BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Front Range Internet Inc (FRII)?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Front Range Internet Inc (FRII)

Phone: (970) 212-0700 Fax: (877) 629-6627 View Additional Phone Numbers 3350 Eastbrook Dr, Fort Collins, CO 80525 http://www.frii.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Front Range Internet Inc (FRII) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Front Range Internet Inc (FRII) include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Front Range Internet Inc (FRII)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 27, 1995 Business started: 08/01/1995 Business started locally: 08/01/1995
Business Management
Mr. William N. Ward, President Mr. William B Ward, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William N. Ward, President
Business Category

Internet Service Providers Web Designers Web Hosting Companies Online Phone Companies


Additional Locations

  • 3350 Eastbrook Dr

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 212-0700 (970) 224-3668 (303) 448-5599 (719) 448-9300 (800) 935-6527

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (303) 448-5599(Phone)
  • (719) 448-9300(Phone)
  • (800) 935-6527(Phone)
  • (970) 224-3668(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Impossible to get any kind of consistent service on e-mail since new upgraded system was installed Frii.com will not answer the phone or return e-mail The upgrade process has been ongoing for approximately 2 weeks, with the service unreliable, slow, or non-existent. There seems to be no end in sight. What was supposed to be a "seamless" transition has become a nightmare for e-mail customers. Front Range customer service cannot provide adequate explanations or resolutions for the continuing problems, assuming one is even able to reach a technician in less than a 3-4 hour hold time on the telephone. Service will work for a few hours and then everything comes to a near standstill, causing a 30 minute wait for mail to go through. The only consistent outlet for complaints is on Front Range's Facebook page, where there is really no constructive input provided by the company. There is a total lack of concern for customer issues. It is most frustrating to attempt to conduct business while relying on such erratic service. I have never seen a company show this lack of concern for customers in over 69 years.

Desired Settlement: refund of fee's covering the time period of problems (2 weeks + as of today )and a restoration of reliable service and a sincere apology from company president on the internet and to us personally

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
now we find out that our neighborhood news letter is on hold from the webmaster" The problem in sending out the email we agreed to is with Frii, the company that manages our list. They are going through a changeover in software which has temporarily halted their system. I am very frustrated and dissatisfied with their performance however at the moment we are hostage to their failings. This email will go out as soon as they are able to function again. Sorry for the delay.
*****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

BBB Comments: Business Response:
Front Range Internet, Inc planned and migrated email services from our old email platform to a new more secure service on Wednesday june 26, 2013. The migration did not go as planned and email service were disrupted due to a system performance issue affected some of our customer base. Service disruptions continued while we isolated the issue and attempted to return service. At no point were all of our email customers without service although at points during a business day problems would have been experienced. Some customers who had not read the the instructions for changing email client configurations would not have received email. The volume of calls requesting support was more than our system could handle and customers had extremely long wait times for service. Although the timing of this migration is being questioned at no time would this have been right for all customers. Had this migration been handled on a weekend we would not have known until Monday there was a problem which could have been worse than the issues experienced. FRII has sent a sincere apology letter to all customers and will provide a one month refund to customers who request.

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The new email system is inoperative. They are not responding to calls or emails. The new email system went into effect on June 29. Since then, I have not received any email. I called on July 5, and was on hold for 2 hours before giving up. I emailed them on July 5, 9, and 10 for help. I have called them twice on July 10 and have been placed into voice mail after being on hold for too long. I have been a customer since 1998, and pay a high price for email, since I have not used the dial up service that is attached to the account in several years.

Desired Settlement: I want to be contacted, and have the issue resolved immediately. EVERY person from the top to the bottom needs to be answering calls and emails until people can use their email again. If nothing else, they need to revert to the old email system until they can figure out how to properly implement the new one. I feel that EVERY person who has been inconvenienced by this interruption deserves a refund of one month of service, since it has been almost half of the month without service.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/15) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** * ****** CIO Contact Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@frii.com Front Range Internet, Inc planned and migrated email services from our old email platform to a new more secure service on Wednesday june 26, 2013. The migration did not go as planned and email service were disrupted due to a system performance issue affected some of our customer base. Service disruptions continued while we isolated the issue and attempted to return service. At no point were all of our email customers without service although at points during a business day problems would have been experienced. Some customers who had not read the the instructions for changing email client configurations would not have received email. The volume of calls requesting support was more than our system could handle and customers had extremely long wait times for service. Although the timing of this migration is being questioned at no time would this have been right for all customers. Had this migration been handled on a weekend we would not have known until Monday there was a problem which could have been worse than the issues experienced. FRII has sent a sincere apology letter to all customers and will provide a one month refund to customers who request.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Disrupted service for over 3 wks. No response to voicemail or email. Unable to talk to anyone. Hold times for 3+ hours with no response to messages. On June 26, FRII started a changeover of the entire server which required new equipment. We had no email service from Wednesday 6/26 through Monday 7/1. When service resumed, it was disrupted, inconsistent, and caused us to implement inefficient "work around" solutions just to be able to send and receive email - a key component to our business. It is literally impossible to speak to anyone. If you call Tech Support, hold times were over 3-4 hours for several days. Then they started putting you through to voice mail if you were holding more than a half hour. The voice mail says someone will get back to you. I have waited on hold, collectively, for over 12 HOURS trying to get in touch with someone at the company. I have left 3 voice mails. No one has ever responded to me. I have sent multiple email requests for someone to contact me. Both the voice mail and email systems say that someone will get back to you within 24 hours, yet I have been unable to reach anyone, in any department, for almost 3 weeks now. This disruption in service, combined with the lack of communication or ability to talk to anyone at FRII has caused our company serious distress, and potentially has cost us customers. Communication is the key to a successful real estate business, and FRII has taken our ability to communicate away from us since June 26. I would like to change service, but am unable to do so until I can talk to someone at FRII to get the necessary settings to change it over. We feel like slaves to FRII and have no communication with them.

Desired Settlement: I want someone to call or email me with our DNS Settings so that I can switch out of FRII and not be subject to this incredibly unacceptable service any longer.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/15) */ Front Range Internet, Inc planned and migrated email services from our old email platform to a new more secure service on Wednesday june 26, 2013. The migration did not go as planned and email service were disrupted due to a system performance issue affected some of our customer base. Service disruptions continued while we isolated the issue and attempted to return service. At no point were all of our email customers without service although at points during a business day problems would have been experienced. Some customers who had not read the the instructions for changing email client configurations would not have received email. The volume of calls requesting support was more than our system could handle and customers had extremely long wait times for service. Although the timing of this migration is being questioned at no time would this have been right for all customers. Had this migration been handled on a weekend we would not have known until Monday there was a problem which could have been worse than the issues experienced. FRII has sent a sincere apology letter to all customers and will provide a one month refund to customers who request. ***** was contacted with her DNS settings as requested.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Email service failure. FRII did a system mirgration at 10am on a Wednesday. Right in the middle of a busy work week. I could not email my customers and could not receive emails. I could not receive orders from my customers. At 7pm the system was still not operating properly. This cost me money. Well calling their support line their line was busy and when you could get through there was 35+ people in the call Q. We were only given a few days warning of this system change and that it would be a short changeover. I've never seen any business do a system mirgration where they take their customers off line in the middle of a business day. Clearly FRII does not get the customer service thing. MY DAY was a totally trashed and it did not need to be. They should have done this move on the weekend.

Desired Settlement: I think every customer should receive one month credit plus the CEO needs to send out an email on who made such a stupid decision and why along with a sincere apology.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/09) */ Front Range Internet, Inc. planned and conducted the migration of email services from our old email platform to a new, more secure service on Wednesday, June 26, 2013. Two days before that, on Monday, June 24, 2013, we emailed notification of the planned migration to our customers. The migration did not go as planned; email service was disrupted due a system performance issue which affected some of our customer base. Service issues continued while we isolated the issue and worked to return service. At no point were all of our email customers without service, although problems would have been experienced at various times as we worked on the issues. The volume of calls requesting support was more than our system could handle and customers had extremely long wait times for service. Mr. ****** sent a fax to FRII on Sunday. He was contacted on Monday and apprised of the issues and time to repair. During this outage we were in contact multiple times with Mr. ******, who was provided with technical support and with feedback from our management team. Although Mr. ******* questions the timing of this migration, there is no time that would have been right for all customers. Had this migration been handled on a weekend, we would not have known until Monday there was a problem. This would have resulted in problems which might have been worse than the issues experienced. FRII has sent a sincere apology letter to all customers and will provide a one month refund if the customer requests Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/07/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) FRII's response makes it sound like this was just a bump in the road for a few customers. It was NOT. This was a disaster for FRII all customers and it went on for a week. A review of the numerous Facebook postings from FRII customers and efforts to get assistance would detail the high level of frustration with FRII. It was at such a level that even the local newspaper reached out to both FRII and FRII customers to get some answers. The FRII front line employees were ALWAYS nice and did their very best to help manage this event for FRII customers but they were overwhelmed. This event was well beyond them as evident by the many hours one would have to wait on hold to get support. I'm disappointed in the CEO and FRII upper management. They still today seem to think this was just a little thing. Clearly it was not. This was a total business disruption for FRII customers for 7 days - it hurt. In addition, giving customers two days notice on a major upgrade and mirgration and doing it in the middle of a busy business day is just stupid. The upgrade became a total failure within hours of the changeover. It took 7 days before we heard from the CEO. This upgrade was poorly planned, poorly executed and poorly communicated. This mess squarely rest with the CEO and senior staff. Regarding the month credit - this is the first time I've heard about it. I have seen no posting on FB, there was no email to me regarding it and there was no credit offer mentioned in the letter from the CEO. And why should I have to REQUEST it - especially after being a customer for over 15 years. Bad things are going to happen when we wrap ourselves around technology and all the devices we use. That's understandable - how FRII managed it was poor and a sad week for both FRII customers and hard working employees. Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/07/23) */ Mr ******* credit has been processed in our system and will be available on the next billing cycle. FRII has sent a sincere apology to all customers who were affected by this outage.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 7 days of interrupted e-mail service, then being unable to get technical support to recover service FRII announced it was changing it's e-mail service, suggesting no interruption. For 6 days after this announcement I had no e-mail service. On the seventh day their recorded telephone message said service had been restored, which in my case it is not. I have been on hold on the telephone for a total of 7 HOURS without being able to speak to a living person to get technical support to resolve the issue so that I once again have e-mail service. I have been hung up on, and they have failed, as promised on their automated telephone system to return calls for technical assistance.

Desired Settlement: I want my service restored, and I don't want to wait another week or more to get it done. So far, based on my status in their service que, it is taking something like 50 minutes per service call. At this rate I will not get this resolved this month.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/09) */ Front Range Internet, Inc planned and migrated email services from our old email platform to a new more secure service on Wednesday june 26, 2013. notification of this change was sent to all customers 48 hours prior. The migration did not go as planned and email service were disrupted due to a system performance issue which affected some of our customer base. Service disruptions continued while we isolated the issue and attempted to return service. At no point were all of our email customers without service although at points during a business day problems would have been experienced. Some customers who had not read the instructions for changing email client configurations would not have received email. The volume of calls requesting support was more than our system could handle and customers had extremely long wait times for service. Although the timing of this migration is being questioned at no time would this have been right for all customers. Had this migration been handled on a weekend we would not have known until Monday there was a problem which could have been worse than the issues experienced. FRII has sent a sincere apology letter to all customers and will provide a one month refund to customers who request.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Stopped my email without any notice. Put on hold for 5 hours one day and 4 hours (so far) today. Told me it would be fixed in 1/2 hour 5 days ago FRII stopped the functioning of my email without notice. It then put me on hold for five hours in their support department, after which I was told there was nothing they could do, that it would be fixed in a few hours. It has been down now for five-six days. I am an attorney and am missing email from clients, from courts, from third parties. Frii has had me on hold for 6 hours now today and I have been "#1 in the que" for the past three hours. I cannot get my email or get anyone to help. I am losing money and clients daily!

Desired Settlement: I want to be reimbursed for my time at my normal hourly rate. I want my email returned to me and all email from any other person or court trying to reach me. I want to get away from this crappy company after I get my stuff so that I can write the world about how bad this company is..I have been with this company for my ISP for approximately 20 years.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/09) */ Front Range Internet, Inc planned and migrated email services from our old email platform to a new more secure service on Wednesday june 26, 2013. notification of this change was sent to all customers 48 hours prior. The migration did not go as planned and email service were disrupted due to a system performance issue which affected some of our customer base. Service disruptions continued while we isolated the issue and attempted to return service. At no point were all of our email customers without service although at points during a business day problems would have been experienced. Some customers who had not read the instructions for changing email client configurations would not have received email. The volume of calls requesting support was more than our system could handle and customers had extremely long wait times for service. Although the timing of this migration is being questioned at no time would this have been right for all customers. Had this migration been handled on a weekend we would not have known until Monday there was a problem which could have been worse than the issues experienced. FRII has sent a sincere apology letter to all customers and will provide a one month refund to customers who request.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: seems service has been discontinued. Starting 3/25/13 there is no email service being provided. I am not sure if they have gone out of business or what. Their web address is no longer functional, when you call for customer service you go to a voice box that is full. There is no message on the phone number that service has gone down for a specific reason. Just left hanging if there is any company there at all anymore. They could have at least informed if there is a planned service downtime or put of message on the phone number to that effect. So I am prepaid for service to them to November 2013. If they have gone out of business I ****** want a refund of unprovided service charges for 7 months.

Desired Settlement: restore service or refund money for unprovided service.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/04/12) */ ****** investigate Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/04/12) */ On 3/25/13 FRII experienced a power surge from the Fort Collins Utility service causing a failure of certain equipment within our network infrastructure. One of these failures caused @frii.com email to be unavailable until later in the day. It was restored and has been available since then. FRII provides email and other Internet services on a best effort basis unless a customer selects a Service Level Agreement (SLA) as part of their contracted service. In the event of an SLA, the customer should notify FRII via email that want to file a claim according to the provisions of the SLA. FRII's SLA provides for compensation based on the failure of network connectivity to the Internet for those who specifically purchase an SLA. The power outage in question did not cause a failure of Internet connectivity as that equipment remained online. While we regret that some email services were unavailable, these services are not covered by an SLA and are provided as best effort. As with many routine Internet services, email cannot be assured to be available all the time by us or our providers.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1