Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

McKee Medical Center

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 669-4640 Fax: (970) 203-2512 2000 Boise Ave, Loveland, CO 80538 http://www.bannerhealth.com/locations/colorado


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McKee Medical Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McKee Medical Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on McKee Medical Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 31, 1988 Business started: 05/01/1976 Business started locally: 05/01/1976
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Business Management
Mr. Rick Sutton, CEO Ms. Michelle Joy, COO Mr. Paul Matthews, Directors of Public Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Sutton, CEO
Business Category

Hospitals


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/24/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a former employee (physician) at Banner Medical in McKee Medical Center, Loveland, Colorado. I broke my thumb and got X-rays of my hand done on August 3rd, 2015 (at McKee Medical Center) and again in September at ******* imaging ****** *** ****** **** *****. I attempted to pay each bill at the time of service, but was told that the bill could not be paid then as it had to be calculated and mailed to me. They could not even tell me what the charge for the service would be. There were a total of 4 bills associated with these two tests. 2 bills from the radiologist service, one bill for the test from McKee, and one bill for the test from ******* imaging. Three of the bills reached me without any issue, and were paid in full. Without receiving any prior notification, the bill from McKee was the only one that created a problem, wherein 5 months later, after moving to a different state, I got a notice from a collection agency. This is similar to the experience I noted from my own patients at McKee over several years, who have had numerous issues specifically with the billing department. The fact that I received all other bills pertinent to this exact service without any issue is testament to the fact that something is wrong in McKee's billing department. These types of actions adversely affect ones credit score. McKee Medical Center is doing a grave disservice to the elderly and impoverished in that community who may not have the means or the energy to battle with this sort of incompetence and then have this adversely affect their credit.

Desired Settlement: I would like a retraction of the notice sent to a credit agency. Notices cannot be sent to credit agencies until the party in question has been adequately notified. I was not. The bill however, is currently paid in full

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

Please see attached letter previously faxed.

Thank you,

Regina E*****

January 7, 2016 

BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU ATTN: ***** ***** 
8020 S COUNTY ROAD 5, 4100 FORT COLLINS, CO 80528 

VIA FAX ONLY: (970) 221-1239 

COMPLAINT ID#: 11020487 

RE: Patient: *********** ******** *
Account Number: 309 - 00097191464
Date of Service: 08/03/2015

Dear ***** *****, 
Thank you for sharing concerns expressed by Mr. ******** ********** and allowing Banner Health the opportunity to respond. 

We have reviewed Mr. ************ concerns and confirmed that the account was not reported to the credit bureau.  Several statements were sent to the address Mr. ********** provided on the date of service without response and no return mail. We have confirmed the account was paid in full by Mr. ********** and no further action is needed. 

If you or Mr. ********** has any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to call me directly. If I am not available, you may call ************, for further assistance. 

Sincerely, 


3/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was taken to McKee Medical Center for dehydration. was in the emergency room before transporting me to a room upstairs. When I was billed I received a non itemized bill. I called and asked for an explanation of the emergency portion and also was told that the 2000 for my emergency room was for level 3 treatment. I asked for a detailed explanation but was told that she did not know. when I received the "itemized statement" it stated that I was a level 5 emergency visit. Again NO Explanation as to what that was.... I sent a letter requesting that McKee/Banner health provide the levels of treatment for emergency rooms so I could verify the accuracy of the billing. I never heard back. in about 6 weeks I found out that banner health/McKee turned my bill to outside collections. they also would not provide them the information requested. I am paying Banner monthly payments on the bill.... but they have yet to provide the information.

Desired Settlement: McKee needs to provide all emergency patients with the full information on levels of treatment as part of their billing, and should they have miss-billed me they need to adjust my bill

Business Response:

McKee is investigating this complaint and will respond to patient.

Thank you,

***** ********

Business Response: BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU ATTN: MARCY SHARP
8020 S COUNTY RD 5, STE 100 FORT COLLINS, CO 80528

COMPLAINT ID#: ********

RE: Patient: ******** **** **
Date of Service: 07/01/2014
Balance: $1,002.15

Dear Ms. Sharf,
 
Thank you for sharing concerns expressed by Mr. **** ******* and allowing Banner Health the opportunity to respond. We have investigated Mr. *******'s concerns, due to confidentiality; we will be working directly with Mr. ******* to come to a satisfactory resolution. I have called Mr. ******* and awaiting a return call. 

If you or Mr. ******* has any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to call me directly. If I am not available, you may call ************, for further assistance. 

Sincerely, 
****** ** ****** 
Patient Financial Services 
*** ************ * *** ************ ******************** **********
 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have now left 2 messages for ******,  and have not gotten a return call.


Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: March 17, 2015

BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU ATTN: MAR.CY SHARF
8020 S COUNTY RD 5, STE 100 FORT COLLINS, CO 80528

COMPLAINT IDO: ********

RE: Patient: ******** **** **
Date of. Service: 07/01/2014
Balance: $1,002.15

Dear Ms. Sharf,

VIA FAX ONLY: 970-221-1239 
 
Thank you for following up with me regarding Mr. **** *******. I called Mr. ******* again today and was able to connect with him. We discussed the findings in our initial review, but found that there were other issues that were not addressed.   Mr. ******* was transferred directly to one of our Patient Relations representatives *** ******, who will  be discussing these issues and sending for investigation. 

If you or Mr. ******* has any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to call me directly, If I am not available, you may call ************, for further assistance. 

Sincerely, 

****** * ****** 
Patient Financial Services 
Ext ************ I Fax ************ 
*************@BannerHealth.com

6/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My bill and the insurance claims includes charges for the same service on multiple dates. Based on a medical professional's review, other charges are inappropriate. In addition, some charges for different service providers are combined (which is appreciated), but then the same service providers bill separately, which increases the potential for double-billing and makes it difficult to determine what services are being provided and when.

Desired Settlement: Removal of charges from my bill with incorrect service dates and those that insurance already paid for

Business Response: April 21, 2014

***** ****** ** * ******* ********** *** ********** ****** ******** ******  **** ** ******* **** ** ***** *** **** ******** ** ****8 
RE: ***** ****** — ID ******* Dear Ms. *****: 

This is to acknowledge receipt of your letter dated March 31, 2014 for case # *******. 

Thank you for forwarding this information to our office. McKee Medical Center is deeply committed to providing the highest quality clinical care and patient experience to all 
patients. We will be contacting Mr. ****** directly to ensure his concerns are resolved. Due to HIPAA requirements, we are unable to provide further information to your office. Thank you again for this notification.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Banner’s response was that this is a private HIPPA matter. In fact, they avoided addressing the billing concerns that were raised. The fact that Banner Health continues to bill my insurance company (on 4/1/14, 4/14/14, and 4/21/14) for services that Banner was already reimbursed for supports my concerns that Banner is billing inappropriately, and will not correct the errors.

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: May 16, 2014

RE: ***** ****** — ID ******* Dear Ms. *****:

This is to acknowledge receipt of your letter dated May 7, 2014 for case # *******, addressed
to Chief Executive Officer, **** ******.

I understand that you are writing on behalf of a billing complaint submitted to
us by Mr. ***** ****** on March 31, 2014.  
Although we appreciate you contacting us to ensure that we resolve Mr. ******'s concerns,
it is our policy to communicate directly with the patient. Since
our letter to you dated April 21, 2014, we have addressed Mr. ******'s billing
concerns in writing; along with a full explanation of the charges and services rendered. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet his expectations.
 
I will respond to this request in writing directly to Mr. ******. Due to HIPAA requirements, we are unable to provide further
information to your office. Thank you again for this notification. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Nothing has changed since I first made the time to go by
McKee to discuss my questions, following phone and web inquiries did not result
in any responses from McKee.

More recently, I received a phone message from *** ****** at
McKee. I left a phone message for her on May 13 that I would be happy to speak with
her the following week when I was back in town if she had something different
to say than was in the letter from **** ****** dated April 24. I subsequently
received a letter from Ms. ****** dated May 16 stating that I need to call ****
***** *******. This is in contrast to the letter from **** ******, which
indicated the need to file a level 2 complaint if I was not satisfied with the
information in the April 24 letter. As the previous responses from McKee have
failed to address the questions raised, and the response from **** ******
included financial figures that were inconsistent with previous communications,
I have filed a level 2 complaint.

Regards,

***** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on McKee Medical Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)