This business is not BBB accredited.

Unique Wood Designs LLC

Phone: (307) 638-9918 Fax: (307) 638-1915 7111 Aztec Dr, Cheyenne, WY 82009


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Unique Wood Designs LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Unique Wood Designs LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Unique Wood Designs LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 24, 2003 Business started: 08/01/1996 Business started locally: 08/01/1996 Business incorporated 08/01/1996 in WY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Shane Pickel, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shane Pickel, President
Business Category

Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Contractors - Flooring General Contractor

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor Watch Out for These Red Flags

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Unique Wood Designs LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7111 Aztec Dr

    Cheyenne, WY 82009 (307) 638-9918

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The initial installation of the wood was poor. Boards lifted and wide cracks developed. Shane P*****, the owner promised to fix it. He replaced boards, but only sanded the center of the floor. They were unable to match the stain and he refused to do the floor by the cupboards. After we complained he refused to return to our house. We got a bid for $2063 from a different business and want a refund to cover our costs.

Desired Settlement: Reimburse me the cost to get it fixed.

Business Response: Total amount Unique Wood Designs invoiced for the job - $4,257.58

The finish portion of the job was only $1,172 of the $4,257.58.

The initial installation of the flooring was done in accordance with National Wood Flooring Association standards as with every job we do.  As with any construction type business, there are times when you may run across materials that are not perfect but have no signs of flaw until after installation.  It is possible that the boards that lifted may have had some moisture in them which would cause the lifting. 

Shane agreed to fix the flooring for the customer.  The workers went to the home and began working on the flooring.  They cut out and replaced the boards that had lifted.  The next step was to sand the area and stain it then put the first coat of polyurethane on it.  The following day the workers went back to the home to buff it out and add another coat of polyurethane.  The home owner did not like the way the area looked and Shane told him to wait until the following day (Friday) for the color to set in and the polyurethane to dry and they would then see if it matched.  The color and sheen of the polyurethane change a bit once it has set up and dried.  Shane went by the home on Friday around 3:15 to look at the floor and see if it matched up or if a different course of action was required.  However, when Shane got there the ******** had ** *********, another flooring company, at their home.

Shane did not refuse to do the floors by the cupboards as stated in the complaint.  He merely said he would rather not do the floors by the cupboards if he could get the floor to match by just doing a smaller area.  If that did not work he was going to refinish the entire floor.  Shane, however, was not given that opportunity since the customer had
already called in another flooring company.

Never did Shane refuse to return to the home.  When I spoke to Mr. ******* on May 5th, 2015 I explained to him that Shane had returned to his home on Friday and they had another flooring company there.  I also told him that Shane’s intention was to refinish the entire floor if the patch area did not match when he went on Friday to look at it.  I also requested we set up a date and time for Shane to come back out to his home to refinish the entire floor to which Mr. ******* said no.  Therefore we were not afforded the opportunity to finish the job.  Nor is it possible to complete a job when the customer keeps kicking the workers out of the house as Mrs. ******* did on
several occasions.

Secretary's Notes

Wednesday, April 29th, 2015 – The guys were working at 809 Rodeo when Mrs. ******* kicked them out.

Saturday, May 2nd, 2015 – The guys went to work on the floor but Mrs. ******* would not let them in.

5 May 2015 – I checked the voice mail and had received a message from ****** ******* saying “This is ****** ******* at *** *****. My phone number is ********.  I’ve  been waiting for 4 days for them to come do the finial coat I'm assuming at this point that they are never going to return.  I contacted another floor refinisher and it’s going to cost me $2000 to fix the mess that your guys left so I am expecting Shane to give me a $2000 refund since his guys are incompetent and incapable of doing this job and, um, if not then we’ll see you in court.  Thank you.” 

I returned her call and her husband, ***** answered the phone.  I let him know who I was and that I had received a message from his wife. I explained to him that Shane had went by his house on Friday at approximately 3:15 to check on the floor to see what needed to take place next but they had another hardwood flooring company there, ** *********.  (Mr. and Mrs. ******* knew Shane would be there Friday to work on the floor yet they had another flooring company there)  I let Mr. ******* know that the entire job which was done in September of 2014 only cost a little over $4,000 which included materials so for some one to charge $2,000 to finish the floor was quite outrageous to which he agreed.  I offered to set up a time for Shane to come back to his house and figure out what needed to be accomplished, like he was supposed to do on Friday, but he declined.  I even explained to him that if the entire floor needed to be refinish to fix the issue then that is what Shane would do.  I told Mr. ******* that if they were to take us to court they may have a hard time getting the money they are requesting since a full refinish on the entire floor would only cost a little over $1,000 and they didn’t even give us the opportunity to do that.  Mr. ******* said he understood that and he completely agreed with me but that they were not going to have Shane do it. 

Towards the beginning of the conversation Mr. ******* said that he was never able to get a hold of Shane.  I asked him why he didn’t call me at the office so I could relay the
message.  He said he did.  I told him I didn’t have any messages from him.  He said he never left a message because no one ever called him back.  The only message I have received from him recently was on Friday, April 24th and all he said was that the guys were not there yet. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:When Shane P*****, owner of Unique Wood Designs, first looked at my floor he stated that her would replace lifted boards, sand, stain and refinish it.  For the first 3 days that his employees were working at my house he did not even stop by to check on them or to supervise. When they came to put the second coat of polyurethane on I pointed out to them that the stain did not match and said I needed to talk to Shane before going any further.  I did not "boot" them out of my house or refuse to let them in my house.  That is a blatant lie.  When Shane finally came over he decided to re-sand and stain it himself.  The result was no better.  He refused to sand the entire room because I believe he was afraid he would damage my cupboards.  It was apparent that he did not have any confidence in his employees or himself to do a good job.  At that point we had no choice but to hire another flooring company.

It wasn't until after we filed a complaint with the BBB that Shane offered to redo the entire floor.  A four day job had turned into two weeks and I had come to realize that he is incompetent and incapable of doing a good job.

I paid for a nice floor and instead I got mismatched stain, shatter marks from a bad sanding job and globs and drips of polyurethane.   I feel he should take responsibility for his failure and refund the $2,063 that it is going to cost me to have it fixed.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:



I am rejecting this response because: When Shane P*****, owner of Unique Wood Designs, first looked at my floor he stated that her would replace lifted boards, sand, stain, and refinish it.

Response: Shane P*****, owner of Unique Wood Designs, replaced the lifted boards, sanded, stained and refinished the flooring as discussed with the exception of the final coat since the *******s had another company come in without giving Shane the opportunity to finish the job he had started and was still working on. 

For the first 3 days that his employees were working at my house he did not even stop by to check on them or to supervise. When they came to put the second coat of polyurethane on I pointed out to them that the stain did not match and said I needed to talk to Shane before going any further.

Response: Shane, being the owner of the company, and having multiple jobs being done at one time does not go to every job and supervise the workers.  That would be like the owner of ******* going to every store and supervising each job each individual worker did.  However, this is inaccurate because within the first 3 days Shane went to the house and replaced one board because the customer could not live with the color of that one board.

I did not "boot" them out of my house or refuse to let them in my house.  That is a blatant lie.

Response:  Shane spoke with Mr. ******* when he came to the shop and told Mr. ******* that his workers did not even want to go back to his home to finish the work because his wife was so hateful, rude, disrespectful, and hostile towards the workers.  Shane requested that Mrs. ******* not be at the house when the guys were there working.  And as stated before the guys were kicked out of the home and were not allowed to do their work.

When Shane finally came over he decided to re-sand and stain it himself.  The result was no better.  He refused to sand the entire room because I believe he was afraid he would damage my cupboards.  It was apparent that he did not have any confidence in his employees or himself to do a good job.  At that point we had no choice but to hire another flooring company.

Response:  Shane never refused to re-sand the entire room.  He was doing what any responsible business owner would do and trying to correct the small area first and if that did not work he was going to refinish the entire floor as was told to the customer.  Shane even discussed the refinishing of the entire floor with Mr. ******* when he came to the shop and spoke with Shane.  In addition, when I spoke to Mr. ******* on the morning of May 5th, 2015 I asked him if we could set up a time for Shane to come out and refinish the entire floor. 

It wasn't until after we filed a complaint with the BBB that Shane offered to redo the entire floor.  A four day job had turned into two weeks and I had come to realize that he is incompetent and incapable of doing a good job.

Response:  This statement is inaccurate because I spoke to Mr. ******* on the morning of the 5th of May at which time I asked him if we could set up a time for Shane to come and refinish the entire floor to which he told me no.  The BBB complaint was not filed until after 12pm on the 5th of May.  I explained to him that Shane’s next step was to refinish the entire floor to make the color even since the color did not take as planned.  This is something Mr. ******* and Shane had discussed when Mr. ******* had come to the shop.  As for a four day job taking two weeks is because the workers were kicked out or not allow to do their work and because the customer could not live with the color of one board which these instances add to the time it takes to get the job completed,

I paid for a nice floor and instead I got mismatched stain, shatter marks from a bad sanding job and globs and drips of polyurethane.   I feel he should take responsibility for his failure and refund the $2,063 that it is going to cost me to have it fixed.

Response: The reason there were gobs and drips of polyurethane and mismatched stain is because the customer did not allow Unique Wood Deisgns to finish the job.  The final sand and coat had not been completed. Instead they called another contractor to come in on the day Unique Wood Designs was coming to do work.  Shane P***** and his workers did not fail to do the job they were hired for, instead they were stopped by the customer and not allowed to finish their work.  Had they allowed Unique Wood Designs to come in and finish the job they hired them to do the job would be complete with no other issues. 

As stated before I let Mr. ******* know that the entire job which was done in September of 2014 only cost a little over $4,000 which included materials so for some one to
charge $2,000 to finish the floor was quite outrageous to which he agreed.  I offered to set up a time for Shane to come back to his house and figure out what needed to be accomplished, like he was supposed to do on Friday, but he declined.  I even explained to him that if the entire floor needed to be refinish to fix the issue then that is what Shane would do.  I told Mr. ******* that if they were to take us to court they may have a hard time getting the money they are requesting since a full refinish on the entire
floor would only cost a little over $1,000 and they didn’t even give us the opportunity to do that.  Mr. ******* said he understood that and he completely agreed with me but that they were not going to have Shane do it.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Our floor is going be refinished in August 2015 and then we will file papers with the small claims court.
The judge can decide how to resolve this issue at that time.


Regards,

***** *******

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They were hired to install wood floors in my home. They showed up 4 hours late after I left my home unlocked all night. They wouldn't give me a phone number while they were in my home. I couldn't get a hold of the head man (***** ******) to verify the job. The job was done half-a** and in order to make up for his men, he filled in the spots with cocking. He was rude, disrespectful over the phone, refused to give out a number or a way to get a hold of the men while they were in MY home! He told me he was gonna show up for a check when he could when I asked them not to come over again. He is now saying that unless I pay in full, they will take me to court to pay all fees.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the bill lessened if not removed. The old job was a horrible experience when buying a new home and I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone.

Business Response: Mrs. ******* was not present during the estimate, we dealt with the realtor.  She then was trying to scold us for quoting her a different price at the time of the estimate. (Our price has not changed from the price we quoted her realtor). It was later determined she was referring to a quote she had received from another contractor.

During the job, I had a conversation with Mrs. ******* and during this conversation she kept demanding my cell phone number. She became angry that I would not give it to her. Throughout the job, she kept demanded the phone numbers of me and my staff. She was told several times it was against policy.

We performed the work Feb 7, 10-11 on 2/7, the office staff called to inform her we were running late, she got very upset with the staff.

After the work was complete, she was complaining that the work was not acceptable. She demanded Shane's phone number & was told staff was not allowed to give that information out. She proceeded to argue with the staff, who explained again to Mrs. ******* that she WAS NOT permitted to release that information. 

I did return to the job to look at it. The area Mrs. Balwin was complaining about is where the wood meets the wall & expansion space is needed. Mrs. ******* had no baseboard in her house. That was her problem. Because it was not a floor issue, I caulked all around the base area & filled a couple spots I did see. 

During the first part of March, my staff spoke with Ms. ******* & agreed to extend her term(which is null and void if no payment is received within 30 days of invoice date) by two weeks, as she expressed her inability to pay in the allotted time (Invoices are due on receipt and hers was already almost thirty days past due). She stated that "she didn't have an envelope as it was difficult to get around with kids", she insisted on paying with a credit card. She was told we did not accept credit cards & she stated she was going to have to get money from the bank. We never received payment. 

The first week of April, the secretary contacted Ms. ******* in regards to her account, and to try to arrange a time for me to stop over as a courtesy and pick up the payment, as she had stated previously" it was difficult for her to send it". She stated she was in Denver with a sick child and knows she owes us. She was upset that we offered to pick up payment from her home, stating "I could not pick it up and that it was just weird that I would want to do that".  She stated she would just send it and asked for the reason behind me wanting to pick it up. She was reminded her & our staff's previous conversation, & how she had stated "since we did not accept credit cards, it was difficult for her to get payment to us, with all her kids". Hence the offer. 

A few day later, Ms. ******* Called and left a message on the answering machine asking if she could pay half of the invoice (350.00) this month (April) and the other half next month (May). 

My staff contacted Mrs. ******* the next morning & She was told that I would accept that payment arrangement she requested and I could pick that up, if need be. She said it would be great and then proceeded to state that she would try to get to the Post Office within the next few days as she was only going to have one child with her, the other was going with grandparents. She proceeded to state that "she would have paid the bill sooner; however, we declined to accept her credit card payment".


It was now the end of April and we had not received payment or a call from Mrs. ******* stating she was unable to get to the post office or asking if I was still willing to pick up the payment. 

I feel my company has been plenty fair in working with Mrs. ******* and her issues. 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: when you work in someone's home, you offer them a way to reach you incase something happens or you need to talk to someone who is working on something in YOUR home. He was rude and disrespectful and yes, would not give out a phone number of anyone within my home, not just himself. So I just allow them to work in my home in "Hopes" that the job is done correctly and they don't mess anything up? i don't think so. It is poor business to not be able to get a hold of the people you contracted to do a job. He did not just suggest he would pick up a check, he demanded he was going to be there. Completely unprofessional of someone who runs a business and rather scary honestly. I am not happy the way this was done. When I talked to other flooring companies after, they said they offer a way for customers to get a hold of them every day and while they were in someones home. Its just the right thing to do. They even said that they were hope someone would turn that in. I understand people don't like to give out their cell phone number, so get a company cell phone. The number to the office doesn't set me at ease when I can't reach someone within my home. The job was done Half a**, I will pay half the bill. That is all. They deserve something but I will never contract them again nor offer them to someone I know.

Regards,

********* *******

Business Response: Unique Wood Designs has turned it over to our attorney. We have nothing more to share until after the judge ruling.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They are turning it over to an attorney because they didn't do their job appropriately. They are trying to get me to pay all their fee's. I can't afford to do that. Why wouldn't you try to settle knowing how your attitude was during this entire thing and my inability to get a hold of you. Now you will have a complaint against you affecting your business. I don't understand why you wouldn't try to settle this dispute. Make an offer that is acceptable for the job you performed and I will drop this otherwise I will getting a lawyer as well.

Regards,

********* *******

?

7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted this business to recoat our wood floors, discussed all to be done with owner. Work has not been completed, owner will not return calls. We contacted this business to recoat floors, fill gaps with wood filler and build a new threshold. When service crew arrived they had no idea of the work to be done. I contacted the office to try and get the issue resolved but the owner never called me back. The gaps were not all filled, and the ones that were do not even match the floor. In addition the threshold was not built and no one has contacted me about it. I have called the office almost everyday for almost two weeks but the owner still has yet to call me back. I leave messages and speak with the office staff but they say its not their fault that the owner hasn't returned my call. We had the work set up to be performed on may 24th 2013

Desired Settlement: I want the work completed and a discount for the hassle.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 8, 2013/06/21) */ Consumer indicated they have not heard from the company


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Unique Wood Designs LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart