BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming

This Business is not BBB accredited

Unique Wood Designs LLC

Phone: (307) 638-9918 Fax: (307) 638-1915 7111 Aztec Dr, Cheyenne, WY 82009

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Unique Wood Designs LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Unique Wood Designs LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Unique Wood Designs LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 24, 2003 Business started: 08/01/1996 Business started locally: 08/01/1996 Business incorporated: 08/01/1996 in WY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Shane Pickel, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shane Pickel, President
Business Category

Floor Laying, Refinishing and Resurfacing Companies Contractors - Flooring General Contractors

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7111 Aztec Dr

    Cheyenne, WY 82009 (307) 638-9918

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They were hired to install wood floors in my home. They showed up 4 hours late after I left my home unlocked all night. They wouldn't give me a phone number while they were in my home. I couldn't get a hold of the head man (***** ******) to verify the job. The job was done half-a** and in order to make up for his men, he filled in the spots with cocking. He was rude, disrespectful over the phone, refused to give out a number or a way to get a hold of the men while they were in MY home! He told me he was gonna show up for a check when he could when I asked them not to come over again. He is now saying that unless I pay in full, they will take me to court to pay all fees.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the bill lessened if not removed. The old job was a horrible experience when buying a new home and I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone.

Business Response: Mrs. ******* was not present during the estimate, we dealt with the realtor.  She then was trying to scold us for quoting her a different price at the time of the estimate. (Our price has not changed from the price we quoted her realtor). It was later determined she was referring to a quote she had received from another contractor.

During the job, I had a conversation with Mrs. ******* and during this conversation she kept demanding my cell phone number. She became angry that I would not give it to her. Throughout the job, she kept demanded the phone numbers of me and my staff. She was told several times it was against policy.

We performed the work Feb 7, 10-11 on 2/7, the office staff called to inform her we were running late, she got very upset with the staff.

After the work was complete, she was complaining that the work was not acceptable. She demanded Shane's phone number & was told staff was not allowed to give that information out. She proceeded to argue with the staff, who explained again to Mrs. ******* that she WAS NOT permitted to release that information. 

I did return to the job to look at it. The area Mrs. Balwin was complaining about is where the wood meets the wall & expansion space is needed. Mrs. ******* had no baseboard in her house. That was her problem. Because it was not a floor issue, I caulked all around the base area & filled a couple spots I did see. 

During the first part of March, my staff spoke with Ms. ******* & agreed to extend her term(which is null and void if no payment is received within 30 days of invoice date) by two weeks, as she expressed her inability to pay in the allotted time (Invoices are due on receipt and hers was already almost thirty days past due). She stated that "she didn't have an envelope as it was difficult to get around with kids", she insisted on paying with a credit card. She was told we did not accept credit cards & she stated she was going to have to get money from the bank. We never received payment. 

The first week of April, the secretary contacted Ms. ******* in regards to her account, and to try to arrange a time for me to stop over as a courtesy and pick up the payment, as she had stated previously" it was difficult for her to send it". She stated she was in Denver with a sick child and knows she owes us. She was upset that we offered to pick up payment from her home, stating "I could not pick it up and that it was just weird that I would want to do that".  She stated she would just send it and asked for the reason behind me wanting to pick it up. She was reminded her & our staff's previous conversation, & how she had stated "since we did not accept credit cards, it was difficult for her to get payment to us, with all her kids". Hence the offer. 

A few day later, Ms. ******* Called and left a message on the answering machine asking if she could pay half of the invoice (350.00) this month (April) and the other half next month (May). 

My staff contacted Mrs. ******* the next morning & She was told that I would accept that payment arrangement she requested and I could pick that up, if need be. She said it would be great and then proceeded to state that she would try to get to the Post Office within the next few days as she was only going to have one child with her, the other was going with grandparents. She proceeded to state that "she would have paid the bill sooner; however, we declined to accept her credit card payment".


It was now the end of April and we had not received payment or a call from Mrs. ******* stating she was unable to get to the post office or asking if I was still willing to pick up the payment. 

I feel my company has been plenty fair in working with Mrs. ******* and her issues. 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: when you work in someone's home, you offer them a way to reach you incase something happens or you need to talk to someone who is working on something in YOUR home. He was rude and disrespectful and yes, would not give out a phone number of anyone within my home, not just himself. So I just allow them to work in my home in "Hopes" that the job is done correctly and they don't mess anything up? i don't think so. It is poor business to not be able to get a hold of the people you contracted to do a job. He did not just suggest he would pick up a check, he demanded he was going to be there. Completely unprofessional of someone who runs a business and rather scary honestly. I am not happy the way this was done. When I talked to other flooring companies after, they said they offer a way for customers to get a hold of them every day and while they were in someones home. Its just the right thing to do. They even said that they were hope someone would turn that in. I understand people don't like to give out their cell phone number, so get a company cell phone. The number to the office doesn't set me at ease when I can't reach someone within my home. The job was done Half a**, I will pay half the bill. That is all. They deserve something but I will never contract them again nor offer them to someone I know.

Regards,

********* *******

Business Response: Unique Wood Designs has turned it over to our attorney. We have nothing more to share until after the judge ruling.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They are turning it over to an attorney because they didn't do their job appropriately. They are trying to get me to pay all their fee's. I can't afford to do that. Why wouldn't you try to settle knowing how your attitude was during this entire thing and my inability to get a hold of you. Now you will have a complaint against you affecting your business. I don't understand why you wouldn't try to settle this dispute. Make an offer that is acceptable for the job you performed and I will drop this otherwise I will getting a lawyer as well.

Regards,

********* *******

?

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted this business to recoat our wood floors, discussed all to be done with owner. Work has not been completed, owner will not return calls. We contacted this business to recoat floors, fill gaps with wood filler and build a new threshold. When service crew arrived they had no idea of the work to be done. I contacted the office to try and get the issue resolved but the owner never called me back. The gaps were not all filled, and the ones that were do not even match the floor. In addition the threshold was not built and no one has contacted me about it. I have called the office almost everyday for almost two weeks but the owner still has yet to call me back. I leave messages and speak with the office staff but they say its not their fault that the owner hasn't returned my call. We had the work set up to be performed on may 24th 2013

Desired Settlement: I want the work completed and a discount for the hassle.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 8, 2013/06/21) */ Consumer indicated they have not heard from the company

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1