BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of This Efficient House?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

This Efficient House

Phone: (970) 204-9931 Fax: (970) 204-9932 1600 Crescent Dr, Fort Collins, CO 80526 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.ThisEfficientHouse.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business does energy audits and energy efficient improvements.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that This Efficient House meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for This Efficient House include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on This Efficient House
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 08, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1990 in CO Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated: 06/15/2009 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Truitt, Executive Director Ms. Anna Murphy, Bookkeeper
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Truitt, Executive Director
Business Category

Energy Conservation Stores Energy Audits Energy Management and Conservation Construction Companies Solar Energy Equipment Companies Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen and Bath Designers Insulation Contractors Remodelers Window Companies

Service Area
Fort Collins, Loveland, Boulder, Longmont, South East Wyoming
Alternate Business Names
Colorado Home Energy Solutions LLC

Additional Locations

  • 1600 Crescent Dr

    Fort Collins, CO 80526 (970) 204-9931

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We received an invoice for work that was not substantiated, from a salesman with deceptive sales practices. *Oct 24, 2012 - we requested an estimate to insulate our attic from ThisEfficientHouse.com and were provided with an estimate ($3,289) to insulate our attic and the garage. *Dec 17, 2012 - we once again requested an estimate for insulating only the attic and obtained an estimate ($1,777). We then contacted the company to proceed with the insulation of the attic. *Dec 19, 2012 - installers were scheduled to arrive at 8:30AM and to be there until 4:30PM to complete the inside portion of the job. They were informed that my wife had an appointment in the morning and would be gone for ~1/2 hr. The installers showed up a bit after 9:30AM and were already gone by 11:30AM when my wife returned a 30-40 minutes later. They left the house completely open (unlocked) and left a note saying they did not finish and would return at 8:30AM the following morning. *Dec 20, 2012 - by 9:15AM no one from ThisEfficientHouse.com had arrived or contacted us. My wife had to leave and hence she called the company. The installers indicated that they had not finished the interior work because there was some confusion over what needed to be done. They claimed the bid for installation of the attic only covered part of the attic and they did not understand this as the entire attic needed insulation. We were as confused as the installers as we asked for an estimate to insulate the attic, which in our view means the entire attic! We called the company salesman that afternoon and asked if our original estimate only included part of the attic and why. The salesman was indignant on the phone and never answered the question. In total consternation, my wife suggested that the salesman drop by the following morning when both my wife and I would be home. *Dec 21, 2012 - The salesman dropped by as scheduled and coolly introduced himself. He then sat down and proceeded to produce papers from a folder "This is the original estimate and this is the estimate you requested without the garage and this is a new estimate to insulate the entire house". I then asked "why would anyone provide an estimate to insulate part of the attic when they were asked to do the entire attic. Further why would any company claim we can get rebates for insulating part of the attic?" These were the same questions my wife asked the night before so we thought there would be some answer. Instead the salesman stood up and claimed "I will not be threatened and I do not appreciate you questioning my integrity " and he stomped out of the house. We sat dumbfounded at this behavior and unprovoked outburst. We repeatedly asked a very simple question as to why the original bid did not cover the insulation of the entire attic. This was the same question the installers had. *Dated Dec 21, 2012 - we received an invoice from the company for $598 for basic air sealing with an additional charge of $50 for an extension cord and staple gun. There were further fees such as for "Program pre & post blower door/CAZ test and rebate processing" although there was no work done that would qualify for a rebate.

Desired Settlement: We are confused with the recent invoice we received from ThisEfficientHouse.com and feel that we do not owe this company anything. In our view their sales methods were deceiving and the sales man rude, obnoxious and arrogant. Since this salesman walked out on us after being asked repeatedly why he was presenting us with a new estimate after they claimed work had already been initiated (unsubstantiated as to what was done), we feel we have no confirmation of anything done. In our view this company not only acted unprofessionally, they were unethical in not only providing an answer to a very simple question (why would a company not insulate the entire attic?) but also in providing no evidence of work done and charging for their negligence in leaving materials at the work site. If they had made a mistake in the original estimate and admitted it that would have been fine. Instead, they walked off the job after doing a minimum if any work and expected us to pay for their mistakes and forgotten gold coated tools. We feel that due to the unprofessional and unethical manner we were treated by ThisEffientHouse.com and the minimal to no work performed, that we owe them nothing. Further, we have had to go with a subsequent company to get our attic insulated. I crawled up in the attic and removed their gold plated staple gun and extension cord (both available in total for less than $20 at Home Depot) and they are free to come and pick these up on our front stoop anytime in January.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/01/08) */ Last but not least, we want no further dealings with this customer and have no plans to return to the house or pursue payment for services rendered. It's not worth it as we have 3-5 calls for new business every day and need to prioritize our time towards productive endeavors. Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/01/08) */ Combative Customer: In an attempt to resolve the conflict I went to see Mr. *****, who was not "asking simple questions" as he states, but combative and verbally aggressive within 2 minutes of my arrival. I felt it was in the interest of my personal safety to leave the house immediately . All though we had already invested labor and materials, I cancelled any further work. Background: At the request of Mrs. *****-*********, I offered an original bid of $3,289. She was concerned about her budget. After three revisions I got it down to $1,777, by taking various elements of the original estimate off the bid. I eventually proposed a bare-bones estimate and the customer agreed to the scope of work. After we started the job the homeowners then demanded that we do additional work for no charge and I politely refused. Prior to this meeting, Mrs. ***** had already tried to manipulate me into doing extra work for nothing, even after admitting that we where already the lowest bid. It is obvious to me that Mr. ***** thought that if he was hostile and belligerent enough, he could bully me into doing extra work for no charge. As to the "deceptive salesman" charge, we have been recognized numerous times by City of Fort Collins Utilities officials for consistently providing customers with proposals that offer only the most cost effective improvements. Our Reputation: This Efficient House performs more work for the City of Fort Collins Residential Efficiency Program than any other approved contractor. We complete about 50% of all air sealing and insulation projects (over 200 per year) that qualify for rebates city wide. Furthermore, all of our projects get a quality assurance inspection from the City of Fort Collins Utilities. Occasionally we make mistakes, but we always resolve them and stand behind our work with a 3 Year Labor Warranty. All that we ask is that our customers treat us with respect and we will return the favor every time.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1