BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Valley Construction of Cheyenne LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Valley Construction of Cheyenne LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (307) 635-5460 Fax: (307) 635-5473 View Additional Phone Numbers 205 County Road 128A Ste 100, Cheyenne, WY 82007 http://www.valleyrestoration.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Valley Construction of Cheyenne LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Valley Construction of Cheyenne LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Valley Construction of Cheyenne LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 03, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1999 Business started locally: 01/01/1999
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor Licensing Board Cheyenne Wyoming
2101 Oneil Ave Rm 202, Cheyenne WY 82001
http://www.cheyennecity.org/index.aspx?nid=314
Phone Number: (307) 637-6265

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Debra Hammond, President Mr. Gerry Hammond, Vice Pres
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debra Hammond, President
Business Category

General Contractors Remodelers Fire & Water Damage Restoration

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor

Additional Locations

  • 205 County Road 128A Ste 100

    Cheyenne, WY 82007 (307) 634-5748

  • PO Box 2523

    Cheyenne, WY 82003

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (307) 634-5748(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had requested an estimate on some fire damage more than 2 weeks ago. I have been ignored and put off three times trying to get the estimate completed. The staff have failed to return calls or follow up in any way.

Desired Settlement: I want the estimate.

Business Response:

At no time was contact made with Mr. ***** on this job. Contact was made by tenant and inspection was done with the tenant. At no point was a time frame or guarantee of estimate date given. Due to current work load and the situation surrounding this project, the homes that have living areas affected take precedence over exterior repairs. This project has only a small amount of siding repair and deck repair required, so there is no damage to living areas. I do feel that if Mr. ***** needs an estimate immediately it is in his best interest to contact another company. There is no cost associated with the inspection. therefore, no services were rendered so I feel that without any work being done and no guarantees made this is not a valid complaint, as we do estimates at no charge but cannot always get them done right away. This project does not fall into an emergency situation, therefore it can take some time to get them completed. I apologize to Mr. ***** if we did not meet his expectations, but do our best to serve all of our customers as quickly as we can and sometimes we cannot get to them all as quickly as expected even desipite or best efforts.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I am in fact the tenant in which the company has had sole contact with at all times. I originally called the business on February 28, 2014 @ 3:18 pm. I was told that *** was the estimator and was not in the office. I provided the call taker with my name as well as the landlord's name. The call taker took all of my contact information and told me that I would receive a call back from *** early the following week. When I had not heard anything back, I again called the business on March 5, 2014 and made inquiry. I left a voicemail for ***.  *** did in fact return my call that afternoon. *** advised that he would come out to the property on March 6th and would then email me the estimate in the next few days.   We agreed that since I would not be home and that all damage was to the exterior that he would conduct the inspection in my absence and email the response. On March 7, 2014 a female employee came to the house and made contact with me. She took photographs of the damage but took no measurements. This employee advised me that I would have an estimate the first part of the following week. Again, I heard nothing and received no email from the company. I called the company back on March 13, 2014 and was given the voicemail of the female employee the call taker thought had come out to the property. I left a voicemail and to date have still not heard anything back. Regardless of how busy the company is, there were assurances made of when I could expect the estimate on two occasions. I feel that it is irrelevant that the estimates are free. This is in fact a service the company provides according to their advertisements. Therefore they should at minimum have returned my calls and alerted me to the need for more
time. Based on the company response it has become painfully clear that the true reason for lack of response is the job size was not worth their time. This is just bad business practice. I have cell phone records to document the various contacts. 

Regards,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: VALLEY CONSTRUCTION WAS HIRED TO OVERSEE THE RESTORATION WORK OF OUR HOME DAMAGED DUE TO WATER. FOR THOE MOST PART, THE WORK DONE WAS GOOD. HOWEVER, THERE HAVE BEEN CONSISTENT PROBLEMS WITH THE FLOORING SUBCONTRACTOR THAT WAS HIRED. THE LATEST INCIDENT OCCURED WHEN MY WIFE AND I WERE ATTEMPTING TO TAKE UP A TOILET IN ORDER TO FIND OUT WHAT MIGHT BE CLOGGING IT. UNFORTUNATELY, AS WE WERE LIFTING UP THE TOILET, THE VINYL FLOORING, WHICH WAS PUT DOWN BY EITHER VALLEY CONSTRUCTION OR THE FLOORING SUBCONTRACTOR, WAS COMING UP FROM THE FLOOR AND UNDER THE TRIM. WE WERE TOLD THE PERIMETER OF THE VINYL SHOULD HAVE BEEN GLUED DOWN. HOWEVER, BASED ON WHAT WAS HAPPENING, THIS WAS NOT THE CASE. WE CONTACTED HEATHER WITH VALLEY CONSTRUCTION IMMEDIATELY, WHO IN TURN CALLED US BACK. SHE WAS GOING TO GET IN CONTACT WITH THE SUBCONTRACTOR TO LET HIM KNOW. AFTER 1 1/2 TO 2 WEEKS, WE HEARD NOTHING BACK. THE FLOORING IN THE BATHROOM IS STILL UP OFF THE FLOOR AS WE HAVE NOT DONE ANYTHING TO IT. HOWEVER, WE ARE GOING TO HIRE A COMPETENT FLOORING INSTALLER TO FIX THE PROBLEM AND THEN EITHER SEND VALLEY CONSTRUCTION THE BILL, OR FILE A CASE IN SMALL CLAIMS COURT. WE ARE TO HAVE A ONE YEAR WARRANTY ON THE WORK AND APPARENTLY VALLEY CONSTRUCTION DOES NOT WANT TO ABIDE BY IT, NOR FORCE THEIR HIRED SUBCONTRACTORS TO ABIDE BY IT EITHER. THIS WAS NOT THE FIRST ISSUE WE HAD WITH THE FLOORING WORK. BUT THE OTHER ISSUES WERE EVENTUALLY RESOLVED EVEN THOUGH THEY TOOK LONGER THAN WHAT THEY SHOULD HAVE.

Desired Settlement: VALLEY CAN EITHER HIRE A DIFFERENT FLOORING SUBCONTRACTOR TO COME OUT AND FIX THE FLOOR, AS WELL AS, INSPECT ALL OTHER WORK DONE BY THE FIRST SUBCONTRACTOR, ALL AT NO CHARGE, OR THEY CAN REIMBURSE ME FOR HIRING MY OWN CONTRACTOR.

Business Response: The vinyl flooring installed at **** ******** ****** ********* **, was installed according to the manufacturer’s specification.  A copy of the Tarkett Fresh Start FiberFloor Sheet Flooring Specification Sheet is included with this response and was also provided to the customer.  According to Tarkett the installation method is glueless meaning that the vinyl is not glued to the subfloor but rather loosely layed over the area and kept in place by the baseboard and quarter round, if needed.  The instructions are very specific in that they state twice, “DO NOT PERIMETER FASTEN FIBERFLOOR.”

According to the subcontractor the vinyl was pulled loose because the customer pulled the toilet from the floor without cutting the caulking that was around the base of the toilet.  Had the customer cut the caulking then the vinyl flooring would not have been pulled loose.  This was in no way an installation defect.  However, as a sign of good faith, the vinyl was once again reinstalled according to the manufacture’s specification.   Valley Construction of Cheyenne, LLC was not at fault for the damage to the flooring but they did fix the flooring without charge.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1