Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Gary Hooley Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (970) 493-3272 Fax: (970) 224-1108 1314 Webster Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.hooleyhvac.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gary Hooley Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gary Hooley Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gary Hooley Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 09, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1968 Business started locally: 01/01/1968
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dennis Shortridge, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis Shortridge, Owner
Business Category

Heating Air Conditioning Sheet Metal Companies Commercial Refrigeration Equipment Sales and Service Companies Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Industry Tips
HVAC Contractors : Hot & Cold Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1314 Webster Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 493-3272

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gary Hooley ******* (GH) performed improper and incomplete repair on my A/C that resulted in more A/C damages and more costly repair. On June 6, 2012, Gary Hooley ******* and A/C (GH) performed repairs on my A/C. *** A/C problem was not cooling to desired temperature. GH's technician came, and diagnosed the problem as low refrigerant due to leaks. I was told that the leak was fixed and 8 lbs of refrigerant was put in. I was invoiced approximately $402, which I paid with a credit card. *** A/C performed cooling to the desired temperature set throughout the remaining summer months of 2012. On June 24, 2013, when **** *******' air temperatures have been steadily climbing up, the A/C was turned on by my realtor, **** ****** with *** *****, ***. (I am currently living out-of-state and selling the house). However, it was not cooling. My realtor contacted a local company (***** ******* & *** ************) which found out that the A/C was totally empty of refrigerant; a total of 14 lbs which is the refrigerant capacity of the A/C. I was dumbfounded to hear this because (a) the leak was supposedly fixed and (b) 14 lbs of refrigerant cannot be consumed over one season of usage. I contacted GH on June26, 27 (left voice messages but no response), and finally spoke with ***** (owner) on June 28, 2013. I relayed to him the diagnosis of ***** ******* and asked him why the leaks were not properly fixed. I also told him that if they ran a vacuum test and checked steady-state pressure along the A/C lines, then leaks should have been fixed. He agreed. ***** sent a technician to the house to diagnose the problem. *** technician (*****) called and told me that there was a serious leak under the A/C, and the coils underneath are grossly corroded as a result. I asked ***** if he had relayed the problem to *****. ***** replied yes, and that ***** will call me shortly. I never got a call from ***** on June 28. GH was closed on weekends but I left messages. On July 1, I finally got a response back from the receptionist indicating that GH will come back to me for an estimate of repair. I told the receptionist the situation above to which she replied, she will consult ***** for a response. To date, I have not received a response from ***** or anyone from GH for any arrangement on fixing my A/C. In the meantime, for more than a week to date, the inside house daytime temperature reaches over 90 degrees and, consequently, turning off potential buyers the property was shown to. I am also concerned of molds build up with no controlled air conditioning in the house. I feel and believe that GH is liable for the cost of restoring my A/C to its normal operating conditions. GH's haphazard and improper repair had resulted in more damage to the A/C; hence, more costly additional repair and loss of expensive refrigerant. *** settlement I am asking from GH, at their cost, are complete and proper repair the A/C leaks, replacement of the corroded coils, refill of the refrigerant to capacity of the A/C, and thorough checks on the A/C to ensure that there are no other damages resulting from the improper repair made on June 6, 2012. GH non-responsiveness is not acceptable and, unless I received an arrangement for my A/C repair within the next 2 days, I am compelled to hire another local A/C company to immediately fix my A/C. However, I will file a legal claim against GH for the cost and charges on the repairs incurred.

Desired Settlement: The settlement I am asking from GH, at their cost, are complete and proper repair the A/C leaks, replacement of the corroded coils, refill of the refrigerant to capacity of the A/C, and thorough checks on the A/C to ensure that there are no other damages resulting from the improper repair made. I also ask that restoration of the A/C to its normal operating conditions be made immediately. If Gary Hooley cannot perform these repairs or A/C restoration immediately, for whatever reasons, that Gary Hooley covers or pays the charges or cost of repairs that will be performed by another company.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/18) */ July 16, 2013 To Whom It May Concern: Case#XXXXXXXX This is in response to Mr. ******* complaint on address **** *********. We were at Mr. ******* house on June 6, 2012 for a no cooling call, my service technician found the system had a leak and he performed a leak test which he found leaks at the shrader valve. He repaired the leak and recharged the system, which as Mr, ******* stated cooled the house to the desired temperature the whole summer. I did speak with Mr. ******* and informed him if the leak was at the same shrader valve that it would be under warranty. On June 28, 2013 I sent **** my service tech to check on the system, he found the system was empty of refrigerant, and then pressurized the system and found multiple leaks in the evaporative coil on the furnace. The leaks were on the bends of the coil. The evap coil needs to be replaced. This is a mechanical device, which can break down with no warning. Due to the size of leaks in the coil, the refrigerant would have never lasted all summer, it would have leaked out within days. Our company did not install this air conditioning system, we only repaired it once. We can't control the work that comes from the factory. I suggest Mr. ******* calls whoever install his system and see if they can get the evaporative coil covered under warranty. Sincerely, ****** ********** Gary Hooley Heating & Air