Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Two Man Crew Inc

Phone: (970) 274-0212 Fax: (970) 279-5133 23300 Two Rivers Rd # 30-a, Basalt, CO 81621

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This business does remodeling and cabinetry.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Two Man Crew Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Business was previously accredited from 2006 thru 2011.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Two Man Crew Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Two Man Crew Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 14, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated 06/24/2002 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of Aspen
530 E Main St, Aspen CO 81611
Phone Number: (970) 920-5240

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gordon Altmaier, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gordon Altmaier, President/Owner
Business Category

Remodelers Cabinet Refinishers Cabinet Equipment & Supplies Woodworking Cabinet Makers Cabinet Doors Construction Management Companies Water Damage Restoration Kitchen and Bath Remodelers Construction Consultants Construction Companies Building Restoration Companies Construction Estimates General Contractors Home Builders Home Improvements Log Cabins, Homes & Buildings Roofers Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Products & Services

Star Mark

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor Tips for Hiring Roofing Contractors Watch Out for These Red Flags

Additional Locations

  • 23300 Two Rivers Rd # 30-a

    Basalt, CO 81621 (970) 274-0212


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/31/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired this company to do some simple remodel work ,no problem they said we will be in and out in no more than 9 days. but after 3 weeks there still there, then we asked where we are in the budget , there reply was , ill get it to you in a couple of days. 2 weeks later he hands us a bill and smiles . it was 55% over the budget we set and they never even finished the job . This company has a history of doing these kinds of things, I have found out and by talking to other people I know this is a common practice for them. now he is trying to bully us and threatening to take us to court . We have tried to pay him more than once and he will not cash the checks and give us a statement of account . this is very poor business management

Desired Settlement: to not have to pay for poor management and a huge over coast that could have been avoided by keeping up with what was going on . . 25% is fair but not 55%.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

To begin we never said we would bedone in nine days.  The client came to
that conclusion on their own. The hours in the estimated for a pair of crew add
up to more than ten days.  When I was asked if we were on budget I stated clearly that we where over budget.  I did say that I would have an invoice for
client in a few days but they kept adding work which prolonged my ability to
get them an invoice.  They never set a budget.  The estimate was based on
original scope of work and there where obvious potential for more work due to
water damage, mold, concealed damage. The contract that they signed is clearly a cost plus, due to unknown
aspects of the scope of work it is difficult to gauge what would be actually
required.  It is beyond me what they mean by not completing the job.  No
uncompleted tasks where brought to my attention.  As to my company having a history of these
kinds of things I consider this slander. 
It is completely untrue. 

The client requested several additions to the scope of work and that is why there was an increase in the

A note –
this is a manufactured home and almost none of the materials needed could be
purchased at local lumber yard and special trips to Lowes, one hour round trip
required.Upon pulling the siding mold was discovered. 
The client knew of this and requested that we remedy.  We pulled insulation, sprayed area with
fungicide, sealed area with primer and replaced all of the insulation with new.

requested a concrete pad under for landing of stairs.Client requested additional guard rails on stairs. Deck structure was not sufficient to attach railing to so we had make repairs to the
decks structure. Additional expense also incurred at clients request that we install rail wire grating then
remove for painter then re-install. Client requested additional lattice work be added under deck. Additional expense also
incurred at clients request that we install lattice work then remove for
painter then re-install. They are also going to mention that we did not install
the way they wanted.  They did not tell
us how the wanted installed until after it was installed.Paneling
that they chose to replace old was of a different thickness than original and
required changes to electrical outlets. 
Took several tries to find outlets shallow enough to fit, besides
rewiring. The differing
thickness in paneling also required special milling to trim around doors so
that it would fit.There where numerous additions to trim
repairs.  Besides just replacing trim it
required special trips to acquire the material.Client requested additional drywall repair in
hotwater heater closet.Client requested additional paint in hotwater
heater closet. Client
requested staining of new door for hotwater heater closet. Door
to hotwater heater closet door required a jamb be built to hang new door. Rotten
flooring in hotwater heater closet and adjacent floor in front of back door
where complete unkowns as to what actual repair was required.Exterior shed was removed.  Then client requested that we removed the
landscaping tie foundation from under the shed also.Client requested additional roofing
replacement over a bay window which included removal of existing roofing,
bitumen underlayment (that we did not charge for just took from our stock
material), and install new shingles.An additional cost was also incurred when
roofing supplier (60 miles away approx.) changed their policy and where going
to charge $60 for delivery of shingles. 
One of crew went and picked up and only charged for one way of pick up.  Unknown electrical was found in the shed
also.  We did not remove but it did take
time to find breakers and make sure it was safe to remove surrounding
structure.Estimate clearly states unkown feasibility
for shower tub surround.  It was non
standard and down right goofy.  
Completely non standard.In shower area also had some additional
structural repairs that also required repair due to rot to flooring and
underlying structure. Client also requested that a fiberglass
skirting on a different second bathrooms tub be installed. Client
also requested a minor repair to counter top edge. Client
also request repair to sliding closet door panel that could not be
replaced.  Crew gave it some attention and it looks much nicer.Client also requested that we sand, prime and
paint a wood boarder/trim that goes around the second bathrooms tub.Clients also requested that me add a trim
detail to corners of fascia/skirting on siding that was not listed in estimate
and not in original trim design.The client said they where going to take care
of all debris and haul to landfill. After first load was to much for them they request we take over the
hauling of trash to landfill.  Besides labor for loading and travel time and dump fees there was also the dump trailer
mobilization and we did not charge for dump trailer which was on site for two
weeks.  Usual dump trailer fee is $400 a week. Additionally I discounted the project thru
credit memo $759.63. Additionally I did not charge them $413 for
material that I had a clerical error due to new computer change over. Concerning them trying to pay me. 
They wrote a check to me on a Monday July 21 for the full amount.  Then called me back and said the check was no
good and that they had written it from the wrong account.  I said I needed a payment by end of week
because payroll was due.  This never happened.  They did mail me a check that
I received on the 5th of August with “final payment” written across
the bottom.  It was at this time that I emailed here that this was unacceptable. 
I did mention that I do not want to call my lawyer.  Mostly due to the fact I would not want to
pass on cost of legal council on to them. They have to pay legal fees as listed in contract.  Basically it comes down to some
items going over estimate due to unknowns and additional work requested by
owner. Note: I am currently on vacation when I received notice of this and do
not have my notes concerning the job with me. 
I am listing these items from memory and I am sure I missed something.  See attached estimates, invoices,
credit memo and contract.  I do not have
original signed contract with me, it is a copy of my standard contract that
they signed. Two Man Crew has actually been a member of BBB since 2009 and this is
the first ever complaint. SincerelyGordon A*******,
PresidentTwo Man Crew Inc.