of Colorado LLC include:

  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Imperial Landscapes of Colorado LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 27, 2013 Business started: 08/14/2013 Business incorporated 08/14/2013 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Virginia Barragan, Owner Mr. James Diaz, Field Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Virginia Barragan, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscaping Clean-Up - Spring & Fall Landscape Designers Lawn Care Companies Concrete Contractors Custom Concrete Companies Patio & Deck Builders Patio Design Patio Builder Deck Builder Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Sprinkler Companies Fence Contractors Fountains - Garden, Display Water Garden Fountain Suppliers Landscape Lighting Companies Irrigation Systems - Install/Design Irrigation Systems - Maintenance/Repair Snow Removal Service - Commercial Snow Removal Service - Roof Fences - Vinyl Fences - Wood Lawn Installers Contractors - Retaining Wall

Service Area
Larimer and Weld counties
Industry Tips
BBB Tips for Finding Trustworthy Deck Builders BBB Tips for Finding Trustworthy Fence Builders Hiring a Contractor How to Give Concrete Contractors the Stamp of Approval How to Hire Landscape Pro Tips for Hiring a Lawn Irrigation Installation Contractor Tips on Hiring Lawn-Care Professionals

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Imperial Landscapes of Colorado LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2519 W County Road 60E

    Fort Collins, CO 80524

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 24, 2015 I had Imperial give me an estimate for demoing my backyard alone with putting in sprinklers, rock and sod. They gave a reasonable price and at the time I felt very happy with them. We chose to go with them, with an estimated date of May 15th to start the project. May 15th came and I never heard from the company at all. I wrote them asking when they would start and told them it needed to be done by the end of June due to vacations. They no called, no showed several times. Finally when they showed up the week before our vacation, I told him they needed to leave because they were not going to get the job done in time. He threatened to sue me and proceeded to cuss me out. I left and he hastily threw together our sprinklers and sod without finishing the demo, or properly hooking up our sprinkler clock, just so I had to pay him. We were not satisfied with his work and contacted him to finish the demo which he did poorly and called him to replace sod that never took due to him not adjusting the sprinklers. Also the grass he installed was full of weeds and we asked him to fix this. He gave us a bag of fertilizer to spread ourselves because he was to hurried to do the job correctly! The grass has continued to die and the ground has started to sink. We decided to replace the sod ourselves this time and look at the sprinklers. The sprinklers were not installed correctly causing every single head to be leaking. We also found a sprinkler head he installed under the sod he planted which had never popped up and he failed to notice or care! We are currently in the process of having to re-do every sprinkler head to stop the leaking and further damage to our yard after we have already paid a "professional" company to do the work. I am very upset by his work and hope other people do not fall into his scams.

Desired Settlement: We have contacted James to fix issues and he will either cuss us out or blame the issue on us. We have pictures and e-mails documenting all of this. He is not professional and I want nothing to do with him anymore. What he did to our property has been a mess. I would like him to refund us our money or pay for the expenses we have occurred due to his horrible job.

8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1.This company gave me a bid for fencing, rock and edging. I paid 80% of the bid in April but the job was not completed until 6/15/14. 2. They installed the fence but put the gates on backwards. The construction of the gates and latches was so poor I had to have someone come out with a crowbar to open them. My neighbors were appalled at the poor construction and the backward installation of the gates. They still do not work properly as they were improperly constructed and installed. 3. The original bid called for rock and edging along the north and west side of the house. When the job was started we changed the location of the rock and edging to the west side only. This called for even less edging than I originally paid for. No edging was used against the fence line on the west side where the rock was placed. I complained about this to the representative, ***** ****. He told me it wasn't necessary. This is crazy. Now all of the rock is sliding in to the neighbors yard and the HOA has specified that I have to put edging there to keep the rock in place.

Desired Settlement: I have paid for incomplete and very poor workmanship. This company needs to finish the job by installing edging along the west fenceline, putting the gates on correctly and repairing the latches so that the gates open and close properly. Otherwise there needs to be monetary compensation so I can have someone come out and do the job correctly.

Business Response: A copy of the contract was forwarded to our customer for her to revise and give ample time for any questions she may have in regards to the content.  Our contract does specify a 25% retention fee is due at the time of signing the contract. Few days later the contract was signed our customer already had the check made out to our company she indicated that instead of having to rewrite another check just to apply the rest to her balance.  Our costumer had full knowledge of our schedule being booked until July and we never received no indication our
costumer had any problem with the date scheduled.  We actually ended up completing her project a month before the scheduled date.  After the project was completed our customer didn’t contact us with any fencing difficulties even though this is covered on our 1 year material and labor warranty.  We actually thought our costumer was very satisfied since we received from her a copy of a bid from our competitors which she wanted us to outbid.  We will provide our services to rectify the edging along the fence line, gates and latches even though this would have been take care off before the damage with the crowbar was retained if the costumer would have contacted us sooner.  For our part we do apologize for any inconvenience this has cause our customer.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

There is no damage to my fence due to a crow bar.  It was so poorly constructed that it took 2 people and a crowbar to open it.  I did try to contact ***** at Imperial Landscapes via e-mail but I received no response.  I feel this is a business that makes false promises.  Now I am left with a poorly constructed fence and gates that are on backwards.

I also tried to talk to him about the edging, which WAS part of the bid and I never received.  He just gave me a lame explanation via email that no one else has it, which is highly incorrect. So now my rock is spilling in to my neighbors yard since there is no edging to contain it.

I feel this is a company that does poor work and does not stand behind their word.  I did not receive what I paid for in the bid.  It was stated in their response that it would be fixed.  I have yet to hear from or see anyone at my property to make things right.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: We had been waiting for our customer to accept us going to her residence and apply the necessary items to her landscape.  We will be there Sunday to relocate the latches and install edging along the fence.  We have sent her an email as well as per us being at her residence on Sunday.  I apologize for any inconvenience.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Imperial Landscapes of Colorado LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart