BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Drennen Custom Contracting?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Drennen Custom Contracting

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 482-9100 Fax: (970) 266-9123 608 E Trilby Rd, Fort Collins, CO 80525 http://www.drennencc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Radon Mitigation

Roofing

Remodeling

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Drennen Custom Contracting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Drennen Custom Contracting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Drennen Custom Contracting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 24, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1973 in CO Business started locally: 01/01/1973
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Business Management
Ms. Maggie Smith, Office Mgr Mr. Arnold Drennen, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Maggie Smith, Office Mgr
Business Category

General Contractors Contractor - Remodel & Repair Insulation Contractors Roofers Remodelers Basement - Remodeling Window Installation Companies Air Sealing Radon Testers Radon Mitigation Mold Mildew Removing Companies Kitchen and Bath Remodelers Construction Companies

Method(s) of Payment

Check

Credit Card

Products & Services

Arnold Drennen is a Participating Contractor in the Ft. Collins Home Efficiency Program and in the Loveland Home Efficiency Program.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor Tips for Hiring Roofing Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 608 E Trilby Rd

    Fort Collins, CO 80525

  • PO Box 272167

    Fort Collins, CO 80527

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Arnold agreed on several occasions to pay me a 5% referral fee for a job my marketing efforts got us last summer and has yet to pay said referral fee In June of 2012 my company, Service Team Of Professionals was called out to handle a fire restoration job in Fort Collins. Knowing that I would need a general contractor to help me out with the job since there would be permits to pull and structural repairs to fix the home I offered most of the work to Arnold Drennen and his company Drenned Contracting. In return for the work to Drennen Contracting solely gained through my marketing efforts, he agreed at the time and several times since to pay me a 5% referral fee. That percentage in this case is $8,069.80. My last contact with Arnold was 2/5/13 by email explaining that I would go this route if I had not heard from him by 2/15/13. As another business owner with an A+ rating with the BBB I do NOT feel this man or his company deserves to continue with this rating if he cannot follow through with his promises.

Desired Settlement: A 5% referral fee of the estimate given to us by the adjuster on the job. 5% of the total job = $8,069.80. I am seeking payment as promised of $8,069.80.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/02/28) */ A fee contract never existed between Drennen Custom Contracting and Service Team of Professionals. Service Team of Professionals was a Sub Contractor of Drennen Custom Contracting and was fired from the job per customer's written request. On 8/22/2012,Service Team of Professionals was notified via fax and US Mail of customer's request. Customer was unhappy with their quality of work and billing for work. 8/23/12, I received an Email from John G. Murphy,II, stating he thought it would be unprofessional of him to invoice me for a referral fee. This was a response to the customers request. Service Team of Professionals was paid $6,230.11 on 8/7/12 by Drennen for work completed, of which some work had not been completed. Doors, trim, base, shelving commodes,light fixtures, towel bars, & windows had not been cleaned. Drennen Custom Contracting did have to clean these items and therefore a back charge would be due from Service Team of Professionals to Drennen Custom Contracting. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/03/18) */ From: John G. Murphy II Sent: Saturday, March 16, 2013 5:52 PM To: 'Better Business Bureau' Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#46030742(Ref#38-1555-46030742-9-1310) Dear Marcy, My apologies for not getting to this sooner but I was waiting for a document from a witness. I finally received it Thursday and called you on Friday. Please find attached my response and supporting documents. Thank you again for the work you all do at the BBB, it is greatly appreciated! Kind Regards, John G. Murphy II Owner Let's be very clear that Drennen Custom Contracting was referred to the homeowners by Service Team Of Professionals on the premise Mr. Murphy would receive a referral fee from Mr. Drennen (please see attachment; witness to verbal agreement of referral fee). We do not work for free and it is our marketing which obtained this job (please see attachment; PVA property release form and original Service Team work authorization). Is this or is this not FACT? Your claim why you feel you do not owe a referral fee is absurd. A referral fee is NOT based on anyone's performance. Let's review the definition of "referral fee": The payments service providers make to third parties in return for recommending their services or sending customers to them. A title company, for example, gives up something valuable to a lender for sending someone in need of title insurance into its service. There ''WAS'' a verbal agreement between Mr. Drennen and Mr. Murphy for a referral fee prior to Drennen Custom Contracting doing anything at the home. Let's also review the definition of ''verbal agreement'': A verbal contract is any contract which is expressed in words (written or spoken). Not only had this been agreed upon between Mr. Drennen and Mr. Murphy on at least two occasions prior to work beginning but up until this complaint Mr. Drennen continued to agree on several occasions over the phone. Based on these phone conversations I did not think is was professional to send Drennen Custom Contracting an invoice; the reason it came up at all was that Mr. Murphy had said to Mr. Drennen that if he was not going to get paid the referral fee in a timely manner he would resort to sending an invoice for it. Turns out maybe Mr. Murphy should have. So, here it is (please see attachment; invoice for referral fee). Let's also review how Drennen Custom Contracting ever became a part of this job. It was explained at the time by John G. Murphy II to the homeowner that Drennen Custom Contracting was Service Team's contractor of choice and that Mr. Drennen would be able to help by obtaining the proper permits and was capable of doing the structural repairs. The homeowner agreed and Service Team brought Drennen Custom Contracting on. There was never any intent to allow Drennen Custom Contracting to work at this job for nothing. Service Team Of Professionals never has and never will sub contract under Drennen Custom Contracting, a completely false statement in your response. In fact, most of your response was either false, misleading or has nothing to do with the referral fee promised by Mr. Drennen, principal of Drennen Custom Contracting to Mr. Murphy, principal of Service Team Of Professionals. By the way, the response was given by Maggie. She was not present at and/or had nothing to do with ''ANY'' of the negotiations. Another important fact to be known is from the beginning Mr. Drennen was over promising what the homeowner would be able to do with their home and buying thousands of dollars worth of belongings from the homeowner's garage. It's no wonder we were fired by the homeowner. We were not over promising what we could do with the home and we were not purchasing thousands of dollars worth of belongings from a distraught homeowner. Maybe that's where Mr. Murphy's referral fee is? In closing, I would hope that Mr. Drennen and the BBB would read this and realize this complaint had nothing to do with Drennen Custom Contracting or Maggie's response. The truth and the fact is Mr. Drennen owes Mr. Murphy a referral fee based on a verbal agreement for work he and his company gained through Mr. Murphy and Service Team Of Professionals marketing efforts. Mr. Drennen and Drennen Custom Contracting would never have had that job had it not been for Mr. Murphy. Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2013/04/25) */ A referral fee was discussed, the amount never agreed on. Service Team of Professionals, aka STOP, purposed a referral fee of the overhead percentage allowed per insurance contract. The maximum Drennen Custom Contracting, aka DCC, ever discussed with STOP was ½ the overhead % being paid by the insurance company. A referral fee written contract never existed between DCC and STOP. STOP is a cleaning restoration business and not a licensed contractor. As a result, DCC was hired by the homeowner as the licensed contractor to complete construction and restoration and DCC signed a contract with the insurance company. STOP was a subcontractor of DCC and was to complete cleanup and painting at the customers. STOP was paid $6230.11 8/7/12 for work invoiced as completed. On or about August 20, 2012, DCC received correspondence from the homeowners that they were unhappy with STOP and wanted them terminated. (See Exhibit "A"). On August 22, 2012, STOP was notified via fax and US mail of customer's request. On August 23, DCC received an email from John G. Murphy II (STOP), stating he thought it would be unprofessional of him to invoice DCC for a referral fee. (See Exhibit "B"). If assuming a referral fee contract did exist, such was negated and voided by this email. Subsequently, it was determined that the work conducted by STOP on the job site was flawed. As a result, DCC had to perform remedial work correcting their defective work. Such work included work on doors, trim, base, shelving, commodes, light fixtures, towel bars, & windows had not been adequately cleaned. A list of this work performed by DCC is attached, (See Exhibit "C"). Since STOP had already been paid $6230.11 by DCC, a back charge of $1,151.75, would be due from STOP to DCC for correcting the work. Based on discussions only, ½ the overhead percentage paid by the insurance company is $6,722.83 (See Exhibit "D") less the back charge of $1,103.75, or $5571.08 net max. However, since all was negated by STOP being fired by customer and STPP's subsequent email, DCC did not pay STOP having no invoice and once an invoice was received the amount was clearly in error. Charges to STOP for work not completed but paid for: (Note: all prices are per Insurance for customer) Main Floor: Hallway: Clean doors per side $6.58 x 2 $ 13.16 Clean Door opening (jambs) per side $11.79 x 2 $ 23.58 Clean base $ 10.64 Bathroom: Clean door per side $6.58 x 2 $ 13.16 Clean door opening (jambs) per side $11.79 x 2 $ 23.58 Clean Base $ 4.77 Clean vanity $ 28.92 Master Bedroom: Clean doors per side $6.58 x 8 $ 52.64 Clean Door opening (jambs) per side $11.79 x 4 $ 47.16 Clean base $ 19.08 Clean wood sill $ 5.20 Master Bathroom: Clean doors per side $6.58 x 4 sides $ 26.32 Clean Door opening (jambs) per side $11.79 x 4 $ 47.16 Clean base $ 5.25 Clean vanity $ 28.92 Clean medicine cabinet $ 12.78 Bedroom #1: Clean wood sill $ 3.25 Clean doors per side $6.58 x 6 $ 39.48 Clean door opening (jambs) per side $11.79 x 4 $ 47.16 Clean base $ 16.46 Bedroom #2: Clean wood sill $ 3.25 Clean doors per side $6.58 x 6 $ 39.48 Clean door opening (jambs) per side $11.79 x 4 $ 47.16 Clean base $ 14.16 Consumer Response /* (4200, 22, 2013/04/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) DCC seems to be forgetting the premis of the complaint. It is not about the job STOP did or did not do, it is about a verbal agreement for a referral fee between two owners of two local businesses. Regardless of whether or not we ever did ANY work at the home Mr. Drennen and I had a verbal agreement that he would pay a 5% referral fee on the total of the insurance company's final estimate. I referred a job to you and you did it, very simple. I was up front with you about wanting a referral fee before you ever stepped foot on the property and you agreed. My marketing efforts are NOT FREE. DCC was brought in by STOP, please do NOT confuse this as it was STOP who was called to the job. We were NEVER and will NEVER be a subcontractor of DCC as I previously stated. As for the items to be cleaned as listed, they were clean when they left our shop but you stored them in a shack at your property. Nothing at your place of business is clean. STOP cannot and will not be responsible for ANY items after they have left our sight. It seems Mr. Drennen is suffering from some memory loss and/or his greed is overcoming him. No problem, this seems to be getting us nowhere, I will see you in court. Consumer Response /* (-5, 27, 2013/05/07) */ from: John G. Murphy II to: Better Business Bureau date: Mon, May 6, 2013 at 9:47 PM subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#46030742(Ref#38-1555-46030742-25-36210) mailed-by: stopofnoco.com John G. Murphy II 9:47 PM (15 hours ago) to me Images are not displayed. Display images below - Always display images from john@stopofnoco.com Marcy, Please accept the following as my final words in this case: Unfortunately we all come across people and/or businesses in our lives that are either not who they say they are, liars or thieves or people who are just downright dishonest and can't stand to hear the truth. You can NEVER trust anyone, even someone who has been in business as long as Arnold Drennen has. I trusted him based on his longevity in business, but it turns out I was very wrong in my decision to refer him to this job. He is a liar, he is greedy and in this case his greed has overcome him. A referral fee was agreed upon verbally as was witnessed. A referral fee is based on assuming a job that was not originally yours regardless of whether the referring party does anything other than refer. For some reason, ''GREED'', Arnold feels in this case he does not owe a referral fee based on the fact that we were fired. This has no bearing on whether or not a referral fee should be paid. A realtor in Fort Collins who refers a buyer to a realtor in Cheyenne expects to be paid a referral fee from the realtor in Cheyenne once a deal has been completed based on a verbal agreement regardless of anything written. There is no difference between the agreement between Arnold and myself. Arnold continued to tell me over the phone he would pay me a referral fee. The only reason the ''invoicing'' for a referral fee ever came up was because I was upset over the phone and told him I was going to invoice him for it. This means nothing. After this specific conversation I calmed down and wrote him the email that I would not invoice him. This doesn't mean I was not expecting to receive one. Arnold told me on at least three occasions over the phone he had every intention to pay the referral fee once he received final payment for the job. He was lying to me on the phone just like he was lying to me when he agreed to the referral fee before he started the job. I work very hard to keep my A+ rating with the BBB and hope that the DRC can see through all of the excuses Arnold and his company has brought forth trying not to pay what they owe. And so defensive are they in refuting my complaint. Defensive because they know I am right. It is their obligation to uphold Arnold's verbal agreement to pay a 5% referral fee on the amount the insurance paid for the job as agreed upon. My marketing efforts are NOT free and I was up front about that from the very beginning. It is the BBB's obligation to uphold its values and re-evaluate the rating for this business, especially since it is choosing NOT to uphold the BBB's values or mission. In reviewing the BBB's Vision: An ethical marketplace where buyers and sellers can trust each other, and in the BBB's mission statement the recurring theme is ''ethical'' and ''trust''. Arnold Drennen is neither ethical nor can he be trusted. Should he fail to pay his obligation his business does not deserve the rating it has. Thank you for your time. Regards, John G. Murphy II - Owner/CEO S.T.O.P. Restoration 24 Hour Emergency Northern Colorado 970.402.7980 Boulder/Longmont 720.340.5895 Southern Wyoming 307.222.2777 3201 E. Mulberry St., Unit E - Ft. Collins, CO 80524 fax 970.631.8659 - stopofnoco.com