BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Poudre Valley Hospital?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Poudre Valley Hospital

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 495-7000 Fax: (970) 495-7663 View Additional Phone Numbers 1024 S Lemay Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.pvhs.org

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Poudre Valley Hospital meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Poudre Valley Hospital include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Poudre Valley Hospital
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 01, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1925 Business started locally: 01/01/1925
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Unger, President/CEO PVH and MCR Ms. Liz Westers, Executive Assistant to Kevin Unger
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Unger, President/CEO PVH and MCR
Customer Contact: Ms. Liz Westers, Executive Assistant to Kevin Unger
Business Category

Hospitals Clinics

Alternate Business Names
UCH University of Colorado Health

Additional Locations

  • 1024 S Lemay Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 495-7000 (970) 237-7001 (970) 495-7141 (970) 435-7127

  • 2809 E Harmony Rd Ste 200

    Fort Collins, CO 80528

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (970) 237-7001(Phone)
  • (970) 435-7127(Phone)
  • (970) 495-7141(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was set up on a payment plan (account #**********) and my account was turned over to a collection center. I called the PVH billing office on 8/4/14 to make a payment when I realized I had not received anything from them since 5/27/14 - at that time I was told my account was turned over to collections. I explained that I haven't received anything from their office since 5/27/14 or received any phone messages from their office. I asked to speak with a supervisor, ****** ******, he told me that the system shows 4 letters were sent out. I explained again that I never received any statements/notices since 5/27/14 and asked how can that be noted on my account when nothing was delivered. He told me since the system notes that information, they have followed the correct procedure in notifying me - there is nothing he can do and I must pay the collection agency. I again told him that I would have responded to a past due statement/notice immediately but I did NOT receive anything. He also said they tried to contact me by phone but the notes in his system said my phone had been disconnected. I again told him I did not have any voice messages for this account and my phone (both numbers they have) have NEVER been disconnected and could provide documentation that my phone was never disconnected. I also told him my voice mail is working but there were NO messages. Again his only response is there is nothing he can do and I have to deal with the collection agency. I am extremely frustrated that the PVH billing office isn't able to pull my account back from collections when they erroneously sent my account into collections. If this account is not paid in full within 30 days it will be reported on my credit and I was on a payment plan because I can not pay the balance in full. I am the one that called the billing office when I realized I had not received ANYTHING from them. I find it impossible that they (PVH) can not and will not help with this situation. I have placed another call into the PVH billing office on 8/6/14 and am waiting for another supervisor to call me back.

Desired Settlement: I want my account to be removed from the collection agency and placed back with PVH so I can continue to make my payments.

Business Response: From our Business Services Manager:

"Patient’s responsibility following their insurance provider’s payment on 5/21/2013 was $684.62.  Patient was sent 4 letters reminding them of their obligation to pay and 1 phone call was placed to the number on file between May 2013 and December 2013.  The patient contacted UCH in August 2013 and again in January 2014 questioning the charges on their account.  Charges were reviewed and deemed appropriate and insurance billing and claim processing was valid and the patient was informed they had a very short time within which to establish a payment plan on January 8 2014.  Patient placed a 2nd call to UCH on January 8th 2014 to establish a payment plan to pay the remainder of the balance ($684.62) over the next 12 months; $48.71 per month beginning on February 7th 2014.  Over the course of the next 6 months (February 2014 – July 2014), the patient made 3 payments on their account (2/17/2014, 3/27/2014 and 5/9/2014).  During this period the patient received 8 reminder letters and 4 calls were placed to the patient’s phone number on file.  The payment plan was broken on 4 separate occasions following non-payment and was reinstated 3 times following patient’s receipt of notification that the full balance was due immediately and the patient calling UCH to make their monthly payment.  Patient account was referred to collections on July 24th 2014.  Patient made no attempt to contact UCH following their last payment on May 9th 2014 despite 3 letters and 2 phone calls until August 4th 2014 upon receiving notification that the patient’s account had been referred to collections.
 
Patient’s account has been sent to collections due to patient’s repeated failure to pay their obligation or meet the terms of the payment plan established in January 2014 in accordance with UCH’s policies."

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm filing a complaint because I've requested information and detail regarding payments I've made and bills I'm still receiving and haven't received a response. I've been treated by multiple doctors in the Colorado Health Medical Group (CHMG), as well as at Medical Center of the Rockies (MCR). I know there was a change to billing systems in 2013. I called in September 2013 to make payment arrangements for my MCR bills totaling $376.83 and agreed to a payment plan of $100/month. I saw more CHMG doctors between August and December 2013, and had MRI and x-rays 4 different times. When I received my 4th statement for $100 I called because the original payment plan was for $376.83. I was told that other bills have been added to the payment plan, and that they could only see $200 in payments. I asked them to research and call me back and didn't receive a response. I called again and the woman I spoke with had to check "other systems" and she found one of the $100 payments, but not the other. They're still researching. I've asked for a listing of accounts included in the payment plan and am still waiting for that information. I received two statements for the same account number, same statement date with different balances due. I can't call MCR because CHMG handles all of the billing now. When i call, I wait on hold for up to 20 minutes before I hang up. I've left my call back number and was supposed to receive a call back within 48 business hours. That was 3 weeks ago. I'm beyond frustrated by all of the billing issues.

Desired Settlement: I want a detailed list of all of my accounts (from all billing systems) showing charges and payments; and I want to know which accounts are included on my payment plan. I also want to know why they can't find all of my payments. I've offered to send my HSA statement showing the payments they can't find and they declined.

Business Response: We appreciate the opportunity to address the billing/collecting concerns that you have expressed related to the care you received at the Medical Center of the Rockies. The account that were set up on a payment plan are the following.

#**********Balance owing $101.75
$********** Payment received from patient in the amount of $100 on 01/8/2014 and 03/13/2014, balance still owing $51.53
#********** Payment received from the patient for $100 on 12/13/2013, balance is zero
#********** Payment received from patient in the amount of $100 on 09/20/2013 and 10/25/2013, balance owing $75.08


A letter and itemization of payments has been mailed to the patient.
*

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

They're still not showing my $100 payment made on 8/9/13.  I've offered more than once to send or email the detail from my HSA card statement showing this payment, but I've been told they'll research and find it. 

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: Received 5/16/2014 by Patient Representative office. Will begin investigation with billing and respond to patient.
***************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/8/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business does not provide detail itemized or breakdown per item, per unit price etc... and proof of quantity. Patient account No.: PVXXXXXXXX Billing date : 07/13/2012 Admission date : 07/06/2012 Amount : $1,303.20 Payment term : ASAP

Desired Settlement: need to provide detail breakdown per service and equipment. Example: The name of equipment; The total quantity of each equipment; The unit price of each equipment; The amount of sub-total; Whether the equipment is for sale or rental. The data how to calculate the service charge;

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2012/09/24) */ As a result of this complaint, we have reviewed our processes. In the future, when a customer requests more detailed information than is contained in the itemized bill they will be referred to the Patient Repreentative's office. The Patient Representative will provide as much detail as possible regarding services/equipment that are included within the charge. A letter including the information requested was sent to the customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1