BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Swab Concrete?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Swab Concrete

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 493-4205 Fax: (970) 484-3302 View Additional Phone Numbers 1632 Independence Rd, Fort Collins, CO 80526 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.swabconcrete.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Swab Concrete meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Swab Concrete include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Swab Concrete
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 13, 2010 Business started: 10/01/2001 Business started locally: 10/01/2001 Business incorporated: 03/01/2009 in IA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Eric Swab, Owner/Operator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Swab, Owner/Operator
Business Category

Concrete Contractors Parking Lot Maintenance Companies Snow Plowing Companies

Alternate Business Names
E S Enterprises

Additional Locations

  • 1632 Independence Rd

    Fort Collins, CO 80526 (970) 493-4205 (970) 817-1521

  • PO Box 270932

    Fort Collins, CO 80527

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (970) 817-1521(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** from Swab concrete promised me that out concrete patio would take three days of work, pending weather. The project was started October 28th... the project took 3 weeks to complete the concrete work. We had two days of bad weather at the beginning and it has been clear since. I asked at the beginning of the project regarding the level of the concrete on the patio, **** stated that he could bring in filler so the concrete would be all one level, then upon digging everything up he told me that it could not be done. The concrete being unlevel is extremely noticeable to me and we will now have to do something to that side of the concrete to make it look better; or rip it out and redo it. I feel like this should have been addressed prior to digging everything up so we could have devised another plan, but after everything had already been started there wasn't much choice. I feel like I had to ask repeatedly for updates/communication, for **** to extend the second step on the patio in the backyard (which was never done), and for clean up. A concrete step in the garage was supposed to be poured in addition to the patio. The garage step was put off multiple times by the crew after I had made arrangements to be home several days/nights so they were able to get into the garage. When the garage step was finally put in Saturday (scheduled by Swab), it was a full day. This was never communicated to me. I had plans to be somewhere in the afternoon, so I finally left. I came back after being gone a 1 1/2 hours and the crew member from Swab was gone and my garage was wide open. I think I should have been called if he was going to leave so I could have been there. The garage was left a mess, no clean up was completed. He sat in his truck all day; when there was clean up to do in the back ground. The clean up in the backyard was completed nearly a week after the concrete was poured. I had to pick up plastic that was floating around the yard and pop bottles during the time Swab concrete workers were at my house.Due to this project taking three weeks I have had to find somewhere else for my dogs to be during the day. This has been a huge headache and expense. They have not been able to stay at the house during the day because I never knew when the crew was going to be there, mud, or wet concrete. We have been taking them out front to use the restroom for three weeks.Lately, **** and I discussed payment at the completion of the project. I thoroughly discussed all the above issues with him during this meeting. He explained that the measurements were taken directly from our design plan and he never obtained his own measurements, thus had to bring in additional concrete due to the discrepancy in measurement. **** told me the bill was going to now be over $7,000 from the original quoted price of $6,000 due to the additional concrete being brought in. This was never shared with me during the time the concrete was being poured, despite having multiple interactions with ****. After much discussion, **** and I agreed upon $5,900 because the inaccurate measuring was not my fault. **** gave me a $100.00 discount for the delay of services and the project not being up to my standards. I feel like this was a poor attempt to make things right with the costumer. In addition, **** agreed to come back on 11/18 to complete sod work since his crew did not do this portion of the "clean up." The sod work was agreed upon at the beginning to the contract if any was damaged. In front of patio there is a huge area of grass that was torn out during the project, which is now mud. I e-mailed **** on Friday 11/22 regarding the sod never being replaced, without any response from ****. I also called **** 11/27 regarding this issue, without response from him. I feel like Swab concrete's costumer service was non-existent during the entirety of this project and everything that was promised to me was not completed.

Desired Settlement: I want the sod replaced as promised by Swab Concrete and money taken off the bill for delay in services, as well as unsatisfactory services provided by the company in the competition of the project.

Business Response: ******** *** **** ***** ***** ****** ******** ****** **** * ****** **** ** ***** *** **** ******** ** ***** **** ******
This letter is to address complaint ID ******* from ******** ********. This customer is
unhappy with so many things that I am not even sure what to address. The end result is
that they received a high quality patio, done to standard practices, and to current
building codes. It matches the general design of the drawing that she supplied with
modifications for elevations. Because of her unhappiness I provided several extra
services and did not charge her for them.
I would like to mention that we completed over 140 projects this year with no customer
complaints. Other customers that we worked with before, during and after this project
were very pleased with our work so I am a bit baffled at Ms. ******** issues.
Below are my answers to issues from her email dated 11/12/2013.
1. Schedule – Work began on Friday November 1st, and completed clean up on
Monday November 11th. We were not on site everyday during that period,
scheduling with the pump company, ready mix supplier, and cooler weather were
issues with work flow. At no point did the customer mention that it needed to be
completed by a certain date, this is not the 3 ½ weeks that she keeps talking
about. I did not promise it would take 3 days, in our initial meeting I said “about”
3 days, that was before a complete job scope was decided upon.
2. Level of Patio – The customer has a moderately sloped yard for drainage. The
patio is all one level, it is not stepped. In the drawing provided by the customer
they requested one 6” step from the back door down to the patio. This would
have resulted in roughly a 16” drop off to the back yard, which would functionally
be too high and unsafe. We installed two 7.5” steps and the patio is level with
the yard, except for where the grade drops off near the fence, it is an acceptable
drop off according to standard construction methods. This was discussed and
shown to the customer on the evening of Friday November 1st.
When I use the word “fill” I am speaking about the base underneath the concrete
that is used to adjust grade. While it would be possible to re-grade the yard, that
would be a landscape project. The drop off from the patio to the grass at its
highest point is less than the step rise.
3. AC Pad – In order to replace the pad under the AC compressor , the unit would
need removed by an HVAC company and then replaced. We gently lifted it
enough to level it out by placing concrete under the existing pad, I said it could
be fixed, not a new pad poured, which would be unnessary.
4. Garage step – It was not completed with the patio because t was a different color
of concrete. I understand it took too long to install it, I did not charge the
customer for it.
5. Dogs – The yard was secured each day before leaving, I asked to keep the dogs
off the patio for 24 hours after it was poured, there was no reason not to let them
out during the rest of the week.
6. Sod – I said I would put sod along the patio, however, it is too late in the year for
sod, it is not available, and would die anyway. I can do this in the spring if
desired, however, according to the plans, the area along the patio is to be
landscaped.
7. Returning Money – Below is quoted text from the last email that I sent the
customer:
“I would like to ask you to rethink that you have paid for a service that you did not receive, my proposal to you
based on the drawing that you sent, dated 8/26/13, was for a 680 square foot patio, with one step,and buried
downspouts. The proposal for these services was $5724.53, with options to add on color for $690.69, and
$375.00 for saw cutting the patio in 4'x4' squares for a total of $6790.22. In the end the patio was 1025 square
feet, with two steps. If I were to re-figure the price for the actual patio that was installed, the price would be
$8259.00. The drawing dimensions and elevations were incorrect with relation to the features that were shown
on it. It is very normal in construction for the end project to deviate and usually increase in scope from a
proposal. I did not catch the discrepancy in scope prior to the job being nearly finished so I choose to eat the
increase costs because we had not discussed any changes.
You paid $5800.00 for over $8400.00 in work, I would ask for some compassion in your thoughts as I have
invested over $6000.00 in labor and materials alone in your project. I did not charge you for the decorative saw
cutting, irrigation repairs and modification, the step in the garage, or leveling out the AC compressor in hopes
that it would make you happier.”
I will put sod along the patio in the spring, when it is available to cover the back fill. To
be clear, we will not be re-leveling or re-grading anything, simply sod along the patio.
Sincerely,

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 This is my response to Mr. ****** letter. 
First, I would like to say that my biggest complaint during this project is that **** had zero communication with me regarding the concrete project as a whole.  **** kept me informed on the progress of the concrete work, but never informed me of major details that impacted the end product until they were completed.  The design was given to **** from day one.  He was fully aware of the "job scope."  **** chose not to take his own measurements of the area, and instead went off our design plan.  I made it clear to **** from the very beginning that my aunt (a home designer) designed the plan but she was not a landscape designer so there were things that were probably were not accurate on the design plan.  I should not be held responsible for ****'s error in not completing proper measurements as I feel any professional in this line of work would have and should have done. 
Second, the level of the patio was discussed with me on November 1st, but this was after my yard had already been torn up.  **** decided to make me aware of this major point after the project was in full swing.  The e-mail from 9/13/13, **** wrote "the patio will be all one level."  This to me meant one level minimizing the step-off from the patio onto the grass. I don't know how else I could have taken this message.  I e-mailed **** multiple times regarding the level of the patio because I was concerned of the slope of the yard.  Every time I received a response from him, he was confident that the patio would be "all one level."  **** had been to my house multiple times and could have seen the slope of my yard, thus he could have made an educated guess as to level of the concrete.  **** informed me on 11/1/13 that because of the slope in the yard the patio would now have to have two steps, against the original design.   The steps he poured to remedy the above issue were not poured to our specifications.  I had emailed him after the 11/1/13 discussion regarding widening the second step to help prevent people from losing their step.  This was not completed.
Thirdly, upon collecting payment on 11/14/13, **** promised that he would make every attempt to replace the area with sod so we would not have mud.  He even talked about laying plastic if sod was not possible to prevent mud from occurring all winter long.  Neither was completed and **** chose not to respond to my e-mails or phone calls until I contacted the BBB.  In ****'s most recent letter, he states that he could come back in the spring to complete sod work, this was never offered to me prior to the BBB getting involved nor do I think he would have completed this task based upon his performance thus far.
Lately, the pricing that **** enclosed in his letter was not at all how he explained it to me.  **** explained the pricing to me and my brother on two separate occasions, and we both were under the understanding that the total price was going to be around $6,000. (Give or take for the garage step and the AC pad.)  Our understanding was that the total price included the color of the concrete and the sawing of the 4X4 squares as that was part of the original design.  When **** came to collect his money on 11/14/13 the bill was for over $7,000, this again was an unwelcome surprise.  After talking with **** for over 30 minutes about the project and all the issues, **** agreed that he had originally said $6,000.  I ended up paying $5,900, not $5,800 like indicated in ****'s letter. ****'s most recent letter indicated that the total price was for over $8,400, I have no idea where this number came from.    There are so many conflicting amounts that I am beginning to wonder what the price should have been.  I feel like for having to deal with so many issues and not having an end product that I am satisfied with, a hundred dollars off the original quoted price is a slap in the face.
 I should not have been held responsible for ****'s unprofessional communication and work. His total disregard to what he tells the customer in matters of cost and what the end project will be definitely does not warrant a high rating with BBB.

Regards,

******** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.