Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

The Housing Authority of the City of Loveland

Phone: (970) 667-3232 Fax: (970) 635-5780 375 W 37th St Ste 200, Loveland, CO 80538 http://www.lovelandhsg.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Housing Authority of the City of Loveland include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Housing Authority of the City of Loveland
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 25, 2002 Business started: 03/22/1971 Business started locally: 03/22/1971 Business incorporated 05/01/1995 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Danetta Koch, Admin Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Danetta Koch, Admin Assistant
Business Category

Housing Authorities


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    375 W 37th St Ste 200

    Loveland, CO 80538 (970) 667-3232

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello I'm contacting you because I have been a tenant here for over two years and there is some unfair things that are going on. There is a long waiting list here and the managers sons girlfriend at the time gets in the apartment below me after just learning about these apartments.. She then starts making up lies that I threatened her, have a lot of traffic, loud, called to police on me 2 times for false accusations. I went to try and speak with the manager to see what I can do to avoid these false accusations and she said "well stop threatening people and keep my noise down". I have never threatened anyone and I am the quietest person u could meet. Well now I'm evicted. This is all based on this Woman *****, below me and the Manager Cherri. I am saposto be out today and I've been taking my belongings to near by friends to store but this is all false accusations and now I will be homeless... Please please give me any advise u may have. My number is ************ thank you. ******* ******

Desired Settlement: Move me into a different building with different management.

Business Response:

On Thu, Jul 7, 2016 at 1:48 PM, Danetta K*** <*************************> wrote:

******* was in the process of being evicted for non-payment of rent and not following property rules.  She filed the complaint in order to try circumvent the eviction process.  ******* moved out of the property on her own the next day.
 
Danetta

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had work done on my house and used their funding and a contractor from their list. Work was done and damage has happened and they refuse to give me the contractors insurance information. From the papers I signed they have a set agenda to make sure the work and the home owner are happy but they have Breached the contract. They have paid the contractor even though I was working with them to get this corrected. They have refused to work with me and now Im filing a suit to get them to disclosew their info on the contractor. I am also filing With D,O.R.A to have them look really close to who else they have screwed over because they makew you work off their list of contractors. I used my owned heating company only after alot of phone calls to *** ***** to get the ok because the people they have on their list are completely USELESS. They never return calls and you have to go by their list but I asked and got permission to use ***** Plumbing and Heating who did a GREAT JOB..... My complaint is their business practices are stated from the begnining and you have to use them or no services will be rendered. They payed contractors even though in their by laws states YOU MUST BE INSPECTED BEFORE PAYMENT IS ISSUED.... which *** their inspected came out after they were paid like 3 months before. So it FALSE and the customer gets stuck with BAD CONTRACTORS and a Company who is only out to make money off the Disabled????? There needs to be a complete search of this companies contracts and practices because they arer ripping of the Disabled like myself in a way they think they can hget away with it.

Desired Settlement: All asked for was * * ******** info to file a claim and they would have not even heard from me in the first place I dont like being yelled at and told in so many words your ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because what was said by the attroney is a lie the Housing authority  didnt follow their own procedures and paid t e contractor after telling me they didnt and If this attroney wants to call me a liar I hope he knows that he is in deed crossing the line. I have all conversations with all the housing staff recorded and video taped so do what you want I have the proof or as they say from the Lips themselves. I want a bad mark on their report because their own manager statted that the rules werent followed so as to this being settled not until they have a bad mark against them Like it matters but they need to have the same law that everyone else follows. And if this legal team wants to pursue this please note I can prove everything I said and Prove housing wrong as well as this Law firm so its your choice ? Just accept the bad mark or I will go to D.O.R.A  and this til the end. And to the law firm handling this company If you want to call me a liar go ahead but that will result in legal action.There is alot liars at housing and  I the guy to prove you all wrong... 

Regards,

**** *****

Business Response: This firm represents the Housing Authority who has asked me to respond to this complaint. I have been advised by my client of the following: 

1. The Housing Authority is the loan disbursement agent for certain home repairs under  loans obtained by customers under the Larimer Home Improvement Program. This  program provides a list of potential contractors and the Housing Authority looks at the  owner and the contractor for contract administration of the loan. 

2. The contractor in this case did not do damage to Mr. *****'s home, although the contractor had some workmanship issues with the drywall texture. The home owner was satisfied initially with the job as he could not see the texture flaws until he painted several weeks later with dark glossy paint. The paint brought out the flaws. Mr. ***** contacted the contractor without communicating this to the Housing Authority. The contractor did go back out and attempt to fix the issues by doing patch fixes, and Mr. ***** then again said to the contractor he was pleased. When he went to paint it still wasn't corrected properly. This is when Mr. ***** contacted Housing Authority and they began to work through the process of mediating a resolution with the contractor and home owner. 

3. At first the contractor was not very cooperative and said he'd been told by Mr. *****  that the job was satisfactory. The Housing Authority asked Mr. ***** to do a couple of  things to help with this mediation process, first, to call an independent third party dry  wall contractor so that the Housing Authority could get an idea of costs to fix the issue. 

4. Mr. ***** lied to *** ***** of the Housing Authority when he said he had called the  dry wall company she had suggested and he stated they were a no show no call on two  occasions. Ms. ***** called the dry wall company herself to find out why they didn't  show and what was the issue. They were never contacted by Mr. *****, no  appointments were ever made, the dry wall agent looked through the entire log for  November. Mr. ***** also proceeded to tell Ms. ***** that no contractor in all of  Northern Colorado would come deal with another contractor's issue. It is the Housing  Authority's belief that Mr. ***** never called nor intended to call another company  because he wanted to get $5000 for what he calls damages to his home. 

5. The HOUSING AUTHORITY then had their inspector go and see the work; he stated  that the drywall needed to be primed and retextured, as the patch did show. The Housing  Authority then called the original contractor again to discuss the situation and he agreed  to meet their inspector at the house to come to an agreed upon resolution to repair the  texture. This is when Mr. ***** became much more difficult to work with and  demanded the contractor's insurance, which Ms. ***** tried to explain was not going to  get his drywall fixed. He again refused to allow the contractor to work on his home and  said that thousands of dollars of damage was done and only wanted his insurance to file a  claim. This again was another red flag he only was interested in money and not getting  his home fixed. 

6. The Housing Authority did in fact email to Mr. *****, the contractor's insurance and told  him if he was filing a claim or pursuing legal action, that the Housing Authority would  stop all mediation attempts and not assist in any legal action. Mr. *****'s emails, phone  calls and interaction became increasingly argumentative and intimidating. He called yet  again and said he had not received the insurance information after Ms. ***** had already  sent it. Ms. ***** told him to hold on the phone so he could verify the email that Ms.  ***** was going to forward from early that day, which she did. As soon as he got it he  then threatened Ms. Irwin, the LAHIP program and the Housing Authority. 

7. The Housing Authority determined that Mr. ***** lied to the Housing Authority front  desk stating he was a contractor who was never paid by our program, This is when the Housing Authority asked its legal counsel to send a letter to Mr. ***** to require him to cease contact with Ms. ***** and forward any concerns and issues to counsel in writing. 

8. The Housing Authority disputes everything Mr. ***** has said in his complaint. The  Housing Authority has provided the insurance information and tried to mediate the  situation. The Housing Authority has even gone so far as to remove the $3850.00 from his loan as the one mistake that was made is the check was mailed to contractor before the Housing Authority realized that the inspection had not been done. The Housing Authority has agreed to remove the charge and told him he could pursue on his own whatever remedies with this contractor he felt necessary. 

9. The Housing Authority maintains a list of contractors to assist people in obtaining their  bids if they so choose to use them. The Housing Authority never makes anyone use a  contractor from their list. It is the Home Owner's decision, as they are required  whenever possible to get three bids from licensed and insured contractors and ultimately  it is the home owner's decision. The Housing Authority never dictates the use of any  contractor. The Housing Authority would only question if a contractor the homeowner  selected had a bid that was extremely higher in cost than another. If it was justified, The  Housing Authority would allow, if not the Housing Authority would require the use of  another contractor or another bid by additional contractors. 

I hope this adequately explains the position of the Housing Authority. Should you have any questions, please contact me directly. 

Sincerely, 

***** ******** *** ********** ***  **** *********  *******  ********** 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Housing Authority of the City of Loveland
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)