This business is not BBB accredited.

This Efficient House

Phone: (970) 204-9931 Fax: (970) 204-9932 1600 Crescent Dr, Fort Collins, CO 80526 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.ThisEfficientHouse.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business does energy audits and energy efficient improvements.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for This Efficient House include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on This Efficient House
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 08, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1990 in CO Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated 06/15/2009 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Truitt, Executive Director Ms. Anna Murphy, Bookkeeper
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Truitt, Executive Director
Business Category

Energy Conservation Stores Energy Audits Energy Management and Conservation Construction Companies Solar Energy Equipment Companies Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen and Bath Designers Insulation Contractors Remodelers Windows

Service Area
Fort Collins, Loveland, Boulder, Longmont, South East Wyoming
Alternate Business Names
Colorado Home Energy Solutions LLC
Industry Tips
Shedding Light on Residential Solar Panels

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

This Efficient House has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1600 Crescent Dr

    Fort Collins, CO 80526 (970) 204-9931

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted This Efficient House to do a home energy audit, including a blower door test. We were most interested in the blower door test as the results would reveal where most of our heat was escaping. All we got for our money were estimates on a new heat system, insulation, etc. Despite many pleas, we never received the results of our blower door test. The blower door test was performed in May 2015.

Desired Settlement: I would either like a refund, or the results of the blower door test, even if he has to come back and do it again.

Business Response:

Greetings,

First I would like to apologize for the slow response to this customer’s concerns.  They have been very patient and reasonable from beginning to end

We were initially hired to perform a home energy audit and provide estimates for a furnace and insulation, both in the crawlspace.  At that time we found water leaking into the crawlspace.  We let the customer know we couldn’t do any work until the leak was fixed.  The customer said they would attempt to find the source of the leak and have it corrected. 

We followed up a few times over the next few months but the leak hadn’t been fixed.  In that time, the staff member who performed the energy audit left the company.  Subsequently, I wasn’t able to find the notes or files on the computer because they were mistakenly saved in another customer’s folder on the computer.  I have since tracked down the files and sent them to the customer.   I regret that it took us this long to resolve the issue.   

Thank You,

Mike T*****, BS, BPI, NATE

President, This Efficient House

5/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable