Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Murphy Dental

Phone: (970) 225-8081 Fax: (970) 225-1558 608 E Harmony Rd, Fort Collins, CO 80525 http://www.murphydentalfc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Murphy Dental meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Murphy Dental include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Murphy Dental
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 03, 2010 Business started: 11/01/2007 in CO Business incorporated 11/01/2007 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Board of Dental Examiners
1560 Broadway, Suite 1350, Denver CO 80202
Phone Number: (303) 894-7800
Fax Number: (303) 894-7764
DORA_DentalBoard@state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Stacy Murphy, Owner Dr. Michael Murphy, DDS PC/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Stacy Murphy, Owner
Business Category

Dentists Endodontics Cosmetic Dentists

Alternate Business Names
Michael P Murphy DDS PC

Additional Locations

  • 608 E Harmony Rd

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 225-8081

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had dental work done at ****** ****** in March 2012. I paid what the office expected would be owed after insurance and left. I was not contacted by them until Monday, August 5, 2013, when I received a bill in the mail. The letter was very threatening. It indicated that my account was over 60 days past due and to "prevent damage to my valuable credit rating," I had to make a payment in full within five days. The letter was postmarked July 29 and and I didn't receive it in the mail until August 5. A few days later, a similar letter arrived, this time addressed to my father. The letter contained slight differences, such as my bill being 12 months past due, and a $2.05 finance charge was removed. The letter was dated July 30 and postmarked August 6. Neither letter allowed me a five-day period in which to settle my account. I am confused as to why ****** ****** would send the same bill for the same work to two separate people. This seems like a rather questionable practice. I called the office and spoke with *****. She more than once acknowledged they had no record of sending me a bill, and they were just now getting around to billing accounts. When I asked about the threatening letter and unreasonable time period to respond, she claimed the computer generated the response and that she had no power to change it. This also seems questionable. ***** said the office recently got new staff members, which is why they are just now billing customers. A year and a half after work is done, with the initial estimate already having been paid, truly seems like too long to wait to notify a customer of a bill. If insurance does not cover as much as expected, it is reasonable to send a bill explaining as much. The fact that ****** ****** did not send the bill until 17 months later, with a letter threatening to harm a person's credit score, is not acceptable.

Desired Settlement: The reason I am just now receiving a bill is because ****** ****** got a new set of staff members who are finally going through to see who hasn't been billed or paid their balance. If a business cannot keep up with billing practices in a timely manner, it is unreasonable to expect a customer to find out a year and a half after the fact that they owe that business money. I honestly believe that ****** ****** should drop the charges and adopt better billing practices for the future.

Business Response: Re: *** ****** ****-Billing or Collection issues

To Whom It May Concern,
In response to the customer’s statement of the billing and collection issue, ****** ****** would like to dispute the desired settlement.  The pateint became a patient a ****** ****** on 9/28/2011 for discomfort on a tooth. At this time she listed her father as the policy holder of her ***** ****** insurance as well as listing herself and her father as the person responsible for her bill.  She listed her address the same as her father’s as well. She was seen at a later date at ****** ****** for a crown on 2/23/2012.  She paid her estimated patient portion of $418.40. The insurance company paid their portion of the crown of $768.0. The insurance company stated that the patient portion of the bill is $555.00, thus leaving an amount of $136.85 that the patient is responsible for paying to ****** Dental.  Since she listed her father as a person also responsible on this account all bills were sent every month to the address provided stating her balance for services rendered.  Please see attached for exact dates the bills were generated and sent out, our dental software tracks where and when each bill was sent. Unfortunately, due to our contracted status with ***** ****** we are unable to waive the amount due by  the patient as this is considered to be insurance fraud. Once we accepted full payment from ***** ****** and not full payment from the patient we are in violation of our contract and it is considered insurance fraud.  We sent out our 2nd collection letter to her  asking for immediate payment.  The insurance company also sent the patient/ and or policy holder/ and ****** ****** an Explanation of Benefits stating what the patient portion is and what the insurance company paid for services rendered on 2/23/2012.  This Explanation of Benefits is sent to the patient as well as to the office. The patient/guarantor/policy holder/she listed as financially responsible were notified by ***** ****** and ****** Dental.  ****** ****** has documentation through the dental software system of when and where the bills were being sent.  The interest of $2.04 was forgiven by ****** ****** anticipating the patient would pay when receiving a more serious letter stating their remaining balance for services rendered by Dr. ******* ****** on 2/23/2012.  I am the office manager at ****** ****** and I can assure you bills go out consistently.  I am not new to ****** ****** as I opened the office in 2007 with Dr. ****** and I ensure billing is done consistently each month.  
We would like to thank her for calling our office within a timely manner but unfortunately due to our contract with ***** ****** at the time services were rendered we are unable to forgive the patient portion remaining balance of $138.65.  

Sincerely,
***** ******
Office Manager
****** ****** *** * ******* ** **** **** ******** ** ***** ************ **********************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Murphy Dental
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)