Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kaiser Permanente

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 207-7171 View Additional Phone Numbers 4850 Hahns Peak Drive Suite 280, Loveland, CO 80538 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.kp.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kaiser Permanente meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kaiser Permanente include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kaiser Permanente
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 2012 Business started: 09/06/1996 in CA Business started locally: 07/01/2012 Business incorporated 09/06/1996 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Medical Board
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/medical/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2430
Fax Number: (303) 894-2821
DORA_MedicalBoard@state.co.us

Colorado State Board of Pharmacy
1560 Broadway Ste 1310, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/pharmacy/
Phone Number: (303) 894-7800

Insurance Board- Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 850, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/insurance
Phone Number: (303) 894-7499

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Charity/NonProfit

Business Management
Ms. Lori Call, Senior Manager/Community Relations Ms. Dawn Paepke, Community Relations Lead Mr. Jason Tacha, Executive Director of Operations Northern Colorado
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lori Call, Senior Manager/Community Relations
Principal: Ms. Dawn Paepke, Community Relations Lead
Business Category

General Health Medical Companies Medical Imaging Companies Hospitalization, Medical & Surgical Plans Health Insurance Companies Pharmacies Clinics Dietitians Health & Wellness Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D. Physicians & Surgeons - Family Practice Physicians & Surgeons - Allergy Internal Medicine Offices Physicians & Surgeons - Weight Reduction Pediatricians


Additional Locations

  • 2429 35th Avenue

    Greeley, CO 80634 (970) 218-7171

  • 2950 E Harmony

    Fort Collins, CO 80528 (970) 207-7171

  • 4850 Hahns Peak Drive Suite 280

    Loveland, CO 80538

  • 4901 Thompson Parkway

    Johnstown, CO 80534 (970) 207-7171

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for the ************** ********************** *** Plan through ******* *** ****** ******** on 9/17/2015. I paid all deductibles on time. I have not been able to register for online services. I have been attempting to register online for the past four months, and cannot make an account. Without an account, I can't look for doctors, see my billing information, look at any plan documents, etc. I am crippled without this—it is essentially like I do not have health care. It is devastating, and has been extremely stressful for me, especially as I have health appointments I need to make. I am fairly certain this is a deliberate and prejudiced choice because I am a member via the ***. I also have not received an updated membership card for 2016. It took two months for one to arrive for 2015, conveniently arriving at the very, very end of December. When I contact Kaiser via phone, they tell me my account is only listed as active in billing, but isn't listed as active "in the other system" — whatever that means. Sometimes, they tell me my account is closed. I have spoken with customer service several times. Within the past month: 2/8 - Spoke to supervisor who said he would contact corporate offices and get back to me. He never did, even after following up on 2/9 2/3 - Was told my account was cancelled. (Remember, I have paid all deductibles on time.) Asked to speak to a supervisor; was told one would call me back within 24 hours. This never happened. 1/27 - Was told there were frequent "signup issues" on the website, and to try registering again the next day. As I had for the past THREE MONTHS, I continued to attempt to register in the days following only to receive a "call Kaiser" message. I called them numerous times before, but only started keeping logs in late January.

Desired Settlement: To be listed as "active," to be able to register online, and have full access to their services—as I'm paying plenty of money to be able to do.

Business Response:

February 23, 2016

***** ***** **** ********* ********** *** ********** ************** *** **** *** ***** ******* ******** *****

Complaint Case #           ********
Consumer: *****, *****   
Case Opened: February 9, 2016 

Dear Ms. *****,

This is in response to your email received on February 23, 2016, forwarding concerns on behalf of our member, ***** *****, pertaining to continued issues experienced with her healthcare plan purchased from ******* *** ****** ******** (C4). For future reference, please forward the Kaiser Permanente (KP) Colorado complaints directly to me, via email, as I am the KP representative managing BBB issues. I sincerely apologize for the delay in response, as it was just forwarded internally from to me today. We value the opportunity to review and respond to their grievance and apologize for the member’s dissatisfaction.

We have formally documented and shared Ms. *****’s complaint details with the appropriate Consolidated Service Center/KPIF, On-Exchange Issues Department leadership, to include the overseeing Manager. I am very sorry for any frustration caused to Ms. *****, as a result of dealing with her overall C4/KP plan issues, including the persisting problems with her enrollment/premium. 

I located an initial complaint that was filed for the member on December 9, 2015. Being that the previously experienced issues have not been resolved as of yet, I have opened a Second Review complaint. I encourage Ms. ***** to contact me directly, as to follow through with the posted case and planned action. I assure you that I will personally assist Ms. ***** with any current or arising plan related issues.

The Member Issues Resolution Team (MIRT) has reviewed the case and submitted for urgent reinstatement of Ms. *****’s plan. MIRT has advised that the reinstatement should occur by tomorrow. Again, the member is welcome to call me for confirmation, as well as for updates regarding her account plan details (monies paid/due). 

Please thank the member for her patience, and reiterate that I am happy to be her one go to person with this situation. Ms. *****’s feedback is valued, as is her allowing us to fix the existing problems. 

The member’s feedback is essential to our commitment of continuous improvement in delivering the highest quality, most appropriate and compassionate care.  Our goal is to deliver excellent service to our members.  Grievances expressed by our members do not affect their coverage in any way.  If the above noted member is dissatisfied with the resolution, they have the right to request a second review.  Please have them put the request in writing to:

Kaiser Permanente
Member Services 
2500 South Havana Street
Aurora, Colorado  80014

Written requests will be reviewed by Member Services Administration who will respond to you in writing within 14 calendar days of the receipt of the member’s request. We may extend this timeframe up to an additional 14 calendar days at the member’s request or if there is a need for additional information and the delay is in the best interest of the member.  

If the BBB or the member has any questions, please contact me at ***** ********.

Also, you may contact Member Services: 

Denver/Boulder members may call ************, toll free at **************, between 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.  Deaf, hard of hearing, or speech impaired members who use a TTY may call ************.  

Colorado Springs members please call ************ or deaf, hard of hearing or speech-impaired members who use TTY may call **************.  You may also contact our department through our Web site at kaiserpermanente.org.

Please thank our member for their understanding in this matter. We know that they have a choice for their healthcare, and we thank them for choosing Kaiser Permanente. 

Sincerely,

Tina M. B****
Complex Case Resolution Specialist
Member Experience 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kaiser Permanente
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)