Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Aspen Homes of Colorado Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Aspen Homes of Colorado Inc

Phone: (970) 461-9696 Fax: (970) 663-6262 3037 N Taft Ave, Loveland, CO 80538 http://www.aspenhomesco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aspen Homes of Colorado Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aspen Homes of Colorado Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Aspen Homes of Colorado Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 14, 2000 Business started: 11/27/2000 Business started locally: 11/27/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Business Management
Mr. Jammie Sabin, President Mr. Mark Musgrave, Accounts Payable Rob Sabin, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jammie Sabin, President
Customer Contact: Rob Sabin, Co-Owner
Business Category

General Contractors Home Builders

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor Watch Out for These Red Flags

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Aspen Homes of Colorado Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3037 N Taft Ave

    Loveland, CO 80538 (970) 461-9696

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/25/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a home from Aspen in 2012, on the one year walk through I wrote up several items that needed to be repaired. From that list 2 were never fixed, the driveway is cracked and settled very bad and one capstone on the front porch is loose. I have tried for the last year to have these items fixed. I have been told someone was on the way to do it to not having my calls returned.

Desired Settlement: I would like the driveway replaced and not repaired and the capstone to be reattached.

Business Response: To whom it may concern: July, 11, 2014

This letter is in response to the request by ****** ****** ** **** ***** **** ******* *********** **  ****** 

One item of concern is the capstone on the front porch being loose.  It was Aspen Homes understanding 
the sub-contractor responsible had completed the repair a while ago.  Aspen Homes has since contacted 
the sub-contractor and told them to immediately resolve the issue.  This sub-contractor went out and 
has now resolved this.  A member of Aspen Homes has verified the work completed and this is now a 
closed matter. 

The other item is the driveway has some cracks.  The industry standard according to the National 
Association of Home Builders (NAHB) Residential Construction Performance Guidelines states: 
“Cracks (outside of control joints) that exceed ¼-inch in width or ¼-inch in vertical displacement 
shall be repaired”, concrete products normally have some cracking and shrinkage.  Minor 
cracking is normal.  Cracking can be caused by elements outside the contractor’s control. 
Control joints are placed in the concrete to help control cracks and provide a less visible area for 
them to occur”. 

This specific driveway has some hairline cracks that are well within industry standards, as previously 
stated.  There are two sections that have cracks that do not exceed the standards, although are close; as a non-warranty gesture of good will Aspen Homes will agree to replace only these two sections if the customer would like this option please notify Aspen Homes within two weeks if offer is accepted Aspen Homes will schedule the work to be completed. 

Sincerely, 
Aspen Homes of Colorado, Inc. 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am contacting you concerning three conditions that I currently have with my Aspen built home which I purchased new from Aspen Homes. 1. My front porch continues to sink. It has now sunk approximately two inches or more, tapering down to the east and south. This has and continues to pull the porch roof away from the house. Aspen has shimmed the porch poles twice for this problem, however, it has not worked as the cement porch slab continues to sink into the ground. Aspen Homes has replaced many of these porch slabs on the same model of as my home over the years due to the same problem.) 2. The second condition is somewhat tied into the first, as the two upper front windows, that sit almost on the porch roof are affected by the porch sinking, and east rain drainage to the point that the wood or it looks like possibly a cardboard piece directly under the windows is rotting out or deteriorating to the point that I am concerned of leaking into the structure of the house occurring under these windows. 3.The third condition is that my driveway which abuts up to the common driveway has sunk approximately 2 3/4 inches and is creating a safety problem for anyone walking over the driveway. My drive way is also completely disintegrating with the top layer of cement gone, cement gravel and stones showing, and it cannot even be swept without removing more of the top layer of cement. It is to be noted that the common driveway that abuts up to my driveway is still in perfect condition with no sinking or deterioration, as are the driveways at the other three homes that use this common driveway.As mentioned above, I am greatly concerned over these three conditions on going conditions and all of my current communications to Aspen Homes has been ignored, an email sent 10/7/2013 and a certified return/receipt letter of 10/18/2013.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have Aspen Homes of CO correct these on going problems at their expense and in a timely manner, as these problems were not created by me. I would like to have you help me get these conditions corrected.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

This letter is in response to the request by ***** ****** for additional work at on the residence at **** *** **** *****. This house closed 12/29/2003, this house is now 10 years old. The
industry standard for new construction is a 1 year warranty. While Aspen Homes understands your concerns, our warranty policy only covers items like the ones listed for a one-year warranty period after the date of closing. According to our documentation these items were not mentioned during the one- year warranty period. Since this house is far past the standard warranty timeline it should be expected that none of these items can be addressed at this time.

One of the items of concern is his driveway which has begun to spall. Spalling concrete is when concrete has pitted and/or flaked. In this climate spalling concrete is often caused by environmental factors after years and years of harsh conditions. More often than not de-icing agents (such as snowmelt or mag-chloride that the city puts on the streets) will cause spalling overtime. This can be from simply leaving snowmelt on your concrete excessively or merely 
parking a vehicle on the driveway all winter long, thus the de-icing agents drip onto the concrete and over time will cause spalling. Another item to note is fact that the driveway has begun to spall while the front porch and walkway do not have this issue. All three areas (driveway, front porch & sidewalk) are installed at the same time by the same people, thus this is a strong indicator of exterior flatwork being treated differently after closing and one more reason this 
item is not covered under warranty. Exterior flatwork is only covered under warranty during the first year after the home has been completed. At this late date, your driveway and other exterior flatwork are beyond the scope of warranty.

The next item is the front porch/driveway has settled. As any new homeowner has learned regular maintenance is required on all homes including new homes. This regular maintenance includes following industry standard requirements for protecting the foundation from excessive water. Excessive water around a foundation can lead to settling and other issues. A few of these requirements is the homeowner must maintain positive drainage away from the foundation 
and should not install irrigated landscaping within 5 ft of the home or concrete (as per the recommendations detailed in the “Guide to Swelling Soils for Colorado Homebuyers and Homeowners, Colorado Geological Survey Special Publication” which is given to all of our customers). Failure to follow this requirement has resulted in exterior flatwork to settle. Furthermore, to protect the structural integrity of the foundation of your home, the structural engineers designed the front porch of your home to be a “floating” slab to allow for potential movement. The mentioned area is a veneer, not a structural member of the home. As you know, you are 9 years past your one-year warranty period with Aspen Homes. As this is not a structural issue, we cannot consider this a warranty issue. However, Aspen Homes has decided to offer to do the following as a gesture of good will, not as warranty work: 

? Pay for half of a mudjacking for the front porch. Mudjacking is not always a perfect solution but in this case may be a viable option.

Please understand this is a “gesture of good will” not warranty work as you are so far past the warranty period of your home. If you wish to accept our offer, please let Aspen Homes of Colorado know by February 3, 2013. If we do not hear from you by that time we will consider the matter closed in its entirety.

Sincerely,

Aspen Homes of Colorado, Inc.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

In responding to Aspen Home’s very belated response to my asking to have construction issues resolved at my residence at **** *** **** *****.  I have the following comments and requests:

This home, as stated will not be ten years old until 12/29/2013 and should be structurally sound at this point of time.  The porch issues have been addressed by Aspen Homes twice and have not been corrected for any length of duration.  (There must be a construction issue with this model of home porch as many in the neighborhood have been torn out and replaced.)  This work has been noticed being done by Aspen Homes long after the one year initial purchase of this model home.  It has also been observed that at least one other home of this model has had to have the front windows upstairs torn out and replaced by Aspen Homes due to leakage at the porch roof line.  I feel my home is ready to do the same  as this other home that had this work  to correct this problem done this Fall of 2013.  (That home is at least eight years old to the best of my knowledge.)  I therefore want my front porch replaced and my window area fixed as Aspen Homes has done for other customers that have purchased Aspen Homes and have had the same problems with this particular model.

As far as my driveway is concerned, as mentioned there are three other Aspen built homes that use the same common driveway as mine.  They are also the same age as mine.  They do not have  their driveways spalling and cracking, nor is the long common driveway spalling or cracking as is mine and has been for quite some time.  Their usage is and has been more than mine with the number of vehicles that are in use at any given time.  It is to be noted that water was backed up to my house during heavy rains early on and  Aspen Homes installed a French drain due to drainage problems from the north home lots and this French drain empties and water severely runs heavily right over the entire area where my driveway has sunk almost 3 inches as it meets up and butts up to the common driveway.  I therefore want my sinking driveway replaced and the drainage problem corrected as necessary to prevent further problems.

I will not accept mud jacking as a cure for my sinking porch.  I expect to be treated the same as other residence of my model home that have had their porches replaced due to sinking.


Regards,

***** Behnke