BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming

This Business is not BBB accredited

Northern Colorado Concrete Inc

Phone: (970) 336-1315 View Additional Phone Numbers 31793 WCR 29, Greeley, CO 80631 http://www.norcoconcrete.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Northern Colorado Concrete Inc is a concrete contractor.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • The business is in the process of responding to previously closed complaints.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Northern Colorado Concrete Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 2
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2006 Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated: 10/08/2009 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Lohmann, Owner Mrs. Bailey Lohnmann, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Lohmann, Owner
Business Category

Concrete Contractors Custom Concrete Companies Walkway Design Patio Builder Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair

Refund and Exchange Policy
All concrete is guaranteed to get hard and crack. Standard warranty is 1 year for materials and workmanship. Will repair cracks for free the first year. Warranty is void if customer uses ice melt or chemicals.
Alternate Business Names
Brighton concrete Fort Collins Concrete Greeley Concrete Loveland Concrete
Products & Services

Decorative concrete, concrete flat-work, residential, commercial, agricultural.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    31793 WCR 29

    Greeley, CO 80631

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (303) 659-1976(Phone)
  • (970) 493-4565(Phone)
  • (970) 518-1711(Phone)
  • (970) 576-8651(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted Northern Colorado Concrete to pour a concrete patio in our back yard on 5/3/12. At the time ***** gave us a quote, he mentioned that they warranty/guarantee all their work. This was a big selling point for us, so we chose to proceed with them. Even though they destroyed part of our front lawn and left marks from their tools on the newly pour patio, we were overall pleased with the work. We paid them $5200.00 for our patio. Last summer we noticed parts of the patio started to fade/blotch. Unfortunately, we were too busy last year to call them to have schedule them to come out and look at things and hopefully fix it. I left a few messages (May 21st & 27th) before receiving a call back from ******. She returned my call on May 29th. In her message, she said I could text her back. I text her with the issues we were having. She informed us that the sealer is not warranty, it is maintenance. I told her I felt it didn’t hold in some areas. To me, it shouldn’t have happened like this so quickly. She requested pictures be emailed. I emailed them to her that day. ******’s reply (May 31st) was, “Please make sure you remove the snow promptly, it looks like the concrete needs to be resealed.” My reply to her “Okay, still not understanding how it could fade that fast and only in random spots. How much is this going to cost if it’s not a warrantable issue?” I never received a reply. I called a couple more times leaving a message letting her know, we wanted a quote for resealing. I received a voice mail on June 6th “Unless there is something wrong with the concrete itself, we will have to speak to the manufacture of the sealer, that is not something they warranty”. Again, she did not understand that we wanted a quote from her on resealing it. I left her another message letting her know that I understand they will not warranty the sealant, but wanted a quote. I also mentioned in the voice message that I wanted to go through them as they were the ones that completed the job. I did not know who the manufacture of the sealer was. I also mentioned that if they did not want to help I didn’t have a problem taking my service elsewhere. I never received anything back from them. I called ****** again on June 20th and was able to speak with her. I told her I wanted to know what the charges would be for sealing. She then went into not warranting the work. I stopped her and said “****** I understand that, I just want a price to have it redone.” She thought I was giving her an attitude and told her that I am a little frustrated that we have not been able to get an answer or any reply. From there she started to scream and yell on the phone. She would speak over me. Then she started telling me that she is going to reject my service. I felt that they rejected it from the beginning. Her actions got me very heated! I informed her I couldn’t believe this is how she does business and that I was going to the BBB. Not sure if she heard anything I said, because she was still busy screaming at me. I would not recommend this company to anyone!!!! ****** was EXTREMELY rude and very UNPROFESSIONAL on the phone, I have never in my life been talked to or treated that way. After our overall experience, I wish we would’ve taken or business elsewhere. I do have emails, text messages and voice mails still.

Desired Settlement: Hoping this will help others that may look at this company to do their contracting work.

Business Response: This complaint is not true. I told *** 3x I have a $1500.00 minimum. I was verbally abused by her and demeaned. I refuse to offer any additional services. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: That statement is NOT true what so ever! After she starting yelling at me and interrupting me on the phone she said her minimum is $1500. She never stated that price 3 times. I was not getting any response, which is why I tried contacting them so many times. The verbal abuse and poor customer service started with her when I was trying to tell her that I understood it was not under warranty, I just wanted to know what it was going to cost for them to come back out and reseal my patio. As stated in my original complaint, I have never in my life been talked to or treated that way. What I have read now on the company, it doesn't sound like I am the first to experience this.

The company did contact me once they received my complaint, but I missed the call. My husband called back and from my understanding, they just wanted to let us know that they were upset I sent this complaint because now it's going to be on their record for 3 years. No concern or comment regarding the complaint or even an apology for being mistreated. Again, I hope that this complaint will help better the business customer service and future customers awareness.

Regards,

******** ************

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After the 28 days for color in my concrete to be completed, my concrete is a disaster. Contractor left wooden frame fill dirt/junk put between posts. On 03/08/2013, I signed a contract with Northern Colorado Concrete to place a colored concrete walkway on the right side of my home. On March 12, 2013 this work was done. I was told by ****** that I needed to wait 28 days for the color to really cure. I called the cell phone number and the business number numerous times to speak with ****** or her husband, *****, whom I never met. ****** finally came to my house and said she was not a landscape company and she did not know what to do about my complaints. She said it needed vinegar on the concrete. I told her fine; she had to do this, I was not! Claimed she could not do anything about the wooden forms left next to the concrete. The dirt and junk placed between the posts and the two places where lines, etc. went into, or out of my house also had junk left in the box they built. ****** left saying she would obtain rocks to put between the posts and bring vinegar to clean the concrete. I have never heard or seen her since the job was completed. After paying ****** $2,150.00, I feel the Company has failed totally in the job done at my home. The "We have been paid so we do not owe her anything more" is what I am feeling. I want a job I can be proud of, not this job. Neighbors agree I got screwed and they will not do anything to finish the job correctly.

Desired Settlement: FIRST, I WANT NOT ONLY REPLACEMENT OF THE JOB, BUT, SECONDLY, I WANT TOTAL REFUND ON MY PAYMENT FOR NOTHING OTHER THAN HEARTACHE AND DISPLEASURE. THE COMPANY SHOULD REMOVE ALL THE CONCRETE ON THE JOB SITE AND START THE JOB FROM THE BEGINNING AT THEIR COST. IT MUST BE APPROVED BY ME BEFORE I WILL RELEASE THEM OF ANY OBLIGATIONS TO ME. I WANT TOTAL SATISFACTION OF WHATEVER THEY DO AT MY PREMISES. I WOULD LIKE TO BE REIMBURSED FOR MY MENTAL SUFFERING, LOSS OF SLEEP, EMBARRASSMENT AND HARM TO MY PROPERTY DONE BY THIS COMPANY, IN THE FORM OF $2,150.00 CASH, THE AMOUNT PAID FOR TO NORTHERN COLORADO FOR A HORRIBLE, AND SLOPY MESS TO MY PROPERTY. I AM TOTALLY APPALLED THAT THIS COMPANY WOULD TREAT A SENIOR CITIZEN WITH SUCH DISRESPECT, DISRESPECT NOT ONLY TO ME, BUT OF MY PROPERFTY.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On Friday, June 21, 2013 an employee of Northern Concrete, **** ********, came to my home at 9:30 a.m. to wash the concrete walkway. He was sent with no hose (I loaned him mine) to attach to my water. He spent approximately one hour washing the entire job with a power washer. There was NOTHING CHANGED with the concrete! Mr. ******** agreed with me that Northern Concrete had made a huge mess, terrible eyesore, and an unsightly worse job with my walkway. He called his supervisor and told him nothing had changed before he left. ****** knew that washing was not going to change the job. Also, ****** said they could NOT remove the wood forms without taking out the fence. Obviously she does not know the business of wood forms and concrete. Mr. ******** asked if I wanted the unsightly wood forms removed. After working very hard with a hammer, he removed all the wood forms but the two around pipes in front of the fence gate. Landscaping would include replacing the rock along the edge of the walkway. They had put ugly "fill dirt" next to the walkway. They had removed my good rock!! NO, NO, and NO, Northern Concrete has NOT done a thing to the job I have paid them to do. Maybe the gentleman who owns Northern Concrete needs to see my job too! Maybe he knows more about concrete than his wife.

Business Response: We did our best for you, I am sorry you are not satisfied. I have contacted Loveland ready mix regarding quality control. I would like to see the concrete at your convienence ************

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, what is the name of the person responding? I would be delighted to meet with Loveland Ready Mix alone with my receiving their response to the job, prior to the gentleman who owns Northern Colorado Concrete meeting with the Loveland Ready Mix gentleman and myself. I will call Loveland Ready Mix to obtain available dates for this meeting, once I have the dates and times, I will inform Northern Concrete. If this is not suitable to the gentleman at Northern Concrete to have this meeting, he needs to respond to me immediately. I do not want ****** to come to my home; she has viewed the job numerous times, and her suggestions did not work. Don't waste my time or Loveland Ready Mix's time by coming to my home. Her husband owns the Company and I would appreciate meeting him and getting his response to my concrete mess. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

BBB Comments: Business Response:
We washed the concrete. The efflorescence is salt coming out of the concrete as it drys. Nothing we did wrong. I am not a landscaper and never bid any landscaping. I cant remove the wood forms without taking out the fence.

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted Northern Colorado Concrete to pour a concrete driveway pad for us. This was the second time we had used them, in our previous house they poured a concrete patio for us. We also recommended them highly to our neighbor across the street, they also contracted with them to pour them a driveway. My point is that they had done work for us before and we were happy enough to use them again and recommend them to close friends. As part of the driveway they had to remove sprinkler heads, then cap the line before compacting the base and pouring the concrete. ***** said this was not an issue, they do it all the time. This was done last fall and we were pleased with the job. Then when we turned on our sprinkler system this year a sprinkler zone did not work. Then we noticed that water was running from under the concrete. We tried to locate the leak, unfortunately it was under the pad that Northern Colorado Concrete poured. I called and spoke to *****. He said they do not guarantee sprinkler work. I reminded him that he said it was not an issue when bidding the job. He finally sent a landscape company out to attempt to fix the issue. They could not as it was directly under the new concrete pad.I have never heard any more from Northern Colorado Concrete. I have since spent many hours locating the water line that ran under the new concrete pad. I found it and capped it where it went under the driveway.I was disappointed that the leak first of all. We all understand that mistakes happen though. But what was most disappointing was that the issue was not addressed. ***** was very quick to say that they are not responsible for leaks. If he had said that upfront I would have hired someone to do that, he said is was not a problem they do it all the time.

Desired Settlement: I simply would like to be reimbursed for my costs and time and effort to fix the problem, probably about $150.

Business Response: This is news to me. I have heard nothing about this since contacting ***.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******


This is news to me. I have heard nothing about this since contacting ***.

I am rejecting this response because:
Issue was not resolved by simply calling ***.


Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: Please send me an itemized invoice. We will review asap. I wish you would have notified us prior to making a complaint which will not go away for 3 years.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 10 days to 2 weeks after job was complete, we had a few cracks in the patio. After several phone calls, ***** has not come out to look at the issue On 9-13-12 ***** & ****** came to give us an estimate on removing old and pouring new patio. At that time he said all of his work is guaranteed. We chose to proceed and the patio was poured on 9-20-12. 10 days to 2 weeks later (approximately XX-X-XX) we noticed 3-4 cracks in the newly poured patio in different locations. We made 4-5 phone calls, speaking to ******. At first we were told the work was not guaranteed. And then we were told that we were on a list for ***** to come inspect the cracks. After not hearing from them for a week or two, we called again. They said he was busy. A week or two later, we called again. They said we were on his list. ****** said we could fix it ourselves with epoxy. A week or two later we called again. We were told the same thing. We have not heard from or seen ***** or a representative of his company since then. Payment by check was for $1899.

Desired Settlement: We would like the cracks repaired before they get worse.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/19) */ Sorry we have not responded. We do not work in winter. We plan to start up again April 2nd 2013. What color was the patio? We will apply color hardener to the cracks. Please let me know what day would be best to do repairs. XXX-XXX-XXXX Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/05/30) */ I would like this case reopened as I called NCC on April 2, spoke to ****** about the cracks in the concrete, that appeared within two weeks of pouring. She stated they would be in touch as soon as the weather cleared, a snow storm was due, and they "weren't trying to give me the runaround", as they hadn't contacted us about the original complaint, made by phone and BBB, in October. It was agreed NCC would contact us as soon as the temps warmed up, we have not heard from them after two months. I would like the paving replaced or repaired. Very poor customer service, I would NEVER recommend them for any concrete work. BBB stated we could re-open this complaint, at a later date, if services guaranteed weren't completed or addressed, and I do so. Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2013/06/12) */ Please let me know when I can come out and view/ fix cracks. I left a voicemail on XXX-XXXX earlier Consumer Response /* (4200, 19, 2013/06/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We don't want to close the case until the promised work is done and refund received in the mail. Business Response /* (4000, 25, 2013/07/03) */ from: *****@norcoconcrete.com to: ******@wynco.bbb.org date: Wed, Jul 3, 2013 at 9:02 AM subject: Re: BBB regarding Case ******** - ******* ***** *****@norcoconcrete.com 9:02 AM (1 hour ago) to me we will saw cut and touch up patio. asap Consumer Response /* (4200, 27, 2013/07/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ***** did not mention the $*** refund agreed to by ****** and us 3 weeks ago in his response. We would like a time frame of when the work will be completed and the check will be sent. Business Response /* (4000, 29, 2013/07/11) */ We have made arrangements to resolve this. Thank you Consumer Response /* (4200, 31, 2013/07/15) */ from: ******* and ***** ***** <*******@gmail.com> to: ***** ***** <******@wynco.bbb.org> date: Mon, Jul 15, 2013 at 11:12 AM subject: Re: Patio repair No, it was not done. ***** emailed and said "sorry, his guys were all exhausted from the week and will get to it asap". ******* Business Response /* (4000, 33, 2013/07/16) */ We made an agreement in person

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We are hesitant to accept the response because we are afraid that they won't follow through,just like they didn't follow through last fall. But we will accept their response, knowing that the case can be reopened if they don't. We don't know the color of the patio,it is not written on our receipt. We think it is Sand. You can come April 2nd - April 9th or anytime in April after the 15th.

Business Response: Please let me know when I can come out and view/ fix cracks. I left a voicemail on ******** earlier

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We don't want to close the case until the promised work is done and refund received in the mail.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
***** did not mention the $*** refund agreed to by ****** and us 3 weeks ago in his response. We would like a time frame of when the work will be completed and the check will be sent.

Consumer Response: from: ******* and ***** ***** <*****************>
to: ***** ***** <********************>
date: Mon, Jul 15, 2013 at 11:12 AM
subject: Re: Patio repair

No, it was not done. ***** emailed and said "sorry, his guys were all exhausted from the week and will get to it asap".

*******
</********************></*****************>

Consumer Response: from: ******* and ***** ***** <*****************>
to: ***** ***** <********************>
date: Wed, Sep 4, 2013 at 2:36 PM

*****, We still haven't received the refund check from ****** ******* at Northern Colorado Concrete, for $507.50, which was to be sent to us lieu of the bounced refund check sent by her in July . In her statement on Aug. 15th, she stated the check would be sent ASAP. I have contacted her by e-mail about the check but have received no answer. I have not received any notification from BBB on the next steps required to resolve this dispute, I also noticed NCC is still rated A+, which disappoints me. I do not want this case closed until it's resolved as promised by ****** *******. Thanks, ******* *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9659380, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The driveway that Northern Colorado Concrete did is cracking. Also it is all blotchy. This happened right as they poured & I was told it would go away Driveway was poured in March 2011. It was blotchy from the beginning but ***** said it would go away in 3 mos. I also starting getting hairline cracks which have grown over the year. X-XX-XXXX He said call office to set up appointment to come out and determine if it was faulty work or concrete. X-XX-XX Talked to office(******) they said they would get back to me in 7-10 days. 8-27 Sent them a follow up e-mail: No response.Finally got a hold of ***** 8-29 and he agreed to take a look 8-30. ***** acknowledged the cracks but said they were too small to fix. Did not know if sealing it would help. As for the blotching, ***** was having Loveland concrete come out and check the quality of the cement. I heard ***** say to ****** that he never saw this before and since they used calcium in the mix if that had anything to do with it. 9-4 Talked with *** at ****************** waiting to hear decision. 9-10 Left msg. with *** to call me with info.9-13 finally talked with *** and the cement was OK(go figure) and she is not sure why the cracks, maybe not enough roadbase. As far as blotching called efflorescence she was going to send an article on how to remove it. Part of the cause for the blotching is: 1)"it's induced by low temperature ... ." That night it got down to about 26 degrees.2) The article also says that calcium hydroxide can be part of the problem. Anyway, to fix the blotching requires an acid wash. I had not heard from ***** since the Aug 15th meeting even though I left messages. 9-26 finally try to talk with ***** regarding the problem(s). All he did was yell and scream over the phone about that he was not going to replace the driveway and was not going to roll over again like he did with Eric ******, attacked my character and Eric character and on & on. I tried to tell ***** that I didn't want the driveway replaced but what could we do to fix everything. He said we would get together on the 27th I left him a message as to what time and he never called back and never got with me. You know how he is because you went through this with Eric ****** last year. By the way he laid both the jobs the same day. But I'm not going to go through everything Eric did, so I'm just turning it over to you. By the way, when he was yelling over the phone, he said the 1 year warranty was up, but when we did this everything was a 2year guarantee. So I guess things changed for him.

Desired Settlement: I just want things fixed. If the driveway needs to be acid washed, I don't think I should be the one to have to do it pay for it. If sealing(he was suppose to do this 2 months after pouring the concrete and never did) will take care of the cracks then that needs to be done. If he doesn't want to fix it, then just give me my money back.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/10/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** VP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@norcoconcrete.com Our warranty period is one year. We went to the customers home three times by request of the customer. Hairline cracks were observed, there is nothing that can be done the cracks are too fine. Customer complained that he disliked the color. The cement supplier was also summoned by the customer. They sent a letter to customer and us in summarizing there is nothing wrong with the concrete. Supplier noted that an acid wash may even out the appearance. We are not obligated to acid wash the concrete. Customer did not pay for a sealer. Customer failed to pay invoice in full and refused to pay for extra work. He started a screaming tirade when we requested payment. Neighbors were disturbed, and employees were scared. We will not perform any additional services until we are paid in full.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/10/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1