Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Santa Fe Craftsman

Phone: (970) 224-1415 View Additional Phone Numbers 118 N College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.santafecraftsman.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Retail Store specializing in Southwestern Art . We are your online source for Native American jewelry, American Indian jewelry, Kokopelli, Navajo jewelry, Southwestern jewelry, Native American pottery, Southwestern pottery, sand paintings, Zuni art and more. Much of our merchandise is handmade by American Indians, primarily of the Navajo, Hopi, and Zuni tribes. But other tribes such as Santa Domingo, Santa Clara, Acomo, and Cherokee are also represented.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Santa Fe Craftsman meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Santa Fe Craftsman include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Santa Fe Craftsman
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 19, 2010 Business started: 11/01/1990 in GA Business started locally: 08/01/2003 Business incorporated 03/07/2013 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Dianna Criswell, Marketing Manager Mr. Robert Criswell, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Dianna Criswell, Marketing Manager
Principal: Mr. Robert Criswell, Owner
Business Category

Retail Jewelers Pottery Stores Shoe Retailers Souvenir Shops Online Shopping Sites Art Supplies Collectible Stores Gift Shops Home Accessories Home Decor, Accessories & Gifts - Online Retailer Hat Stores

Products & Services

Santa Fe Craftsman offers the following product(s): Call of the Wolves, Moccasins, Native American Art, Painted Ponies, Santa Fe Art , Santa Fe Jewelry, Southwestern Art, Turquoise, Wolf Statues

Refund and Exchange Policy
Exchange or store credit only
Service Area
Fort Collins

Additional Locations

  • 118 N College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 224-1415

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fianc recently purchased me two items from Santa Fe Craftsman. Upon checkout he asked the sales associate if he could have gift receipts with his purchases because he wasn't sure I would like the items. The sales woman replied "Sorry, we only have regular receipts." He was never told of their "No Refund" policy at time of purchase. He gave me the items and I was not happy with the quality of one of the items (not to mention it was $15 more from Santa Fe Craftsman then it was online). He promptly checked the website for Santa Fe Craftsman and it says: "Customer Satisfaction is Our Mission! If you are unsatisfied with your purchase for any reason, simply return the item in the original condition and packaging along with the receipt for a full refund within 30 days. We will replace the item or credit your credit card for the amount of the purchase, less any shipping charges. The original shipping charges are not refundable. However, if we make an error that causes additional shipping charges, we will pay the charges. The returned item must be in its original condition (new and unworn)." Since I had not worn the item, it still had it's original tags and we had the receipt we went to the location in Fort Collins to make a return. Upon entry we were treated poorly by one of their employees. When my fianc went to the checkout he was greeted by the same sales woman who sold him the items. He said that I did not like the one of the two items he purchased and he wanted to return it. It was then that he was told the return policy: No refunds, exchange only. He was very upset however held his composure. After he debated that online it said we could return it for our money back he was told "that is only for online purchases only." This is not stated on their website anywhere. All we want is out money back for the item because their return policy was NOT made clear, even when my fianc asked about it!

Desired Settlement: We would like the full cash refund from our purchase. We currently have the money on gift card that we have no intentions of using, and would like to return the gift card to get the original amount in the same form of payment back. The item was already returned unused with tags and original receipt.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaint filed by ********* ******. Ms. ****** is correct that Santa Fe Craftsman's return policy is exchange or store credit only, no refunds. This policy is posted prominently on the cash register next to the amount display and the wall behind the cash register station clearly visible to customers. The policy is repeated in writing on the cash register receipts which Ms. ******'s fianc (sic) received. 

Our staff is trained to explain the policy whenever asked. While I was not present to hear my representative, **** ******, respond to the customer, I have observed and listened to her numerous times during the one year plus she has been employed and can state that I have never heard her misstate the policy, Ms. ****** has assured me that she honestly told the customer that his purchase could be returned for exchange or store credit. Ms. ****** was not present at the purchase, so did not hear the conversation. But Ms. ****** was involved in the transaction and has included a statement detailing what transpired. Please note that our policy and the methods we use to communicate that policy exceed any requirements of the State of Colorado. We pride ourselves on going far beyond the minimum in customer service and satisfaction. 

When Ms. ******'s fiance (or boyfriend or husband, all three used to identify him) came into the store to return the merchandise Ms. ****** again informed him of the policy. The boyfriend became abusive to the point an assistant manager was called in to handle his complaint, Since neither employee is authorized to issue refunds, it was suggested that the owner be contacted and would be available on Tuesday. When the boyfriend did not immediately get a refund he interfered with other customers and used foul language, necessitating being asked to cease or leave. He then became even more abusive, driving the assistant manager to flee to the back room. Ms. ******'s assertion that her fiance held his composure is false. I will not abide a man (or woman) bullying my employees or using abusive language in front of staff and customers. But I will honor the store credit we issued. However, the fiance can only enter the store when I am present and will be charged with disorderly conduct if he repeats his boorish behavior. It probably would be advisable if Ms. ****** left him behind. 

Ms. ****** makes much of the fact that our return policy on our website is different from in the physical store. We have a different policy on line because the customer cannot try on merchandise the find online and computer monitors display colors differently and beyond our control. We ship all web sales and did not ship anything to Ms. ****** or her fiance. Purchases made on line are different than purchases made in the person and are treated differently. In this case the customer and his fiance ask us to believe that they did not read either of the two signs in the store, the message on their receipt, or listen to the response of the salesperson when queried, but did go online before returning the merchandise. I suspect they were searching for an excuse to circumvent the return policy.

Our in store price is $0.95 higher than the online web price but does not have a six to nine dollar shipping charge. We can price our products in the store at any level but Minnetonka Moccasin has a policy of suggested retail only on web sales. I searched online for the identical purse Ms. ****** claims to have found for $15.00 less and could not find it. I did find an EBay seller selling the same style, different color purse for $12.00 less but could not discover if it was new or used. But I was assured by my Minnetonka representative that it was not an authorized dealer. Either way it i comparing apples to oranges.

Ms. ****** also questions the quality of the product. The item in question was manufactured by Minnetonka Moccasin Company, a 60 plus year old company with a sterling reputation. When she and her fiance returned the purse no mention was made of the quality but we would be happy to exchange it for another one. That is one of the advantages of buying from an authorized dealer rather than an anonymous EBay seller.

Again thank you for the opportunity to respond to the baseless complaints.

Robert Criswell
President
Santa Fe Craftsman

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

My fiance never threatened or "became abusive" with any of your staff. Your manager called him an "*******." The  way you do business is ridiculous and we will never shop in your store and we will be sure to let everyone know how you do service. My fiance obviously didn't see the sign because it's very small - and when he asked about gift receipts he should have been informed about your no returns policy but he wasn't. You clearly do not know how to do business and I am appalled at your response. Especially when the woman my fiance talked to on the phone seemed a lot more apologetic for your your employees comment and went on about how she's having seizures and that is why she called him an "*******." I am not quite sure what goes on at your place of business but I assure you that we will never shop in your store again.

Regards,

********* ******