BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Castorena Marble & Granite LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Castorena Marble & Granite LLC

Phone: (970) 221-3090 Fax: (970) 221-8529 View Additional Phone Numbers 1934 E Lincoln Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.castorenamarble.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Castorena Marble & Granite LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Castorena Marble & Granite LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Castorena Marble & Granite LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 26, 2005 Business started: 12/01/2004 Business started locally: 12/01/2004 Business incorporated: 12/01/2004 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dustin Abbott Mr. Isidro Castorena, Owner Mr. Liberato Castorena, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dustin Abbott
Business Category

Granite Distributors Counter Top Suppliers Natural Stone Suppliers Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Castorena Marble & Granite LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1934 E Lincoln Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 221-3090 (866) 690-8677 (970) 818-8394

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 690-8677(Phone)
  • (970) 818-8394(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They removed a countertop that they were supposed to cut and install as a desk for me almost two months ago, and have not delivered the desktop. They've given me several completion dates, the first being on 12/13/2013, then 12/20/2013, and then finally after christmas. It is now after Christmas and they won't return phone calls or give any status updates as to my desk completion. Their website states that they only need 10-14 days from template to install for a complete countertop, and this is a very very small job that still has not been completed. I've lost days worth of billable time for my business on the expectation that they would deliver on the date that they said.

Desired Settlement: I want my desk to be finished and a discount added to the final product to somewhat compensate for my lost billable hours (which at this point actually outweighs the cost of the entire job).

Business Response: This is in response to Complaint ******* & *******. The first complaint by ******** ******* and the second by his wife ***** ******* of **** ********* **. We were contracted for the kitchen and bar only, for this customer. We have completed everything in their contract. This customer came to us at our busiest time of the year, when everyone is pushing us for install before Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years. Once we completed their kitchen they asked us to take the old counter tops and make them in to a desk for ********. We told them at that time is was our busiest time of the year and we could not guarantee when we could have it completed. They also neglected to get us information we need as far as a sizes and polished edges to make the desk. It took us almost 1 month to get this information. ******** told us that there is was no rush to complete because he still had to have a base made for it. They called several times to see if it had been completed and it was not. The last time they called, after continuously being rude to us, we told them it would be best if they just came and picked up their material and hire a different fabricator. This is when they contacted the BBB to make a complaint. They have not been by to pick up the material as of 1/6/14. We have never provided a contract or agreement to this customer for the desk. ***** has been extremely rude to myself as well other employees in our office, both on the phone as well as in person. We feel like she stepped over the line and are not willing to complete their desk at this time. I have attached a copy of their invoice to show the desk was not part of the job. Please let me know what our next step is.

Thanks,

****** ******

Castorena Marble & Granite LLC. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  The information contained in ******** response is completely incorrect or out of context.  Did they complete everything in the contract?  Yes, but when I talked to them in October about what I wanted to have done, I explicitly stated that part of the job was to remove the old counter top to make a desk out of it, and part of the reason why I used Castorena was because ****** told me that they would remove the old countertop, make the 1 cut and edge and deliver it back to me as part of the deal (free of charge).  This was not included in the contract, but I didn't think it was necessary at the time.  I went over with them several times as to what I wanted to have done with the piece before they ever started the job.  I even talked to the person who I believe is one of the owners while he was at my house doing the template about having the cut done, and about removal so I could ensure that the desktop could be made.

 
"Once we completed their kitchen they asked us to take the old counter tops and make them in to a desk for ********. We told them at that time is was our busiest time of the year and we could not guarantee when we could have it completed."  This is an outright lie.  As I previously stated, and as they well know - the removal and desk top was part the whole project that I wanted to do.  They never stated that they didn't know when they could do it.  They asked me if I needed the desk made right away, and I said no, that it wasn't urgent as I was having the base made.  That was the first of November, and the only time I said there wasn't a rush. 

"They also neglected to get us information we need as far as a sizes and polished edges to make the desk. It took us almost 1 month to get this information."  This statement is ridiculous.  I told them what I wanted done from the very beginning, and I tried contacting them for weeks to talk about what needed to be done, but we couldn't nail down the specifics because they couldn't find my piece of granite in their yard.  They told me that they left it in my garage and that I should check those pieces.  Eventually, after about 2 weeks, they located my pieces in their yard.  I did drawings in their office and everything, and they knew what needed to be done.  No measurements were needed, they just had to make 1 cut and do edges on the unfinished sides - they knew this the whole time.  I asked to come in to take measurements, and they told me that they were busy, so I'd have to wait for their guys to get some time to set my pieces up in their shop.  This is what took a month - their brushing me off, not my inability to deliver to them the job specifics.  This is the beginning of December now, and they told me that it was more labor intensive than they thought it would originally be, and they said it would cost ~$500 to do the job, and I agreed that it was more than we originally thought, so that was fine.  I asked them when they thought they could finish it and their original estimated completion date was 12/13.  After that date passed, I called the next week and Sonda said that they were pushing it back so they could get people's counter tops in before christmas, but if I needed it, they could probably get it in on 12/20.  12/20 came and they hadn't started it, so I called again and they said they were going to do it after Christmas.  I called after Christmas, left two messages and waited 24-48 hours and they wouldn't return my calls, so I filed the complaint with the BBB.  That is when they emailed me and said they weren't going to do it, so I would have to pick up my pieces.  That can be confirmed by my complaint dates and by the email that I received from Sonda in response to my filed complaint. 

I haven't picked up my pieces because one piece is a 7' piece of granite that I can't just carry off.  I've been making arrangements, but it will probably be a day or two before they can pick up the piece.  

No part of ******** response even addresses the fact that they knocked a hole in my wall, or that they were the ones being rude.  If calling and asking what's going on because they failed to meet the deadlines that they themselves set, is rude - then something is really off in their interpretation of situations.  They were rude to my wife in their office and told us many falsehoods.  

Regards,

******** *******

Business Response: I do not believe that we were 100% on the same page when the contract was signed and deposit was given,  if the homeowner was under the impression that we were going to remove the old counter-top,  bring it back to the shop,  cut it, then have our guys hand polish a side all for free?   I would have had this in the contract for sure before proceeding forward because that sounds like quite the deal that we did not offer.  We do free removal of counter-tops to customers but not free fabrication.  It would be hard to stay in business if we did. And when the homeowner was requesting us to fabricate the desk why was it never mentioned that it was part of the contract?  This is the first time that we have heard about it being free of charge.  I personally called the Mr. ******* and discussed the price of the desk after the kitchen was installed,  I also had a hard time understanding what exactly we were doing with the old counter-top and it took a couple of weeks to make sure that we were on the same page with the fabrication of the desk.  I do not believe this was any fault of the homeowner or myself but getting dimensions and what we were going to do exactly was hard to understand on the phone.  It wasn't until Mr. ******* came in to the shop and made a drawing was I able to put out a work order.  At that time I do remember that I had said we were extremely busy but do our best to get the desk done,  I was informed that there was no hurry and they were willing to wait.  I am confused that although they were very unhappy with the experience when we finished the kitchen why did they ask us to complete a desk and also polish a marble table? I do not believe any of our staff was rude to either Mr. or Mrs. ******* at any time.  I do remember Mrs. ******* coming into the office remarking that we are all telling her lies?  We do try to do the best we can for every customer but we cannot as a business with employee's and overhead do any kind of work for free and I am sorry if they misunderstood us.  We were not aware of the hole in the wall and it was not intentional this is construction and sometimes although we are careful we do have accidents,  the material we work with is heavy and the fit is usually tight so we do apologize about any damage and would make sure that it was right,  but again I did not hear of any damages until this complaint. We will gladly take care of the cost to repair the wall.

I guess in short we are not a good fit  for the ******* Family,  I understand their concerns and frustrations but we have also done the best we possibly can do and maybe we should of parted ways after the completion of the kitchen.

 

 
 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I find it unnecessary and pointless to argue/explain any of the points made by ****** in his previous response if he is willing to come to a settlement.  I will just say that there have obviously been several misunderstandings as to several things said by both parties, and if ******/Castorena agrees to pay the labor fees for my contractor to fix the wall, then I will accept that as an acceptable resolution for the situation(s).  ******** ** ******, a reputable, local homebuilder, quoted me $580 to demo/repair/finish the section of wall that was damaged - that is for his labor only.  I will pay for all materials and will remove any negative reviews of Castorena as well as agree to not take any further action for any of the other incidents which have occurred during the October - December, 2013, time period.  

Regards,

******** *******

Business Response: After receiving 1 picture of the backsplash we are not responsible for the damage,  anytime new counter tops are installed there is no possible way to save the backsplash.  The thickness of the stone varies and it is impossible to get it in with the splash in the way.   So we cannot pay for the repairs that are part of the process of installing new counter-tops.

Thank You
Sonda 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  The picture provided to Castorena showed holes all along the wall - not just removal of backsplash tiles.  In order to patch the holes, it is necessary to remove the tile around the holes which allows two options.  One, is to replace removed tile with new tile, or to put non-matching tiles in their place (removal would require possible destruction of unique tiles which would make the backsplash no longer match).  If Castorena had not destroyed a portion of the wall and taken away the original tiles, and the wall was left intact, then I could have had the tiles cut and put back on the wall.  The negligence of the installers took away that option. 

I'm sorry that Castorena is not willing to come to a settlement this way, so I will now be forced to use other venues to seek compensation. 

Regards,

******** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.