BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Schmidt Custom Floors Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Schmidt Custom Floors Inc

Phone: (970) 663-7402 Fax: (970) 663-7414 1264 S Grant Ave, Loveland, CO 80537 http://www.schmidtcustomfloors.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Schmidt Custom Floors Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Schmidt Custom Floors Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Schmidt Custom Floors Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 08, 2008 Business started: 05/01/1998 Business started locally: 05/01/1998 Business incorporated: 12/24/2001 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Barry Schmidt, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Barry Schmidt, President
Business Category

Hardwood Floors Hardwood Floor Maintenance Carpet Stores Carpet & Rug Dealers - Persian/Oriental Rugs Carpet & Rug Pads, Linings & Accessories Floor Materials Vinyl Flooring Suppliers Flooring Retailers Non-ceramic Tile Stores Carpet And Rug Distributors Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Carpet Layers Floor Laying, Refinishing and Resurfacing Companies Floor Coatings - Epoxy/Polyurethane Floors - Laminate Ceramic Tile Companies Remodelers


Additional Locations

  • 1264 S Grant Ave

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 663-7402

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered hardwood flooring and put down a $7000.00 deposit on January 28th, 2014. We were told it would take 2-4 weeks for delivery and installation. After 4 weeks we were told that due to storms in Georgia we were now waiting an additional 8 weeks. We were told we would receive weekly updates via a phone call. This has never happened, we have always had to initiate the phone call. After 2 weeks without a phone call, we finally got a hold of ***** we were told we were still out 8 weeks, because the manufacturer had "sold our flooring to a big mall in California." but that they had hired another person (***) to keep putting pressure on the manufacture to get this resolved and *** would be calling us weekly. This again has not happened. Then on 4/24 we were told that the manufacturer no longer makes the flooring we had ordered but they had a similar flooring and would bring us the samples no later than 4/29. We have not had a phone call or seen the samples as of yet. Since we were originally told 2-4 weeks we had already done the demo of our current flooring (carpet and wood flooring removal) therefore for the past 5 months we have been walking on sub-floors and have basically no furniture in the areas to be remodeled. During this entire time they have kept our deposit and we have received nothing. We even added more square footage since the first product had become unavailable we did not want to take the chance of not having the floors match at a later date.

Desired Settlement: We would like the floors to be finished and compensation for the length of time we have had to wait and the lack of customer service. Or our full deposit refunded!

Business Response: Upon receiving the complaint, Mr. ******** was promptly contacted 5/5/2014 (left a message).  

We have been at the mercy of the manufacture in regards to the delivery of the product and they have moved delivery dates on us without warning multiple times.  We only learned of these delay's when a call was initialized by us.  The last week of April we received an alternate from the supplier but it was not a good match with the original selection.  The sales team may have failed to relay that information as they were at a trade show Friday-Sunday 4/25-4/27.  

Mr. ******** called the sales person (cell phone) on Friday evening 5/2 and left a message.

Another solution was found on 4/30 and that sample was to be Fed-ex'd to our office.  5/5 we have not received this sample yet.   We want to make sure the product is acceptable to Mr. ********.

The new product is more expensive than the original but we will honor the original contract price to compensate for the delay.  

If that is not acceptable we would be happy to refund Mr. ******** his full deposit and apologize for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,
***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: OAK FLOORING WAS INSTALLED AND THEY HAD TO SAND THE FLOOR THREE TIMES AND THE FINISH STILL ISN'T CORRECT ****** FLOORING STARTED THE NEW FLOOR IN JULY 2012 AND COMPLETED THE JOB AFTER THREE TIMES OF SANDING MY FLOOR AUGUST 17,2012 FOR $4,884.42 INVOICE #XXXXXX. You can sand a oak floor 5 to 6 times before the life of the floor is gone. So by sanding my floor three times they have taken half of my floor life. The first time they sanded my floor the wheel was out of round on the floor sander and the floor really looked bad. They came back the second time and sanded the floor and it was a poor job and they blame that on the sandpaper. The third time I told them this is the last time and if it is not correct I want some money and will be done with them. Well the third time it look better but still wasn't correct in appearance and I ask for three hundred dollars to have my house cleaned from them sanding my floor three times with all the sand dust. ****** the owner offer me one hundred dollars and at that point I said I'm done with them.I let they sanded the floor three times and it still isn't correct at this time I want $500.00 because of all the sanding they have taken 50% of my oak flooring and a bad appearance of the flooring.

Desired Settlement: $500.00 for cleaning the house after sanding the floor three times and taking half of my floor by sanding it so much. In the future I'll only be able to re sand the floor two to three time before I'm in the tongue and groove of the flooring after paying for a new oak floor!

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/02/15) */ As Mr. ****** stated we did have an issue with the sander. We do our best to maintain our equipment but things do break down at times. Throughout this process, we had good relations with Mr. ****** and did what we could to rectify the situation. We understand his concerns with the life of the floor and would be happy to put a micrometer on it to measure the exact thickness, however, Mr. ****** declined to go that route. Another company notified me that they had looked at the floor and that it was an acceptable job in their opinion. They did submit a bid to refinish it for Mr.****** albeit at a very high cost. At the beginning of the job we had given Mr. ****** a repeat customer discount of $140 and then at the end of the project $150 reimbursement for cleaning. In that case we would take care of an invoice for the cleaning but that was never provided so we settled on $150. At the time this was accepted by Mr. ******. In the course of the job some optional labor costs came up and Mr. ****** agreed to the additional labor for aesthetic purposes. Apparently, after 6 months has gone by they are now unacceptable. As soon as I was notified of the complaint I contacted Mr. ****** and after a few phone discussions it was apparent that he only wanted a settlement and did not want us to address his complaints. I offered to personally attend to his floor but that offer was declined. We agreed on this and a settlement check of $400 was issued on 2/13/13. Consumer Response /* (450, 12, 2013/03/04) */ From: ****** ****** Sent: Monday, March 04, 2013 10:21 AM To: *****@wynco.bbb.org Subject: CASE For some reason I can not login to finish and close my case. Case #XXXXXXXX Password ******. ****** flooring in Loveland,I met with ****** and everything was taking care of and I'm very happy how he took care of the problem. Let me know if you need any thing from me. Thanks, ****** R ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1