Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fort Collins Club

Phone: (970) 224-2582 Fax: (970) 224-5812 1307 E Prospect Rd, Fort Collins, CO 80525 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.fortcollinsclub.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fort Collins Club meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fort Collins Club include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fort Collins Club
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1984 Business started: 11/01/1984 Business started locally: 11/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Business Management
Mr. Todd Heenan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Todd Heenan, President
Business Category

Fitness Centers Yoga Instruction Exercise Fitness Programs Gyms Health Clubs

Alternate Business Names
The Fort Collins Club

Additional Locations

  • 1307 E Prospect Rd

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 224-2582

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was on a month to month contract with the Fort Collins club. I left in December and called in to cancel my contract as I was moving back to ******. The company did not cancel my contract and continued to charge my account, while I was not using the gym. I emailed and asked that they take the debt out of collections and allow me to pay-any remaining balance if there was one. The membership director said no. This is an unethical business practice. I have had no proof that they tried to message me, I never received mail, and not even a simple phone call. All the while I have been living in ******. I received an email from the director saying that I didn't pay on December and that this was the last month that I used the gym. However, they continued to charge me past December, after I called, and knowingly knew I wasn't going to the gym, but continued to charge me. Now a year later I find this out.

Desired Settlement: If they can prove that I used the gym for December I'm willing to pay for the month of my use. I am not willing to pay for months that I was not using the gym, after I called in, and was not living in the country. I agree to pay a rate of 1 month for December to resolve this.

Business Response:

Hello *****,
Attached I have ******* usage report from December, and his signed membership agreement. Below is a message from my membership director regarding his account, as I said on the phone many attempts were made to contact ***** from our office and our billing company with no response, until he was contacted by our collection agency. Below I have copied you on an email from *****, just to give you an idea what he is all about, many threats etc. Please let me know if you need anything else from me!
Todd
P.S. I looked up ***** ********** and could not find anything about a department of Law and Constitution!
Todd H*****
 
cid:image002.jpg@01CC7D94.995D4480
 
Owner/GM
todd@ftcclub.net
 
From: Shelly D***** 
Sent: Tuesday, March 01, 2016 10:52 AM
To: Todd H*****
Subject: ***** Morrissey Usage report
 
Todd,
 
Here is his usage report showing usage through December of 2014. We show no records of calls from him until recently when he was contacted by collections. We do show numerous attempts to contact him at the phone number and address he provided to us at the time he signed up with the Fort Collins Club that were never returned because the phone number had been disconnected. We set a courtesy cancel in May of 2015 after he never contacted us to cancel his membership or responded to our attempts to reach him by mail.
 
Stacy
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello *****,

I have looked into your account after speaking with our collection agency. I also looked at your payment history and usage. You did use the Club in December of 2014 and we never received payment for that month. We do not allow cancels over the phone. You signed an agreement which I have sent over to the collection agency stating you understood this and that we have a 30 day written cancel policy, so even if you called in January of 2015, you would owe us for the time you used the Club in December,  and also January, and February of 2015. Since we have no written cancel form. We kept sending statements to your address you provided when you signed up. We did set a cancel date after a few months of no response to stop accruing a balance on your account. You will have to speak with ****** ******** ******** now to get this cleared up. We cannot take this account out of collections since we did not receive payment for your last month's usage or written notification of cancel. Their number is  ************.

         Stacy D*****
           Director of Membership Services
           e: Stacy@ftcclub.net
           www.fortcollinsclub.net

From: Todd H*****
Sent: Tuesday, February 02, 2016 12:41 PM
To: Stacy D*****
Subject: FW: Membership concerns
 
Todd H*****
 
cid:image002.jpg@01CC7D94.995D4480
 
Owner/GM
todd@ftcclub.net
 
From: ****** ********** [mailto:******@*********] 
Sent: Monday, February 01, 2016 10:52 PM
To: Todd H*****; ****** **********; ********* ****
Subject: RE: Membership concerns
 
Hello Todd:
 
I am emailing to inform you of a most unfortunate event. A few weeks ago I was notified by my accountant in the US (I live in ******), that the FCC had sent a debt, allegedly owed by me to FCC, into collections. I spoke with a young man at the agency (while in shock) who said that he would inquire into this for me, but has failed to return a call. At any rate, I had cancelled my membership (via call) with FCC - in which I was on a month to month agreement while temporarily employed with ******* County- during the process of moving to ******.  
 
As it turns out the FCC continued to charge me for months of use, even when I did not enter the gym, nor even live in the country at the time - and to top it off - sent the alleged debt to collections after a period of time (I didn't even receive a single call from FCC).  
 
All in all, I have had nothing but very positive experiences with FCC, and would recommend the club to anyone without hesitation, and in fact, I have done that very thing with other employees of ******* County. Your staff are great and accommodating, and the facilities are both clean and exceptional.
 
Can you please check into this. I would appreciate if you could withdraw this alleged debt, which in my opinion, FCC being an ethical business - makes sense; thereby preventing any sort of unnecessary further evaluations. 
 
Thanks for your considerations, I hope things are well.
 
***** ********** ***** **** *** 
***** **********
*******, ******
Department of Law and Constitution 
 
3 Attachments 
 
Preview attachment *****Musage.doc

Word
*****Musage.doc
Preview attachment Membership agreement 1.pdf
PDF
Membership agreement 1.pdf
Preview attachment Membership agreement 2.pdf
PDF
Membership agreement 2.pdf



Business Response:

from: Todd H***** <todd@ftcclub.net>
to: "disputes@wynco.bbb.org" <disputes@wynco.bbb.org>
date: Wed, Mar 2, 2016 at 2:50 PM
subject: ***** *********

*****,
The fact that ***** is currently living in ****** limits my ability to collect on him, unless I hire a ******** licensed company. So I will settle for the December payment.
Todd
 
Todd H*****
Owner/GM
todd@ftcclub.net

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have been in contact with the credit agency regarding my bill - they have informed me that they will not be collecting on the bill on behalf of the Fort Collins club due to 1) I live out of the country, and 2) that I am appealing the alleged debt. What I find interesting is that Mr. H***** stated that there were multiple attempts to call me, saying my phone was cancelled, but the number on my contract is the same number that the collection agency made contact with me a few weeks ago when I found out about the bill.

Once I heard from the collection agency I tried to contact Mr. H***** to work our an arrangement, in which he refused to respond to my emails asking for an appointment. Clearly he was not interested in working out the debt even when I attempted at least 3 times (documented). I have indicated to Mr. H***** that I would pay for the month of December due to usage in the early part of the month, but will not pay for any other portion of the bill. This is fair and reasonable. Mr. h***** cannot collect the debt in any other way, the collection agency will not collect the alleged debt (which I would exercise all my rights to reposed to), but I want to pay what I owe (month of December) as a matter of ethics.

The club does operate on a flexible manner as I called to re-instate a membership over the phone, and cancelled the way in December when I moved back home ******. 

I would ask the FCC accept my offer of resolution (pay the month of December), so that we can all move forward with our lives, and not waste and or utilize any more resources for an insignificant bill that cannot be collected on.

Regards,

***** **********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

How do I arrange payment? 


Regards,

***** **********

Business Response:

Please send a check or money order to the Fort Collins Club, for the amount of $65.00 at 1307 E. Prospect Rd. Fort Collins, CO. 80525.

Todd

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

Ok, thank you.

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** **********

8/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I arrived at Fort collins Club 5/30/2013 to put my membership on hold. I requested to speak to membership and was directed to the membership office. The person who greeted me clearly noted she was the membership person on for that day. I shared with her my need to put my membership on " Hold as of May 30th". She produced the form and informed me my membership was paid till the end of June and I should consider instead July 1 st as the start of the hold date. I responded by questioning this...I told her I believed June was not yet Paid....She responded by saying It WAS paid through June. She did not look anything up, that I was able to observe. I then agreed to July 1st based on the information she stated :she states "she was sure she knew the information to be correct". After I left the Club it bothered me, for a number of days, concerning the info:that the membership was paid :so I decided to not use the club during June just in case. I did not use the Club During June !!!!.. Later in the month I was contacted by the company who does their billing. I was told May and June were needing yet to be paid. I offered to pay May and not June due to the incorrect information given to me. I called the Fort collins Club to Clarify. The person answering the phone stated "I did NOT come in and speak to FCC staff". I was told the form was mailed in. I made other attempts to contact Fort collins Club and received similar responses. The last contact with them I went in and requested a copy of the form and requested the name of the person I spoke when the Form was initiated. I have not received a response from them. The Collection company reported to me that Fort collins has been slow and/or simply NOT updating them promptly as to payments received at the Club. This Happened with my April payment: Due to this, the payments appear deliquent when they are not.

Desired Settlement: 1) The Hold done properly: with beginning the Hold May 30th or June 1st as originally requested. 2) Written and signed documentation that no further money is owed.

Business Response:

To:          Better Business Bureau – Marcy Sharf

From:    **** ****** – General Manager

Fort Collins Club

                Fort Collins, Colorado 80525

RE:          Response to complaint from ID# *******

Date:     8/28/13

Beginning April of this year (2013) our membership office has reached out to this member through personal  contact and phone calls in the effort to clarify her account balance and to honor her freeze request.

This membership’s monthly payment is through a credit card auto pay system. This account has a $132 balance due for May and June monthly individual membership at $56 per month plus $10 per month credit card return fee. Payment cannot be processed because the credit card has expired. The May payment was returned to us on the 8th; the June payment on the 10th. Twin Oaks is our billing company, not as stated in the complaint a “Collection company,” and Twin Oaks calls members with outstanding balances.  According to our records, she attempted to make a payment directly to Twin Oaks for the May membership/late charge, but this payment did not go through and was returned on 7/23/2013.

April 22, a membership office employee called and left a message that we needed to update her auto pay information as card date had expired. Another staff person of the membership office called again on May 30 and left message again regarding the need to update her auto pay information as well as receive May payment as the credit card reversed. Our membership office did not receive a response to either of these phone calls.

The individual did drop off a freeze form dated May 30th before our office opened. She wanted to begin a membership freeze July 1 through November 1. This form requires two initials, a printed name, and a signature to verify dates of freeze as well as the member’s understanding of freeze policy. The form was initialed, name printed, and signature provided in the appropriate places.

On July 3, the individual called our membership office accusing us of “criminal activity,” challenging the freeze information and the balance due. The Club’s membership director reviewed not only this freeze form and policy steps but also all notes detailing our efforts to contact her. She found the form correctly completed and the balance due correct.

Per the individual’s request to yet another staff individual, a copy of the freeze form was sent via regular mail. On August 16, the individual came to the office and requested yet another copy in person. One was provided in her presence.

Our membership office employees have followed Fort Collins Club policies and protocols throughout. Because this individual expresses continued dissatisfaction with our efforts to serve her, we will forgive the $132 balance and cancel her membership effective immediately.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fort Collins Club
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)