BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Warren Federal Credit Union?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Warren Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (307) 432-5400 Fax: (307) 638-7043 114 E 7th Ave, Cheyenne, WY 82001 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.warrenfcu.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Warren Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Warren Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Warren Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 15, 2000 Business started: 06/23/1951 Business started locally: 06/23/1951 Business incorporated: 06/23/1951 in WY
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Banking- Wyoming
Herschler Bldg. 3rd Fl. E, Cheyenne WY 82002
http://audit.state.wy.us/banking/default.htm
Phone Number: (307) 777-7797

Division of Financial Services
1560 Broadway, Suite 950, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/financial-services/
Phone Number: (303) 894-2336

Division of Real Estate-Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 295, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/real-estate/index.htm
Phone Number: (303) 894-2166

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Michele Bolkovatz, Marketing Manager Accounts Payable Ms. Stephanie Teubner, President Ms. Rebecca Thoe-Heuer, Compliance Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Michele Bolkovatz, Marketing Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Rebecca Thoe-Heuer, Compliance Manager
Business Category

Credit Unions Financial Planning Consultants Mortgage Brokers


Additional Locations

  • 114 E 7th Ave

    Cheyenne, WY 82001

  • 181 W Boardwalk Dr

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • 2405 E Grand Ave Unit F

    Laramie, WY 82070 (307) 742-9425

  • 3810 Dell Range Blvd

    Cheyenne, WY 82009

  • 5105 Randall Ave

    Cheyenne, WY 82005

  • 6523 Yellowstone Rd

    Cheyenne, WY 82009 (307) 432-5400

  • 700 S Greeley Hwy

    Cheyenne, WY 82007

  • 7670 5th St

    Wellington, CO 80549 (970) 568-7111

  • PO Box 3200

    Cheyenne, WY 82003 (800) 368-9328

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I obtained the loan in March 2014 form Warren Federal Credit Union, I never received any information regarding account information to make a loan payment on my loan. I contacted Warren FCU to make a payment and they then charged me a $25 dollar fee to make a payment over the phone. I bank online, had I received loan informatin in the past 8 weeks from Warren FCU I would have been able to make the payment in the time period for my bank to post the payment, however due to the negligence of Warren FCU not sending me loan information at all, and refusing to waive the fee of $25.00 to make the payment over the phone, I have now incurred a financial loss as a result of the negligence of a company Not sending loan documents to me.

Desired Settlement: Refund the Fee Warren FCU charged me to make a payment over the phone.

Business Response: Re: Case #********
To whom it may concern:

In response to a complaint received regarding our member for BBB Complaint #********, Warren Federal Credit Union (WFCU) has reviewed the member’s account
and other activity surrounding the complaint. This member closed an RV loan with us in March 2014.  Our records show that we sent him a welcome
letter setting forth the details about his loan, including when the payments were due and where to send those payments. 

Upon receiving the compliant on May 13, 2014, WFCU reached out to the member regarding the matter.  According to the member, he never received the welcome letter.  Our Lending Manager spoke with the member and verified that the address we have on file is the same that he listed on the BBB Compliant and is, in fact, his current address.  As a courtesy, our Lending Manager emailed the member a copy of the letter that we originally sent and authorized to have the $25 fee refunded to him for making his payment by phone.  Moving forward arrangements have been made for the member to make automatic payments on this RV loan, as he is doing on other loans that he has with us.  

At this time, the Credit Union is thankful for being made aware of the issues that the member was having and has resolved it in accordance with his desired settlement defined in the original BBB Complaint.     

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Warren fedreal credit unit charged me 1592.00 dollars for "force placed insurence" in a 8th month time frame. In March of 2012 I purchased a motorcycle from ************** in ********, Colorado and it was financed through Warren Federal Credit Union. To finance my loan I was required to provide proof of insurance which I provided liability insurance. I had no idea that I needed full coverage for it. Then they put in affect "force placed insurance" on the motorcycle that was approximately 200 dollars a month. It cost me 500 dollars a year for full coverage from my insurance company (Dairyland Insurence Company policy # CO XXXXXXXXX). In this 8 month time frame no one contacted me in anyway or form. They have my email, phone, and a address where I received mail at the time. They said that they sent me 2 or 3 letters to XXXXX C.R. 18.3 ********, Colorado. This is where my mother lived at the time and I receved my mail. They said the letters got sent back to them. I never received any emails or phone calls until 11/12 from a collections employee named Alan his direct number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. He informed me that I needed full coverage so I went down and got full coverage as soon as I found out I needed it. He then told me that he needs me to pay at least 277 dollars because my account shows 106 days delinquent. So I asked him to look up my payment record. He then read me my payments and they were on time every month. So, I continued to ask him why the computer said I was delinquent even though I was not. He told me that's how the computer says it. I then asked if I could refinance my loan so he transferred me to Andrea whos number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. She took my info and turned it into a under-writer. I then called her back a week later and left a message. She called me the next day and said that I am pre-approved for refinancing. I asked her what my interest was going to be and she said it was going to be a little higher from 13% to 18%. I asked why it was higher because if anything it should be lower and she said because on my credit it says I'm 120 days delinquent on my motorcycle loan. I just don't see how they can say that and ruin my credit when I have always made my payments on time. So, the main issues are the insurance money in which I had no idea I needed full coverage because I was not contacted and the delinquency on my credit report. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: i want a refund of the 1592.00 dollars that they say i owe for the insurence and i want the delinquency off my credit for good.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/03/13) */ In response to the compliant received regarding Case #XXXXXXXX, Warren Federal Credit Union has reviewed the Member's account and other activity surrounding the compliant. On March 9, 2012 the Member completed a contract for the purchase of a 2010 Honda Motorcycle with ************** in ******, Colorado. As part of this contract, the member completed an agreement to provide property insurance with Warren Federal Credit Union as the lien holder. The Member signed this agreement which included required comprehensive and collision deductibles showing full coverage requirements. Letters requesting insurance coverage information were mailed to the address provided by the Member on the date of purchase. The first letter was dated April 26, 2012, the second was dated May 24, 2012, and a full policy with premium amounts was mailed on June 7, 2012. In addition, a premium of $1,941.00 was added to the Member's loan on July 9, 2012 with an effective date of March 9, 2012. The Member obtained the required insurance coverage on November 6, 2012. This coverage was verified and a partial refund of the policy premium was refunded to the Member's loan account on November 27, 2012 in the amount of $349.00 leaving him responsible for a total of $1,592.00 for the lapse period of March 9, 2012 through November 5, 2012. As a portion of this Member's compliant, he appears to feel that the credit union did not try hard enough to contact him. The Credit Union must rely on contact information provided in order to relay valuable information to them and we must be able to rely on their signatures on disclosures provided as acknowledgment that they understand the contractual obligations of obtaining financing with us. Furthermore, the Credit Union's requirement for full coverage insurance is an industry standard to protect collateral used to secure a loan. As the Member failed to provide proof of the required insurance coverage, the forced placed insurance was issued based on nothing more than the outstanding loan balance at the time. This all being said, Warren Federal Credit Union is constantly pursuing ways to help our members. The credit union would be willing to negotiate with this Member to bring the loan current as reflected on our system and would spread out the forced placed insurance amount over 12 months, which would reduce the payment. Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/03/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) i am more concerned about my credit i do not understand why and how the have ruined my credit. i want my credit cleared and restored to its oringnal score. Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/03/26) */ In the member's reply to our earlier response, he wishes to have his credit repaired. In accordance with the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) as well as the Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act (FACTA), the credit union has a responsibility to furnish fair and accurate information surrounding a consumer report. The credit union has conducted an investigation in this matter and has deemed that the credit information being reported is true and accurate given the member failed to provide neither the updated contact information nor the agreed upon coverage causing the forced placed insurance to be applied. Even though the member did continue to make monthly partial payments through January, he has since failed to make either February or March payments. Therefore, the credit union has no duty to correct this information and will not be accommodating the member's request to have his credit repaired. However, the credit union will again be willing to bring the loan current as reflected on our system and would spread out the forced placed insurance amount over 12 months, which would reduce the member's payment. Finally, immediately before receiving the initial BBB complaint, the member was applying for a refinance of this loan. The credit union requested proof of income in order to finalize an underwriting decision. Although proof of income was not received, the credit union would also be willing to re-underwrite for a possible refinance if the member would be willing to provide us with the proof of income. The credit union is genuinely interested in resolving this matter and we hope that we are able to find common ground with our member.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they placed insurance on our truck,when insurance was already on it,proof has been provided,yet they continue to harrass us for payment. we were contacted two months ago about insurance on our truck.at that time we provided proof again,even though we had provided insurance at the time of purchase in march.we have been with the same insurance co. for over twenty years.then we began reciving recorded messages at all hours of the night to contact warren about our account.when we called the next day the people said our account was fine.next we began getting personal calls reguarding our insurance,again we provided what they requested.a week later we recived another call reguarding the same thing.after reciving four addional calls from different represintives on the same subject we have had enough.they do not have commucation,and could have treated ourselves with some kind of professionalism to say the least.to date we have been told by warren on six occasions the matter has been resolved,only to continue to recive late billing notices and phone calls.

Desired Settlement: we feel there should be some kind of penalty for the consistant harassment we have recived along with our administrative time consumed

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/02/08) */ In response to a compliant received, Warren Federal Credit Union (WFCU) has reviewed the member's account and other activity surrounding the compliant. The loan for the 2008 Dodge Ram was placed on WFCU books April 2012. Per the member's comments regarding the numerous calls, it was likely that the members did receive several calls leading up to the January 15th resolution of the forced placed insurance issue as the members made 7 out of the 9 payments after their due date (anywhere between 4-15 days after). Although there is a 10 day grace period for all WFCU loans, it is the credit union's practice to place one courtesy call on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays for early delinquency. These calls are conducted during appropriate times as designated by law. Payment History is as follows: May 21 (6 days late) June 25 (10 days late) July 30 (15 days late) received $25 late fee August 13 (2 days early) Sept 21 (6 days late) Oct 22 (7 days late) Nov 13 (2 days early) December 19 (4 days late) Jan 22 (7 days late) In addition, during this time the credit union mailed three (3) letters requesting proof of insurance prior to the insurance being force placed on 1/8/2013. On that same day, WFCU call center staff called the member and were informed that CPI should not have been added as he had insurance all along. At that time, the member disclosed necessary insurance information which enabled the credit union to begin resolving the issue. On 1/15/2013, the WFCU Collection's Supervisor conversed with joint member. The Supervisor confirmed that a full refund was coming that same day and then followed up to ensure that it posted properly. Following resolution of the force placed insurance matter, the member's payment was due January 15th but payment was not received until January 22nd. Once again the member began receiving courtesy calls regarding the delay in payment. Due to review on the payment history of this member, the credit union has adjusted the member's due date to the 22nd as a courtesy to member. Consumer Response /* (450, 13, 2013/03/04) */ From: J & L Pipeline Sent: Friday, March 01, 2013 12:39 PM To: msharf@wynco.bbb.org Subject: Re: Case # 46030441: Warren Federal Credit Union Marcy, Damian Schlereth, emailed me the information that Warren Credit Union sent to you regarding our case. I did receive a letter from them stating that we needed to provide them with our insurance information. Here are the things that happened after that: 1) To start out before we were able to drive the truck off the lot that information was required by the loan company. Our insurance information was given at that time. At the dealership. 2) Since the purchase of this truck was due to an accident ( our truck was unable for use due to another driver running a red light ). After purchasing called our insurance to add the 2008 dodge truck. At that time my insurance sent them evidence of insurance. 3) I received a letter asking for insurance evidence and again I called my agent and she sent in again. 4) My husband starting getting calls from Warren credit union stating that we were late on our payments. I checked my records and we were current. But the calls kept coming they were steady and really aggressive. 5) After that again I called my insurance and they sent it off again. 6) On one of the many calls my husband got upset with the person due to this customer service man was very very rude to him. Saying we needed to pay our bills and so on. 7) I called and asked why they are saying we are late and finally got told that they had added 9,000.00 to our loan for insurance coverage and even though they received payments they were short due to the insurance added. 8) After that I sent the information through their website and email with copies of proof of insurance. Also while talking to the customer service person she said I had to also email the information to the company they use for insurance. That was done as well. 9) Still getting calls. 10) On one of the many calls my husband got upset with the person due to this customer service man was very very rude to him. Saying we needed to pay our bills and so on. That is why he called the BBB. 11) While he was getting in touch with the BBB. I called and asked for a supervisor. I told her what was going on. About all the calls and the harassment. She was very helpful and very professional. She actually got things taken care of and also said that she was going to talk to the gentlemen's supervisor regarding his demeanor on the phone with my husband. I believe this was the order of events. The supervisor was helpful and corrected everything which stopped the calls. I have to say again she was very professional. The one thing I do have to comment on is the payment history showing when we were late and when we were early did not have anything to do with the calls and harassing calls. It was due to the insurance being added and us not paying the full amount due. Everything is fine now just wanted to inform you on the events. Sincerely, Jolene and Lynn Johns

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1