Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Prospector's Gold & Gems

Phone: (970) 797-0435 Fax: (970) 493-2365 309 S Summit View Dr Unit 16, Fort Collins, CO 80524 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.prospectorsgoldandgems.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a full service gold and silver buyer, refiner and wholesale/retail jewelry seller.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Prospector's Gold & Gems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Prospector's Gold & Gems include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Prospector's Gold & Gems
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 15, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2003 Business started locally: 01/01/2003
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. David Emslie, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Emslie, Owner
Business Category

Gold, Silver & Platinum Dealers Gold Buyers Retail Jewelers Jewelry Repair Stores Jewelers - Wholesale Precious Metal Smelters and Refiners Coin Dealers, Supplies

Alternate Business Names
De Mokume
Industry Tips
Research Imperative if Investing in Gold Tips for Investing in Collectible Coins What You Need to Know about Silver/Gold Investments

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Prospector's Gold & Gems has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 309 S Summit View Dr Unit 16

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 797-0435

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent over 10 oz's of gold concentrates in two shipments from sluice dredging on a South ***** beach,I was told by Stacey,David was refining it.After not receiving any news for two weeks,I finally reach David and he tells me my shipments didn't have any value because he never heard of "Gold in *****",I told David I had sent beach gold concentrates from dredging,he remained crooked and hung up on me!Twice!.....Is it not a proven fact that the oceans contain about 90percent of the world's gold?David never said a thing about returning my shipments..just like he received them!

Desired Settlement: Return shipments

Business Response: This individual send us some sand that contained sand and mica aka fools gold. I get occasional people who dream big and feel wishful thinking and bull headedness will make them rich beyond there dreams.  Sadly for the average individual getting such wealth is hard work that requires industrial equipment massive permitted operations. When people find economic deposits we consult and help them. Rather than lead this guy or or charg him money and wast everyone's time I informed the individual that he did not have gold but had fools gold. Upon hearing this from someone who makes there living processing gold for mining companies for over a decade this man started screaming at me. As no amount of calm talk or rational speak would come from someone who would hear nothing but there own voice I had no choice but to hang up and end the abusive screaming I was being subject too. After hanging up he called back again and continued the abusive screaming and I informed him I could not and would not be subjected to such behavior and harassment and hung up again.  I did this man a favor. I have taken no payments for service from him and he sent me nothing of value and now my company is being subject to harassment and abuse from this very unpleasant individual. I am happy to provide any more information needed and would appreciate help from the BBB in ending this harassment.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:At today's Gold prices, it is hard to find honest people to process "dredged and sluiced and panned material which is exactly what I sent for refining!I challenge anyone to come to my small scale gold mining operation (where I have 11 years of prospecting experience) and find mica or fools gold!I have professional assay reports from Jacobs Assays and others that validate my knowledge of precious metals,knowledge that understands Gold is much heavie. than mica and pyrite (or fools gold) and therefore can  trapped in a sluice and separated from the minerals,suc.  as mica!I have a gold sluice I run all my materia. through.I sent David two completely different samples o. dirt from different locations,strange how they both hav.  the same composition from his evaluation,there is just n o way!And I do still have these samples from bot. locations if further testing needs to be done and lega. action needs to be taken!I discovered a Platinum Gol. Fossil in ** over seven years ago that I donated t. ********* ******* Museum in ********* *******,and I d. not take very kindly to David's rude  accusations,of course thieves will make up just about anything,obviously!There are photos on ************ *** under my email that show GOLD I ALREADY FOUND!And here are more photos...


Regards,

*** *****

Business Response: As no assays or payment to cover costs of assays was submitted with said samples and when trying to inform this person that there would be a cost to process such samples I was not even given the opportunity to speak on the phone as the yelling and screaming and abusive comments towards me was so bad. I had no choice but to hang up.  As well no instructions were given with the samples either  or was any indication of what was to be done with them.  As *** claimed they came from ***** I attempted to save him time and money as our familiarity with any precious metals from that location is zero. Rather than allowing me to finish my sentence and explain that maybe we were not the best option to help him I was subject to being yelled at in a highly abusive way.  Had the customer spent a moment to allow me to finish a sentence rather than dominate a attempted normal conversation by screaming at me. I would not have hung up and sent the samples back at our expense. I would ask that this person please take his business elsewhere as we can not and will not work with individuals who start screaming when we try to help them out with there needs. For our safety we we can not and will not be subject to abusive behavior. And on the same note we can only help paying customers when dealing with unknown material. Otherwise we deal in dore and mixed metal alloys from junior and medium sized mines that provide us with metal bars to purify that are composed of Metals such and gold silver and copper.  For clients that have concentrate by the ton we can with payment for an assay and significant quantity of concentrate 100 ton minimum. We can work with a mill and leaching site to exact precious metals. We can't work with samples under one pound and can only work with certified mines that have significant out put. Sadly the individual hobby miner who collects samples of ore even if it is unheard of in vales of say $10000 per ton. This makes a pound worth $5 before processing costs. We just are not economically set up to handle vales in that range and scale. Larger however is our area of expertise.

In this case we received no assay. No 40ICP analysis and no location or description of the mine, no instructions, and no payment. Just sand in evalopes. When we called to address what was going on and made the attempt to explain what we needed and did the abusive screaming started and so did the immediate hang up of the phone. We are sorry we were not given any opportunity to explain how our business works and how we can help individual people become company's and productive producers. The actions we have taken is to hang up on the abusive behavior. Returned the sand. Request this person apologize for the unwarranted outburst and screaming.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:On PG &G website they advertise if your item has no value after getting scanned it gets shipped back!And if it don't get shipped back it goes to refining.I was told by Stacey,"David is refining your stuff"!SO,where's my two shipments?Making a long lie about an abusive phone conversation does not change the truth!If it's PG &G policy to return items that they say have no value,where is my 10.10 oz's of concentrates?

Regards,

*** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Prospector's Gold & Gems
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart