Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Poudre Valley Hospital

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 495-7000 Fax: (970) 495-7663 View Additional Phone Numbers 1024 S Lemay Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.pvhs.org



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Poudre Valley Hospital meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Poudre Valley Hospital include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Poudre Valley Hospital
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1925 Business started locally: 01/01/1925
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Unger, President/CEO PVH and MCR Ms. Lisa White, Executive Assistant to Kevin Unger
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Unger, President/CEO PVH and MCR
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa White, Executive Assistant to Kevin Unger
Business Category

Hospitals Clinics

Alternate Business Names
UCH University of Colorado Health

Additional Locations

  • 1024 S Lemay Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 237-7001 (970) 435-7127 (970) 495-7141 (970) 495-7000

  • 2809 E Harmony Rd Ste 200

    Fort Collins, CO 80528

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a follow up complaint to one I issued on 3/16/15 (ID ********). In my initial complaint, I stated that I had tried to get information regarding charges for my son's care but was shut down by customer service. Upon filing a complaint, a hospital employee contacted me and worked to get me all the information I required. Because they were helpful and courteous, I closed my initial complaint though we were still discussing a resolution. I have filed this new complaint because they were unwilling to negotiate a resolution to my satisfaction based on new information I received after filing my first complaint. In the information I finally received, I discovered that because I answered "yes" to the question of "did I consume alcohol during pregnancy," which I did in a small amount between 5-9 months of my pregnancy, my son's stool had to undergo drug tests to the tune of $335 dollars. Not only did they test for alcohol, however, they tested for narcotics in a separate test costing $197. If I had answered honestly about the light alcohol use, I also answered honestly about the zero narcotics use and found this test to be unwarranted. Good thing I found out about these tests because the results, which were all negative, were never mentioned or sent to me until I asked about them. I would have been happy if the hospital had simply removed the unnecessary second drug test charge of $197 and then I would have paid the remaining bill, but a different hospital employee on 06/02/15 told me that the "HB C-Drug Screen Qual" for $335 and the separate "HB C-Drug Screen Qual Chrom" test for $197 were actually the same test and they could not remove the charge. I asked her why there would be two different charges, codes and names for the same test, and she said she didn't know but that I was responsible for all of it. I can't help feeling like a dumb sheep here. Truly one needs a masters degree to understand all the ins and outs of hospital billing codes, but two codes for the same test? I am not satisfied with her answer.

Desired Settlement: I want the hospital to remove the charges for the "HB C-Drug Screen Qual Chrom" test. a completely unwarranted test, in the amount of $197, and I will pay the remainder of the bill with a credit card,

Business Response: Tell us why here... The baby's provider ordered this test based upon answers given by the complainant. The test looks  for 13 substances in the specimen. The test is not done at PVH. The specimen is collected at PVH and sent to another laboratory. That laboratory breaks the charges down by grouping 12 substances under one charge and 1 substance under another charge.

As the test was appropriately ordered and performed, the charge will not be dropped as requested by the complainant. We are sorry that we can not resolve this as requested by the complainant, however, the requested resolution would not be consistent with how we have addressed other similar concerns.       

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  If indeed it was one complete test, there would be no need for two separate charges and two separate titles for the test.  The charge is easily identifiable on the form and could be easily removed if the hospital chose to resolve this dispute amicably.  These tests were ordered without my knowledge of their costs or scope, nor were results ever discussed with me until I raised my initial dispute.  Because of the hospital's insistence that all their charges are necessary, I am now requesting all the details of MY personal hospital bill, the total charges of $10,000 - my part to pay after insurance comes to $2000, which I have set up a payment plan to pay off.  It is easy for the hospital to hide behind all kinds of medical jargon that the average person does not understand.  But once one starts digging, one can find all kinds of inconsistencies - like unnecessary tests divided into two but claimed as one.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: Tell us why here...An itemized bill along with a letter explaining each and every charge on the complainant's personal bill was placed in the mail today to the complainant.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have received the itemized bill for my personal care with explanations and have reviewed it.  I found no discrepancies like I found in the bill for my infant son.  Since the hospital is unwilling to remove the charges for an unnecessary drug test on my son's bill, this complaint will have to remain unresolved and I will further counsel patients to always answer "no" to any of the hospital's invasive questions in the future.
Regards,

****** *******

4/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I delivered my son at Poudre Valley Hospital on Sept. 19, 2014 and stayed until Sept. 21, 2014. I received a bill for my care, including room and board (my portion of the bill was around $2000), and a separate bill for my son's care (my portion of the bill is around $555). On my son's bill, a generic charge of "Room and Board" made up most of the bill. I already paid for the room on my bill and nursed my son the whole time I was in the hospital. My son also never left my side as is the practice of a "Baby Friendly" hospital that Poudre Valley bragged about being when we first toured the hospital. Therefore, a room and board charge (around $1600 on the total bill - my portion of the bill comes to $555) seemed extraneous and unnecessary. They are charging me for the same room twice. I disputed the claim, asked for an itemized bill and was sent a bill with the same large, generic "room and board" charge. The billing representative at the hospital told me when I asked to dispute the bill that my appeal would be denied, but I appealed anyway. A month later, (03/16/15) sure enough my appeal was denied on the basis that it is a "general care of the baby" charge. So why don't they say that on the bill? I asked my insurance company if it was standard practice for a hospital to charge a mother and child twice for the same room and the representative said "no." I asked if I could appeal the bill further and the hospital representative said "no."

Desired Settlement: I am already paying over $2000 for my hospital stay (my portion of the total bill) and do not want to pay another $555 for the same room and non-existent "board" the hospital claims they provided to my newborn son. I asked the hospital to provide a breakdown of the "room and board" charge for my son, and they refused.

Business Response: I have reviewed the account. This charge that is being disputed is called "Newborn Nursery Level 1". That is the charge for the monitoring of the baby's feedings, diapers, weight gain, etc. while in the hopsital. I have made a phone call to the mother to explain this. I was unable to reach her but left her a voicemail asking her to call me back to review this with her.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I spoke with the lady who called and requested a specific list of charges under the general nursery charge.  She will get back to me next week so our dispute is on hold and not settled yet.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: I have spoken with mom ****** and I am doing some follow up requests on this complaint. I have requested a detailed explanation from the nursery department outlining what the diputed charges include. Once that is received, I will provide that to ******.

Consumer Response:

***** ****** *************************** *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** ** **** ** ***** ** ******** ** ******** 

In regards to my case and latest message from the BBB, I did respond to Poudre Valley's last message as "not quite resolved."  They did call me and said they would get back to me with a full breakdown of the "Room and Board Nursery" charge of $800 a day, but I have not heard back from them since that initial phone conversation and promise to get back to me.  So this dispute is not resolved.  I can only hope they are indeed working on it.  I am happy to give them the time they need to fulfill my request.  But should the full breakdown prove my suspicions that I am being forced to pay for services I did not receive, then our dispute will escalate.

Thank you, 
****** *******

Business Response: A complete review of the complaint has been reviewed and a letter of explanation was mailed to ****** on 04/01/15.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I have not received any information from Poudre Valley Hospital that has a breakdown of the $800 a day "Room and Board Nursery" charges.  If this was just mailed, then it may take a few days before I receive it.  When I receive it, I will respond accordingly.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: .I spoke with ****** today regarding not receiving the letter that was mailed to her on 04/01/15. She still has not received it. She authorized me to send the letter via email to her at *************************. I will send that to her today for review. We also discovered that she no longer has the PO Box that I originally mailed the letter to, which was the address that was on her accounts. I have also corrected that to **** ******* ** and will also mail the original letter to her as well.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business.   I have received the bill break down as promised by the hospital.  However, there were no costs associated with the breakdown.  Since my complaint involves the costs associated with the services, the break down is not complete in my eyes.  I have forwarded a re-organized breakdown with several questions for the hospital to answer.  I hope to hear back from them regarding the charges on the bill sometime this week.
So we are still negotiating and my dispute is not yet resolved, but the hospital has responded.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: Myself and ***** *****, Manager of Customer Service for University of Colorado Health contacted ****** and reviewed her questions and concerns. We also provided ****** with an Itemized Statement. She advised ***** and I that she will take some time to review the documents and then follow up with us.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

****** and ***** did speak with me, and I very much appreciate their time.  I did receive an itemized bill and have sent ****** some questions regarding some of the charges.  I await her response.
Regards,

****** *******

10/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter was a passenger in a car hit by an insured motorist. She was taken to pvh by ambulance and entered in their system as an uninsured patient. When I arrived at pvh with the drivers insurance information including claim #, I gave it to the provider who failed to enter correctly in the computer. Since she had been entered into the system as uninsured pvh adjusted off a portion of bill as uninsured credit (reason for adjustment was not noted on statements) she received bills from PVH and submitted them to the claims adjuster for ******* insurance. ******* paid the bills in full according to balance on statements submitted by my daughter, and once PVH realized that there was an insurance involved, they accepted payment from insurance and reversed their adjustments and billed my daughter for the balance. I called an explained THEIR error, they found the insurance information given to them the day of accident but still failed to acknowledge their error. They continued to try a collect they balance due to their error from my daughter and have now submitted balance to collection agency. I will pay the balance only because I do not want my 20 year daughter to have a bad mark on her credit report when she has done nothing wrong!

Desired Settlement: I want PVH to adjust off the adjustment error and accept payment from ******* insurance as payment in full.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,

I am responding to this complaint with the follow up steps that were taken to resolve this issue. 
I spoke with the patient's mother to review her concerns and obtain patient information so I could follow up to review this particular concern. Once the patient information was obtained, I reviewed the account and identified the steps that needed to be taken to resolve this complaint. I reviewed the account with ********* ******, manager for University of Colorado Health and verified that the account needed to be adjusted to a zero balance and removed from *** ****. With her approval, I adjusted the account and removed from *** **** status within the University of Colorado Health Billing System. I notified ***** ***** at the *** **** agency, ***, to cancel the account with them. I then notified the mother to let her know the steps that were taken on the account. She requested an Itemized Statement showing a zero balance. I verified the address of the patient and mailed the requested document directly to her. Mother seemed pleased with the outcome and stated that she believed that the patient would be happy as well. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ******

10/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter was seen on November 7, 2013. We provided accurate billing and insurance information at the visit. We did not receive a bill any additional information on billing for months, In July 2014, we received a collection notice that we had unpaid bills. I contacted my insurance company and they told me that they did not receive any information on this bill, I contacted Poudre Valley Hospital on 7/18/2014 about the bill and they said it was to late there was nothing they could do. So it would appear that Poudre Valley Hospital made a billing error and then decided to send me a bill for the full unadjusted amount for something. My insurance company said they would accept a bill if it was late if a reason was provided. I sent a fax to Poudre Valley Health billing assistance and resolution following this phone call. I did not hear anything back. They have messed up the billing of this item and now are demanding full payment that my insurance company would have paid in full. I feel that Poudre Valley Health has been unfair and unwilling to correct their billing error. Poudre Valley Health said that they tried to contact us, but the number they gave me was no were close to the number given at the visit. We also did not receive the alleged request for information they said they sent us. It is extremely frustrating to be sent to collections for a bill that is incorrect and no one at Poudre Valley Hospital will work with us to correct.

Desired Settlement: I want the collection actions against my daughter halted and Poudre Valley Hospital to make a good faith effort to correct this bill to reflex an insurance adjusted amount and a corrected bill to be sent to my insurance company as one would expect a medical bill to be handled.

Business Response:

UCHealth has reviewed the patient's account and determined that insurance information provided by the patient at the time of service was not included with the Lab Orders sent to UCHealth as expected and therefore the charges were not submitted to the patient's insurance company and deemed the patient's responsibility in error.

UCHealth has recalled the patients account from collections and is in the process of acquiring the patient's insurance information and resubmitting the claim.  UCHealth will ensure that the patient has no financial liability for any remaining balance owed regardless of their insurance company's decision.  UCHealth will also communicate all actions stated in this response as well as confirm final resolution to the patient.

8/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was set up on a payment plan (account #**********) and my account was turned over to a collection center. I called the PVH billing office on 8/4/14 to make a payment when I realized I had not received anything from them since 5/27/14 - at that time I was told my account was turned over to collections. I explained that I haven't received anything from their office since 5/27/14 or received any phone messages from their office. I asked to speak with a supervisor, ****** ******, he told me that the system shows 4 letters were sent out. I explained again that I never received any statements/notices since 5/27/14 and asked how can that be noted on my account when nothing was delivered. He told me since the system notes that information, they have followed the correct procedure in notifying me - there is nothing he can do and I must pay the collection agency. I again told him that I would have responded to a past due statement/notice immediately but I did NOT receive anything. He also said they tried to contact me by phone but the notes in his system said my phone had been disconnected. I again told him I did not have any voice messages for this account and my phone (both numbers they have) have NEVER been disconnected and could provide documentation that my phone was never disconnected. I also told him my voice mail is working but there were NO messages. Again his only response is there is nothing he can do and I have to deal with the collection agency. I am extremely frustrated that the PVH billing office isn't able to pull my account back from collections when they erroneously sent my account into collections. If this account is not paid in full within 30 days it will be reported on my credit and I was on a payment plan because I can not pay the balance in full. I am the one that called the billing office when I realized I had not received ANYTHING from them. I find it impossible that they (PVH) can not and will not help with this situation. I have placed another call into the PVH billing office on 8/6/14 and am waiting for another supervisor to call me back.

Desired Settlement: I want my account to be removed from the collection agency and placed back with PVH so I can continue to make my payments.

Business Response: From our Business Services Manager:

"Patient’s responsibility following their insurance provider’s payment on 5/21/2013 was $684.62.  Patient was sent 4 letters reminding them of their obligation to pay and 1 phone call was placed to the number on file between May 2013 and December 2013.  The patient contacted UCH in August 2013 and again in January 2014 questioning the charges on their account.  Charges were reviewed and deemed appropriate and insurance billing and claim processing was valid and the patient was informed they had a very short time within which to establish a payment plan on January 8 2014.  Patient placed a 2nd call to UCH on January 8th 2014 to establish a payment plan to pay the remainder of the balance ($684.62) over the next 12 months; $48.71 per month beginning on February 7th 2014.  Over the course of the next 6 months (February 2014 – July 2014), the patient made 3 payments on their account (2/17/2014, 3/27/2014 and 5/9/2014).  During this period the patient received 8 reminder letters and 4 calls were placed to the patient’s phone number on file.  The payment plan was broken on 4 separate occasions following non-payment and was reinstated 3 times following patient’s receipt of notification that the full balance was due immediately and the patient calling UCH to make their monthly payment.  Patient account was referred to collections on July 24th 2014.  Patient made no attempt to contact UCH following their last payment on May 9th 2014 despite 3 letters and 2 phone calls until August 4th 2014 upon receiving notification that the patient’s account had been referred to collections.
 
Patient’s account has been sent to collections due to patient’s repeated failure to pay their obligation or meet the terms of the payment plan established in January 2014 in accordance with UCH’s policies."

5/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm filing a complaint because I've requested information and detail regarding payments I've made and bills I'm still receiving and haven't received a response. I've been treated by multiple doctors in the Colorado Health Medical Group (CHMG), as well as at Medical Center of the Rockies (MCR). I know there was a change to billing systems in 2013. I called in September 2013 to make payment arrangements for my MCR bills totaling $376.83 and agreed to a payment plan of $100/month. I saw more CHMG doctors between August and December 2013, and had MRI and x-rays 4 different times. When I received my 4th statement for $100 I called because the original payment plan was for $376.83. I was told that other bills have been added to the payment plan, and that they could only see $200 in payments. I asked them to research and call me back and didn't receive a response. I called again and the woman I spoke with had to check "other systems" and she found one of the $100 payments, but not the other. They're still researching. I've asked for a listing of accounts included in the payment plan and am still waiting for that information. I received two statements for the same account number, same statement date with different balances due. I can't call MCR because CHMG handles all of the billing now. When i call, I wait on hold for up to 20 minutes before I hang up. I've left my call back number and was supposed to receive a call back within 48 business hours. That was 3 weeks ago. I'm beyond frustrated by all of the billing issues.

Desired Settlement: I want a detailed list of all of my accounts (from all billing systems) showing charges and payments; and I want to know which accounts are included on my payment plan. I also want to know why they can't find all of my payments. I've offered to send my HSA statement showing the payments they can't find and they declined.

Business Response: We appreciate the opportunity to address the billing/collecting concerns that you have expressed related to the care you received at the Medical Center of the Rockies. The account that were set up on a payment plan are the following.

#**********Balance owing $101.75
$********** Payment received from patient in the amount of $100 on 01/8/2014 and 03/13/2014, balance still owing $51.53
#********** Payment received from the patient for $100 on 12/13/2013, balance is zero
#********** Payment received from patient in the amount of $100 on 09/20/2013 and 10/25/2013, balance owing $75.08


A letter and itemization of payments has been mailed to the patient.
*

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

They're still not showing my $100 payment made on 8/9/13.  I've offered more than once to send or email the detail from my HSA card statement showing this payment, but I've been told they'll research and find it. 

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: Received 5/16/2014 by Patient Representative office. Will begin investigation with billing and respond to patient.
***************************

4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/8/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business does not provide detail itemized or breakdown per item, per unit price etc... and proof of quantity. Patient account No.: PVXXXXXXXX Billing date : 07/13/2012 Admission date : 07/06/2012 Amount : $1,303.20 Payment term : ASAP

Desired Settlement: need to provide detail breakdown per service and equipment. Example: The name of equipment; The total quantity of each equipment; The unit price of each equipment; The amount of sub-total; Whether the equipment is for sale or rental. The data how to calculate the service charge;

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2012/09/24) */ As a result of this complaint, we have reviewed our processes. In the future, when a customer requests more detailed information than is contained in the itemized bill they will be referred to the Patient Repreentative's office. The Patient Representative will provide as much detail as possible regarding services/equipment that are included within the charge. A letter including the information requested was sent to the customer.