BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of TNT Home Improvements LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

TNT Home Improvements LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 663-2868 Fax: (970) 663-5265 Please Call or Email for Service, Loveland, CO 80538 http://www.tnthomeimprovements.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TNT Home Improvements LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TNT Home Improvements LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on TNT Home Improvements LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 18, 2009 Business started: 03/01/2003 Business incorporated: 09/01/2005 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Tad Bjorlie, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tad Bjorlie, Partner
Business Category

Home Improvements Painters Patio & Deck Builders Patio Design Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Siding Contractors Remodelers Window Installation Companies Doors Fence Contractors Storm Window and Door Suppliers Windows Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Construction Companies Carport Dealers General Contractors Contractor - Remodel & Repair

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

TNT Home Improvements LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1448 Antero Dr

    Loveland, CO 80538

  • Please Call or Email for Service

    Loveland, CO 80538

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Replacement of the brick molding they improperly installed is required. They used silicon caulk that paint is not adhering to and the job needs to be redone. I have been told the caulk is near impossible to remove from the trim and siding. New molding that is taller and wider with adequate flashing is needed. TNT also did not use adequate flashing for the siding according to the siding expert I have called. The paint was peeling very badly last year and some the year before . I had to wait through last winter to try and hire a painter for this summer. The painter determined the paint was not sticking due to the silicon caulk that was used when TNT installed and painted my brick molding 9/13 2010. I do not trust their workmanship due to the fact that I also had to have the gutters on the garage that they installed 9/13/2010 redone for severe leaking. I would prefer a refund so I can use it to pay the new company I have hired to do the repairs. I called TNT and asked them to come out and look over the peeling and silicon caulk and inadequate flashing. My request was denied due to the fact that he said the warranty expired after the first year. The refund for trim, flashing and gutters is about $1090.00 but due to cost and inflation increases to re-hire someone to redo the job, I think it should be more.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of the brick molding they improperly installed is required. I do not trust their workmanship due to the fact that I also had to have the gutters on the garage that they installed 9/13/2010 redone for severe leaking. I would prefer a refund so I can use it to pay the new company I have hired to do the repairs. The refund for trim, flashing and gutters is about $1090.00 but due to cost and inflation increases to re-hire someone to redo the job, I think it should be more.

Business Response: This work was more than 4 years ago and so is 3 years past our warranty. We used the trim that the customer picked out and as I remember the flashing is not a problem. I have no way to know for sure if the caulking was our fault but a full refund does not seem warranted. Wiping the caulk with denatured alcohol and then applying paint-able silicone caulk would fix the problem.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The professional painter and carpenter that I talked to have said that the silicon caulk TNT used is nonpaintable.  Other caulks and paints are not designed to stick to silicon caulk.  I have been advised that it is an improper and unwise method to cover the silicon caulk with another caulk and it would eventually peel up.  It would be likely that paint blistering and peeling would continue to occur over a couple of years.  The suggestion of this method only proves TNT's lack of proper paint and caulk usage knowledge as well as their poor workmanship methods used.  The painter and carpenter said that the silicon caulk should be completely removed.  This is a costly and painstakingly difficult task to remove since any residual caulk can cause peeling of other caulk or paint.  The flashing was also installed incorrectly.  It is completely behind the molding and sealed far behind the molding and does not lay on top of the brick at all.  It is not visible until the caulk and molding is removed.  It cannot shed water.  The carpenter said it does not function at any level and that it is the same as if there was no flashing at all.  I would like a refund of my money in order to have the repair work done.  I have already mentioned that the gutter work TNT did leaked badly from the get go and had to be completely replaced.  I had attempted to have TNT fix them shortly after them being installed but they still leaked.  As a result I chose not to deal with TNT again on the matter and eventually had the gutters completely replaced by another company.   Now I have encountered the caulk, flashing and paint issue and would like my money returned so I can hire professionals with higher standards to correct these issues where possible.   

Regards,

******* ******

Consumer Response: ***** ******* ************************ ********* ******* ************************ *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* *********
******, These are some pictures of the caulk and flashing.  It shows how the flashing doesn't extend onto the brick and is encapsulated by the caulk that was put on by TNT.  I have spent 60hrs scraping caulk and sanding myself and had the painter scrape also for about 15hrs the spots I had difficulty with.  I have taken time off work losing pay to try and get this done.  I don't have the money yet to pull off the wood and reflash.  Running out of good weather time to get things prepped and my painter has been booked up.  He will be working overtime to try and fit me in.  I'm worried about rain getting in the walls etc... So I cannot wait any longer to seal up the molding. Hopefully the painter can come by this week and recaulk now that I have the silicon caulk all removed.  This whole thing is very stressful.  I just want it done and soon so I don't have exposed walls and potential for leaking.  Also TNT mentioned I chose the molding they put on.  I did not!   They suggested and supplied this molding.  Special milled molding I had ordered months earlier from ***** ******* was deemed unusable and one of the TNT employees hauled it away for me.  He thought that maybe he could use it for something else he was considering working on.  Where TNT purchased the new molding I do not remember.  I think it was **** ***** or ***** but am uncertain.

 

Hope these pictures send properly, I had lots of trouble with getting a camera and my computer locking up.

******* ******

************

Business Response: ***** *** **** ************ ******************************* *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ***** *** ******

Hi *****,

I don't have her contract still, but at that time we only offered the mandatory 1 year warranty. If we extended it, it would be on her copy of the contract.

Thanks,
*** *******, Engineer

T-N-T, LLC
**** Improvements

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I still believe if the job was done initially wrong like the flashing and silicon caulk that it should be rectified even though I didn't discover that it was done improperly before the warranty ran out.  The carpenter and painter pointed it out because they have the knowledge to understand how a job like this is supposed to be done.  I don't have the knowledge by myself to know that the job was not done properly.  That is why I hire experts to do the job needed in the first place.
Regards,

******* ******

9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted TNT on May 22 2014 to have new siding installed I also gave then a deposit of $5937.00. I called them on June 1 talked to *** he said he would let me know when they would be able to start siding. Called again on July 10 and left a message no call back called again July 23 *** called back and said they would start the siding in Aug and I have not heard any thing since. I have called many times and no one has called me back.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $5937.00 refunded. Waiting over 2 months for work to be done has tried my patients and I am no longer interested having them do the work.

Business Response: We were having many problems with our phone system at the time and messages were not getting through. The complaint has been resolved.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ********

6/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested the service of TnT to build a deck for me that was to be constructed with a **** steel frame, **** decking, and **** hidden fasteners. The salesman that conducted the proposal told me **** was a bad product and that ********** was much better, particularly in Colorado. He went further to say that ********** has a much better warranty and stands behind their product in a much more comprehensive manner. I accepted the terms that he promised. The deck was to have two sets of stairs and a removable hatch over the window well to our basement. We were promised that they would come out prior to construction and remove the concrete stoop that was at our back sliding glass door. We were asked to pay a $5,000 deposit to which I objected and agreed to $1,000. The agreement was made in the early part of September of 2012. One month later we had still not seen any construction - call upon call did not render results. Finally almost two months later a delivery of materials shows up in the street in front of my house - no call, just a delivery. A few days later a construction crew shows up unannounced and begins working on the deck. The stoop was being removed by jack-hammer and I was not home. I get a call from my wife and I then hurry home to see what is going on. The crew was unable to complete the removal of the stoop and left after a couple of hours. The next morning they returned to continue to remove the concrete stoop and I hear a loud noise come from the direction of my sliding glass door. When I went outside I saw the damage to my door and the crew leader accepted responsibility. TnT suggested a repair method of caulking the damage - it looked terrible. They then agreed to put a piece of vinyl over it - it popped off in two days of cold weather. They agreed to replace the door. I got them the model number and make of my door and waited until April 2013 for the replacement. The contractor who came to replace the door said he worked for TnT, but not directly??? My laminate floor was damaged by this crew while removing the old door. The construction issues with the deck were noticed right away with regards to screw types being used. The ********** deck traditionally uses a screw that blends well with the color so it looks professional, they used an alternate screw that was horrible - leaving the appearance of black dots as a result of the screw heads, all the way around my deck. They claimed these were the only screws that would work. I found the appropriate screw online and asked them to use the correct screw - they ordered the wrong color - even with a guide on the website that matched deck color with screw color. They removed the black screws and replaced them with the wrong color but correct screws. The screw heads on the new correct screws were much smaller than the old black incorrect screws thus revealing burn marks on my fascia boards where the original wrong screws damaged the material. I asked for new fascia and the correct color and correct screws. TnT did come out and replace the fascia and screws, however their crew was bitter about the process and the repeated visits and mentioned “you got a new door too” I informed him my house was two years old and that I had a new door to begin with. The crew leader was making remarks about how much I am costing him, and I explained he was costing himself. This crew leader had the smell of alcohol on his breathe while telling me in my face that he was a professional. This same crew member also told me that he would be happy to provide me another bid that included the items on my original agreement, apparently thinking he was entitled to more money for the work. At any rate, here we are at April 21st 2013, a full seven months after we agreed to do business, with a finished project. But there were big concerns about methods that were used. I was informed that the fasteners used were not covered under the warranty of the manufacturer of the ********** deck boards, in other words, every point of contact is not covered and there are hundreds. This was in direct conflict with what I was originally told regarding warranty and board manufacturer. I am upset. First issue is the steel frame deck is actually steel and wood. The wood braces between steel joists were improvised in place of the steel braces that would normally be used. Apparently this was TnT's first steel frame deck and they were in the dark regarding construction practices. Second issue is the fastener they used was not recommended by any manufacturer, and as it turns out, the ********** board does not have a fastener that will attach to the steel frame - reason for this? **** manufactures the steel frame and a fastener that works for their board, but not **********...... The improvised method TnT used was rejected in writing and in writing I was told that they DO NOT WARRANTY the fastening system used. Therefore, if there is a failure, I am stuck. This news was delivered to me by a ********** representative for my area. I was originally told by the ********** representative that he would see if he could get his warranty department at ********** to get in writing a provision that covers my scenario and he could not. TnT has interpreted this as me asking for a "custom warranty" when all I am really asking for is the same warranty everyone gets from the ********** manufacturer when they purchase their boards. I originally asked for a **** deck on a **** frame with hidden fasteners. I got a Frankenstien deck that lacks warranty due to improper fasteners. I was really upset when TnT owner told me that they talk everyone into going with **********, thus leaving me the consumer without a warranty. I also have doubts now about anything they tell regarding warranty and only trust what the manufacturer is willing to honor. I now have a balance of $8,785 that I have not paid. This price is for a 12’x18’ deck that cost almost $10,000 with compromised warranty. I would agree to a lesser amount in light of my warranty status, or build the deck I asked for that includes a manufacturer’s warranty. I have asked them to inspect in writing and they have only held to their belief that I got what I paid for, although it is not what we contracted nor does it satisfy the premise that was established by the sales person and I regarding warranty.

Desired Settlement: Reduce price or provide the product that was promised.

Business Response: We agree that this deck did not go as well as planned.  The permit delayed us initially but we failed to inform Mr. **** of the exact start date, a mis-communication in the office. The crack in the door looked minimal and we thought we could repair it, of course these repairs did not work so we payed to have the door replaced. The specialty screws for the fascia were ordered from our supplier who informed us of the color to use, they were not the right color so new ones were ordered and the fascia and screws were replaced as requested. The extra set of steps was decided against by Mr. ****, we would have been happy to install them if he had still wanted them.  The warranty of this deck is not compromised in any way, I do not know who Mr. **** spoke to but my conversations with ********** state their warranty is still fully in effect. ********** will of course not warranty the product of another company (the fasteners) and would not write Mr. **** a custom warranty, but I've been assured by ********** their standard warranty was not voided.  All of the components used have their own respective warranties and I do not see any reason that a single one would be voided. The ********** representative also informed me that many decks have been built in just this fashion, using the ********** decking and the steel framing and that it's common practice.  It sounds to me like the main concern now is the warranty, and the warranty from each manufacturer still applies and was not degraded by the installation method used. I've also offered to write Mr. **** a warranty from TNT stating that if for some reason a warranty claim was denied because of our installation method that we would warranty it ourselves. The deck was built using the materials that Mr. **** picked and the only alterations from the original design were approved by Mr. **** as construction was under way. I would agree to a $785.00 discount and the personal warranty mentioned above to get this resolved.

8/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unfinished work & lack of response to poor installation concerns. Sept 2012- TNT Home Improvements came to our home to install a replacement deck due to Manufacturer Defects. They completed a majority of the work in timely manner however they haven't fully completed the work. There are multiple places where the decking material is still missing as well many areas of poor installation. This deck is 60' by 12', it's not a small project. They didn't even attach the balusters/spindles to the banisters. I have 2 young children & this deck is 2 stories up. I have called, emailed & text *** numerous times. The first calls & emails I sent were in Sept, then again Oct 15. I sent pictures of the unfinished/ poor work on Oct 31, then tried to contact again on Dec 17, the last time I tried to contact *** was on March 13. The only response I received from *** was on Jan. 3, 2013 in which he requested more time. That's understandable but I think I have been more than generous in the amount of time I have allowed for this to be completed.I have pictures that I am more than happy to share of the incomplete work & poor workmanship.

Desired Settlement: Completion to take place within 15 days or refund of $2000.00 to have another contractor come in & complete/fix the unfinished work.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is the same response I've heard since Oct.
I've sent pictures of the unfinished/poor work on multiple occasions to ***. (Oct 31, 2012 & again on Mar 13, 2013).

Should I accept this response only to have to open another claim when the work still isn't completed come Sept 2013?

I have attached pictures once again of the poor workmanship. (attachments (3).zip)

Business Response: TNT Home Improvements <Sales@tnthomeimprovements.com>

Hi *****,

We sent someone up a few weeks ago to finish up the deck, he fixed what we had planned based on the pictures sent by ***** (what we could tell anyway). He did not look around and/or fix anything else as he should have. ***** sent me some pictures after he left of some more areas that needed work. I'll have another crew up there Thursday - Tuesday. I'll send them by to complete the finish work.

Thanks,
*** *******, Engineer

T-N-T, LLC
Home Improvements
970-663-2TNT (2868) office
970-663-5265 fax
sales@TNTHomeImprovements.com
www.TNTHomeImprovements.com