BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of A J Brink Outfitters @ Sweetwater Lake Resort?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

A J Brink Outfitters @ Sweetwater Lake Resort

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 524-7344 Fax: (970) 524-9301 View Additional Phone Numbers 3406 Sweetwater Rd, Gypsum, CO 81637 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.brinkoutfitters.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A J Brink Outfitters @ Sweetwater Lake Resort meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A J Brink Outfitters @ Sweetwater Lake Resort include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A J Brink Outfitters @ Sweetwater Lake Resort
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 26, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1975 Business started locally: 01/01/1975
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Ms. Adrienne Brink-Scheu, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Adrienne Brink-Scheu, Owner
Business Category

Horse Ride Companies Hunting & Fishing Services Outfitters Caterers Restaurants Fishing Parties Motels Resorts

Alternate Business Names
A J Brink Outfitters Sweetwater Lake Resort

Additional Locations

  • 1503 Sweetwater Rd

    Gypsum, CO 81637

  • 3406 Sweetwater Rd

    Gypsum, CO 81637 (970) 524-7344 (970) 524-7346

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (970) 524-7346(Phone)
  • (970) 524-7344 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid for a "mini honeymoon" for my parents anniversary, the website show's it to be a very welcoming and inviting atmosphere. However, the employees were rude and inhospitable. The cabin we reserved for them was the "honeymoon" cabin, it was said to be one of six cabins. They found the cabin to be in very poor repair. Electrical wires hanging out and being used as towel racks, a very large crack above the door, while the hot water was welcome and they were glad they had it, it was all there was, scalding hot water. Gas stove was very suffocating and once the lights went out, mice came out. It was to be a two night stay, but they left after the first night. The restaurant shows to be a very pleasant atmosphere as well, it was very cluttered with boxes and looked to be used as storage, it wasn't clean and there were mice droppings. When they were asked why they were checking out early, my parents gave the reply of mice in the rooms. She didn't apologize or try to make amends for the lack of attention to her business, instead she just said, we all have mice. For $135 a night, I would expect a lot more out of the ambiance and service. Product_Or_Service: cabin rental Account_Number: phone order-I have t

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund It would be nice if it was fixed and up to par with the prices they are asking for. However, that's their call. I would just like a refund.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2012/12/21) */ Response Letter to Omar Sanchez Case #46029902 We did receive the letter of complaint approximatly 11/18 and we issued a credit, for their full amount of $270.40 for their lodging,on 11/21. We do apologize for not getting our written response sooner. We do remember mentioning to Ms. Quintana, the Sanchez daughter, that their reservation date of 11/5 would be during our 3rd elk hunting season and that we can be having Fall weather. We have an outfitting business and a restaurant. There are clot of activities basing out of our lodge restaurart which is also the home of our crew who are riding horses before daylight and sometimes until dark. In preparation of those activities many people (the public, hunters, our crew and our guests) are all fed and equipped from our restarant. This all takes alot of varied supplies which do get stacked in our office, crewroom and at our front door. We do make great efforts at securing our food from mice contamination in the restarant and our barn, but yes we do have mice. Even our close neighbors with multi-million dallor homes have mice. We are in the country when some years they are prolific. We do not use poison in the cabins because we are pet friendly. It is when it first gets cold that the battle is more challenging. I do not have any rude or inhospitable employees so I must apologize for that impression. Our employees usually give just the opposite impression and are many times sitting with customers making them feel comfortable. The Sanchez's did have a meal in our restaurant. We have homemade cookies out all of the time and a wood stove going which is very welcoming to our neighbors too. I can remember the day they were in the restaurant and I did try to have a conversation with them. The "Honeymoon Cabin" has hosted many newlyweds and many other relaxing encounters for approximatly.90 years. The plumbing is exposed on the inside to keep it from the elements. I don't believe they were being used as a towel bar. I can't imagine where any electrical wires are exposed to be used as towel bars. I believe this may have been a miscommunication. We will look into the crack above the door. That was news to us. The shower does have both hot and cold water but is a single knob which has to be turned on and then backed off to come to the medium temperature. There is a freestanding wood stove if guests want to use it. Also there is a small gas heater which is on low all of time, maybe it got turned up and became unconfortable. It has an adjustment on the back. If we have.. problem it would be the pilot going out and there not being any heat so I will apologize for too much heat. And again we do have some mice and we do use disinfectant wipes wherever possible. When checking Mr. Sanchez, he did mention that Mrs. Sanchez was scared of the mice. I did apologize at that time and did mention we do not put out poison. In our reservation process we do describe our place as one step above camping so people are prepared that they are coming to the country. We do also feel proud that our place is a step back in time which many people find comforting in this day and age. We decorate in "Early American Garage Sale" which brings lots of good old memeries back. With it being hunting season, you do have to walk back thru the office and computer room to the restroom. This area is used to stage sack lunches,sodas, and snacks and yes they are in boxes. We do wipe all of our surfaces and restroom area down everyday. The Honeymoon cabin and our restaurant are closed until Spring, at that time I will send pies for you to use your judgement or to decide for yourself if you would want to come and visit us. I Guess our place is not for everyone but we have thousands of guests who come year after year with multiple generations. We are an old place that is in constant repair and try to make it a good experience for everyone. So I will end with apologizing that the Sanchezs did not enjoy their stay with us but hope they try to venture out to another remote place and have an enjoyable stay. Enclosed is a copy of their credit card receipt for their refund. Do contact us if you have any questions. Sincerely, Adrienne Brink

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The cabins were in obvious disrepair and unfit for human occupancy due to obvious contamination of animal fecal matter both recent and old. We (four adults and a pet)stayed at Sweetwater cabin on Friday 28th September. On arrival we were informed we had been moved to a "nicer" cabin as a "pack rat" had made their home in the one we booked. (we later saw they still put someone into that cabin). Upon arrival in the cabin we noted: -It smelled terrible -It had not been cleaned - cobwebs everywhere -Duck tap to hold the kitchen window and fridge door together -Urine stains in the bedrooms and lounge room -Fecal stains under the toilet seat -Animal droppings throughout the cabin -Bedding materials stored outside without protection from elements -Kitchen water discharged directly under cabin to the lake -Dead insects (collected over many years) fell out of a cupboard in the bathroom. Later in the evening we had a mouse come into the lounge from the kitchen. we noticed Aluminum foil filling numerous holes throughout the cabin to try to block rodents. We blocked the mouse hole, however we actually witnessed the mouse escape and run along the bench! The mouse's behavior was obvious it had been there a long time as he was not afraid at all. Safety concerns: -disease from rodents -no outdoor trash can had been bear proofed. There were signs of bears in the area -Discharge of waste water which had access to lake -No keys or locks on the cabin We came to the lake for some rest and relaxation however have left disgusted and stressed. We had read the reviews on ***********r which we now suspect have been written by the owners. We did not address these issues with the management as it was clear it is a long term problem. We are reporting it to you however as we believe these cabins to be: -A health risk -Misleading from what is advertised on their website -Deceitful, with the owners charging $170 a night (and remember we were upgraded) Myself or any of my guests would be happy to provide you any further information you may require. Please note however we have never contacted you about a complaint before and are cautious about retaliation from Sweetwater Lake Resort. We feel this is a public health issue and one visit will clarify any questions you may have. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: After traveling for most of the day to get to the cabin, and the accommodation being unfit for human occupancy we believe we are entitled to a full refund of $176. However as educators (environmental and teachers) and military contractor we believe in addition to a refund, a visit from the health inspector is required for protection of public health.

Business Response: We regret the delay in responding to the complaint by Ms ******. We received your notice that a dispute had been filed, but we never received the e-mail with details of the complaint. We received your follow-up notice in the mail Saturday, October 20, and contacted you this morning, Monday, October 22, 2012. We have today processed a full refund of $176.80. If Mr or Ms ****** had mentioned their distress we would have made every effort to remedy the situation, or made an adjustment on their bill at the time. We welcome input from our guests at any time. However, the only comment we received from the ******* was that there wasn't any beach, and that the cabin wasn't "on the water". Mr. ****** did remark, on checking out, "there had been a change in his orders". Our resort is in a remote area on the edge of the Flattops Wilderness. We are constantly fighting the battle of mice and small rodents moving into the cabins. (This is particularly true in September when creatures are looking for a winter home.) We are reluctant to put out effective poison since we do welcome pets, including the ******'s. Multi-million dollar homes in the area face the same problems with mice because we are in an area of natural grasses and dense willows that are their natural habitat. The only true remedy for this problem is to encourage more coyotes and wild cats or other natural enemies. We try to be sure our guests understand when they are making a reservation that our facilities are one step above camping. The cabins are 50 to 90 years old and some have historical significance. Our decor is early American garage sale, and the resort is never portrayed as being a highend or luxurious facility. We do offer fishing and boating on a high mountain lake and horseback riding into the wilderness. I am not sure where you find the deceit or misleading advertising in this. Regarding the safety concerns: We do live with bears on a daily basis, but they rarely bother any one, or anything. The one bear that broke into the restaurant this summer broke only one pie plate, and the frame of an aluminum screen. In return campers and boaters had the joy of seeing bears in the wild, watching them fish for dinner along the lake. The bears never caused any problems or harassed the guests. We do have bear proof dumpsters. For the convenience of our guests we provide 55 gallon drums outside the cabins which are emptied daily. Grey water is allowed to run on the ground in some areas as it is very and here. We use whatever moisture is available. The cabin where in ******* stayed is located 150 feet from the lake. Drinking water for our facility does not come from the lake in any case, it is piped from a high mountain spring and chlorinated. Our cabins have locks so guests may lock themselves in if they feel the need. Because of our remote location we have never required locking our facilities. In the 28 years we have been here that has not been a concern. Our facilities are inspected by the Health Department on a regular basis. We have never been cited for health concerns. Inspections are required more often if they find anything amiss Re the comment regarding reviews on ************: We have families who have come here for four and five generations. We have individuals who have come each year for over 40 and 50 years. We have young people who have come here for their wedding or honeymoon. These are the people who love this environment and have posted reviews to ************ for us. No one here has ever or would ever post a review. To do so would be highly unethical and unacceptable. We wish the ******* had had time to row around the natural lake to experience beavers, bald eagles, osprey, bats, and bears with cubs fishing. We sometimes loose the concept that we are lucky to experience their environment vs having them in ours. For a different view the ******* might have taken a horseback ride to the high country where vistas stretch for over fifty miles to Vail or the Maroon Bells near Aspen. We've spent our life living with the outdoors, on wilderness packtrips, in the elements. We would never trade those experiences or lifestyle for a luxury hotel vacation. But, to each his own. We wish the best for the ******* with never a thought of retaliation. We hope they do not fear another cabin or camping experience in their lifetime. We welcome anyone to step back in time and enjoy life as it was for our ancestors.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/26/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1