BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Front Range Excavation of Larimer County?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Front Range Excavation of Larimer County

Phone: (970) 482-0944 Fax: (970) 482-8122 View Additional Phone Numbers 4411 W County Rd 52 E, Laporte, CO 80535 http://www.frontrangeexcavation.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This full service excavation company specializes in custom residential utilities and site development.  They are family owned and operated.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Front Range Excavation of Larimer County meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

This business was accredited from 1999 through 2012.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Front Range Excavation of Larimer County include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Front Range Excavation of Larimer County
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 25, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated: 12/29/1995 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Barnes, President Mr. Corey Barnes, Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Barnes, President
Business Category

Excavating Contractors Road Construction Companies Utility Contractors Culvert Companies Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning Dump Trucks Light Truck Haulers

Service Area
Northern Colorado
Alternate Business Names
S2CR Inc

Additional Locations

  • 4411 W County Rd 52 E

    Laporte, CO 80535 (970) 482-0944 (970) 556-0388

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (970) 556-0388(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Property Damage Here is a list of items that were damaged on my home. 1. My phone line box, which I had marked with a bright yellow steel post and flag was run over and pulled off of the wire. The phone company had to be called for repair. 2. One of the J bolts on the foundation near the master bedroom has been bent over and flattened. The threads are stripped so I couldn't use this j bolt. 3. My sewer cleanout was run over and broken off. There was a rubber cap on the top that is missing. 4. There was a steel post with a rope tied to it supporting the cleanout. The rope was untied and removed and the post was either taken or buried somewhere. I later found the post buried 3 feet underground. 5. The pad under the master bedroom was moved and no longer level. I requested assistance from Front Range Excavation to re level this pad and got no response. 6. The retaining wall on both the west side and east side were pushed out over 1" from the adjoining wall. I asked an expert about this and to fix this wall, you would need to dig the wall back out completely and re-backfill without compacting and the wall may partially move back. To fully repair the wall, it would need to be repoured. This wall has now moved over 1-1/2 inches. 7. I requested to backfill the basement walls only halfway until we have the floor in to avoid pushing the wall in. I was going to pay additional for the rest of this backfill per the agreement. The walls were backfilled completely and i was billed $850 over the agreed amount. 8. The basement wall on the garage side has been cracked from top to bottom in 2 places and has been pushed out 1-1/2" in the center. 9. Most of the places where the equipment was taken in and out or where digging was done has chipped and broken concrete. The larger breaks had to be repaired before we could build on the walls. 10. A piece of rebar sticking out in one of the Garage walls was hit and the wall was split. 11. I would have expected for dirt under the foundation to be compacted where the trenches were dug but that didn't happen. The dirt in these trenches are now separating from the foundation. 12. The garage floor along the wall that was filled completely and then compacted resulting in a cracked wall has now sank over 5 inches within 1 year. The expert opinions I have gotten are that this 12 feet of fill should have been compacted in 8 inch lifts for consistency. The full 12 feet was filled at once and then compacted only on the top. The wall pushed in by 1-1/2 inches and cracked. When normal moisture came in during construction, the under compacted portion of the trench settled and the slab sank and cracked. I sent an email asking a few questions about the issues above and have yet to receive a valid response. Instead, I got a bill for $850 more than we agreed on. I have attempted to work with Front Range Excavation for nearly a year now to repair the damage and they refuse to discuss the matter except to deny any responsibility.

Desired Settlement: Front Range Excavation should pay to: 1) Cut out the garage floor that has sank 2) Have the dirt excavated and recompacted along the basement wall under the garage floor. 3) Have a lateral beam poured against the basement wall to prevent any further cracking and movement. 4) Repour that section of garage floor. 5) Pay to have the 2 retaining walls dug back out, straightened as much as possible and re-backfilled.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2012/12/21) */ Hello, All work that was done for Mr. ***** ******* was done in the most professional manner according to standard industry practice. We have responded to the alleged property damage and do not feel that we are responsible for repairing or compensating him for the damage. Mr. ******* is a do it yourselfer, he has no experience in construction and chose to build in an inexpensive as possible manner. This was a difficult site with very little room to work and steep hillsides. Mr. ******* did choose to backfill some of the project himself. This caused him problems. We cannot be responsible for damage done to these areas that we had no part of. The issue of the garage floor settling was possibly due to the lack of dowelling into the adjacent basement wall. This area was vibratory plate compacted in lifts being careful not to bow the basement wall. Mr. ******* chose to use onsite material for backfill and under slabs. Imported gravel would have been best to avoid settling. The wing/retaining walls should have extra counterforts for the distance they extend beyond the structure. It was also suggested that Mr. ******* get a subfloor on the structure to hold the walls true. He did not. We backfilled ¾ of the walls and did not compact the exterior to avoid them leaning in. The $850 charge was for the backfill witch was supposed to be done by Mr. *******. Mr. ******* decided to have us do the wing wall backfill after he realized the sloped were too steep for his tractor and dangerous. Due to the tight work area and steep grades it is possible that my company did bent a bolt and scratch the foundation. These are very minor and do not warrant fixing. The other alleged damage to a clean-out and a moved pad was not my company. An example of Mr. Pilchers inexperience and possible cause of some of his problems with settling was he ran a sewer line under his basement floor, under and along side a basement footer and at 9 feet deep to the back corner of his house under his crawl space. This should have never been done and especially in his sandy/gravel soil conditions. In doing so he has disturbed the soils that his entire house is setting on. He was advised to run his plumbing to an outside wall and to keep it shallow as possible. The last correspondence that we have received from Mr. ******* was a warning to stay off of his property and a notice that he had wired the property with video surveillance. We have no intention of visiting the remote property at any time. Mr. ******* has also threatened legal action. My company would be willing to work with Mr. ******* to avoid any further accusations or damage but we cannot pay for damage that was done due to his inexperience and do it yourself mentality. Thank you for the opportunity to respond the these allegations. Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2012/12/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This complaint has not been resolved. I feel that a little clarification is necessary on my experience. I've been doing construction for over 30 years. My first house was in the 1970's. With that said, I know what I should and should not hire out. I hired Front Range Excavation of Larmier County to do ALL of the excavation and ALL of the backfill for this very reason. I also hired out all of the concrete work. I did NO excavation or backfill on this project myself. All heavy dirt work was done by Front Range Excavation Of Larimer County and paid for by check, which was subsequently cashed. I paid the bill even though it was much more than we had agreed to based on their bid. There were NO other businesses on my property using heavy equipment at the time. My first contact with them concerning the damage was October 21st 2011 at 7:22 pm after I returned home from work and noticed the damage to my home. This was the same day most of it was done and the majority of the damage was not there that morning. The only equipment on my property during this entire project capable of compacting, pushing in by 1-1/2 inches and cracking a concrete wall was the their equipment. The wing walls were designed and constructed based on a Colorado licensed engineer's stamped drawings and began leaning only after the backfill was done. When I had an engineer look at the wall, they speculated that the fill was done by pushing the dirt against the wall instead of dropping the dirt in and minimizing force on the wall. It's my understanding that Front Range Excavation Of Larimer County has been in business for many years and in my opinion, should know when and where backfilling and compacting can safely be done. I hired them for their expertise and am very disappointed with their work and the way they have treated their customer. They are taking responsibility for some damage but only the minor items yet they were the only company there on the day it happened. They are also the only company doing any excavation and\or backfill on the property. They have decided that they are responsible only for the minor items but they are not in need of repair. I haven't been given the opportunity to discuss ANY items and whether they need repair or not. In one place they indicate that I did backfill and in another they say they charged me extra since I didn't do it. I did NO backfill on this project. I hired ALL excavation and backfill out to Front Range Excavation Of Larimer County. A big part of any business or personal relationship is trust. I have been attempting for over a year to get any kind of customer service after the sale from this business and have gotten the equivalent of their response here over and over. They have done nothing in an attempt to work with me on this. As a result, I no longer trust this company and have asked them to stay off my property UNLESS I am present. As far as the video is concerned, I have had cameras for site security long before they came onto my property and still have them to date. They are for site security due to the remote location. I have attached an image of them doing the work last year from one camera. I had and have other cameras and angles of interest. I also have images of the cracked wall, the slab that has sank by 4" as well as the wing walls that have been pushed in. As far as the comment on legal action, it's my understanding that you can't file a complaint with the BBB if there is legal action pending. I agreed to this when I filed the complaint and currently have no legal action pending for this damage. I welcome the Better Business Bureau to come out and take a look at the damage and any assistance you can offer in helping me with this complaint would be greatly appreciated. Thanks For Your Help. Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2013/01/17) */ From: ************@aol.com (mailto:************@aol.com) Sent: Thursday, January 17, XXXX X:XX AM To: ******@wynco.bbb.org Subject: Re: BBB regarding Complaint ******** - ***** ******* ****** I am willing to work with Mr. ******* on resolving some of these problems. Mr. ******* did do a lot of the work on this project himself. I would be interested in seeing us do the damage via his camera system. I was not aware that we were being videoed. Thank you, ***** Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2013/01/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I appreciate Mr. ****** willingness to work with me on these issues. If he would like, he can contact the concrete company that did the concrete work. They can come out, cut out the sunken slab, recompact and repour with the horizontal beam at Mr. ****** expense. They should have a quote ready and they are old friends of Mr. ******. I would also be willing to have Front Range Excavation Of Larimer County come and dig out behind the 2 wing walls to see if we can get them to move back to a vertical position and then backfill. If we can't get them to go back straight, i can work with the engineer to see if they can suggest a fix. If Front Range would prefer not to do the work, we can agree on a 3rd party to do the work. Either way, i would need to be onsite and Front Range would need to cover the repair. Thanks For Working With Me. ***** Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2013/02/11) */ Front Range would agree to dig out from behind the wing walls as requested by appointment in order to have engineer correct the problem of the wing walls leaning in. Consumer Response /* (4200, 25, 2013/02/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is not resolved. This offer doesn't address the main issue, which is the cracked and sunken garage floor. The concrete company will make the repairs for $2500, which is a bargain if compared to the cost to repair all damages listed in this complaint. I have attached images of the damage. Front range should contact the concrete company and have them make the repairs in addition to digging out behind the wing walls. Consumer Response /* (-5, 32, 2013/03/15) */ From: K (mailto:****@************.com) Sent: Friday, March 15, 2013 11:21 AM To: 'Better Business Bureau' Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#********(Ref#XX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXXX) Hi *****, I was afraid that the business would stop responding. This is what they did with me after I sent the 1st email almost a year and a half ago. There are thousands of dollars of damage to my property and $2500 to repair the slab only was more than a generous compromise. When they came to my property to backfill, all of the concrete was in place. When they left, I had a 10' high wall that was pushed in an inch and a half and cracked in multiple places. There were 2 retaining walls pushed off level and after it rained, the slab sank a few inches and cracked as well. It doesn't really get more straight forward than this as to how it happened. I appreciate you trying to help me with this case but it doesn't look like the business will do anything reasonable to help with repairs. I read that the attorney general will sometimes review cases like this. Is there a chance that my case will be reviewed by them? Can this be requested? Please let me know what the Dispute Review Committee recommends. Thanks again for your help, *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to arbitrate the complaint but the consumer declined.

1