This business is not BBB accredited.

Sather's Leading Jewelers Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 223-0256 Fax: (970) 223-0320 300 E Foothills Pkwy, Fort Collins, CO 80525 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.sathersjewelers.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Sather's Leading Jewelers Inc include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Sather's Leading Jewelers Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sather's Leading Jewelers Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 15, 1987 Business started: 10/15/1987 Business started locally: 10/15/1987 Business incorporated 04/01/1975 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Sid Sather, President Ms. Julie Brown, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Julie Brown, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Sid Sather, President
Business Category

Retail Jewelers Watch Band Suppliers Watch Dealers Jewelry Repair Stores Jewelry Designers Jewelry Engravers Diamond Dealers


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    300 E Foothills Pkwy

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 270128

    Fort Collins, CO 80527

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Very unfortunate end to our relationship.In a business where reputation is everything Sather's jewlers is NOT REPUTABLE and will not uphold their promises.We've been a customer of Sather's for 5 years. We've bought SEVERAL pieces of including a $1700 engagement ring. When we were sold the engagement ring, we were given a brochure entitled "Your Diamond Bygung Guide, Sathers Leading Jewlers", stapled to our receipt. Inside of this brochure there is a section that specifically states the following:Lifetime Diamond Warranty:- Free replacement of your diamond if it separates from it's mounting and it is lost.- Full trade-in from privilege on a larger diamond.-Free Cleaning and Inspection.That's our promise to you....for life.In addition, at the time of purchase of our ring, I specifically remember the owner reviewing this section with me and telling me we were covered.We've religiously been bringing our rings in every 6 months for a routine cleaning. This past month when we brought our ring in, that's when our relationship went sour. The sales person unknowingly noticed that we had not purchased a warranty on our ring and tried to sell us one. When I brought up the "Lifetime Diamond Warranty" brochure that I had gotten at the time of sale and even had explained to me while I was in the store, she stated that it did not apply to the ring we purchased. Very puzzled, I requested that a manager called me the next day.The next day a sales representative called me. I carefully explained our situation she took the information down and told me that she would get back to me, no problems there. The next day the owner got back to me. As a long standing customer, I have never been treated with so much disrespect before. Her exact words to you were "did it ever register to you inside of your head that you specifically purchased warranties" on other jewelry you had purchased from us. I quickly terminated the conversation and told her she just lost a customer.To summarize:- False advertising- TerribVery unfortunate end to our relationship.In a business where reputation is everything Sather's jewelers is NOT REPUTABLE and will not uphold their promises.We've been a customer of Sather's for 5 years. We've bought SEVERAL pieces of including a $1700 engagement ring. When we were sold the engagement ring, we were given a brochure entitled "Your Diamond Buying Guide, Sathers Leading Jewelers", stapled to our receipt. Inside of this brochure there is a section that specifically states the following:Lifetime Diamond Warranty:- Free replacement of your diamond if it separates from its mounting and it is lost.- Full trade-in from privilege on a larger diamond.-Free Cleaning and Inspection.That's our promise to you....for life.In addition, at the time of purchase of our ring, I specifically remember the owner reviewing this section with me and telling me we were covered.We've religiously been bringing our rings in every 6 months for a routine cleaning. This past month when we brought our ring in, that's when our relationship went sour. The sales person unknowingly noticed that we had not purchased a warranty on our ring and tried to sell us one. When I brought up the "Lifetime Diamond Warranty" brochure that I had gotten at the time of sale and even had explained to me while I was in the store, she stated that it did not apply to the ring we purchased. Very puzzled, I requested that a manager called me the next day.The next day a sales representative called me. I carefully explained our situation she took the information down and told me that she would get back to me, no problems there. The next day the owner got back to me. As a long standing customer, I have never been treated with so much disrespect before. Her exact words to you were "did it ever register to you inside of your head that you specifically purchased warranties" on other jewelry you had purchased from us. I quickly terminated the conversation and told her she just lost a customer.To summarize:- False advertising- Terrible management- Does not honor sales agreements

Desired Settlement: Paid in full insurance for our ring through an independent insurer to replace the "Lifetime Diamond Warranty" in our paperwork.

Business Response: Sather's is certainly sorry for the misunderstanding regarding "Lifetime Diamond Replacements".   We have several lines that this is available on at either no charge or for purchase.  Hearts On Fire is not one of the designers that offers this warranty from the Designer directly or from our company. 

This has never been offered in our company history for Hearts On Fire diamonds and jewelry, we are sorry if the customer understood this was available.  This particular client DID receive both the complimentary warranty and the Extended warranty on the jewelry item it is offered on. 

With all jewelry purchases, we do suggest to our clients they add the items to their homeowners, renters or jewelers block policies.  We offer a complimentary Jewelry appraisal for this purpose on each jewelry item purchased in our store.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I am sorry but we have paperwork from Sather's that we received at the time of purchase that states the following:


[Quote]
Lifetime Diamond Warranty:
- Free replacement of your diamond if it separates from its mounting and it is lost.
- Full trade-in from privilege on a larger diamond.
-Free Cleaning and Inspection.
That's our promise to you....for life.
[End Quote]

There is NO statement in our paperwork that says that this warranty does not apply to the product we purchased.  In fact, we were specifically told about this warranty at the time of purchase and did not see the need to purchase any additional warranties for this particular purchase.  We feel mislead at the point of purchase and there is no evidence that contradicts our claim in our paperwork.

Regards,
***** ********

Business Response: Again,   We are sorry this client felt mislead.  We do not feel they were told verbally or in writing that this specific designer had a diamond replacement warranty.  The information regarding this designer's warranty can be found at Heartsonfire.com.  We generally work with our clients on several lines, so we understand where they could have understood all warranties on all designers we carry are the same.   This is why at the time of purchase they are giving all warranties in writing that correspond specifically to the exact item that was purchased.  

On the item where the warranty was available, they received it.    On the Hearts On Fire item that a warranty was not available, they did not receive it.   We are consistent  with this on a daily basis. 

This misunderstanding is unfortunate for both parties and not intentional.  

***** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Again, I would like to re-iterate that we have paperwork received at the time of purchase and created as an initial attachment (and again to this message), stating that we have a lifetime warranty for this particular purchase/item.  It does not state any exceptions or limitations regarding Hearts on Fire diamonds.  Furthermore, this paperwork was verbally reviewed with us at the time of purchase and read verbatim.  We feel that this is enough evidence to constitute a legally binding sales contract.

We would like Sather's to honor their commitment as stated in their "Diamond Buying Guide" brochure.  Furthermore, since a breach of trust/ respect has occurred here, as resolution we would like to be compensated for a new warranty to be transferred to a third party insurer by our choosing.
 

Regards,

***** ********