BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of First Education Federal Credit Union?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

First Education Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (307) 432-7400 Fax: (307) 637-3022 View Additional Phone Numbers 120 W Carlson St, Cheyenne, WY 82009 http://www.firstedfcu.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that First Education Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for First Education Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on First Education Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 03, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1947 Business started locally: 01/01/1947
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Banking- Wyoming
Herschler Bldg. 3rd Fl. E, Cheyenne WY 82002
http://audit.state.wy.us/banking/default.htm
Phone Number: (307) 777-7797

Business Management
Mr. James Yates, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Yates, President
Business Category

Credit Unions Mortgage Brokers


Additional Locations

  • 120 W Carlson St

    Cheyenne, WY 82009

  • PO Box 20030

    Cheyenne, WY 82003

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 584-9366(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gave vehicle to bank.President stated ex-wife would not get vehicle back.They gave vehicle to ex-wife.Talked to vice president and was unprofessional. I gave vehicle back to bank as I could not afford it and my ex-wife was on the loan with me. I went into the bank and explained how my ex-wife did not have a job and I had paid December and January and could not afford the payments. I asked if I could return the vehicle and sell it to pay off the car without my ex-wife taking the vehicle and leaving the state. Leaving me with a bill that I still would have to pay and can not afford. The repossession officer went and asked the president if I gave them the vehicle could my ex-wife come and take it. The president informed the repossession officer that my ex-wife could not take the vehicle. I signed a form stating I was giving the vehicle back and would pay the difference after they sold the vehicle. On 02/28/13 I received a call about the vehicle. I talked to the vice president and she stated they gave the vehicle to my ex-wife along with my key I had just bought. I was upset and asked why they gave her the vehicle after being told she would not get the vehicle back. The vice president was unprofessional and stated she did not know about the whole situation and she gave the vehicle to my ex-wife. I went to the bank on 03/04/13 and talked to the president. I asked him why they gave the vehicle back after telling me she would not get the vehicle. He said he did not have all the information and could not keep the vehicle. I gave all the information to the bank when I talked to the repossession officer and I am being held responsible for a miscommunication within the bank. I was trying to return the vehicle as my ex-wife has a history of not paying her debts and I could not afford to pay it either. I informed the president and vice president that she has a history of not paying and they stated they had no way of knowing that. But they should know this as my ex-wife has an account with them and her bank account is frozen as debt collectors took her to court and froze her account until she pays. My ex-wife does not have a job and is leaving town with the vehicle and I informed them of this. I asked them if they would take me off the loan as I did not want to be held responsible for their miscommunication inside the bank and had given them the vehicle back in good faith that they were going to sell it and I would pay the difference. They stated they could not do that. I should have been made aware of the fact that they would return the vehicle to my ex-wife and I would not have returned the vehicle to them until the bill was past due so my ex-wife could not take the vehicle and leave the state. I do not feel I should be held responsible for their mistake. They are not willing to admit they made a mistake and recitfy it. I have since closed my account with this bank. The employees of this bank are very helpful and professional I can not say the same for the vice president and president. They dropped the ball and assured me of things that they could not enforce. I feel they should take responsibility for this and at the least take me off the loan so I am not held responsible for their mistakes.

Desired Settlement: I just want to be taken off the loan so my credit is not affected when my ex-wife fails to pay the loan and they can not find the vehicle to repossess it as it will be almost impossible to find the vehicle. And I do not want to be held responsible for such a large sum of money when I tried returning the vehicle for them to sell and get their money when they gave her the vehicle back. If you have any further questions please contact me at my email address. Thank you for your time and concern.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/03/27) */ We were told that Mr. ******'s ex-wife did not want the vehicle but was unwilling to sign off of the title. Therefore, we agreed to take it as a voluntary repossession. This would have allowed us to transfer the title into the name of the Credit Union and proceed with the sale of the vehicle without the signature of either of the current owners. As required by Wyoming law, even with a voluntary repossession, we sent a 'Ten Day Right to Cure Notice'. When Mr. ******'s ex-wife received this, she contacted us and told us she wanted the car. Since the loan was not in default (past due) and had never been in default, we had no option but to return the vehicle to the owner. Again, we were led to believe that Mr. ******'s ex-wife did not want the vehicle, therefore; a statement about whether or not she could come and get it would not have been made. I did tell our Collection Manager that we could accept the voluntary repossession without the signature of both owners and sell the vehicle but that we would have to send out all of the required notices to the owners. When I spoke with Mr. ****** on 03/04/2013, I told him that if he had told us that his ex-wife wanted the vehicle back, we would have never agreed to the voluntary repossession. He was told we would do what we could to limit any damage to his credit history. Currently, the loan is not past due and regular payments have been made since the ones Mr. ****** stated he made. The vehicle was not returned in good faith because he had implied his ex-wife, a rightful owner of the vehicle, did not want the vehicle but was out of town and unwilling to sign off of the title. Even if he "would not have returned the vehicle to them until the bill was past due..", the vehicle could have been redeemed by any of the owners and they would have had the right to take possession of the vehicle. The problem was not a miscommunication within the credit union but was based on Mr. ****** not providing us with complete information. Under normal circumstances, we would have contacted the other owner of the property before proceeding with the voluntary repossession. However, due to the fact that he is a former employee, there was a high level of trust placed in Mr. ******'s statements and this contact was not made. All owners will be contacted before proceeding with any voluntary repossession in the future. Since we do not have confidentiality release from the account holder, I cannot comment on Mr. ******'s statement about his ex-wife's account. Also, we cannot make collection decisions based on what one individual thinks another individual will or will not do in the future. Likewise, unemployment is not grounds for repossession. While we cannot simply remove Mr. ****** from the loan, I will honor my statement to do whatever possible to limit any damage to his credit history. We will also act quickly to repossess and sell the vehicle if it goes into default. Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/03/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I told the repossession officer she wanted the vehicle and I had taken it back because I had started making payments. I told them I could not afford the payments and she did not make enough money and could not afford the payments at the time. The repossession officer asked the president if I returned the vehicle could my ex-wife take the vehicle back and he told her no. Any reasonable person would assume if someone asked if the ex-wife could take the vehicle back then she probably wanted the vehicle still. If the president did not understand that by the repossession officer asking him that then he should have got more information and asked more questions of the repossession officer or myself but instead he just told her that the ex-wife could not get the vehicle back. It is disconcerting to see that this institution would lie and not take responsibility for their actions. They did not communicate amongst themselves and he did not take the time to ask me about the situation. I know for a fact that the repossession officer was upset with the whole situation. The vice-president would not even allow the repossession officer talk to me after this incident because she and the president knew they had dropped the ball. It is very unprofessional and irresponsible of the vice president and president. This would never have occurred with the former vice president as she was on the ball and handled situations in a professional matter. The repossession officer and the loan officer both knew of the circumstance and that she wanted the vehicle. That is why the repossession officer asked the president that if I gave the vehicle back could my ex-wife come in and get the vehicle. I asked for the documents I signed and the president said he did not have them but he would mail them to me and he has yet to mail the documents to me. (It may be because he was to busy doing something on his computer while I was talking to him about the incident). They knew I had towed the vehicle and was keeping the vehicle from my ex-wife because she was going to leave town and I did not believe she would keep the payments up to date which would affect my credit. I specifically asked the repossession officer if I gave the vehicle back could my ex-wife come in and get the vehicle. At which point she went and talked to the president and then came back and told me my ex-wife could not get the vehicle back. I even called the repossession officer after I gave her the vehicle back and told her my wife was back in town and told her she might try to get the vehicle from the bank parking lot. The repossession officer told me that she would call my ex-wife and tell her if she took the vehicle that it would be reported as a stolen vehicle. This leads me to believe that the employees knew the whole story but have been told not to have contact with me. I do not appreciate being accused of lying. I see this is not going to get resolved as I have seen what type of character the president and vice president have.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1