Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Poudre Valley Hospital

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 495-7000 Fax: (970) 495-7663 View Additional Phone Numbers 1024 S Lemay Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Poudre Valley Hospital meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 9
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Poudre Valley Hospital
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1925 Business started locally: 01/01/1925
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Unger, President/CEO PVH and MCR Ms. Lisa White, Executive Assistant to Kevin Unger
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Unger, President/CEO PVH and MCR
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa White, Executive Assistant to Kevin Unger
Related Businesses
Mountain Crest Behavioral Healthcare Center
Business Category

Hospitals Clinics

Alternate Business Names
UCH University of Colorado Health

Additional Locations

  • 1024 S Lemay Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 495-7000 (970) 237-7001 (970) 495-7141 (970) 435-7127

  • 2809 E Harmony Rd Ste 200

    Fort Collins, CO 80528


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/13/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the ER at PVH in July of 2014, showing and affirming my correct, current insurance coverage upon intake. PVH incorrectly billed an obsolete, old insurance provider. I went to the PVH billing department three times in ensuing months, concerned about not receiving any itemized bills from them or my insurance provider. I was told "not to worry about it...It takes a long time for some insurers to process bills." Months passed without any bills or phone calls. I suddenly found the entire bill had been turned over to collections. I went back to the billing offices and my husband made calls on my behalf. After several refusals to be transferred to a supervisor, one did finally look at my account. She admitted that PVH had billed the wrong insurer. We had ***** ***** at the time of service. PVH billed ***** ********. Furthermore, PVH claimed that ***** was our secondary insurer. I have never had a secondary insurer. Furthermore, ***** ***** declined to pay the bill after so much time had passed. PVH also billed an old, expired insurer from a previous job, ****** **********. THEY DID THE EXACT SAME THING TO OUR DAUGHTER JUST THIS YEAR, AFTER SHE HAD PAID HER BILL. Furthermore, PVH claims to have sent bills which were returned to then and phone me about the bill. I was at the same address until at least a year after DOS and received no mail or calls from then. I made meticulous changes of addresses after moving in 2015. I have never received mail from any collection agency. I do not even know the company name or I would have contacted them. I went BACK to PVH billing. They sent me to the Harmony Road billing offices. Connie explained PVH's mistakes. She was very kind and helpful. She tried to get ********, my current provider, to pay the bill retroactively. They declined. Connie then asked PVH's charitable office to help. I felt like I had no big choice but that that being treated as a charity case was unfair because the billing mistakes were COM's and I made MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS to rectify the situation. The woman from the "charitable" office was cold and made me feel like a criminal trying to get away with something. Criminals don't keep going to billing offices on their own accord trying to pay a bill. We finally filled out the forms for assistance. Grudgingly. It was even more difficult because my husband has been very ill (well-documented in UC-Health's system). I am being harassed by the collections agency and my credit is decimated. Just today, I received another notice from a credit reporting agency. Yet I still have zero in writing, nor the name of the agency My husband's injury and subsequent job loss led to long periods of homelessness. The additional stress of this situation with PVH is insufferable. I believe PVH's billing mistakes and subsequent responses are actionable.

Desired Settlement: -That PVH pull this bill out of collections immediately as they promised to do -That PIC write a letter for me to submit to all three credit bureaus admitting their billing errors -That PVH takes full responsibility ("eats") the full amount of the bill since I have made multiple attempts to correct this billing problem since shortly after the DOS and for the emotional pain and suffering caused by their collectively callous attitude towards our situation, with the exception of Connie at the Harmony Road office.

Business Response:

Uchealth Poudre Valley Hospital is following up on this complaint directly with the patient. Due to federal HIPAA laws, Poudre Valley Hospital is unable to publicly address the patient's concerns.

Poudre Valley Hospital seeks to answer complaints from patients in a compassionate and timely manner. We attempt to work closely with the patients and make every effort to resolve any billing issues. Our goal is always to reach a reasonable and appropriate resolution.

Our account managers work proficiently and professionally to correct errors and resolve complaints.



Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

 ***I may have accidentally just sent an incomplete message. My apologies. I will attempt this again.

I am rejecting this response because of the reasons in my original complaint. To reiterate:

--I received service at PVH on 7/14/2014

--I was concerned after time passed and I received no bill from either the insurance company at the DOS, **** ********** ****** ** *****, or from PVH.

--I went to the hospital billing department at several times to ask about the bill. I was told, "Don't worry about it. It takes insurance companies a long time to respond to claims."

--I still received no itemized bills, and remained concerned. NOTE: In spite of two periods of homelessness during the last two years, I have done without in order to pay PVH any other outstanding bills. I had no reason to ignore this one, which, by my trips to the billing department, I obviously did not try to do.

--I unexpectedly found the bill had been turned over to collections when it showed up on my credit report. It has done serious damage to my credit score.

--A PVH supervisor finally admitted over the phone that they had accidentally billed ***** of ********. My husband worked contracts with different companies, and different states, so had various coverage from different providers over the last several years.

--PVH also billed an out-of-date provider, ****** **********. They were our provider in 2013. See the attached denial.

--PVH also mistakenly identified primary coverage and secondary coverage. I do not and have not ever had secondary coverage.

PVH writes: 

<"Poudre Valley Hospital seeks to answer complaints from patients in a compassionate and timely manner. We attempt to work closely with the patients and make every effort to resolve any billing issues. Our goal is always to reach a reasonable and appropriate resolution.

Our account managers work proficiently and professionally to correct errors and resolve complaints.">

I'm afraid I must beg to differ. I have tried to take care of this since late summer/fall 2014. That is hardly "timely." Now my credit is in shambles, I am being harassed by the credit agency, and PVH, with the exception of one employee, has made me feel like I was trying to get away with something. We had to fight to even speak to a supervisor over the phone, the supervisor who finally admitted they had billed the wrong *****. The representative at the Harmony office tried to get my current provider, ********, to pay for the bill retroactively. They declined to do so and I can't say that I blame them. So now I'm being treated as a charity case when the mistake was not my fault. And I certainly didn't feel as thought I was treated very compassionately.

Although I'm sure that PVH did not intentionally misfile my claim, the fact is that they did. I presented my current insurance card at the DOS. I wish I had taken a selfie of myself handing over the card as I checked in, but I didn't. As you can see by the documents, however, they did have the ***** information on file.

PVH claims they called my phone multiple times. I carry my phone with me at all times. But I don't answer any calls from unknown numbers. No messages were left.

PVH claims they sent bills to my address at 2012 Vermont Drive in Fort Collins. The lease on that apartment was not up until June, 2015. I received no bill. I was only able to get an itemized bill through the collections company, and that only recently.

Therefore, I stand by my original complaint.


******** ********

Business Response:

UCHealth Poudre Valley Hospital is following up on this complaint directly with the patient. Due to federal HIPAA laws, Poudre Valley Hospital is unable to publicly address the patient’s concerns.

Poudre Valley Hospital seeks to answer complaints from patients in a compassionate and timely manner. We attempt to work closely with patients and make every effort to resolve any billing issues. Our goal is always to reach a reasonable and appropriate resolution.

Poudre Valley’s account managers work proficiently and professionally to correct errors and resolve complaints. A letter was mailed to the patient addressing her concerns on August 08, 2016.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I received a letter from UC Health today, August 12, disputing my complaints, and I reject it. It is notable that UC Health said they had mailed a letter to me on August 8. In fact, they wrote the letter on August 3, it was not posted until August 9.

The letter is riddled with errors.

Before I address the errors, I want to address the hospital's own protocol for

patients who come into the Emergency Department. When you go to the ED, and are able

to check in at the front desk, you present your identification, generally in the form

of a drivers license, and your insurance card. You may be too ill or injured to do so

at that time. In either case, while in a bed in the ED, billing sends a

representative to your bedside to verify your identification, insurance

coverage,current address and contact information. If you do not have insurance, a

social worker comes into the room and assists you with registering for indigent care,

********'s CICP.

On July 14, 2014, I went to the ED and clearly remember presenting my CURRENT health

insurance card and ID. (That visit was for early symptoms that ultimately led to a

serious bout of ischemic colitis in November of the same year.) I also remember it

clearly as it was during the Black Forest fire. I was on a bed watching the coverage

because the fire was sweeping through the neighborhood where we once lived. I

remember turning off the tv when the billing representative came into the room for

verification of my coverage. Had I NOT had current insurance, which I did, that

representative would have referred me to a social worker to sign me up for CICP. That

did not occur.

The facts are:

-I went to the PVH emergency department for on July 14, 2014.

-I presented my then current insurance card, along with my ID, to the hospital

representative. My coverage was with ****** ***** of *****, not of ********.

-I went to the hospital billing department at the hospital location several times

after my DOS, concerned that I had not received an itemized bill, or a bill of any

kind, for my ED visit. I made sure that the representative understood that my

coverage at the DOS was with ****** of *****. I was told "not to worry" because "it

takes the insurance companies a long time to follow up on claims."

-In the letter from PVH, they state that "****** was billed on October 19, 2014." How

could they have filed the claim with ****** had they not had the information from the

insurance card I presented on my DOS, which was active at that time?

-PVH says that ****** denied the claim on November 11, 2014. Our coverage with ******

of ***** was current through August 15, 2014, well past the DOS.

-I was admitted to PVH on November 12 with ischemic colitis. Had there been such a

large balance owed, I'm certain they would have brought it to my attention at that


-We resided at **** ******* ****** **** **** ** **** ******* until July of 2015.

-When my husband called billing to find out why we were not being billed in a timely

fashion, the representative told him they only had "**** ******* *****" as our

address in their system. They did not have the apartment number listed, which clearly

was on my drivers license and was presented and verified on my DOS. PVH claims they

had mail returned and certainly the absence of the apartment number is ample

explanation for that.
-I never received phone calls regarding my bill. Nor did my husband, who was the

insured. No voice mails were left. I, like most people, do not answer calls from

unrecognized numbers. But I always respond to voice mails regarding billing issues.

-I tried MULTIPLE times, on site at the hospital, to find out why was not receiving

mail from them. I spoke to people in billing both on the ground floor level and

upstairs, as well as to a representative at the Harmony office.

-After our lease was up in June, 2015, we moved from our ******* *** apartment. We

have a P.O. box and were meticulous with making changes of address with the USPS

during the period from that June until now.

-A supervisor in PVH's billing department said that our coverage was with ****** of

********, not of *****, where our coverage lay. A formal document showing we had

current coverage is on record.

-Furthermore, according to your representative at the Harmony office, ****** was

identified as our SECONDARY insurance coverage, as shown in document previously

uploaded to the BBB. I did not and have not ever had secondary insurance.

-PVH claims that we did not return the financial assistance application by June 8 of

this year. That is incorrect. We completed the application and returned it on that

date, and followed up with phone calls, left on voice mail twice. We called once on

July 8 and again on July 11 to verify receipt. In fact, we have been in constant

communication with Aundi Bishop this week. Our phone records verify that we made such


To reiterate, PVH needs to provide the following information:

1) A claim number for the November 11, 2014, denial of coverage by ******.
2) A copy of the claim sent to ****** and a copy of the denial.

UC Health continues to admit no fault in their billing system. Just months ago, they

billed the same obsolete ****** ********** policy from 2013 AFTER our daughter had

paid her bill, having provided, as did I on July 14, 2014, with her CURRENT health

insurance card. I understand that is not pertinent to my case, but shows a pattern of

erroneously billing. There are multiple reports of the same kind of errors shown in

online patient reviews of PVH's billing department.

I am willing to pay only the amount I would have owed PVH filed my bill correctly. I

still expect a letter from UC Health, admitting their error, for me to provide to all

three credit reporting agencies as this outstanding bill has seriously damaged my


I await and expect prompt and positive resolution of my complaint as soon as

possible. In conclusion, it is I who have attempted, to no avail since fall of 2014,

to determine my part of this outstanding bill.


******** ********

CC: Anthony C. D******, CFO, UC Health


Business Response: Poudre Valley Hospital is following up on this complaint directly with the patient. Due to federal HIPAA laws, Poudre Valley Hospital is unable to publicly address the patient’s concerns.

Poudre Valley Hospital seeks to answer complaints from patients in a compassionate and timely manner. We attempt to work closely with patients and make every effort to resolve any billing issues. Our goal is always to reach a reasonable and appropriate resolution.

Poudre Valley Hospital account managers work proficiently and professionally to correct errors and resolve complaints.

We are in the process of correcting the patients account and will be in contact with her.

Consumer Response:

Dear *****,

Please also attach this to my reopened file. I strongly object to its premature closure.

PVH said that they would respond to my response privately due to HIPPA regulations. How exactly do I prove that I did not receive a letter, which I didn't? 

******** ** ********

Sent using ******** (double encryption)

P.S. This is a message we received from the PVH representative in response to our protest to one of the letters from PVH before the response I did indeed file. Yet this is not reflected in the information the credit reporting agencies are showing. Furthermore, PVH has still failed to produce a letter for us to file with those agencies stating that bill was erroneously billed. That's what started this mess to begin with.

Shaking my head...

***** **** ******** **************************** ********* ************************** *** ******************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** **** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* *********

***** ********* ******* **** ****** ******** **************************** ***** ***** **** ** *** **** ******** ***** ******** ******* *** *** ******** *************************

Good Morning ***,
I received your message regarding the letter that you received. Please disregard that letter.
I have processed the Charity application for the 2014 date of service and your wife was approved for a 100% Charity discount. I have already applied the adjustment, however you may receive up to two more statements showing a balance. Your actual balance for account #2002881608 is $0. You will also receive a Charity Approval letter in the mail by the end of this week.
If you have any questions, please let me know.
Thank You,
Aundi B******
University of Colorado Health-North/PVH
1100 E. Elizabeth Street
Fort Collins, CO 80524
****** ************ **** ************ **************************

Sent using ******** (double encryption)

from: J*** ******** **************************** ********* ************************** *** ****** ******** ****** ************************ *** ******************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** **
subject: Re: You have a New Message from BBB Regarding Complaint #********

I was astonished to see this notice as I did indeed respond to this complaint - promptly - rejecting PVH's response, uploaded multiple documents explaining why I rejected their response, and received no response from them. All I received was a letter from the "charitable arm - financial assisstance" department of PVH/UC Health saying that they had adjusted our balance to zero and a notice just yesterday stating that the balance has been removed from my account. However, it still shows up on the credit reporting agencies, not to mention the damage by this being stretched out for over two years.

Simply dumbfounded. I request that this case be reopened immediately. To whom is the BBB accountable? 

Below my signature is the text in the BBB message. 

******** **** ********

You wrote, in the BBB messaging window:

<"******** ********
**** **** *** **** ******  ** ****

Re: ID # ********- Poudre Valley Hospital

Dear ******** ********,

We have not received your response to confirm this complaint has been resolved. Therefore, this complaint has been closed and will appear in the company's BBB Business Review as: “Answered- The Business addressed the issues within the complaint, but the consumer did not accept the response, OR BBB has not heard back from the consumer as to their satisfaction.” 

The text of your complaint may be publicly posted on BBB’s website.  BBB reserves the right to not post in accor***ce with BBB policy, and we may edit your response to protect privacy rights and to remove inappropriate language. 
Please know that BBB is always available to discuss your case and review additional information. 


***** ***** 
Vice President Dispute Resolution and Operations
Phone: 970-488-2032

Business Response: Poudre Valley Hospital is following up on this complaint directly with the patient. Due to federal HIPAA laws, Memorial Hospital is unable to publicly address the patient’s concerns.

Poudre Valley Hospital seeks to answer complaints from patients in a compassionate and timely manner. We attempt to work closely with patients and make every effort to resolve any billing issues. Our goal is always to reach a reasonable and appropriate resolution. We have spoken directly with this patient about her concerns.

Poudre Valley's account managers work proficiently and professionally to correct errors and resolve complaints.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I received a phone call from a UC Health representative today, as well as a copy of the letter I requested. The bill is now a zero balance and is pulled from collections. After a satisfactory response by the business, I consider the issue resolved.


******** ********

1/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re: ambulatory services, service date 12/23/14. Insurance paid on the account April 2015. I received a bill (statement date 6/08/15) and on June 16, 2015 my wife called to discuss insurance/payment options, which involved the possibility of ******** covering the bill - I became unemployed December 16, 2014 (it was later learned that ******** would only backdate to January 1, 2015) During the phone call my wife was given (3) payment options: $80.49/mo for 6 months, $53.66/mo for 9 months, and $40.25/mo for 12 months. On/about June 25, 2015 (less than 1 month from the statement date) I began making payments in the amount of $40.25 and continued to pay this amount (upon receiving a new statement) on/about July 25, August, and September 25. I did not receive a statement in October and November. We have many problems with our mail and initially thought the bill had been mis-delivered. Then, on December 12, 2015 I received a Collections notice for the unpaid balance of my bill. My wife called PVH customer service and ended up speaking with a supervisor, Marlon B*****. He informed her that because a payment plan was not set up with the representative on June 16th, the bill showed past due (not paid in full). His records showed that my wife was supposed to call back even though she was given several payment options and told that she could begin paying on the bill from the statement(s) provided. He said that he could not review/reverse the bill in collections. NOTE - the back of each statement, in a paragraph on *Past Due/Collections, states "Payment is due within 30 days of your statement date. UC Health sends four statements, including a final notice. Failure to pay your bills or contact our office may result in a referral to an outside collection agency." (1) I paid my bills within 30 days of the statement date, from the (4) statements I received, (2) I did not receive anything indicating a "Final Notice", (3) I did not "fail" to pay my bill, and (4) I DID contact the office. There is no reason this should have gone to Collections, which could potentially affect my credit.

Desired Settlement: I want a correction made on my credit report. I am trying to do good on my bills only to get "punished" anyways. This is not right and is unjust treatment for someone trying to make right. I would also like to see the balance of the bill waived, as the harm this has caused me (with my unemployment and my credit) is far greater than what I currently owe. I think the hospital needs to re-evaluate their procedures, notes before sending other bills to collections.

Business Response:

Good Afternoon,

I received this complaint and reviewed the account with our billing company. Our policy is that if you are unable to pay your balance in full, and if you fail to establish a payment plan, the account will proceed to bad debt after four statements. Per our records a statement was sent in June, July, August, and September of 2015. We also attempted to call twice in September and three times in October. The fourth statement would notify you that it is your final opportunity to resolve your account balance with us. We do show that you made regular monthly payments in June, July, August, and September of 2015, however, no payment plan was established on this account. We do show account notes of a call made to us by your wife on 06/16/2015 to discuss that you had applied for ******** but that they may not backdate to cover this due to the fact that you were working then. Per the notes, she was made aware at that time that a payment plan would need to be established on the account. The next call we have noted is on 12/14/15 to discuss that she felt like she had called and set this up on a payment plan, however, there is nothing noted that this ever happened. The last call noted on the account is dated 12/15/15 teling us that she is disputing this and would like this removed from the bad debt agency. She was informed that we cannot remove from collections (bad debt).

At this time, we will leave the account with the bad debt agency and you can set up a payment plan with them. I am unable to remove the account from them.

Please let me know if you have any additional questions or concerns with this.

Thank you,







Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Per your records a statement was sent in June, July, August, and September of 2015.  Per your records you do show that I made REGULAR monthly payments in June, July, August, and September of 2015.  Per your records you do show that a call was made to you on 06/16/2015 to discuss a payment plan.  Such payment plan outlined options for the exact amount I paid in June, July, August, and September.  However you do not show that a payment plan was "established" so you sent my account to collections?! This is HORRIBLE customer service!!!!  I do NOT accept this as a reasonable response or a reasonable course of action for an account being regularly paid upon, as discussed with your office.


***** *****

Business Response:

My name is *** *********** and I am the Supervisor for the Customer Service department. I have made three attempts to reach out to Mr. ***** as I would like to try to listen in depth to his concerns about the events that led to this complaint. I would really like to try to help resolve this issue if you could please call me at ************ or e-mail me at *******************************  Thank you.

1/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received bill for $630 (statement date 5/25/15), service date 1/05/15. Called on 6/2/15 to set up a payment plan ($100/month for 6 months due on the 10th of each month). Immediately made first payment for $105 with that statement. Received new statement (due date 6/10/15), which did NOT reflect first payment. They said they received on 6/15/15. Informed by Brandy that the payment plan was broken, but they gave me a 5 day grace period and reset the plan. Made another payment of $105 on July 5th. Next statement showed due date of 7/09/15 - confusing because this was NOT what our payment plan was agreed on AND balance showed $525, which again did not reflect the last payment. I was told that I may receive a "duplicate" bill for this month, to wait for next bill to show current balance. Next bill, statement date 7/15/15 showed "Past Due" - they said they didn't receive last payment until July 13th (3 days late). Made $105 payment for August. Next bill, statement date 8/14/15 showed "Past Due" - they said they didn't receive it until the August 11th (1 day late). Made $105 payment for September. Next bill, statement date 8/14/15 showed "Past Due" - they said they didn't receive it until the September 11th (1 day late). Received no more statements and/or "Final" notices. Received collections notice late November. Called PVH, left message on November 30. Did NOT receive a return call. Called back on 12/1. Spoke with Lisa, she was very understanding (with bills only being 1-3 days late). She put a request in for review to pull from collections and told me to call back in a couple of weeks to check status. Called on 12/15. Spoke with Brandy. She said the review showed it was denied, but she looked at history of account, also consulted with her team lead, and ALSO agreed that it should be pulled from collections (payments were received). She said to call back. Called on 12/16, spoke with Lawanna D*****. She said review was denied and there was nothing she could/would do because the payments were late and the payment plan was broken. For record, I never received a written payment plan from PVH.

Desired Settlement: This bill should be pulled from collections so as to NOT affect my credit!!! I would like a new billing plan to be set. I also think PVH needs to re-evaluate how they do their billing and their procedures for turning bills over to collections. I am a single mom with 3 kids, trying to do the right thing. I have contacted the business to try to resolve this. I am concerned about this bill and now my credit. I am not in any way ignoring my responsibility for it, I should not be treated as if I'm not paying on it at all! Their lack of understanding and/or contact in trying to resolve this is unacceptable! (happy holidays?)

Business Response: This patients complaint was reviewed, patient was on a payment plan but her payments posted to the account late which caused the payment plan to be delinquent. Since patient did make the effort to make her payments each month we will remove the account from bad debt and continue the payment plan. I have called the patient and left her a message to call me back so we can discuss the new payment plan.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  However, I am not satisfied with the fact that I had to call the business numerous times and then get to this point before they chose to make their decision.  Horrible business practices they should be ashamed of!


***** ******

6/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a follow up complaint to one I issued on 3/16/15 (ID ********). In my initial complaint, I stated that I had tried to get information regarding charges for my son's care but was shut down by customer service. Upon filing a complaint, a hospital employee contacted me and worked to get me all the information I required. Because they were helpful and courteous, I closed my initial complaint though we were still discussing a resolution. I have filed this new complaint because they were unwilling to negotiate a resolution to my satisfaction based on new information I received after filing my first complaint. In the information I finally received, I discovered that because I answered "yes" to the question of "did I consume alcohol during pregnancy," which I did in a small amount between 5-9 months of my pregnancy, my son's stool had to undergo drug tests to the tune of $335 dollars. Not only did they test for alcohol, however, they tested for narcotics in a separate test costing $197. If I had answered honestly about the light alcohol use, I also answered honestly about the zero narcotics use and found this test to be unwarranted. Good thing I found out about these tests because the results, which were all negative, were never mentioned or sent to me until I asked about them. I would have been happy if the hospital had simply removed the unnecessary second drug test charge of $197 and then I would have paid the remaining bill, but a different hospital employee on 06/02/15 told me that the "HB C-Drug Screen Qual" for $335 and the separate "HB C-Drug Screen Qual Chrom" test for $197 were actually the same test and they could not remove the charge. I asked her why there would be two different charges, codes and names for the same test, and she said she didn't know but that I was responsible for all of it. I can't help feeling like a dumb sheep here. Truly one needs a masters degree to understand all the ins and outs of hospital billing codes, but two codes for the same test? I am not satisfied with her answer.

Desired Settlement: I want the hospital to remove the charges for the "HB C-Drug Screen Qual Chrom" test. a completely unwarranted test, in the amount of $197, and I will pay the remainder of the bill with a credit card,

Business Response: Tell us why here... The baby's provider ordered this test based upon answers given by the complainant. The test looks  for 13 substances in the specimen. The test is not done at PVH. The specimen is collected at PVH and sent to another laboratory. That laboratory breaks the charges down by grouping 12 substances under one charge and 1 substance under another charge.

As the test was appropriately ordered and performed, the charge will not be dropped as requested by the complainant. We are sorry that we can not resolve this as requested by the complainant, however, the requested resolution would not be consistent with how we have addressed other similar concerns.       

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  If indeed it was one complete test, there would be no need for two separate charges and two separate titles for the test.  The charge is easily identifiable on the form and could be easily removed if the hospital chose to resolve this dispute amicably.  These tests were ordered without my knowledge of their costs or scope, nor were results ever discussed with me until I raised my initial dispute.  Because of the hospital's insistence that all their charges are necessary, I am now requesting all the details of MY personal hospital bill, the total charges of $10,000 - my part to pay after insurance comes to $2000, which I have set up a payment plan to pay off.  It is easy for the hospital to hide behind all kinds of medical jargon that the average person does not understand.  But once one starts digging, one can find all kinds of inconsistencies - like unnecessary tests divided into two but claimed as one.


****** *******

Business Response: Tell us why here...An itemized bill along with a letter explaining each and every charge on the complainant's personal bill was placed in the mail today to the complainant.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have received the itemized bill for my personal care with explanations and have reviewed it.  I found no discrepancies like I found in the bill for my infant son.  Since the hospital is unwilling to remove the charges for an unnecessary drug test on my son's bill, this complaint will have to remain unresolved and I will further counsel patients to always answer "no" to any of the hospital's invasive questions in the future.

****** *******

4/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I delivered my son at Poudre Valley Hospital on Sept. 19, 2014 and stayed until Sept. 21, 2014. I received a bill for my care, including room and board (my portion of the bill was around $2000), and a separate bill for my son's care (my portion of the bill is around $555). On my son's bill, a generic charge of "Room and Board" made up most of the bill. I already paid for the room on my bill and nursed my son the whole time I was in the hospital. My son also never left my side as is the practice of a "Baby Friendly" hospital that Poudre Valley bragged about being when we first toured the hospital. Therefore, a room and board charge (around $1600 on the total bill - my portion of the bill comes to $555) seemed extraneous and unnecessary. They are charging me for the same room twice. I disputed the claim, asked for an itemized bill and was sent a bill with the same large, generic "room and board" charge. The billing representative at the hospital told me when I asked to dispute the bill that my appeal would be denied, but I appealed anyway. A month later, (03/16/15) sure enough my appeal was denied on the basis that it is a "general care of the baby" charge. So why don't they say that on the bill? I asked my insurance company if it was standard practice for a hospital to charge a mother and child twice for the same room and the representative said "no." I asked if I could appeal the bill further and the hospital representative said "no."

Desired Settlement: I am already paying over $2000 for my hospital stay (my portion of the total bill) and do not want to pay another $555 for the same room and non-existent "board" the hospital claims they provided to my newborn son. I asked the hospital to provide a breakdown of the "room and board" charge for my son, and they refused.

Business Response: I have reviewed the account. This charge that is being disputed is called "Newborn Nursery Level 1". That is the charge for the monitoring of the baby's feedings, diapers, weight gain, etc. while in the hopsital. I have made a phone call to the mother to explain this. I was unable to reach her but left her a voicemail asking her to call me back to review this with her.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I spoke with the lady who called and requested a specific list of charges under the general nursery charge.  She will get back to me next week so our dispute is on hold and not settled yet.


****** *******

Business Response: I have spoken with mom ****** and I am doing some follow up requests on this complaint. I have requested a detailed explanation from the nursery department outlining what the diputed charges include. Once that is received, I will provide that to ******.

Consumer Response:

***** ****** *************************** *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** ** **** ** ***** ** ******** ** ******** 

In regards to my case and latest message from the BBB, I did respond to Poudre Valley's last message as "not quite resolved."  They did call me and said they would get back to me with a full breakdown of the "Room and Board Nursery" charge of $800 a day, but I have not heard back from them since that initial phone conversation and promise to get back to me.  So this dispute is not resolved.  I can only hope they are indeed working on it.  I am happy to give them the time they need to fulfill my request.  But should the full breakdown prove my suspicions that I am being forced to pay for services I did not receive, then our dispute will escalate.

Thank you, 
****** *******

Business Response: A complete review of the complaint has been reviewed and a letter of explanation was mailed to ****** on 04/01/15.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I have not received any information from Poudre Valley Hospital that has a breakdown of the $800 a day "Room and Board Nursery" charges.  If this was just mailed, then it may take a few days before I receive it.  When I receive it, I will respond accordingly.


****** *******

Business Response: .I spoke with ****** today regarding not receiving the letter that was mailed to her on 04/01/15. She still has not received it. She authorized me to send the letter via email to her at *************************. I will send that to her today for review. We also discovered that she no longer has the PO Box that I originally mailed the letter to, which was the address that was on her accounts. I have also corrected that to **** ******* ** and will also mail the original letter to her as well.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business.   I have received the bill break down as promised by the hospital.  However, there were no costs associated with the breakdown.  Since my complaint involves the costs associated with the services, the break down is not complete in my eyes.  I have forwarded a re-organized breakdown with several questions for the hospital to answer.  I hope to hear back from them regarding the charges on the bill sometime this week.
So we are still negotiating and my dispute is not yet resolved, but the hospital has responded.


****** *******

Business Response: Myself and ***** *****, Manager of Customer Service for University of Colorado Health contacted ****** and reviewed her questions and concerns. We also provided ****** with an Itemized Statement. She advised ***** and I that she will take some time to review the documents and then follow up with us.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

****** and ***** did speak with me, and I very much appreciate their time.  I did receive an itemized bill and have sent ****** some questions regarding some of the charges.  I await her response.

****** *******

10/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter was a passenger in a car hit by an insured motorist. She was taken to pvh by ambulance and entered in their system as an uninsured patient. When I arrived at pvh with the drivers insurance information including claim #, I gave it to the provider who failed to enter correctly in the computer. Since she had been entered into the system as uninsured pvh adjusted off a portion of bill as uninsured credit (reason for adjustment was not noted on statements) she received bills from PVH and submitted them to the claims adjuster for ******* insurance. ******* paid the bills in full according to balance on statements submitted by my daughter, and once PVH realized that there was an insurance involved, they accepted payment from insurance and reversed their adjustments and billed my daughter for the balance. I called an explained THEIR error, they found the insurance information given to them the day of accident but still failed to acknowledge their error. They continued to try a collect they balance due to their error from my daughter and have now submitted balance to collection agency. I will pay the balance only because I do not want my 20 year daughter to have a bad mark on her credit report when she has done nothing wrong!

Desired Settlement: I want PVH to adjust off the adjustment error and accept payment from ******* insurance as payment in full.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,

I am responding to this complaint with the follow up steps that were taken to resolve this issue. 
I spoke with the patient's mother to review her concerns and obtain patient information so I could follow up to review this particular concern. Once the patient information was obtained, I reviewed the account and identified the steps that needed to be taken to resolve this complaint. I reviewed the account with ********* ******, manager for University of Colorado Health and verified that the account needed to be adjusted to a zero balance and removed from *** ****. With her approval, I adjusted the account and removed from *** **** status within the University of Colorado Health Billing System. I notified ***** ***** at the *** **** agency, ***, to cancel the account with them. I then notified the mother to let her know the steps that were taken on the account. She requested an Itemized Statement showing a zero balance. I verified the address of the patient and mailed the requested document directly to her. Mother seemed pleased with the outcome and stated that she believed that the patient would be happy as well. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******* ******

10/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter was seen on November 7, 2013. We provided accurate billing and insurance information at the visit. We did not receive a bill any additional information on billing for months, In July 2014, we received a collection notice that we had unpaid bills. I contacted my insurance company and they told me that they did not receive any information on this bill, I contacted Poudre Valley Hospital on 7/18/2014 about the bill and they said it was to late there was nothing they could do. So it would appear that Poudre Valley Hospital made a billing error and then decided to send me a bill for the full unadjusted amount for something. My insurance company said they would accept a bill if it was late if a reason was provided. I sent a fax to Poudre Valley Health billing assistance and resolution following this phone call. I did not hear anything back. They have messed up the billing of this item and now are demanding full payment that my insurance company would have paid in full. I feel that Poudre Valley Health has been unfair and unwilling to correct their billing error. Poudre Valley Health said that they tried to contact us, but the number they gave me was no were close to the number given at the visit. We also did not receive the alleged request for information they said they sent us. It is extremely frustrating to be sent to collections for a bill that is incorrect and no one at Poudre Valley Hospital will work with us to correct.

Desired Settlement: I want the collection actions against my daughter halted and Poudre Valley Hospital to make a good faith effort to correct this bill to reflex an insurance adjusted amount and a corrected bill to be sent to my insurance company as one would expect a medical bill to be handled.

Business Response:

UCHealth has reviewed the patient's account and determined that insurance information provided by the patient at the time of service was not included with the Lab Orders sent to UCHealth as expected and therefore the charges were not submitted to the patient's insurance company and deemed the patient's responsibility in error.

UCHealth has recalled the patients account from collections and is in the process of acquiring the patient's insurance information and resubmitting the claim.  UCHealth will ensure that the patient has no financial liability for any remaining balance owed regardless of their insurance company's decision.  UCHealth will also communicate all actions stated in this response as well as confirm final resolution to the patient.

8/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was set up on a payment plan (account #**********) and my account was turned over to a collection center. I called the PVH billing office on 8/4/14 to make a payment when I realized I had not received anything from them since 5/27/14 - at that time I was told my account was turned over to collections. I explained that I haven't received anything from their office since 5/27/14 or received any phone messages from their office. I asked to speak with a supervisor, ****** ******, he told me that the system shows 4 letters were sent out. I explained again that I never received any statements/notices since 5/27/14 and asked how can that be noted on my account when nothing was delivered. He told me since the system notes that information, they have followed the correct procedure in notifying me - there is nothing he can do and I must pay the collection agency. I again told him that I would have responded to a past due statement/notice immediately but I did NOT receive anything. He also said they tried to contact me by phone but the notes in his system said my phone had been disconnected. I again told him I did not have any voice messages for this account and my phone (both numbers they have) have NEVER been disconnected and could provide documentation that my phone was never disconnected. I also told him my voice mail is working but there were NO messages. Again his only response is there is nothing he can do and I have to deal with the collection agency. I am extremely frustrated that the PVH billing office isn't able to pull my account back from collections when they erroneously sent my account into collections. If this account is not paid in full within 30 days it will be reported on my credit and I was on a payment plan because I can not pay the balance in full. I am the one that called the billing office when I realized I had not received ANYTHING from them. I find it impossible that they (PVH) can not and will not help with this situation. I have placed another call into the PVH billing office on 8/6/14 and am waiting for another supervisor to call me back.

Desired Settlement: I want my account to be removed from the collection agency and placed back with PVH so I can continue to make my payments.

Business Response: From our Business Services Manager:

"Patient’s responsibility following their insurance provider’s payment on 5/21/2013 was $684.62.  Patient was sent 4 letters reminding them of their obligation to pay and 1 phone call was placed to the number on file between May 2013 and December 2013.  The patient contacted UCH in August 2013 and again in January 2014 questioning the charges on their account.  Charges were reviewed and deemed appropriate and insurance billing and claim processing was valid and the patient was informed they had a very short time within which to establish a payment plan on January 8 2014.  Patient placed a 2nd call to UCH on January 8th 2014 to establish a payment plan to pay the remainder of the balance ($684.62) over the next 12 months; $48.71 per month beginning on February 7th 2014.  Over the course of the next 6 months (February 2014 – July 2014), the patient made 3 payments on their account (2/17/2014, 3/27/2014 and 5/9/2014).  During this period the patient received 8 reminder letters and 4 calls were placed to the patient’s phone number on file.  The payment plan was broken on 4 separate occasions following non-payment and was reinstated 3 times following patient’s receipt of notification that the full balance was due immediately and the patient calling UCH to make their monthly payment.  Patient account was referred to collections on July 24th 2014.  Patient made no attempt to contact UCH following their last payment on May 9th 2014 despite 3 letters and 2 phone calls until August 4th 2014 upon receiving notification that the patient’s account had been referred to collections.
Patient’s account has been sent to collections due to patient’s repeated failure to pay their obligation or meet the terms of the payment plan established in January 2014 in accordance with UCH’s policies."

5/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm filing a complaint because I've requested information and detail regarding payments I've made and bills I'm still receiving and haven't received a response. I've been treated by multiple doctors in the Colorado Health Medical Group (CHMG), as well as at Medical Center of the Rockies (MCR). I know there was a change to billing systems in 2013. I called in September 2013 to make payment arrangements for my MCR bills totaling $376.83 and agreed to a payment plan of $100/month. I saw more CHMG doctors between August and December 2013, and had MRI and x-rays 4 different times. When I received my 4th statement for $100 I called because the original payment plan was for $376.83. I was told that other bills have been added to the payment plan, and that they could only see $200 in payments. I asked them to research and call me back and didn't receive a response. I called again and the woman I spoke with had to check "other systems" and she found one of the $100 payments, but not the other. They're still researching. I've asked for a listing of accounts included in the payment plan and am still waiting for that information. I received two statements for the same account number, same statement date with different balances due. I can't call MCR because CHMG handles all of the billing now. When i call, I wait on hold for up to 20 minutes before I hang up. I've left my call back number and was supposed to receive a call back within 48 business hours. That was 3 weeks ago. I'm beyond frustrated by all of the billing issues.

Desired Settlement: I want a detailed list of all of my accounts (from all billing systems) showing charges and payments; and I want to know which accounts are included on my payment plan. I also want to know why they can't find all of my payments. I've offered to send my HSA statement showing the payments they can't find and they declined.

Business Response: We appreciate the opportunity to address the billing/collecting concerns that you have expressed related to the care you received at the Medical Center of the Rockies. The account that were set up on a payment plan are the following.

#**********Balance owing $101.75
$********** Payment received from patient in the amount of $100 on 01/8/2014 and 03/13/2014, balance still owing $51.53
#********** Payment received from the patient for $100 on 12/13/2013, balance is zero
#********** Payment received from patient in the amount of $100 on 09/20/2013 and 10/25/2013, balance owing $75.08

A letter and itemization of payments has been mailed to the patient.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

They're still not showing my $100 payment made on 8/9/13.  I've offered more than once to send or email the detail from my HSA card statement showing this payment, but I've been told they'll research and find it. 


**** *******

Business Response: Received 5/16/2014 by Patient Representative office. Will begin investigation with billing and respond to patient.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Poudre Valley Hospital
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)