Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Starshine Cleaning Company

Phone: (970) 978-5551 Fax: (970) 669-2629 4464 Cushing Dr, Loveland, CO 80538 http://www.lovelandcarpetcleaner.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in carpet and upholstery cleaning; office, commercial and residential cleaning; tile and grout cleaning; interior vehicle cleaning and power washing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Starshine Cleaning Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Starshine Cleaning Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Starshine Cleaning Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 15, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1974
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Robert M. Hilliard, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert M. Hilliard, Owner
Business Category

Cleaning Services Cleaning Services - Commercial Office Boat Cleaning Industrial Cleaners Tile & Grout Cleaning Upholstery Rug Cleaners Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning Siding Cleaning Car Upholstery Cleaners Carpet Cleaners Duct Cleaning Companies Air Duct Cleaning Floor Waxing, Polishing, and Cleaning Companies Furniture Cleaners House Cleaners Janitor Service Lamp Shade Cleaners Maids and Butlers Motor Home - Carpet & Upholstery Cleaning Recreational Vehicles - Carpet & Upholstery Cleaning Steam Cleaning - Automotive Industrial Steam Cleaners Ventilation Cleaners Dryer Vent Cleaning Pressure Washing Companies Pressure Washers Window Shades - Cleaning & Repair

Products & Services

pressure washing, interior vehicle cleaning

Industry Tips
Tips to Ensure Your Summer Party is a Success

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Starshine Cleaning Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After calling Starshine to clean up after water damage due to flooding, and getting a "Yes, we can do that" over the phone, ****** cleaned all of my carpets. When he was done, there was still pools of water, and my carpets and pads were squishy wet! I used my ****** Steam cleaner, and was able to extract an additional 2 GALLONS of water in an area he cleaned that WASN'T EVEN FLOODED. When confronted, his response was simply "hmm". "Yep, that's a lot of water." He still charged me nearly $200, and I was left with the same mess I started with, even worse. After I paid, ****** said "You will have to tear out all of your carpet and padding and dry it out." I spent the next 8 hours extracting water from my carpets, and had to tear out two rooms of carpet the next day!

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my money.

Business Response: ******** called me to have her carpets cleaned.  She said one room had gotton rain water on it and wanted to know if I could extract the water from the carpet.  I told her I would have to look at it first.  I don't advertise flood or fire damage nor do I tell people I do that type of work.  When I got to her home she walked me through the home and I told her I could not get the water out of the pad but I could get it out of the carpet.  I gave her a price of $190.00 to clean the carpets.  But she needed to prevacumn the carpets first.  The carpets were filthy and had not been vacumned or cleaned in a very long time.  She said her vacumn was broken.  I usually charge $50.00 to prevacumn but I felt sorry for her because she was obviously struggling financially and I did not add that to the price.  After she agreed to the price I went ahead and cleaned the carpets and vacumned as much water as I could out of the one room that had gotton rain water on it.  I spent over an hour of extra time and effort on her carpet because of how filthy the carpets were and to try and extract as much water as I could for her.  I suggested she call her insurance company and see about having the Flood and Fire pros come out and take care of the one room for her.  

Therefore, because I was honest and up front about everything with her and because of all the extra time and effort I spent on her carpets, without an extra charge,  I don't believe a refund is in order.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The business' response in this situation is not acceptable. When I called to have the "water in the carpets extracted", this was exactly the term I used before even making the appointment, because the cleaner said "yes, he could do that". 

The vacuum had only been broken from the previous night (due to my teenage son accidentally vacuuming an area that was wet), and the carpet, although certainly not new, was filthy in two rooms because of the floodwater. I regularly vacuum, and the extra debris was due to heavy traffic of us moving furniture and other valuables off of the floor to avoid the floodwater. 

He did not offer to pre-vaccuum for $50. This was not mentioned at all. I would have paid for the extra service had I even known about it. 

When the cleaner was done, I was still extracting water from carpet with my AT HOME CARPET STEAMER IN AREAS THAT HAD NOT EVEN FLOODED. In fact, I got ONE GALLON of water alone from the hallway downstairs where floodwater had not been (3.5'x7' area). This was water LEFT BEHIND from the business. He sat on the stairs and WATCHED me do this. I asked him... "What would you think?" His response was "Yeah, that water is really dirty..." I was frustrated, alone, and felt vulnerable and ripped off. I had to spend the rest of the night (over 8 hours) extracting water from the rooms THAT HAD NOT EVEN FLOODED.

The only time he mentioned that I would "probably have to tear out the carpet, and dry out the pad" was long after he had started. 

MY AT HOME ****** does and did a better job at cleaning my carpets than this service. I am not happy at all, feel I was misled, ripped off, and would appreciate a full refund.  

Regards,

******** *********

Business Response: We both spent a lot of time and effort on your carpets.  It does not make sense though that you would call me to have water extracted since I do not advertise for that.  So, let's just split the difference and I will give you half back: $ 95.00. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

When I called, I specifically told you what the problem was. That I had flooding, and needed the water extracted from my carpets. You said you could do this. Even if I had just hired you to simply clean the carpets, you did a miserable job at that as well. I would like a full refund. I spent more time extracting water from carpet that you cleaned, that hadn't even flooded (i.e.: upstairs, downstairs un-flooded rooms) than you spent total in my house. 

Regards,

******** *********

Consumer Response: ********** ********* ******* ********** ***** ******** ********* ********************* ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ********* * ******** *** ******************


So, because I wanted a full refund, you closed the case? The business has offered to refund at least half. If that’s the best I can do, I will take it. Now what??!!

********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Starshine Cleaning Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart