BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Poudre Valley REA?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Poudre Valley REA

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 226-1234 View Additional Phone Numbers 7649 REA Pkwy, Fort Collins, CO 80528 http://www.pvrea.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Poudre Valley REA meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Poudre Valley REA include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Poudre Valley REA
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 16, 2005 Business started: 10/20/1939 Business started locally: 10/20/1939 Business incorporated: 01/01/1940 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David White, Member Service Manager Mr. Brad Gaskill Mr. Craig Muchison, Customer Service Supervisor
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Craig Muchison, Customer Service Supervisor
Principal: Mr. David White, Member Service Manager
Business Category

Electric Companies

Alternate Business Names
Poudre Valley Rural Electric Assoc Inc

Additional Locations

  • 7649 REA Pkwy

    Fort Collins, CO 80528 (970) 226-1234 (800) 432-1012

  • PO Box 272550

    Fort Collins, CO 80527

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 432-1012(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 14th 2014 Poudre Valley REA turn off my electricity for failure of payment. I am sure this is nothing out of the ordinary but my problem is this. I never received any notice of failure to pay. I also didn't fail to pay it was just not enough to cover the total bill. I have automatic payment set up through the bank and have paid the same thing for 5 years. They tacked on so many fees it was just outrageous and it all stemmed from them failing to properly notify me about this situation. I was charged a $80 re-activation fee. Then what I have the biggest problem with is they sent some one to my house that was "supposed to help me" they said and try and get a payment today on the 14th at 12:10 to avoid this whole thing. Who ever they sent out to my home failed to contact anyone of the three people who were there(there were also 2 cars in the driveway and one out front) Then I was charged $60 for said individual to come out to my house to fail to contact the three people that were there. Then pay the other $140 for other fees because of this. They also said they called me, I never got a call. The only thing they confirmed for me today on the phone was that they have failed at trying to reach me. I have no other option but to deal with this company electricity. I think the way they handled this was totally unprofessional and unjust. I never defaulted on a payment it just went over because the bill was higher then auto pay. I was never informed properly of the situation that lets them tack on absurd charges to. Then making me pay $60 dollars for some one to come out to my house and make no legitimate effort to contact one of the three people who were in the house.

Desired Settlement: I just want all the extra fees waved. Especially the charge for said contractor to come to my house and fail to contact me.

Business Response: June 10, 2014

Re: Response to Complaint # ********

With regards to the events in question, the member in connection with complaint # ******** was disconnected for non-payment.  Disconnection of electric service occurred on May 14, 2014.  It should be noted that PVREA is obligated to operate within the Rules, Regulations and Bylaws established by our Board of Directors.  All such Rules, Regulations and Bylaws are posted on our website, www.pvrea.com under the “Member Information” section for review.  
Accounts are subject for disconnection anytime the account reaches a delinquent status.  For the account in question, a bill dated April 22, 2014 with a due date of May 7, 2014 was sent to the member.  Prior to disconnection of service a reminder notice is also sent to the member.  It is the responsibility of the member to keep PVREA updated on any changes to their mailing address or email address in order to receive such notices.  Of course, PVREA can’t be held responsible for the actions of the postal service or internet domains if billing statements aren’t delivered.  However, failure to receive a bill does not free the member of the obligation to pay. (Ref PVREA Rules and Regulations Section 5, subsection 5.2)  
After the close of business on May 7, 2014 a reminder notice of a past due balance was generated and sent to the member.  This notice informs the member of past due amounts and all fees associated with the collection and disconnect/reconnect process.  This notice advises the member that a collection fee of $60.00 will be charged if the following occurs: “Payment is collected or customer contact is attempted at your service address concerning this notice of discontinuance of electric service.  This fee will be added to your bill.”  
A further measure that PVREA has in place is the use of a third party vendor in order to make contact with members to inform them of their past due balance.  Based on the telephone information we have on file, a call is made to the member and the following message is delivered:  “Hello, this is Poudre Valley REA calling about an urgent matter regarding your electric account.  To ensure continued electrical service, it is important that you contact Poudre Valley REA immediately at **************.”  Delivery of this message is contingent on PVREA having updated contact information.    

Please note that all of the above mentioned measures were taken prior to the disconnection of the electric service for the account in question.

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: You failed to address the real complaint at hand in this situation. I never stated that you didn't contact me. I stated that you failed to do so in every regard. Now onto the real issue of the complaint. The representative that you supposedly sent to my home. This home visit cost from said individual gave you some right to charge me $60. Also he/she could of prevented all additional charges that I received if she would of done his/her job properly. There were 3 people at home in the residence, one car in front of the house two in the driveway.  When said individual attempted to contact me about the situation. This should of been apparent on how fast I called as soon as the power was turned off. There is no way for me to know what your representative did in this situation and there is no way you can know either. The only thing I can say for sure is he/she made no valid attempt to contact any of the three people inside that house.

The response you gave me to this complaint totally avoided the real situation. The fact that you said that I didn't update my new phone number. Then proceeded to quote a message that was sent to a known invalid number is testament on how you just are avoiding the real situation.
Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: June 13, 2014

Re:  Response to Complaint # ********

It is duly noted the confidence our member has in the individuals who were at his home the time our representative came by to collect for the past due balance.  It is that same confidence PVREA has in our field service personal who day by day perform their job functions in an exceptional manner.  An attempt was made to contact someone at home.  Our field service representative knocked at the door multiple times before proceeding to disconnect the service.  In accordance with our Rules and Regulations this attempt to contact the member makes the account subject to a $60.00 collection fee.  

Moving forward, PVREA is suggesting the following as a resolution:  As a one-time courtesy, PVREA will waive the $60.00 collection fee.  In the future, should the need arise for PVREA to collect any past due balances, the members account will be charged a $60.00 collection fee if monies are collected or an attempt to collect is made.  

 

Consumer Response: ***** ***** ****** ******************** *** ********************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** ********** 

My complaint was number ********

I thought the depute was resolved after I received my last message. I have not received the refund pouder valley REA said I was going to receive in the last message that was posted. I don't really want to open up another complaint but I will if that is the steps that need to be taken.

Business Response: No action was taken as PVREA received no comment back from the member since the last communication.  As of this communication we will go forward with the adjustment as agreed.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An accidental error in picking a wrong account while trying to pay my Mom's account caused the payment to be returned for a second time in one year. When I saw that I picked the checking account instead of the credit card account I immediately contacted REA and explained what had happened and paid the bill in full using the correct card. I then deleted the old incorrect checking information from her account. However, I was informed by several managers at REA, that they would assess a $1250 charge to my account that would have to be paid IN FULL on our next bill. I explained that my mother was an 83 year old widow that was on a fixed income and didn't make that in a whole month. I also explained that I was trying to help her, but I didn't have that kind of money either. I was told that they didn't care, that there was nothing they could do and the payment would have to be made or we would be delinquent on her account if not paid. I am afraid that since we cannot pay this amount they will shut off her electricity. My family has lived on this property since 1981 and I readily admit that it has been very hard to keep up with the bill since it gets quite large in the winter time. However, the regular bill is completely paid up to date. The deposit has not.

Desired Settlement: Automatic billing on a day that actually coincides with our payday. No deposit.

Business Response: Due to this account having two returned checks in the previous twelve months a deposit is now required to secure the account.  A deposit was originally billed to the account on August 1, 2013, due to a returned check.  Our member then signed up for automatic payment in lieu of paying the deposit.  A second payment has now been returned, therefore we are unable to waive the deposit on the account.  Our Rules and Regulations, approved by the Board elected by our members, can be viewed online at www.pvrea.com.  Specifically, the deposit information is section number 4.18.5.2 and the returned check information is section number 5.4.4 and 5.4.9.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I do not agree with this practice, but it seems that I have no other choice but to have my service turned off on December 11.  However, I also find it unethical that I paid my last electric bill and paid it before it was due.  Instead of crediting me with the payment as made, REA applied it to the deposit instead of my electic bill making it seem that I had not made my payment.  I sent the money for an express purpose and REA chose to take the money and apply it elsewhere. 


Regards,

******* ****

Business Response:

The December 3 payment the member is referring to was posted correctly to their account in accordance with our payment posting hierarchy.  On December 10 the member's account was closed per their request and the deposit refunded.  The account is paid in full and closed.  As such, unless we hear anything further we will assume this matter is complete.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a roommate skip out on the utility bill which was solely under his name. When I called to change utility under my name I was very rudely informed that I had to pay his bill, a reactivation fee and a huge deposit. No attempt on their part was made to make a fair payment plan. Currently I am without power and have no means to pay their unreasonable demands.

Desired Settlement: I need power, a reasonable method to pay and not to be charged for someone else' bill.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.