Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Heritage Building Services, Inc

Phone: (307) 640-2445 Fax: (307) 547-3495 4031 Winterset Dr, Burns, WY 82053 http://heritagebuilding-usa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Heritage Building Services, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Heritage Building Services, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Heritage Building Services, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 2008 Business started: 01/19/2006 Business started locally: 01/19/2006 Business incorporated 01/19/2006 in WY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor Licensing Board Cheyenne Wyoming
2101 Oneil Ave Rm 202, Cheyenne WY 82001
http://www.cheyennecity.org/index.aspx?nid=314
Phone Number: (307) 637-6265

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Heath, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Heath, President
Business Category

Remodelers Kitchen and Bath Remodelers Construction Companies Carpenters Carpet Layers General Contractors

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor Watch Out for These Red Flags

Additional Locations

  • 4031 Winterset Dr

    Burns, WY 82053 (307) 640-2445

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Project is not complete. Poor craftsmanship.

Desired Settlement: Since ****** crew is unable to complete quality workmanship. I would like the finishing details aka "punch list" to be completed by an outside subcontractor and the cost for such to be back charged from ****** final invoice.

Business Response: To: Better Business Bureau July 22, 2014
Attn: ***** *****
8020 S. Country Rd 5, Ste 100
Ft. Collins, CO 80528

RE: Complaint Id #********

Dear Ms. *****,

We have been attempting to resolve issues with this customer for several months. At this point, we are on punch list #4 as she keeps adding new items. Last week we discovered that she has been using a flashlight on the trim package to highlight any imperfections. These imperfections are imperceptible without the aid of angled light. Some of the items she is complaining about are outside the scope of the contract, some were never in the contract and some belong to other subcontractors. One, in particular, she deleted before the initial set of plans was drawn. We have corrected her issues and even some from other subcontractors in an attempt to satisfy her. Several tasks were performed at no charge as well as being outside the scope of the contract. For example, one of her major complaints is the tuck pointing of the front steps. The steps are falling away from the house and the mortar is breaking up. Her goal is to take the steps out and put in a porch that extends across the entire front of the house. As a temporary measure, we offered to fill the gaps in the mortar and build up the broken concrete around the rail. She was not charged for this. There are many other such items I could list as we attempted to help her save costs.

Another of her major complaints concerns the vent for the downdraft range. She had told me that the cooktop she was ordering was a downdraft cooktop, so the cabinet was ordered accordingly. When the cooktop arrived, we noticed that it was not downdraft vented. On April 2nd, I notified her of the issue and she replied that the vent was a separate appliance. We had not been told that. She responded with the specifications and the information was immediately submitted to ***** ******** ***********, ***** ********, and ******* *******, the three subcontractors that were needed to install the vent. (Atch 2) ***** ******** *********** had not included it on the price to her (incomplete information from the customer) and I told the owner of *** that I would pay the bill rather than send it to her, trying to satisfy her. I still haven’t received the invoice for what should have rightly been their bill in the first place and I have been chastised by the customer’s husband for even mentioning the bill.

Another major issue has been an error made by the electrician in her bathroom. Her complaint showed up in writing on Change Order #4 (Attch 1). The approved design shows the center drawer base cabinet at 18”. (Atch 4) This drawing was provided to both the plumber and the electrician. The electrician did not read the drawing correctly and set the light for a 12” cabinet. Rather than back charge him for the error, she chose instead to replace the cabinet with a 12” cabinet. Although she finally agreed to pay for her change, it was a long, difficult process.

Her final invoice was due to be submitted May 25th. We waited until July 9th to ensure everything was complete. Items that were fine before are now no longer fine. Her final statement is $8,844.18 as she is 122 days in arrears for $142.56. This customer has been very slow to pay since the beginning of the contract and has tried to evade some of the charges altogether. She has delayed nearly every change order which slowed down the work. We eventually took care of the changes whether the change order had been signed or not. In the beginning, when the contract was signed, the customer stated that funds were available for the project. (Atch 1, Para V) It turned out they were not and all subs were paid late. Late payments became a habit.

Since the beginning of this contract, the customer has belittled and screamed at me, my crew, and other subs. The result on my end is that every member of my crew has quit at least once rather than return to work on her house. One member has quit twice and absolutely refuses to go back for the punch lists. In May I had to give the entire crew a week off just to keep them working for her. Her treatment of the crew resulted in us pulling out of another job for one of her relatives, **** Raymer. The crew refused to work anywhere near her and his job was only three miles away.

We are continuing to try to satisfy this customer, but she continues to put roadblocks in front of us, delaying the completion of the project. My impression is that she is trying to get out of paying the remainder of her contract. The final invoice is, again, overdue.

The response of this customer is not typical of our customers. We have a lot of repeat residential business, which is not common in the construction industry. Attachment 3 is what we typically receive from our customers. If you have any additional questions, please call.
 
******* *. *****, President

3 Atchs:
1. Contract w/ Change Orders
2. Email dtd: April 2, 2014, 10:01 am – Cooktop Question for Flooring
3. Thank you note of 14 July 2014
4. Approved Bath Design

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

All completely untrue. The house was nowhere near complete when the so called first punch list was made. Nothing has been added that should not have been obvious to the contractor. He still is not finished and I plan to have someone else repair his work. Once complete, I will pay him his balance less the cost to complete.

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:

July 30, 2014

To:       Better Business Bureau   

            Attn: ***** *****

            8020 S. Country Rd 5, Ste 100

            Ft. Collins, CO 80528

RE: Complaint Id #********

Dear Ms. *****,

As stated previously, we have been trying to appease this customer for several months. There have been some issues that were addressed in the punch lists. Punch lists are common as tasks may be overlooked and are sometimes not up to the quality standards discussed. Normally, only one punch list is provided. The customer (government, commercial, or residential) looks over the job and provides a list of items that need corrected or that are still to be completed. Once the listed items are completed, the job is finished and payment is due. One punch list is the industry standard. We are working on punch list #4 on this job.

The windows being out of level has been acknowledged and both ***** and the subcontractor who installed the windows has been notified. To date, the subcontractor is not responding. This subcontractor was located and requested by the customer since she did not want my crew installing the ***** products. The subcontractor was a ***** installer.

The one bi-fold door that has become an issue was due to a different paint sprayer being used which produced a different finish than the other doors. The doors have been given to a painter in Cheyenne to paint.

We are continuing to try to work with this customer. If you have any additional questions, please call.

******* ** *****, President

Consumer Response: ***** ******* ****** ********************* *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ********* ** ********

Regarding my complaint, please keep it open. We are not on punch list #4. I was asked to make a "punch list" when the job was far from complete. I have added things as it has become apparent that the lead man for **** needs reminders on what needs completed. I had my own large construction company for almost 20 years in Colorado Springs with my first husband and am well aware of industry standards. 

I did not request the specific window contractor. I was not even sure who did install them.  I simply provided his name as he had been referred by a friend as someone who installed ***** windows in the area. It was my understanding **** hired them as a result of his own time constraint. It does not matter to me who installed the windows, only that the one is repaired. 

At this point, **** has told me the one door is re-painted and ready to install. I will allow **** one more opportunity to finish the job and go from there.

Sincerely, 


************* 

Business Response: To: Better Business Bureau August 12, 2014
Attn: ***** *****
8020 S. Country Rd 5, Ste 100
Ft. Collins, CO 80528

RE: Complaint Id #********

Dear Ms. *****,

I have read Ms. ******’s comments. Regarding the window installer. She did not want my crew installing the ***** products and provided a name of the ***** installer she wanted us to use. She had researched this individual and felt more comfortable with him. I consented as it would also save time for my crew. 

As to the comment on the door Ms. ****** was pushing us to hurry up and get up to her place and finish. We pushed the painter to finish the door immediately so we could get to her as requested. We were ready to come to her place on Thursday, August 7th. When I let her know when we would be there, she came back and informed me that she was out of town and it would have to be another day. I had my carpenter rearrange his schedule so he could go up on Saturday and she came back that that was not a good date either. When she called me I told her that I was unable to schedule another day at this time because we are extremely busy and I have no one that I can pull off a job at this time. 

She insists that until the job is finished she can continue to add anything she wants to the punch list. At this time we are on the 5th punch list that she has provided.

We are continuing to try to work with this customer. If you have any additional questions, please call.
 
******* *. *****, President

 

Consumer Response: ***** ******* ****** ********************* *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** ********* ** ********

My complaint got closed again today. I am still waiting for the contractor to come back and finish. I have not seen him since the last time I responded so I don't know why it got closed again. Please reopen. I am just waiting on him to come back to the jobsite. Thanks.

Business Response: To: Better Business Bureau September 13, 2014
Attn: Marcy Sharf
8020 S. Country Rd 5, Ste 100
Ft. Collins, CO 80528

RE: Complaint Id #********

Dear Ms. Sharf,

Thank you for your call last week. For several months we have attempted to satisfy Ms. ****** without results. We have done everything she’s asked and she continues to find something new as soon as we leave. She has told me that she can continue to add items to the punch list until the job is complete. Since she continues to add new items, the job cannot be completed. After our last trip on September 4th, she sent pictures of a missing toe kick on her island. The picture was sent approximately one hour (6:47 pm) of my carpenter leaving her house. That toe kick had been installed the trip prior once the last duct had been installed.

This customer has received multiple items, as a favor, at no charge, such as:

Replace roof decking where needed – no charge
Demo chimney – no charge
Demo additional ceiling in basement – no charge
Demo back entry closet – no charge
Move front dormer and rebuild to match house – no charge
Replace/patch brick on porch – no charge
Replace and level rotted subfloor where needed – no charge
Build interior load beam in ceiling – no charge
Repair concrete at porch rail (safety issue until porch is removed) – no charge

Some items of complaint were never in the contract. For example, Ms. ****** complained that we did not include a concrete slab from the back garage door. What she omits is, that originally, she didn’t want one so it was never included. 

From the beginning of the project, the customer has paid every invoice late with the only exception being the initial deposit. Even then, she tried to reduce the amount of the deposit required. In April, she tried to postpone the payment multiple times until I informed her that if she did not pay the invoice, we would not continue working. By continuing to find new items to be corrected, she is continuing to stall paying the invoice. Due to materials not arriving on time and/or arriving damaged, the project was not completed on time. The final invoice should have been submitted in mid-May with a due date seven days later. I did not submit the invoice until July 9th. At that point, Ms. ****** did not want us back to finish the job. Her husband changed that decision. The final invoice of $8,844.18 was due July 16th. On September 4th, I received a check for $7,000. There is still a balance due of $1,844.18. We have completed everything she has asked for. 

Our contract reads:

XIII. Inspection, Acceptance, Final Payment and Possession

At the final inspection, the owner will give the Contractor a signed and dated list that identifies any alleged deficiencies in the quality of the work or materials. The Contractor shall correct any items on the owners’ list that are, in the good faith judgment of the Contractor, deficient in the quality of the work and/or materials according to the standards of construction in the area in which the house is built. The Contractor shall correct those defects within a reasonable period of time.

After the defects have been corrected according to the standards of construction in the area in which the house is built, the owner shall sign a certificate of acceptance acknowledging that the defects on the owner's list have been corrected according to the standards of this contract.

We have, in good faith, corrected all deficiencies that have been brought to our attention. It seems, however, to be a never ending stream of new items. At this point, I do not foresee the owner ever accepting the project. I have already paid every invoice associated with this project even those that the customer was not charged for.

In addition, the HVAC subcontractor did not include the cost of the duct for the cooktop. When it came time to install the cooktop, he convinced me that he had never been informed of the need for a duct so I had told him that I would pay for the installation. I have still not received an invoice from him, but have been told by Ms. ****** that she has paid the bill. Upon further research, it turned out that the requirement had been included in the original project specifications and he had received the specific specifications for the downdraft appliance. He had erred when he did not include the cost. At this point, I feel no obligation to pay for this service since it was misrepresented to me by the subcontractor.

We have been trying to work with this customer, but have been unsuccessful. If you have any additional questions, please call.
 
******* ** *****, President

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The toe kick was never installed and nothing has been free. I don't keep adding things. I don't have time to write lengthy replies. I just want the over priced shotty job finished. At this point the punch list consists of:

Paint touch up and nail hole repair all over...I plan to have someone besides HBS do this and I plan to back charge him because every time they touch the paint it gets worse. This last time, ***** tried to clean up some of the outside mess. I did not say a word to him but it is not fixed. If it ever becomes necessary, I have LOTS of photos.

Master Bath Linen closet door needs supplied and installed. The door has a smooth finish and **** ordered the wrong size to start with. The painter who painted the rest of the doors knows how to paint smooth doors but for some reason **** has had others try to paint the replacement (right size) door. It needs to be painted the same color and smooth like the other doors and installed. 

The garage service door needs its deadbolt installed. Deadbolt on site. ***** told me he did not have the right hole saw to complete.

The toe kick under the island was never installed. It is not my job to instruct ***** so I told ****. I have been criticized by **** for talking to his people so I do not say anything to them any more. 

n good faith I have paid **** another $7000 leaving a balance of just under $1500.00 which I am holding as a retainer until his work is complete.

At the end of the day, I want to be done with this. I want these few items finished. I will forever live with a $315,000.00 (tiny) house that has many disappointments. **** thinks it is okay to have walls out of plum, windows out of level, warped door parts due to poor installation, cracks filled with excessive caulk, streaking and inconsistently applied paint to name a few. My husband and I had to do a lot of site clean-up. **** has poor communication skills and we ended up with a garage that is not even insulated. He says he asked me verbally and I said no but I do not believe that because I try to communicate over email so I have records and I have no record of that discussion. I paid **** to replace the siding on an old garage he did but never made me aware that all the top trim was going to be left in the old paint chipped condition as it was. I knew we were leaving the old roof but I thought it would be good to the roof. It is not but not in my contract so I can't change it but should have been informed. All of my interior doors sit way high. There is a large gap between the bottom of the door and the flooring because they were installed after flooring as opposed to before flooring which is standard order of operations. At the time, the flooring guys were very mad about it. The electrician will never work for **** again. The HVAC guy will never work for **** again. We had to cut holes in a finished ceiling to get in a vent after the fact. The foundation people will never work for **** again. Frankly, those 4 trades out of Chadron were absolutely the most professional people on the job. I would work with Overhead Door again, I would work with ***** again (but not the Glass Wizard), I would work with TR drywall again (and I plan to have TR finish the garage). The electrician has a sprinkler company and is doing landscape work for me as we speak. I would work with ******* ***** again plus others as well. My point, I am not just someone who complains for the sake of complaining. **** needs to realize his one and only worker is not qualified to do the interior detail work and **** needs to sub this work out to an actual finish carpenter in the future. He needs to be more communicative up front about what is not included in his bid. As for me, I should have been my own General Contractor instead of trusting someone like ****...a lesson I will have to live IN every day of my life.

Regards,

******* ******

Consumer Response:

from: ******* ****** <*********@gmail.com>
to: Marcy Sharf <msharf@wynco.bbb.org>
date: Wed, Oct 8, 2014 at 1:03 PM
subject: Re: You have a New Message from BBB Regarding Complaint #********

Hi Marcy,
Rather than go through the arbitration process at this time, I would ask that **** has one more opportunity to finish this job. While it has been slow to happen, progress has been made. I am waiting on **** to get a door painted in Cheyenne. Once that door is complete, I ask that he be given one last opportunity to finish the last few items on the "punch" list. I am hoping this final visit will complete the job. Can you just leave the complaint open for now and we will decide if the arbitration is necessary after the last final attempt. Let me know if that is possible. Thanks.
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have decided NOT to participate in Binding Arbitration to resolve my complaint with ID ********. I understand that because I have decided to not pursue arbitration that BBB must close my complaint. I have decided to pursue legally or via other avenues. 

Regards,

 

Business Response: from: **** ***** <****@heritagebuilding-usa.com>
to: disputes@wynco.bbb.org
date: Thu, Oct 9, 2014 at 4:37 PM
subject: Dispute - ******

Ms. Scharf.
 
I will not be continuing to waste my time with this customer. She has been trying to get out of paying her bills since the beginning of this contract. The door in question has been painted seven times, to include by professional painters. She cannot be satisfied. I appreciate all of your efforts, but I feel we are just wasting all of our time.
 
******* ** *****
Heritage Building Services, Inc.
A Service-Disabled Veteran Owned Small Business
Cell: 307-640-2445
Fax: 307-547-3495
www.HeritageBuilding-USA.com
Regional Distributor for MEC Systems Cabinetry
Authorized Builder for Rigid Global Buildings

 

Business Response: To: Better Business Bureau October 09, 2014
Attn: Marcy Sharf
8020 S. Country Rd 5, Ste 100
Ft. Collins, CO 80528

RE: Complaint Id #********

Dear Ms. Sharf,

Once again, we have been trying for months to satisfy this customer. The door she references has been painted seven times so far and she has refused it. She wanted one particular firm to paint the door and he had refused to do anything with the job. Someone has finally convinced them to do the work, but it is still with his painter. The punch list has been completed multiple times yet she continues to add new items.

Binding arbitration with the Better Business Bureau is an option.

We have been trying to work with this customer, but have been unsuccessful. If you have any additional questions, please call.
 
******* ** *****, President

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Is **** saying he does not want to finish the job?

I need a linen closet door painted smooth black. **** ordered the wrong size linen closet door to start with which is why the door is missing. He then ordered another door the right size. By that time, the original door painter did not have time to paint the solo door so **** tried to paint it himself (7 times?). *****, his worker, did not get it out of his pick up when he was at my house or try to install it because ***** told me it was a very bad paint job and not "worth unwrapping". I called the original painter and asked him if he would work on the door. He said yes. ***** dropped it off to him and I just want my door back and installed. I just called ***** ***** at ******** ****** in Cheyenne, WY to confirm status of door and it has not been started as Jared (the actual painter) is working out of town. ***** says he will get to it as soon as he gets back and I want to wait for him so it gets done right. *****'s cell phone number is 307-630-4032 if anyone has questions.

The garage service deadbolt has been on every punch list from the beginning. The deadbolt is here and has been here since the original door knobs arrived. ***** said he did not have the equipment with him to complete this item.

The toe kick at kitchen island was added to the punch list later but only because I had not noticed it until one of my grand kids almost fell through the floor hole under it and yes that was right after ***** left the last time. There is no leftover matching grey toe kick and **** will need to provide. If **** would prefer to name this a warranty item that is okay with me as he says I make new punch lists and everything after the original punch list should be a warranty item according to him so I don't care what he wants to call it.

In order to resolve the paint issue, I am having a professional painter from Chadron finish the paint touch up and she is sanding down the trim in order to get the excess nail hole fill off since it had been painted over and could no longer be washed off. 

I would like to resurrect one more item on ****'s list. It is not new. I had asked **** to fix one of the kitchen cabinets. ***** tried to replace the hinges and told me it was not the hinge that was causing the cabinet door to sag. I looked at it closer after ***** left and it is clearly a warped door that is causing the problem so I feel **** needs to order a new cabinet door to fix the sag. Again, this had been on the list and I would like it fixed. **** can call it punch or warranty as he sees fit. Perhaps he can get the cabinet company to warranty it. 

I need a clear answer on whether or not **** is refusing to finish these items. I passed over the arbitration option this last time as I felt we were getting so close. I do not want ***** to have to come here more than one more time. I am willing to wait for the door to get painted, give **** time to get the cabinet parts and one more trip should complete. 




Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: To: Better Business Bureau October 27, 2014
Attn: Marcy Sharf
8020 S. Country Rd 5, Ste 100
Ft. Collins, CO 80528

RE: Complaint Id #********

Dear Ms. Sharf,

Once again, we have been trying for months to satisfy this customer and we continue to try to satisfy her. I will reference each point she makes in her latest statement. 

1. “**** ordered the wrong size linen closet door…”: **** did not order any doors. The floor plan was provided to the supplier so he could do his own takeoffs. The referenced door was listed on the floor plan as a 30” door. The supplier ordered a 3’-0” door which is a 36” door.

2. “**** tried to paint it himself (7 times)”: No. The door was painted seven times. One of those times was by a professional painter. She turned that one down as well. **** and ***** painted the door the other 6 times. The supplier who had the other doors painted would not paint the replacement door. The customer talked him into it and I am happy about that as I will not paint it again.

3. “*****, his worker, did not get it [the door] out of his pickup when he was at my house or try to install it because ***** told me it was a very bad paint job and not worth unwrapping.” Again, not true. ***** unwrapped it and, once again, she turned it down. 

4. “The garage service deadbolt has been on every punch list from the beginning. The deadbolt is here and has been here since the original door knobs arrived. ***** said he did not have the equipment with him to complete this item.” Not true. ***** told her that he will not drill the deadbolt hole in the door since he does not know how they are constructed. The customer worked directly with ***** on the doors. The door is listed to receive a deadbolt, but the door that was delivered did not have a deadbolt. ***** delivered the wrong door. The issue has been referred to ***** since they need to replace the door, but they have not yet responded.

5. “The toe kick at kitchen island was added to the punch list later but only because I had not noticed it until one of my grand kids almost fell through the floor hole under it and yes that was right after ***** left the last time. There is no leftover matching grey toe kick and **** will need to provide.”: This toe kick was installed two trips back. It is very hard to see how a child, of any age, almost fell through a 4” vertical hole that was set back underneath a cabinet. We had also left several pieces of toe kick with the customer at her request. I will not be purchasing any more toe kick for this project.

6. “In order to resolve the paint issue, I am having a professional painter from Chadron finish the paint touch up and she is sanding down the trim in order to get the excess nail hole fill off since it had been painted over and could no longer be washed off.” There is no paint issue. If she wants to hire someone else to reaccomplish the work, that is her choice.

7. “I would like to resurrect one more item on ****'s list. It is not new. I had asked **** to fix one of the kitchen cabinets. ***** tried to replace the hinges and told me it was not the hinge that was causing the cabinet door to sag. I looked at it closer after ***** left and it is clearly a warped door that is causing the problem so I feel **** needs to order a new cabinet door to fix the sag. Again, this had been on the list and I would like it fixed. **** can call it punch or warranty as he sees fit. Perhaps he can get the cabinet company to warranty it.” ***** did not tell her the hinges were not the problem. One of the original hinges had every one of the adjustment screws stripped out. All hinges were replaced. The door is not warped from the issue that is observed. I am trying to get an answer from the cabinet company concerning what may be causing the issue. This is the first time she has made a complaint about the door since the hinges were replaced. 

On one other item. She has paid the HVAC company for a vent to her downdraft oven and expects me to reimburse her. I had told the firm that I would pay them to install the vent because they were refusing to return and complete the job. They convinced me at the time that I had never told them of the vent. When the customer told me that they didn’t think that I would pay them (I never received an invoice) so she had paid them herself, I went back and looked at the original documents. The vent is listed in the original bid requirements. She has paid for the same task twice. She has a copy of the requirements. I will not reimburse her for the payment. She needs to get a refund from the HVAC firm.

It is not an issue of correcting the problems. I will not have anyone return to her house until the door and cabinet door (if that is the problem) is ready. Many of the items have already been corrected. It appears as though she is using these items to keep the job going. We have been trying to work with this customer, but have been unsuccessful. If you have any additional questions, please call.
 
******* ** *****, President

 

Business Response:

from: **** ***** <****@heritagebuilding-usa.com>
to: disputes@wynco.bbb.org
date: Wed, Oct 29, 2014 at 8:24 PM
subject: Complaint Id #********

Marci,
 
I just received this response from ***** concerning Ms. ******’s complaint. ***** *******’s email didn’t come through before so I never saw it. Apparently Ms. ****** changed the garage door in question to a single bore door. She claims to have owned the largest door manufacturer in Colorado so she should know what a single bore door is. She has no legitimate complaint about this door.
 
******* ** *****
Heritage Building Services, Inc.
A Service-Disabled Veteran Owned Small Business
Cell: 307-640-2445
Fax: 307-547-3495
www.HeritageBuilding-USA.com
Regional Distributor for MEC Systems Cabinetry
Authorized Builder for Rigid Global Buildings

From: ***** *******s [mailto:robinhennings@heartland*****.com] 
Sent: Wednesday, October 29, 2014 11:20 AM
To: **** *****
Subject: FW: ****** Residence
 
Hi ****,
 
This was emailed to you on 9/25. Please see attached.
 
Mrs. ****** had sent this to ***** via  email and also CC’d you on it as well. The door was changed to latch bore only per her request. This is no longer a ***** issue since it was per the homeowner’s request. If she is needing a deadbolt bore for that panel,. She will need to contact a local contractor to do so. Our service department does not  do deadbolt bores.
 
 
 
***** *******s
***** ******* *** ***** **** ******** ************ ** ***** ******* ************ **** ***** ************ **** ************ ****** ********************************
 
 
 
From: ***** *******s 
Sent: Thursday, September 25, 2014 3:19 PM
To: '**** *****'
Subject: RE: ****** Residence
 
Hi ****,
 
We reviewed all of the specs, as well as all of our notes on the order and I found the latest spec sheet for the doors that was given to us on 12/30/2013. Please see attachment for that data sheet for you to review. I’m not sure if this sheet was emailed to ***** or hand delivered to one of us, but it clearly stated that the garage doors were to have a single bore, so that is what was ordered. We did have a latch bore and deadbolt figured in all of the quotes prior to 1/2/2014, but that option was changed to a latch bore only on that date. Hope this helps-let us know if you have any other questions J
 
Thank you!
 
***** *******s
***** ******* *** ***** **** ******** ************ ** ***** ******* ************ **** ***** ************ **** ************ ****** ********************************
 
 
 
From: **** ***** [mailto:****@heritagebuilding-usa.com] 
Sent: Monday, September 22, 2014 12:26 PM
To: ***** *******s
Subject: RE: ****** Residence
 
Robin,
 
We have been struggling to complete this job for quite a while now and have an item for you guys too look at. The exterior door to the garage was not bored for a deadbolt although the last spec I have shows that it is to have a deadbolt. Am I behind or is the door wrong?
 
******* ** *****
Heritage Building Services, Inc.
A Service-Disabled Veteran Owned Small Business
Cell: 307-640-2445
Fax: 307-547-3495
www.HeritageBuilding-USA.com
Regional Distributor for MEC Systems Cabinetry
Authorized Builder for Rigid Global Buildings
SDVOSB
 
Attachments area
Preview attachment Latest Spec Sheet on record.pdf
PDF
Latest Spec Sheet on record.pdf


 

 


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It am sincerely disappointed in ****'s response. He seems so unwilling to take ownership in this job. I am willing to accept that he will not come back until the door is painted and I am okay with that. I hope the cabinet company will warranty their product and I am okay with that. The toe kick was never installed. Why would I remove toe kick? There is some toe kick still here of a different color. No extra toe kick material of the grey color was left here. **** always says things are "untrue" but he has not been here since April so I don't see how he can be so certain just going off someone else's word. I am really not that demanding as he makes me out to be. I have conceded on so many things because it is over and done with and I have to live with it but I really need the toe kick installed on the island. 

The painter from Chadron has been working on the trim. She has taken many photos that can be provided at arbitration (as I am assuming it is going to come to that). At her going rate of $30 per hour, I have paid her $1000.00 to date and she is not finished. She has just been working on the trim and nothing else. She has to sand down all of the goobered up nail holes. She was referred to me by *******'s and is no one I previously knew. She is doing a great job that I am satisfied with. She is willing to write a letter explaining the process if needed. 

I had held back approximately $1500.00 as a retainer on **** but I can see that is not going to be enough just to complete the interior trim. I have been working on the exterior nail holes myself and they are equally a challenge. Most of them did not get filled with enough filler. It may have shrunk as that does sometimes happen. Never the less, I have to remove all of the touch up paint from each hole. ****'s guys used a product with a sponge applicator provided by the siding manufacturer. The product comes in a box with 2 containers. If you read the containers, the stick like paint is what is to be used on the nail holes not the sponge applicator. As with the case of the interior nail holes, an excessive amount of this product is gobbed over each nail hole. It looks like spots all over. It is very time consuming to fix. ***** went around the entire house in minutes claiming he fixed it but he really just wiped some excess dirt that had stuck to the rubber like surface of this material. I am removing the excess all together as it is the only way to eliminate the spot. 

At the end of the day, I will complete my house as best I can with or without **** regardless of whether or not he is willing to stand by his work which it is obvious he is not.


Regards,

******* ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like my complaint ID ********, to be handled through an Arbitration hearing with BBB. If there is any chance the arbitrator could be in *****sbluff, NE, that would be great as that would be 1/2 way between **** and I. Thanks for your consideration on this.

Regards,

 

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like my complaint ID ********, to be handled through an Arbitration hearing with BBB.

Regards,

******* ** *****

 

Business Response:

from: **** ***** <****@heritagebuilding-usa.com>
to: Jay Pollock <jpollock@wynco.bbb.org>
cc: disputes@wynco.bbb.org
date: Wed, Jan 7, 2015 at 5:18 PM
subject: Complaint #******** - Additional Information for Arbitration Consideration

 

Jay,
 
The arbitrator requested that any additional information we wished to have considered be sent to you tonight. I have one additional item I would like to have considered.
 
Per the 2008 ** ***** ********** ************ **** ****, the fee for construction management are 9% at $250,000.  I don’t know the total value of the final job since it is irrelevant to me, but is in the neighborhood of the $250,000 range. At that value, her cost for project management  should have been $22,500. She was charged $10,800 in order to help her keep costs down. She saved $11,700 up front. She worked as the General Contractor herself. Per the contract, I only served as the project Manager. This is another area we tried to help her out.
 
******* ** *****
Heritage Building Services, Inc.
A Service-Disabled Veteran Owned Small Business
Cell: 307-640-2445
Fax: 307-547-3495
www.HeritageBuilding-USA.com
Regional Distributor for MEC Systems Cabinetry
Authorized Builder for Rigid Global Buildings
SDVOSB