BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Affordable Restoration?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Affordable Restoration

Phone: (970) 207-0000 Fax: (970) 493-2933 217 W Trilby Rd, Fort Collins, CO 80525 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.affordablerestore.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Affordable Restoration meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Affordable Restoration include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Affordable Restoration
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 09, 2008 Business started: 03/13/2008 in CO Business incorporated: 03/13/2008 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Cory Braesch, Owner Mr. Troy Jennings, President Ms. Amy Jennings, Executive Adminstrative Asssociate Mr. Jim Simpson, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cory Braesch, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Amy Jennings, Executive Adminstrative Asssociate
Principal: Mr. Troy Jennings, President
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Mold & Mildew Remediation General Contractors

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Affordable Restoration has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 217 W Trilby Rd

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 207-0000

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: April 1, 2014 **** ***** and **** ******* *** ** ******* StreetFort Collins, CO ***** To the ************ ******* *******,This letter represents a dispute to an invalid debt owed to ********** *********** (Account #******-*********). The details of the dispute are listed, in order of sequence, below:1.********** *********** (AR) responded to a flood inside our home March ****, at our request.2.Their water mitigation crew did an excellent job cleaning up the water and drying out all of the affected areas. 3.We paid $3064.12 (Invoice No. ****) to AR for the work they performed to clean up the water.4.We hired AR to perform the restoration in our home to the areas that were damaged by water. This is included drywall near the stairs and above the front door, paint to the entire ceiling and seven walls, replacing the kick-plate on a bathroom vanity, and refinishing and staining the wood floor on stairs, entry, dining room, and office. 5.In addition to this restoration work, we elected to hire AR to install wood flooring in our kitchen and to paint an additional wall, at our own expense.6.We were dissatisfied with the interior painting because the lines were not clean, with paint bleeding onto unaffected surfaces. 7.We informed the project manager that we wanted this to be addressed, and we both agreed that he would do so after the floors were complete.8. AR hired ******** ******** to perform work on the wood floors. ******** ******** hired **** ***** *******, who we later learned, had an F rating at the Better Business Bureau. 9. We were out of our home for three days when **** ***** ******* initially worked on our home. Our insurance covered the expense of our family staying at a hotel in Fort Collins during this time.10.When we returned to our home, we discovered work that was sub-standard, with a missing third coat and sloppy finishing work on the trim. 11.We notified AR and ******** ********s of our disappointment with the work.12.Because we had already used the

Desired Settlement: We would like Affordable to pay a portion of expenses that we accrued from they're hiring of substandard subs.

Business Response: *****,

Thank you for allowing us an opportunity to address this homeowner’s concerns.  We’re pleased our water mitigation department completed work to their satisfaction. Quality workmanship and 100% customer satisfaction are very important to us.  Of equal importance is charging homeowner’s a fair price for work completed.   This circumstance is no different.

The homeowner’s insurance carrier covered damages to their home.  They contracted us to complete them in the following manner.

  #1:  Painting,drywall and finish work.  Estimate amount of $2411.01
  #2:  Wood floor refinishing in the dining room and transition area between the kitchen and dining room. Estimate amount of $3163.70

The homeowner opted to have additional work completed, including installation of new wood flooring in the kitchen, hallway to the closet and landing by the back door.  We
subcontracted ******** ********s to complete our portion of the wood floor estimate (#2 above) and the homeowner hired them for the non-insurance covered areas.

We invoiced the homeowner for the items in estimate #1 above ($2411.01 for painting, drywall & finish work).  Because of the complications of workmanship with
the wood flooring, we did not invoice them for anything related to the floor, nor did ******** ********s.  We were only asking for the balance that was due for the non-floor items.  There is an outstanding balance due of $524.18 (without finance charges and collection fees that have incurred.) 

If it makes more sense, we would be happy to create an invoice for the homeowner for the insurance paid wood floor items, $3163.70, then deduct costs they have incurred. 
However, we do not have any charges to them relating to the floors to deduct hotel fees from at this time.

We understand the homeowner’s frustration of having to be displaced from their home on several occasions and apologize for the inconvenience.  However, we feel as though we’ve offered reasonable and fair resolution with free services.  Please let us know if we can assist any further.

Sincerely,

**** *******
Co-Owner
********** ***********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


 

We paid over $4000 to repair the poor workmanship on our
wood floors that Affordable Restoration contracted out. The entire
surface of the floors and stairs had to be re-sanded, staircase spindles
removed and replaced, baseboards touched-up where they had been hit by the
sanders, and finally the surface re-stained. Some of the shoddy work remains, as
the entire floor would need to be re-laid in order to fully repair it. Not
charging us the $3100 for the mess that we were left to fix was the least that
they could do. We are suggesting that ********** *********** is responsible
for hotel costs incurred to be out of our home for the third time in
a four month period.



Regards,

**** *****

Business Response:

********** ***********'s position that we have offered a fair resolution remains unchanged. 

We were contracted to complete insurance covered work, which included an area of floor refinishing.  Although the homeowner was paid from their insurance carrier for the floor refinishing in the damaged area, we did not charge for those repairs.  We only invoiced the homeowner for the non-floor items that insurance paid for and we are still expecting the remaining balance for those completed items to be paid. 

The full installation of other areas of wood floors was not part of our contract.  The homeowner opted to hire the same subcontractor that we were using to complete work beyond our scope of the water damaged areas.  

We can not be held responsible for work they contracted out beyond the scope of our contract.  In an effort to provide resolution, we did not charge them for the area of wood floor refinish that was included in their insurance estimate & our contract.  It is our understanding they have, however, received payment from their insurance carrier for the work they contracted us to do.

I've attached the following:

Contract:  Reflecting that we were contracted to complete insurance estimate work only
Invoice:  Showing charges in the amount of $2411.01 for non-floor work
Detailed estimate:  Showing details of what was done besides the wood floor work.
Statement:  Showing balance still due.  Includes finance charges.

Thanks for your review and understanding of our position. 

Sincerely,
**** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Per our request, ********** *********** provided an estimate to repair water damage at our home. One part of the estimate included repairing the wood flooring on the main floor of the home. We also obtained a separate bid from ********** *********** to install new wood flooring on a separate portion of the main floor, an out-of-pocket expense. The bid for the out-of-pocket portion of the project was provided on 04/16/03, amounted to $6977.83, and is included as supporting documentation with this letter. It covers the installation of a wood floor in the kitchen, inside closets, and at the landing of the back door.

We accepted ********** ***********’s bid to perform the work on the project in its entirety—both the insured portion of the project and the out-of-pocket portion of the project. ********** *********** contracted out all of the wood flooring work to ******** ********s. We did not have a relationship with ******** ********s independent of our relationship with Affordable Restoration. We have never received a bid, a contract, or an invoice from ******** ********s. While it is true that we did collect an insurance claim for the insured portion of the project, the claim money was applied toward the cost of re-sanding and refinishing the floors by the reputable flooring company that we contracted to finally fix (as much as was possible without ripping up the floor and starting over) the poor workmanship of ******** ********s.

We are not sure why ********** *********** is splitting hairs (albeit inaccurately) of the details of the project, as the fact is they are responsible for a huge inconvenience to our family. There was absolutely no project oversight, which may have circumvented the project getting as far along as it did. Furthermore, it is unlikely that they compensated ******** ******** for the work done on our wood floors. Asking that they cover a portion of our hotel expenses is a small price to pay for poor project management.


Regards,

**** *****

Business Response: In response to the homeowner's rejection, again, our stance has not changed.

It is true we presented the homeowner with the provided estimate for non-insurance covered wood floor work, however, the homeowner advised us it was too high and wanted to save some money. Our representative suggested they work directly with ******** ********s to save the overhead and profit we needed to charge for oversight. With no signed contact, we cannot accept further responsibility for financial losses or workmanship.  Though this was an unfortunate situation, we feel the homeowner is trying to take advantage of it. We have already elected not to bill them at all for the contracted insurance covered reconstruction in an effort for resolution. Any work that needed to be re-done likely did not cost more than the original, unbilled amount. 

There is still a balance due us for the completed water mitigation work the homeowner stated was done to their satisfaction. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


While we are not in agreement with ********** *********** on
who hired ******** ********s to complete the uninsured portion of the wood
floor, it does not change the fact that ********** *********** contracted with ********
Interiors to perform the work on the insured portion of the job. Work on both
areas was performed simultaneously.

 

Initially, we were out of our home to have the insured
portion of the floors sanded and refinished and to have the uninsured portion
installed and finished. The second time we were out of our home because
******** ********s neglected to put the industry standard, third coat of stain
on both the insured and the uninsured portion of the floors. We opted to take a
family camping trip at or own expense so that the third coat could be applied.
Upon returning home, it was immediately obvious that two different stain sheens
were applied on the main floor surfaces (both insured and uninsured) and the
stairs (insured). When questioned as to why the stairs were not as shiny as the
main floor surfaces, ******** ********s suggested that they were two different
species of wood—white oak versus red oak. This was a lie. It was clear to us at
this point that ******** ********s had no interest in providing even the most
minimal standard of work. The third time that we were out of our home was to
correct the poor workmanship of the work on both the insured and the uninsured
portion of the floor.

 

The time to complete the woods floors spanned from early
June to mid-September—over three months. While a huge inconvenience for any
family, we brought an adopted newborn home in July to this mess. Affordable
Restoration was acutely aware that we were expecting a baby, as we made it very
clear that we wanted the job completed prior. ********** *********** suggests
that they did us a favor by not charging us for the work of ******** ********s.
This was a small consolation for a drawn-out, unmanaged project. We feel that
they should have paid to rectify the mess that they were responsible for
creating, at least for the insured portion of the project.

 

Even if we hired ******** ********s to take care of the
uninsured portion, ********** *********** is responsible for the insured work
that they contracted to ******** ********s. Furthermore, the insured portion of
the job that ********** *********** was responsible for included a wood
staircase, staircase spindles, and risers, representing the bulk of the labor
for re-finishing the surfaces.

 

We are only asking that ********** *********** pay for a
portion of the expenses that we incurred while out of our home for the third
time. We had hotel expenses for four nights with three meals a day for a
family of four for four days. We have only asked that they pay for three hotel
nights. We feel that they are splitting hairs over who hired who only to confuse
the situation.

 

Finally, ********** *********** suggested that they cannot
be responsible for a job for which there was no signed contract, suggesting
that this is evidence that we hired ******** ********s on or own. The fact is
that no signed contract existed for any of the work that was completed by
********** ***********—not for the wood floors, nor for the drywall work, nor
for the interior paint. While it is true that we signed off on the drywall and
paint, the surface of the drywall began to peel shortly thereafter.

I have attached our hotel receipts - that weekend all the hotels were almost sold out in Fort Collins, so we had to stay the first three nights at the Hilton and then move to the Marriott for the last night.


Regards,

**** *****

Consumer Response: Hello *****
 
I might have been a day late when providing more information. The only thing I wanted to add is when Affordable quoted us on the entire flooring job it was in the $3163.70 range. When the job fell apart, they removed the fees for the flooring. When we had the job redone – with all the damage that had been done the flooring total from the new carrier was $4725.35 – we had to pay an additional $1561.62 to the new flooring job to fix the mistakes that Affordable sub contracted out. To add that Affordable subbed out this job to ********, who intern subbed this out to the “***** *******” from Greeley --that have a history of being sued and every flooring person we had come to our house to fix this mess was well aware of the “***** *******” from Greeley. Many of the flooring companies had fixed their work and had also been to court against this company. They all questioned if Flooring doctors even have a license to work in Colorado.
Thank you for your time!
 
**** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like my complaint ID ********, to be handled through an Arbitration hearing with BBB.

Regards,

**** *****

Business Response: Hi *****,  Although we would love to continue to defend our case on this simply on principle, we are completely slammed right now with roof work following the recent storm activity and do not have the time available to fight this one.  We would rather use our resources to try to help the current calls we're getting in. 

We will go ahead and settle this - writing off the hotel cost they have requested in the form of removing them from collections and absorbing the balance they had not paid us in full for the water mitigation bill.

Please let me know if you need anything else.  Thanks for your help.

-- 
Sincerely,
*** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had water seepage in basement. Called Affordable. They came out on Tuesday, May 27. They wanted to know if it was covered by insurance before providing any estimate or suggestions for service. Since I did not know if it would be, or not, I told them no. **** quoted me a price of $1700 to dry out the basement, including water reclamation and disposal. He said they would get underneath the carpet and float it, to help dry. Since there was no visible water and only dampness, he said he could skip the water reclamation part and the total would be $1200. He suggested that if I pulled up the manufactured wood floor in the area that there was visible water damage on it back to where it was no longer wet, I would not have to pull it all up. He left and said a crew would be right behind him to bring the equipment. After three calls to their offices, the crew with the equipment arrived six hours later. They set up 10-12 floor fans and 2 dehumidifiers. After two days off the heavy amperes, my electrical system went into overload and shut have the power down. they did not seem to notice that when they came back to check on the progress. (As a footnote, the main circuit breaker melted inside the box and I had to install a new box for $2500.) They reduced the number of units on Saturday and said it should be all dry by Sunday. On Sunday morning (Jane 1), the basement still smelled very musty, so I pulled up a different section of the manufactured wood and there was standing water. Affordable evidently was unaware of that and I never saw them check that area. We pulled up the remaining wood and took pictures. They never came out or called on Sunday to look at the progress like they said. When they called Monday morning to come and pick up their equipment, I told them I was extremely unhappy with their service and to come and get their equipment out. When they came to do that, they found a separate section of carpeting that was still damp that they had not been drying. We ended up personally taking out all the carpet on Monday. On Tuesday, they sent a bill by email for $1700 from a company called Affordable roofing. I tried three times to respond to that email and each time it was returned as invalid.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to pay $250 as equipment rental, but they did not do anything more and actually hampered the drying process. I also had to take a lot of time off work due to their scheduling.

Business Response: We have attempted to contact the homeowner by phone in an effort to discuss a resolution.  Although we feel we dried the wet areas out per the agreed contract scope, we are willing to accept the desired discount as a settlement.

Sincerely,
**** *******
Co-Owner

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
Payment in full sent today.

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service