Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Poudre Valley REA

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 432-1012 7649 REA Pkwy, Fort Collins, CO 80528 http://www.pvrea.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Poudre Valley REA meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Poudre Valley REA include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Poudre Valley REA
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 16, 2005 Business started: 10/20/1939 Business incorporated 01/01/1940 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David White, Member Service Manager Mr. Jeff Wadsworth, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David White, Member Service Manager
Business Category

Electric Companies

Alternate Business Names
Poudre Valley Rural Electric Assoc Inc

Additional Locations

  • 7649 REA Pkwy

    Fort Collins, CO 80528 (800) 432-1012

  • PO Box 272550

    Fort Collins, CO 80527

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PVREA lied about the lack of service in ********, CO for downed power lines during a medium snowstorm (PVREA claims it was a blizzard). ******** employs buried power lines and a substation located three miles away. They repeatedly switched on and off the power, ruining a high dollar surge protector. Additionally, my fridge was allowed to thaw due to their lack of service and my milk spoiled. The milk that spoiled ruined the remaining food in my refrigerator, and ruined ~$400 worth of food. Additionally, I was forced to drive, in a "blizzard" for 4 hours (2 hours each way) to a friends house to keep warm (and keep my puppy warm). When I was texted that all was well and to come home, I found that we had 15 minutes of power and then had 3 hours without power. Meanwhile, the residents living 500 meters away had power (provided by ****).

Desired Settlement: I would request that PVREA credit me $400.00 USD on my bill to make up for the food I had to throw away, $30.00 for the gasoline I had to expend to keep myself and my puppy warm, $15.00 for the Comcast internet and TV I couldn't use, and $12.00 for the **** natural gas I couldn't use.

Business Response: This consumer was without power a good portion of March 23, 2016 as a result of a storm that caused widespread damage to our electric distribution system. In total we had 15,000 consumers without power as a result of the storm. Crews worked around the clock for several days to restore all of the outages. Poudre Valley REA does carry insurance to cover losses that are a result any negligence on our part. The consumer may contact us to file a claim for any losses that occurred.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

I am requesting a claim form from PVREA as a result of the on-again/off-again service and their lying about why ******** was without power (they claimed downed power lines, when ******** has no above ground power lines). 

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response:

Poudre Valley REA does not serve the entire town of ********. Many areas served in more suburban areas which are underground are fed by overhead lines out of the substations. All claims are submitted by PVREA online with our insurer. Please send a detailed list of losses with receipts where applicable to Ben Ludington bludington@pvrea.com 9790-282-6452. 

If you have any further questions or concerns, I am certainly available by phone. David White 970-282-6412

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

There is no online claim form or place for me to submit receipts for damaged or lost items. Who keeps, or even gets, grocery receipts in the modern world? I was requesting a small refund on my account for the inconvenience of PVREA turning power on and off (don't blame this on downed power lines, look at your service records on the date in question and you'll see power was restored and then taken offline again). Now, I'm not to sure we can mitigate this issue through BBB.


Regards,

****** *****

1/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unauthorized bank withdrawal from an account that was closed and Poudre Valley REA proceeded to charge us an NSF charge while we followed their procedures. We spent numerous hours trying to resolve this issue with ******** ********. We tried to resolve this issue by going to the ******** ****** ********* *********n. Then we went to the ******** ***** ******** ********* ****** and we have been referred to you. Supporting documentation has been sent to the above offices.

Desired Settlement: Acknowledge that the error was on their behalf and update their records to reflect our stellar payment history. To refund the NSF charge as we no longer gave them permission to access the old bank account for any payments as we switched banks.

Business Response: Response to Complaint is attached.  

Poudre Valley REA 
7649 REA Parkway 
Fort Collins, CO 80527 
12-10-14 

Better Business Bureau 
8020 S. County Road 5, #100 Fort Collins CO 80528 

Dear Better Business Bureau: 

In response to complaint #********, Mrs. ***** made contact with PVREA offices on 
August 6, 2014 at 11:22 am.  Mrs. ***** made a request at that time to have her Auto Pay 
information changed.  Our Member Services Representative informed Mrs. ***** of the 
options available to change her bank information: 1) Mrs. ***** could make the change via 
our website at www.pvrea.com, or 2) we could mail her a copy of the Auto Pay form in 
which she could submit a change request.  Per the phone conversation, Mrs. ***** 
requested the form to be mailed to her. 
During the course of the conversation, our Member Services Representative informed Mrs. 
***** that she currently had bank information on file and asked Mrs. ***** if the existing 
information was still valid for the Auto Pay, and if the information was not valid, the 
information could be deleted to avoid a draft from a closed account.  Mrs. ***** informed 
our representative that the information currently on file was still valid, but that she hoped 
to be able to change the information over the phone.  Our representative informed Mrs. 
***** that changing the bank information over the phone was not an option.  Mrs. ***** was 
then asked if she wanted to have the current bank information deleted.  Mrs. ***** 
informed our representative that due to the closeness of her billing due date, she preferred 
to have the Auto Pay information remain on file. 
Closing out the conversation, Mrs. ***** was informed that her current bank information 
would remain on file and that a new form would be sent to her.  She was also informed that 
after we received the form, she would need to make a manual payment because the new 
information would take 3 to 4 weeks to pre-note before any auto payments would go into 
effect. 

Better Business Bureau 
12-10-14 
Page 2 

To date, PVREA has still not received any new Auto Pay information.  Also, per a previous conversation with one of our representatives, Mrs. ***** was informed that we could email her a copy of the phone conversation for her review. 

Sincerely, 
***** ******** 
Member Services Supervisor 
Poudre Valley REA 

Consumer Response:

 ***** ***** ************************* *** ********************** *** ******************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********* ********* *********

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

To whom it may concern:

Chronological  order of what has transpired:

My husband and I needed electrical service back in 2008 and the only provider for the area was Poudre Valley REA. We decided to sign up for 'Automatic Payment' from our checking account at ******** ********* **** which eventually became ********* ****.

This summer my husband, ***, and I decided to switch banks. We closed our checking account with ********* **** and opened a new checking account with ** ***k, both in August 2014.

On August 6, 2014 @ 11:25a.m. I called Poudre Valley REA @ ************** to cancel 'Automatic Payment'. I spoke with ****** (I do not know how she spells her name). She would not let me cancel 'Automatic Payment' over the phone. By mail was an option. ****** was going to mail us a form for 'Automatic Payment' if that is what we wanted to do from our new bank account, see attached file.
To pay our August 2014 bill I wrote a check from our new checking account with ** ****, see attached file, check #****. Along with the check I mailed the portion of the bill Poudre Valley REA requests be sent in with payment. I wrote on this portion of our bill to cancel 'Automatic Payment', also included in the attached file.

Per the Poudre Valley REA form 'Authorization Agreement for Automatic Payment of Electric Bills' - the last sentence reads 'I understand this authorization may be revoked by me at any time by notifying the Poudre Valley Rural Electric Association, Inc.' I notified Poudre Valley REA two different ways to cancel our 'Automatic Payment'.

After discussing it, *** and I decided we did not want to sign up for 'Automatic Payment'. We decided we would use online bill pay.

In an attached file we have enclosed our monthly bills from Poudre Valley REA since August 2014.

We have also included a file with an email sent to ******** ******** on October 3, 2014.

We were forced to pay an NSF and late fee totaling $50.75 or else our power was going to be disconnected. See attached file for 'Disconnect Notice'.

Also attached is a copy of what we sent to the ****** ********* ********** and the ******** ***** ******** ********* ******.

Here is a list of the phone calls that have ensued:
8/6/14 @11:25a.m. I called Poudre Valley REA and spoke with ****** to cancel 'Automatic Payment'.
10/1/14 @7:30a.m. I called Poudre Valley REA and spoke with ******** ******** to understand the charges on our account.
10/3/14 -- emailed ******** per her request
10/6/14 @ 4:10p.m. ******** left us a phone message to call her.
10/7/14 @9:55a.m. I called ******** at 970-282-6455 and got her voicemail. I left her a message to call us back.
10/16/14 @9:02a.m. ******** left a message that she has not heard from us.
10/16/14 @9:09a.m. I called her back and got her voicemail and left her a message to call us back.
11/5/14 @3:35p.m. ******** called and she said I clearly stated we wanted to stay on 'Automatic Payment' and that we would have to pay the NSF fee. She also said she rarely sees her supervisor wave the Deposit Installment fee.  I told her if we had wanted to stay on 'Automatic Payment' there would have been no reason for me to call Poudre Valley REA on 8/6/14. ******** asked me if I would like the phone conversation emailed to me, I said yes, I would like all of our phone calls emailed to me. She asked if I would like to speak with her supervisor, I said yes. ******** transferred me to ***** ********. I got his voicemail and asked him to call us to discuss our account.
12/19/14 To date we have not received any emails containing our phone conversations and ***** has never called us back.

Regards,
***** and *** *****

 

 

 

Regards,

***** And *** *****

Business Response: Please provide an email address and I will forward the recorded phone conversation with *****.  ******** advised Mrs. ***** that we could send her the call if she liked.  A request was never made to on Mrs. *****'s part to be sent the call.  We will gladly send the email containing the media file of the phone conversation if she will provide an email address for it to be sent.  After her review of the call, we can continue discussion regarding the fee.  

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I requested ALL the phone calls be emailed to me. ******** and Poudre Valley REA already have my email address, once again, it is: ************************

Regards,

***** And *** *****

 

Business Response:

***** ***** ******** ********************* *** ************************* ************************* *** ************************ ************************ ***** **** *** *** **** ** ***** ** ******** *** ********* * ******** 

Mrs. *****,

In reference to the BBB Complaint # ********, attached you will find a recorded phone conversation with one of our representatives.  Please review and I welcome any discussion based on the content of the conversation. 

Thank you,


***** ********

Member Services Supervisor
POUDRE VALLEY REA
7649 REA Pkwy | Fort Collins, CO 80528
Toll Free: ***** ******** | Direct: ***** ********
Email: *******************

Business Response: Sent Member an email today with attached recorded conversation with our Representative.  I CC in BBB to the email.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

Thank you for providing the recording that we asked for a
couple of months ago to verify what transpired during our attempt to stop
automatic bill payment. We were previously told that the recording was
unavailable. Based on what was said via the phone recording, it appears that
there was a misunderstanding. I want to apologize to everyone for remembering
it wrong.

As we previously stated in many communications to your
company, all we wanted to do was stop automatic payments. We still do not
understand why this was so difficult or what the actual steps are to actually
stop automatic payment with this company.

As you have hopefully verified, we have made all of our
payments on time and have never been late on any payments. As you also should
have noted, the payment in question was received by your company the same day
it was due (from our new account), the same day we got an NSF charge. We do not
understand why you would add charges to our account over a misunderstanding.
Most reputable companies would work with their customers to understand issues,
not add outrageous charges to their billing statement.

Again, after initially contacting PVREA, both 'cancel',
'please cancel' were written on the payment stub to cancel 'automatic payment'.
 The payment was received by PVREA as the
check was cashed and our account credited for the current bill. This is
America, we have the right to not be forced to stay on 'automatic payment'.
This is where this entire transaction should have concluded.

When the form came in the mail from PVREA it was read to see
if we had to do anything else to cancel 'automatic payment', it did not. The
form was only to sign up for 'automatic payment'. Again, verbatim from PVREA's
form 'Authorization Agreement for Automatic Payment of Electric Bills', the
last sentence in the paragraph: I understand this authorization may be revoked
by me at any time by notifying the Poudre Valley Rural Electric Association,
Inc. This form does not specify a specific way PVREA must be notified to cancel
'automatic payment'. We thought we had cancelled 'automatic payment'.

This appears to be the kind of customer service PVREA
provides. Since we received the outrageous charges we searched for other
customers' experiences with PVREA. Over the months we have read many customers'
dissatisfaction, receiving subpar customer service, and giving PVREA very poor
ratings.

Regards,

***** And *** *****

Business Response: Here at PVREA, we do very much consider ourselves to be a reputable company and we strive everyday to provide the best Member Service we can.  We also realize that mistakes happen, both on our side and the Member side as illustrated in this case. As a sign of good faith, we are willing to waive the NSF fee as a one time courtesy.  Moving forward, if a banking information change is needed, please be sure to follow the necessary procedures.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

We agree that this issue is closed after the NSF charges are refunded to our account.

Regards,

***** And *** *****

1/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A Poudre valley member came to my door to hand a disconnect notice. My cousin who is the account holder, has just been in a car accident and can not speak at the moment. I **** his cousin/roomate called to see what the disconnect was about. The notice said we had an outstanding balance of 3017.44. I called to see what the issue was. Understandingly my cousin is the primary account holder and i could not discuss the account because i was not named on the account. So to prevent disconnect I asked to have the service switched to my name. When we began the process of switching service i was told there may be a deposit required. When they told me the deposit was going to be 2000+ dollars i began to ask questions. What i was told is that the deposit is based on a combination of your credit score and the average bill for the previous 12 months. So for me the deposit would be 2x the highest bill for the previous 12 months of service. We just recently moved to this property it is a rental. We can not afford that kind of deposit. When i asked why it could not be pro-rated for the usage we have had to date. Which has been less than 105$ since i moved here. I was told that is policy. So finally when i asked what I had to do to get service they offered a prepaid service, however a contract has to be signed and turned in with payment. Which i understand but when i asked how long they were unable to give me a time frame and to top it all off that my electricity may be cut off due to non payment. I did the math on our service. We have acquired and been billed for 403.65 of electricity i have paid 340$ to this point, how our bill is 3000 dollars past due is juts beyond me and frankly unethical. This company has zero compassion and is focused on filling their pockets only.

Desired Settlement: Adjust the deposit the the correct usage instead of 12mo average.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

Regarding complaint ********, I spoke with Mr. ***** regarding the deposit charge and informed him that the deposit charge for the service was based on the Associations Rules and Regulations.  After speaking with Mr. ***** in detail, we assured him that another option was available.  We offered Mr. ***** Prepaid Metering.  This option gives future Members the ability to choose to have their deposit charge waived and connect electric service for as little as $120.00.  Mr. ***** chose Prepaid Metering.  As a result, the account has been active since 12/09/14 and we are considering this matter closed. 

Thank you,


***** ********

Member Services Supervisor
POUDRE VALLEY REA
7649 REA Pkwy | Fort Collins, CO 80528
Toll Free: (800) 432-1012 | Direct: (970) 282-6416
Email: c********@pvrea.com

7/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 14th 2014 Poudre Valley REA turn off my electricity for failure of payment. I am sure this is nothing out of the ordinary but my problem is this. I never received any notice of failure to pay. I also didn't fail to pay it was just not enough to cover the total bill. I have automatic payment set up through the bank and have paid the same thing for 5 years. They tacked on so many fees it was just outrageous and it all stemmed from them failing to properly notify me about this situation. I was charged a $80 re-activation fee. Then what I have the biggest problem with is they sent some one to my house that was "supposed to help me" they said and try and get a payment today on the 14th at 12:10 to avoid this whole thing. Who ever they sent out to my home failed to contact anyone of the three people who were there(there were also 2 cars in the driveway and one out front) Then I was charged $60 for said individual to come out to my house to fail to contact the three people that were there. Then pay the other $140 for other fees because of this. They also said they called me, I never got a call. The only thing they confirmed for me today on the phone was that they have failed at trying to reach me. I have no other option but to deal with this company electricity. I think the way they handled this was totally unprofessional and unjust. I never defaulted on a payment it just went over because the bill was higher then auto pay. I was never informed properly of the situation that lets them tack on absurd charges to. Then making me pay $60 dollars for some one to come out to my house and make no legitimate effort to contact one of the three people who were in the house.

Desired Settlement: I just want all the extra fees waved. Especially the charge for said contractor to come to my house and fail to contact me.

Business Response: June 10, 2014

Re: Response to Complaint # ********

With regards to the events in question, the member in connection with complaint # ******** was disconnected for non-payment.  Disconnection of electric service occurred on May 14, 2014.  It should be noted that PVREA is obligated to operate within the Rules, Regulations and Bylaws established by our Board of Directors.  All such Rules, Regulations and Bylaws are posted on our website, www.pvrea.com under the “Member Information” section for review.  
Accounts are subject for disconnection anytime the account reaches a delinquent status.  For the account in question, a bill dated April 22, 2014 with a due date of May 7, 2014 was sent to the member.  Prior to disconnection of service a reminder notice is also sent to the member.  It is the responsibility of the member to keep PVREA updated on any changes to their mailing address or email address in order to receive such notices.  Of course, PVREA can’t be held responsible for the actions of the postal service or internet domains if billing statements aren’t delivered.  However, failure to receive a bill does not free the member of the obligation to pay. (Ref PVREA Rules and Regulations Section 5, subsection 5.2)  
After the close of business on May 7, 2014 a reminder notice of a past due balance was generated and sent to the member.  This notice informs the member of past due amounts and all fees associated with the collection and disconnect/reconnect process.  This notice advises the member that a collection fee of $60.00 will be charged if the following occurs: “Payment is collected or customer contact is attempted at your service address concerning this notice of discontinuance of electric service.  This fee will be added to your bill.”  
A further measure that PVREA has in place is the use of a third party vendor in order to make contact with members to inform them of their past due balance.  Based on the telephone information we have on file, a call is made to the member and the following message is delivered:  “Hello, this is Poudre Valley REA calling about an urgent matter regarding your electric account.  To ensure continued electrical service, it is important that you contact Poudre Valley REA immediately at **************.”  Delivery of this message is contingent on PVREA having updated contact information.    

Please note that all of the above mentioned measures were taken prior to the disconnection of the electric service for the account in question.

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: You failed to address the real complaint at hand in this situation. I never stated that you didn't contact me. I stated that you failed to do so in every regard. Now onto the real issue of the complaint. The representative that you supposedly sent to my home. This home visit cost from said individual gave you some right to charge me $60. Also he/she could of prevented all additional charges that I received if she would of done his/her job properly. There were 3 people at home in the residence, one car in front of the house two in the driveway.  When said individual attempted to contact me about the situation. This should of been apparent on how fast I called as soon as the power was turned off. There is no way for me to know what your representative did in this situation and there is no way you can know either. The only thing I can say for sure is he/she made no valid attempt to contact any of the three people inside that house.

The response you gave me to this complaint totally avoided the real situation. The fact that you said that I didn't update my new phone number. Then proceeded to quote a message that was sent to a known invalid number is testament on how you just are avoiding the real situation.
Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: June 13, 2014

Re:  Response to Complaint # ********

It is duly noted the confidence our member has in the individuals who were at his home the time our representative came by to collect for the past due balance.  It is that same confidence PVREA has in our field service personal who day by day perform their job functions in an exceptional manner.  An attempt was made to contact someone at home.  Our field service representative knocked at the door multiple times before proceeding to disconnect the service.  In accordance with our Rules and Regulations this attempt to contact the member makes the account subject to a $60.00 collection fee.  

Moving forward, PVREA is suggesting the following as a resolution:  As a one-time courtesy, PVREA will waive the $60.00 collection fee.  In the future, should the need arise for PVREA to collect any past due balances, the members account will be charged a $60.00 collection fee if monies are collected or an attempt to collect is made.  

 

Consumer Response: ***** ***** ****** ******************** *** ********************** ***** **** *** ** **** ** **** ** ******** ********** 

My complaint was number ********

I thought the depute was resolved after I received my last message. I have not received the refund pouder valley REA said I was going to receive in the last message that was posted. I don't really want to open up another complaint but I will if that is the steps that need to be taken.

Business Response: No action was taken as PVREA received no comment back from the member since the last communication.  As of this communication we will go forward with the adjustment as agreed.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

12/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An accidental error in picking a wrong account while trying to pay my Mom's account caused the payment to be returned for a second time in one year. When I saw that I picked the checking account instead of the credit card account I immediately contacted REA and explained what had happened and paid the bill in full using the correct card. I then deleted the old incorrect checking information from her account. However, I was informed by several managers at REA, that they would assess a $1250 charge to my account that would have to be paid IN FULL on our next bill. I explained that my mother was an 83 year old widow that was on a fixed income and didn't make that in a whole month. I also explained that I was trying to help her, but I didn't have that kind of money either. I was told that they didn't care, that there was nothing they could do and the payment would have to be made or we would be delinquent on her account if not paid. I am afraid that since we cannot pay this amount they will shut off her electricity. My family has lived on this property since 1981 and I readily admit that it has been very hard to keep up with the bill since it gets quite large in the winter time. However, the regular bill is completely paid up to date. The deposit has not.

Desired Settlement: Automatic billing on a day that actually coincides with our payday. No deposit.

Business Response: Due to this account having two returned checks in the previous twelve months a deposit is now required to secure the account.  A deposit was originally billed to the account on August 1, 2013, due to a returned check.  Our member then signed up for automatic payment in lieu of paying the deposit.  A second payment has now been returned, therefore we are unable to waive the deposit on the account.  Our Rules and Regulations, approved by the Board elected by our members, can be viewed online at www.pvrea.com.  Specifically, the deposit information is section number 4.18.5.2 and the returned check information is section number 5.4.4 and 5.4.9.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I do not agree with this practice, but it seems that I have no other choice but to have my service turned off on December 11.  However, I also find it unethical that I paid my last electric bill and paid it before it was due.  Instead of crediting me with the payment as made, REA applied it to the deposit instead of my electic bill making it seem that I had not made my payment.  I sent the money for an express purpose and REA chose to take the money and apply it elsewhere. 


Regards,

******* ****

Business Response:

The December 3 payment the member is referring to was posted correctly to their account in accordance with our payment posting hierarchy.  On December 10 the member's account was closed per their request and the deposit refunded.  The account is paid in full and closed.  As such, unless we hear anything further we will assume this matter is complete.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ****

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a roommate skip out on the utility bill which was solely under his name. When I called to change utility under my name I was very rudely informed that I had to pay his bill, a reactivation fee and a huge deposit. No attempt on their part was made to make a fair payment plan. Currently I am without power and have no means to pay their unreasonable demands.

Desired Settlement: I need power, a reasonable method to pay and not to be charged for someone else' bill.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Poudre Valley REA
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)