Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Northern Colorado Air Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Northern Colorado Air Inc

Phone: (970) 223-8873 Fax: (970) 229-9983 View Additional Phone Numbers 812 Stockton Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.ncagriff.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northern Colorado Air Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northern Colorado Air Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Northern Colorado Air Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 05, 1992 Business started: 10/01/1991 Business started locally: 10/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Plumbing Board
1560 Broadway Ste 1500, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/plumbing
Phone Number: (303) 894-2300

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Roy R Griffin, President Ms. Joyce Griffin, Secretary/Treasurer Mr. Jeff Richard
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roy R Griffin, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Richard
Business Category

Heating Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Heat Exchanger Dealers Sheet Metal Companies Thermostats Water Heaters - Dealers Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heater Cleaning Repair Services Boiler Dealers Humidifier Suppliers Furnace Sales and Repair Services Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boiler Repair Cleaning Companies Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Plumbers Water Heater Repair Stores

Industry Tips
HVAC Contractors : Hot & Cold Tips

Additional Locations

  • 812 Stockton Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 223-8873 (970) 686-8873

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (970) 686-8873(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Northern Colorado Air (NCA) in early August, and scheduled a service tech to assess both the heating and cooling unit for needed repairs. I make it very clear that I wanted both units looked at for possible issues. On 8/18 after they came out I paid $278, and was given an estimate for approximately $500 for additioinal need repairs. On 9-3 there was an issue with the air conditioner. They came out and said that this was not what they worked on (a new issue) and charged me another $228 to repair. I scheduled the additional estimated repairs ($500) for 10/22. This time the bill was $525 to do cleaning that was not seen previously. What I orignially asked them to do was to a complete assesment. So another $525 for this "new" service. They said that it would take another $500 to fix the air conditioning unit. They came out on 10/30, and guess what that only covered the parts, and not the labor. So this time it's $648. Now, after previously being at the house three prior times I'm told that the air ducts need cleaning. I understand they don't clean the ducting, but really....on the fourth trip. So, $1,679 later I can only hope that it all works correctly. I feel completely taken advantage of by this business.

Desired Settlement: A third party to determine what a reasonable charge for what they should be.

Business Response: ***,

Thanks for taking time to call me back today and discussing the chain of events.  I believe we have everything up to 100% satisfaction now with your service.  We appreciate your business.
Sincerely,
****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I was contacted by **** *******, the General Manager, regarding this issue. I wish that we had gotten together earlier as that woudl have avoided all of this. I now believe this was a communication problem. After **** explained everything to me I completely understand why the repairs were made and the associated billing fees. I no longer have any issue with Northern Colorado Air Inc. I would now continue to recommend them to anyone considering heating or air conditioning service.

Regards,

****** ********

11/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******** came over to fix my furnace and quoted me 290 to replace the inducer blower or blower motor (whichever it was, they called it different names twice). I was out of town during the repair, so i gave the sales representative my credit card information after ******** told me the total charge would be NO more then the 290 that was quoted including the parts, labor and diagnostic fee. He never left a receipt or told me of any other charges after this point. It wasn't until today, when I was reviewing my credit card statement that I noticed the 100+ dollar fee added. I called the company immediately explaining the situation and the lady on the phone proceeded to hang up on me. This is the worst service I have ever had with any kind of repair and I feel this company was very dis-honest with me up-front and then provided horrible costumer service resolving this issue. I have never had a business representative hang up on me before.

Desired Settlement: I feel that once I was quoted 290 and after i repeatedly asked is this the total price including labor, parts and the diagnostic fee, that if there was any additional charges they would be brought up before the charge or even before the work was even done. I never received a receipt for this work, so I really feel this company was just trying to hide the charges and make a quick buck.

Consumer Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ***** ****** <**************************>
Date: Thu, Nov 14, 2013 at 3:20 PM
Subject: Complaint against Northern Colorado Air (***** ******
To: ******************

I was contacted by **** a manager at Northern Colorado Air and the problem was resolved in a fair and well manor. 
Thanks,
***** *

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Northern Colorado air has not fixed my air conditioner. I started working with them last year. They said if I got this package form them, to come check it 2 times a year it would be better. So I got their package.After the man left from checking the air last year. It made a very loud bang when it went on. I called NCA and they said I would have to pay to have them come back out. Being on a fixed income I could not pay again. So I waited until fall when they would come back out on the package deal. He said it needed this and that and charged me for it. I paid. I had gone all summer with out air.2013 The air did not work so I called they came out to fix it twice and it was not fixed. One time it ran and would not shut off , after one of their people were here and he told me to just let it run. I did not but I could turn it off by the thermostat. They were to call me about when they got the part, for what they said was wrong and how much 5 weeks later I called them and they had done nothing. Then the next week when I called again Robert said oh did you want that, I will order it but you will have to wait 2 weeks for ******** our best repair man to come. He came and was rude. He walked into my house after he rang the bell and I did not get to the door in time.He said the air is fixed after I called him to come back. Second time in one day. It still was not working getting warmer instead of colder. He said - this was on Friday wait until tomorrow when the house is cool On Sat it was up to 82 degrees I called and **** came out. He said it needed freeon and I had to pay for that and labor $80.00 an hour. I said do you not stand behind your work He Said he did not do the work so could not take responsibility for it I said it was your company that did the work yesterday He said if you are not going to pay I am leaving and he did. But he stayed in the back yard a long time. From what I could see he was removing the Freon from the air conditioner.The air and the furnace would not shut off. even when I fliped the breaker. So it ran all day until eve when a friend came and shut it off. NCA refused to come and see to it, twice. Hung up on me twice. Said to get someone else. Said he did not do the work so could not take responsibility for it I said it was your company that did the work yesterday He said I will not come out to your house again. I went with out air all last summer because they refused to stand behind their work and I had to pay them to come out. Then this year all summer without air and in this heat. Because they did not order a part for two and a half months. Then had to wait for two weeks for their special guy. I believe it is the thermostat and told them so did not even check. The other (Mark)walked into my back bedroom where I was working on my computer, with out invite. One guy over charged me by 1/2 hour for his time and at 80.00 an hour thats a lot. In looking over my invoices I just saw where I was charged for the humidifier to be fixed. Had forgotten that. There was water in the crawl space from the humidifier and I had to get a handy man in here to dismantle it and turn off the water. The filter was black had not been changed in a long time. So nothing I was charged for was done.I also just found out that repair guys get paid by what they say they did and the amount of hours they say they were in the home.Even **** said did the filter get changed I said I got charged for it That does not mean they did itNot what they did but what they say they did. Like over charging on the hours. Saying they fixed the humidifier when infact they did not. Saying the work they did when they did nothing but charge. The furnace and humidifier are in the crawl space so there is no way I could have gotten down there to check on it. How I found out was, I was selling the house, the inspector saw the water and reported it to me I called someone and they discovered the problems with the humidifier. It cost me the sale of the house not just once but twice. This time after **** left I could not get the furnace and air to turn off. Now I do not have air or furnace. Will have to get someone else in here to fix it.I believe it was the thermostat all along.***** ***** **** **** *** ******** *** **********************************

Desired Settlement: I am asking to get all my money back I paid: $1,378.00Payment for someone else to fix it. $500.00Lawyers fees if it needs a lawyer.Plus 1,000.00

Business Response: October 8t', 2013 

***** bought a PM from us in April 2012 for $156.00 which included 1 spring visit 
for AC and a fall visit for furnace and humidifier. We found the AC not functioning up 
to speed and let the customer know it was low on refrigerant. We found a faulty relay on 
the control board that caused the inducer motor to run with the AC. She gave us the ok to 
replace those 2 parts in which we did. We went back for the fall service of 2012 and the 
furnace checked out ok. We did let her know the humidifier had not been wired right 
when the installation happened and recommended the transformer and the solenoid may need to be replaced. She said "no" to the repairs. Her agreement of the PM was over in April 2013 and she did not renew with us. 
She called us and said the AC was not working right from last year and demanded we 
look at it. The tech went out of good faith and did a free check even though we had 
fulfilled the 2 visit agreement. At that time she was told the TXV was stuck and would 
need replaced. She called us back in August to tell us it is still not working. We went out 
again to tell her the TXV was faulty and needed replaced. She commented that AC units 
waste a lot of electricity. The office called and told her the cost to replace it. She said 
she did not have that much money to repair and we said we would work with her. We 
ordered the part and went out to replace it. We got finished and she said her bookkeeper 
writes the checks and was gone and was very short with the tech. The office advised the 
tech to leave as he felt unsafe with ***** yelling. She called back again that Friday 
September 6th and demanded we get the tech back out. We found the whole house fan 
damper wide open and we told her she needs to close this when she runs the AC. She 
claimed this was our fault and was very nasty with the tech. When he went back to the 
front door to tell her about duct leakage and some things she could do herself to save on 
her energy bill. She told him she does not believe anything he tells her and it has not 
worked right since we have been there. Which she had just moved in at that time and had 
no history of the system prior to her moving in a few months earlier. It was at that time 
the tech who has worked for us over 10 years said we do not want to go back to this 
house. 

Then ***** called on the weekend to tell us the unit was not shutting off. The after 
hours tech went out and was looking at the AC and she jumped out from the bushes and 
 yelled get off my property as we had sabotaged her system. She was threatening him and 
said she was calling BBB and police. She called the answering service 4 times that 
Saturday and our service has the correspondence in the email document with the calls 
logged by her that morning. ***** had said this lady is scary. Our technician then called 
the Larimer County Sherriff and the State Patrol to report her for harassment. He felt very 
unsafe as well. They both asked if we wanted to press charges. We said "no" and we did 
not press charges. 

In summary we went above and beyond the call of duty as her agreement had expired 
April 2013 and we have been out 7 additional times with R-22 and parts that we have not billed ***** one penny at all this year for any of this work.. This is including the TXV and pump down and new refrigerant that we added and the after hours call for a total of 7 visits. We feel we have gone WAY above the call of duty to make it right as you can see by our flawless record with the BBB we are dedicated to taking care of the consumer even at this kind of costs as we did in this situation only to get this letter. 

We have documented the site file location as a "No service account". We do not need to 
subject our technicians and our answering service to this kind of verbal attacks and abuse. 

Northern Colorado Air Inc.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  First off there are no bushes to jump out of in the back yard.  I did not tell him to leave.  I did ask him to check the thermostat he refused.  He entered my bed room uninvited the other man entered my home un invited.

 
After having an other business look at this A/C he clearly said IT WAS THE THERMOSTAT!  HE REPLACED IT !  And it works just fine.
NCA said they did all this work and it did not work after me paying them many hundreds of dollars to fix it and they did not.  I had to hire someone else to fix it right.
I will be contacting a lawyer to handle this.
 
I am extremely upset over their response.  How they have twisted the truth and out and out lied.
 
***** *****

Business Response:

***** ***** bought a maintenance agreement that expired April 2013 and she did not renew the plan.We have gone above and beyond the customer request.  We have given ***** an extra maintenance  (which she did not pay for) which was completed this summer 2013.  We have repaired her TXV and gave her new R-22 at no charge as well as free labor on all the service time including the after hours calls at no charge.  I am sorry she feels this way.  We have extended a more than fair compensation for her concern by doing all this work at no charge.

Sincerely,

Northern Colorado Air Inc.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: You may not of charged me cause you did not fix it.  Someone else did. 

 
 Then you called the police because I confronted you in your lack of repairing this. 
 
 I went for two summers with out air because your repair men had not a clue on how to fix it.  Refused to even check the thermostat.  Said he was going to do something else and charge me after you had just been there the day before. And it was not fixed because that was not what was wrong.  IT WAS THE THERMOSTAT.
 
THE MAN WALKED INTO MY HOUSE WITH OUT INVITE AND IN TO MY BEDROOM WITH OUT INVITE.
 
YES i AM UPSET WITH YOU FOLKS.  i WANT REIMBURSE FOR THE MONEY i HAVE PAID YOU.  
 

Regards,

***** *****

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service