Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Elmer Glass Company Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 945-5037 Fax: (970) 945-8358 325 20th St, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601 http://www.elmerglass.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Elmer Glass Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elmer Glass Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Elmer Glass Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 27, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1964
Business Management
Ms. Michelle Zwickl, Sec/Treas Mr. Michael Morgan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Michelle Zwickl, Sec/Treas
Business Category

Glass and Window Companies Glass - Repair Window Repair Companies Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Store Fronts Window Installation Companies Beveled, Carved, and Ornamental Glass Companies Mirror Suppliers Shower Door Companies Windows

Products & Services

Auto Glass, Windshield Repair and Replacement, equipment auto glass replacement and tabletops


Additional Locations

  • 325 20th St

    Glenwood Springs, CO 81601

  • PO Box 1209

    Glenwood Springs, CO 81602

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wednesday, June 3, my son and I contacted Elmer Glass about the replacement of a back passenger-side window for a ****** ******. We were told to leave the truck at the business on Friday morning, June 5, and that it would be ready that afternoon, We were quoted a price of $185.00. On Friday afternoon, I called and talked with Michelle, again receiving a billed price of $185.00. I paid her with my debit card. Appx. 1 hr. after speaking with Michelle, she called my son's phone and told him that they had ordered the wrong window and that they would receive the glass on Monday, June 8, and that the window would cost considerably more. Late Monday afternoon, I, once again, called to pay for the window, but was told that once again the wrong glass had arrived. Michelle told me that the right glass had been ordered and that she hoped it would arrive on Thursday, June 11. Late Thursday afternoon, I called again and was told by Jan that the glass was in Grand Junction and that they 'hoped' they would have the truck finished sometime on Friday. Her excuse was that this happens when they have to order a "special" type of glass--seriously! This was when I finally lost my patience. There must be a million ****** ****** trucks on the road, and I was previously told that this was the error of Elmer Glass. After hanging up, I Googled the replacement window and was taken to Ebay where I found two such windows for under $80.00 that could be overnighted. On Friday afternoon, June 12th, my son was finally able to pick up the truck. He wrote a check for $350.00. I have used Elmer Glass multiple times over the years, and have always been very satisfied with the product and the service. I called another glass provider during this debacle, but because of my previous experiences, I chose to stay with Elmer Glass believing that they would make things right. I was sadly disappointed.

Desired Settlement: I understand that the company needs to recover the cost of the product. However, I was surprised that after receiving such poor customer service, being quoted the wrong price, and being inconvenienced for an extended period of time, that no compensation was offered.

Business Response:

July 16, 2015 

Better Business Bureau 
8020 S County Road 5, Suite 100 
Fort Collins, CO 80528 

Re:******** 

To whom it may concern: 
This is Elmer Glass Company's response to the complaint filed by **** * ***** in regards to her son's 
vehicle quarter glass replacement on invoice #*****. As you can see from the invoice when **** 
originally called requesting a replacement for a quarter glass, he told Mike M***** that he had a 2008 
****** ******, 4 door crew cab pickup and was given the figure of $185.00 installed. However when 
he dropped off his vehicle he had a 2008 ****** ******, 2 door extended cab pickup which requires a 
totally different quarter glass, which had a considerably higher price. In checking the auto glass supplier 
inventory for this correct part we found that there was a ********** part was in Denver that could be 
transferred to our Grand Junction warehouse and then delivered to us here in Glenwood which should 
arrive on Monday the 8'^ of June. On Monday we did receive a box with the part number of 
********** but when we went to install this part the glass it contained was not the requested quarter 
glass. This was an error on the Denver branch distribution center that rarely happens. Elmer Glass has 
always ordered glass through our distributor, PGW Glass Industries for quality of glass and we do not 
take the chance of ordering glass online when you do not know what quality or condition of glass you 
will be receiving. The Grand Junction branch then had to try to locate another quarter glass and it took 
several days to finally locate this glass so that it could be installed for **** ***** on Friday the 12*^. 
When **** ***** called several days later I apologized for the delay and did in fact refund her $100.00 
labor charge for the inconvenience that **** incurred due to both the incorrect type of vehicle that he 
owned and to the problems locating the correct quarter glass. 

Sincerely, 

Michelle Z*****
Sec. Tres. 

************