BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of 5 Star Home Improvement Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

5 Star Home Improvement Inc

Phone: (970) 663-3305 Fax: (970) 663-7827 View Additional Phone Numbers 1350 W 8th St, Loveland, CO 80537 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.5starroofing.co

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

5 Star Home Improvement can help you with all of your home improvement needs, including roofing, siding, seamless gutters, replacement windows, insulation, decks, fences, carports, patio covers. They do blower door testing and air sealing to help you save energy.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 5 Star Home Improvement Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 5 Star Home Improvement Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 5 Star Home Improvement Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 15, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2003 Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated: 04/24/2007 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Darcey Gunn, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darcey Gunn, President
Business Category

Home Improvements Insulation Contractors Roofers Roofing Consultants Window Installation Companies Window Companies Window Repair Companies Hauling & Clean Up Services Gutter & Downspouts Suppliers

Service Area
Northern Colorado & Southern Wyoming
Alternate Business Names
5 Star Hauling 5 Star Roofing Co LLC Window Depot USA of Northern Colorado Window Depot USA of Southern Wyoming
Products & Services

Roofing Roof Repairs Insulation Air Sealing Replacement Windows Siding Seamless Gutters Leaf Protection Painting Kitchens & Baths Decks & Fences Insurance Claims Assistance Energy consulting for your roof, ceilings, windows, walls, and crawl space Energy Savings Evaluations

Industry Tips
Tips for Hiring Roofing Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 1350 W 8th St

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 663-3305 (303) 651-3305 (307) 634-3305 (970) 663-0110 (970) 669-3305 (307) 433-8888 (303) 485-7482

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (303) 485-7482(Phone)
  • (303) 651-3305(Phone)
  • (307) 433-8888(Phone)
  • (307) 634-3305(Phone)
  • (970) 663-0110(Phone)
  • (970) 669-3305(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed complaint ******** on 6/8/2014. I received an email 6/24/2014 informing me: "We regret to inform you that BBB® cannot process your complaint. The case was reviewed by one of our Dispute Resolution Counselors. Based on not hearing from you, it appears that you need to file a complaint regarding your concerns with **** *****." Until the above mentioned message, I had not received any emails from BBB or the company regarding the complaint. Hence, I did not know that BBB was expecting to hear from me before closing the complaint. The issue remains unresolved. I repeat the essence of the original complaint below, but note first that in the company response to complaint ********, company owner ***** **** replies that I am not his customer, I am **** *****'s customer. Mr. **** is being disingenuous. His company installed the windows. As noted in the original complaint, they did the damage to the house. They have told me several times that they would resolve the problems, but the problems remain, in spite of repeated contacts I have had with his company. The key points of my complaint are that Mr. ****** company, under contract with **** *****, installed windows in our house on April 16 and 17, 2014. At that time, the job was left unfinished and interior and exterior damage to the house was done during the installation. One window was damaged in shipment. Mr. ****** installer indicated he would re-order the window sash. Mr. ****** installers have repeatedly failed to complete the installation. I have now taken four days off work to meet employees of Mr. ****** company at my house as they continue to do partial repairs (not counting the original planned 2-day installation in April). It is now April 25. The installation is incomplete. Mr. ****** company has repeatedly scheduled repairs with me, for which I have taken days off work, and each time has failed to complete the promised repairs. The remaining repair, to my knowledge, is replacement of a damaged sash. Mr. **** may rightly claim that **** ***** should send teh sash. I am sure he is as exasperated as I at **** *****'s inability to do this. But, his employees have repeatedly told me that they would order the sash. In any case, final (someday, I hope) arrival of the long missing sash in no way absolves Mr. ****** company of their original poor installation, repeated broken promises, and repeated failure to complete repairs after scheduling appointments with me.

Desired Settlement: Completion of installation. However, the incompetence of the installers so far does not lead me to believe the work is reliable nor that the warranty is believable.

Business Response: 5 Star Home Improvement, Inc is a subcontractor for **** ***** at **** ******** (*****). Mr. ***** is a customer of *****, NOT 5 Star Home Improvement. I have no contract with Mr. *****. He made payments to *****, not to 5 Star. I am only a subcontractor. His warranties, contracts, all paperwork, etc. are with *****. 
    The original complaint stated "damage to exterior of ****". There was NO damage done to this ****. Paint will chip around windows during a new window install. *****'s guidelines state that it is the **** owners responsibility to do touch up paint and stain (as per their contract with *****). We go over and above trying to please *****'s customers and will do that for them if they ask, which we did for Mr. ***** as well. As for the interior of the ****, there was not much support around the front windows due to being a large and awkward shaped opening. A very small amount of drywall mud fell out with the vibrations during the removal of the existing windows. This is normal during demo. It was fixed to the Mr. ******* satisfaction, I was the one that fixed it. I also went above and beyond, fixing other roof leak water damage to his drywall by the back patio door (at no charge). The leak that Mr. ***** is talking about was caused by lack of maintenance (caulking) where the window trim meets the siding (not where the trim meets the window) at the front ached window.
After Mr. ***** called *****   to complain about the "leaky window", ***** sent us out to check it out. My serviceman explained to Mr. ***** what the issue was. Mr. ***** asked him to fix it when he came back to install the sash.
   We have NO control of ordering and scheduling on ***** jobs. These tasks are all done through *****'s Atlanta office. The window sash had a very slight bend on the rail that you use to lift the window open with. This is cosmetic only. The window still operated fine. We installed the window knowing the sash was to be replaced (with Mr. ******* approval). We are not the window manufacturer nor the mail carrier, nor the ones that placed the order for the sash. My installers and service crew all let Mr. ***** know that *****  would be in contact with him for scheduling.
   We had a service scheduled through ***** to install the sash. They said the sash was sent to Mr. *****. When we arrived at the ****, the sash was not there. Come to find out, ***** had scheduled us before the sash showed up. My son **** was the service tech on this day. **** sealed the window trim to the siding. **** showed Mr. ***** how to install the new sash well. **** told Mr. ***** that he had no problem coming back to install the sash, and that Mr. ***** could call him when it came in. Mr. ***** told **** that there was no need to come back for the sash and that it was a very simple task that he could handle. **** assured him that it was not a hassle and would love to come back.  Mr. ***** again told him he would handle it. **** walked around the exterior to double check everything. He touched up the caulking around a couple of windows.
   Every single time we left his **** (after the original install date), he said he was satisfied with the work that has been completed, but for some odd reason, his story keeps changing.
Mr. ***** appear to be having buyer remorse and is regretting spending $13,043.67 on his new investment. If Mr. ***** gets his  unjustified refund, that is between him and *****. There is no reason to drag my company down during this process. 

****** ****
(Owner / President/CEO)

* **** ******* **** *** * **** **** ************ *** * **** ******* ***** *** ********** ****** ***** *** ** ******** ******** ****** ***** *** ** ******** ******* ****** ***** *** ** ******* ******** **** **** *** *** ********* ** ***** ************
************ ************ **** ************  ************************** ****** **********************

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Mr. ***** states there was NO damage to the **** (his
capitalization). And yet, he admits that 5-Star returned (I believe it was 4
times) to make repairs. In fact, the window casing interior required
re-spackling (which Mr. ***** claims was not his responsibility), re-painting, and replacement of one cracked trim piece. Damage to
the exterior included a saw cut into the framing around one window (the one
that later was discovered to be leaking). After stating that there was NO
damage, Mr. ***** then goes on to describe the repairs that he personally made.

Mr. ***** claims to have fixed a roof leak. There was no
roof leak. Mr. ***** fabricated that claim. He also claims that the leak by the
window that I originally reported was due to a lack of maintenance. Actually,
the leak was around the trim area that was damaged during the installation, as I showed
Mr. *****. The window did not leak before it was replaced. It did leak after
replacement. I never reported (or had) a roof leak.

Mr. ***** says he has no control over **** *****s
scheduling. My conversations with **** ***** lead me to believe that is correct.
I do not hold Mr. *****’s company responsible for the scheduling.

Mr. ***** accurately describes the known remaining problem,
which is that the window sash that was damaged has still not been replaced. I
believe Mr. *****’s company has been as aggravated as I at **** *****’s failure
to provide a replacement. However, I note that Mr. *****’s employee, who originally
did the install, told me specifically that he would order the replacement sash.
In one of the later repair visits (the third, I think) I was again told by the
5-Star employee (I do not know which) that they would order the sash.  I actually hold 5-Star blameless about the
sash. I think they did (at least once) ask ** to send a replacement. I know I’ve
asked many times. ** seems incapable of accomplishing that task, but that is
not 5-Stars fault.

Mr. ***** states that every single time they left my house,
I was satisfied with the repairs. This is quite a twist of the truth. I was
satisfied with the repairs implemented during that visit, but as Mr. ***** is
well aware, they left the first time with the installation incomplete, the leak
in the window was not discovered until it rained (I think about 2 weeks after
the original install), and even in their last visit, as Mr. ***** noted, his
son, acting as a 5-Star employee, checked all the windows again and still found
places where they had not caulked. This is after several followup visits. AT no time did I indicate to Mr. *****
or anyone else that I was satisfied that the job had been completed.

Mr. ***** claims my story keeps changing. One can read the original complaint to see the consistency in
my story. Damage to the exterior of the house around the trim a leaky window
(as Mr. ***** noted, caused by a lack of caulking), a lack of caulking around
many other windows that **** discovered and I was unaware of, and the list of
incompleted installation tasks that were listed when the 5-Star installer
claimed to have finished the first time (we listed these on the work order
sheet that we were asked to sign after the initial installation).

Mr. ***** goes on to speculate
that I have buyers remorse, and a refund is unjustified. He is correct. I
greatly regret doing business with ** and allowing 5-Star on my property. I don't regret buying windows, as that must be done.
But I greatly regret my choice of companies. Mr. *****
opines that any refund is unjustified, in spite of his admission of the multiple
repair trips, and that the replacement sash has still not arrived even 3 months
later. I paid for a complete installation. Mr. ***** appears to feel that I am
not owed that. I disagree. I believe that I should be provided with what I paid for, or be refunded.

The remaining known problem is
the missing replacement sash. I concur with Mr. ***** that ** is responsible
for that and 5-Star's work at my house is finished. The work is warranted by HD.
I have informed them that if further problems develop, 5-Star will not be
allowed on my property. The Keystone Cops installation job that they did and
Mr. *****’s continuing dishonesty (including his weak claim that his company is
not responsible, in spite of the fact that it was his company that did the
installation), and his dismissive attitude that a refund is unjustified, even while admitting that
the job is not finished, leave me with no desire to have any further contact with Mr.
*****.

Mr. *****’s receptionist
called after their last visit to ask if everything was completed
satisfactorily. I told her then, and repeat here. No, it was far from
satisfactory.  slightly over 2 months after their original installation, 5-Star made
the final repairs that I know of and that they are responsible for. That is not
a satisfactory installation job, but their part is finally finished. I will pursue my
refund from **** *****. If they pass some of the cost back to 5-Star for the shoddy
installation or let 5-Star off the hook is between ** and **** *****.

Regards,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1