Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

A B C Child Development Centers

Phone: (970) 352-2222 Fax: (970) 352-2220 5000 W 11th St, Greeley, CO 80634

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A B C Child Development Centers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on A B C Child Development Centers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1986 Business started: 03/01/1969 in CO Business started locally: 03/01/1969
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Department of Human Services - Child Care
1575 Sherman St, Denver CO 80203
Phone Number: (303) 866-5958

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Sandra J Bright, President Mr. Steven Benson, BSAC Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Steven Benson, BSAC Director
Principal: Ms. Sandra J Bright, President
Business Category

Child Care Centers Pre-Kindergarten and Kindergarten Schools Educational Organizations

Method(s) of Payment
Visa and Mastercard
Alternate Business Names
SJB Child Development Centers Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A B C Child Development Centers has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5000 W 11th St

    Greeley, CO 80634 (970) 352-2222


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter was attending this daycare. They would never tell me how to enroll her in swimming classes. When I found lice on her they failed to notify the other parents. My bill was a mess. They billed me for times when she wasn't even there, basically padding the bill. I tried to pay my parent fees but the staff didn't know how to take my money. When I complained about the bill I was told that I swore at the staff (untrue) on a day that my daughter was sitting in the school office (also untrue) because they didn't have her. I actually went down there PRAYING that my daughter was with them, when she wasn't supposed to be. But the school had allowed her father who had been excluded from picking her up, pick her up. I was short with the employee, I did interrupt him, I DID NOT SWEAR at him or in front of any children, I DID NOT SWEAR, I believe I said oh my god and where could she be and ran back to the office, which I had just come from. I did apologize to the employee later for interrupting him and being abrupt and not thanking him for helping me. At the time I did that I thought my daughter had been kidnapped, the school did not know where she was and said she went to the daycare. Having Sandy B***** tell people that I swore in front of children and kicking me out because I complained about a bill is very unprofessional. As a teacher in the Greeley School district this could be very damaging to my professional life, especially since it is NOT true.

Desired Settlement: A letter to the parents notifying them that there were lice (I believe my daughters were not caught because there are others that have it, I don't know that she got it there, but if they never notify parents or check it is possible others have it there). A letter of apology including a retraction. My bill cleared up. I will be happy to pay my parent fees which I believe to be $5.76. A statement stating the balance due (which is what I have been trying to get for several months) and a statement that my bill is clear once the parent fees have been paid. I did not swear, I do not swear as a general rule, I don't like to be around people who do. This is a very defamatory statement and extremely untrue. I am a Christian and teacher and I don't believe that is the correct way to act in front of children. The staff even commented on how much they liked my daughter and her knowledge of the Vacation Bible School Songs because we GO to Church and VBS regularly.

Business Response:

***** ***** ****** ************************* *** ************************ ************************ *** ***** **** *********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ********* ** ********* 

A  complaint was filed against our company from ***** ********, who had a child enrolled with one of our B***** School-Age Child Care Centers. As the owner of the company, I had been contacted numerous times about her failure to pay her required DHS parent fees. We are required by the Department of Human Services in our Fiscal Agreement to insure that the parents we accept for subsidized child care adhere to the following contract they have signed with DHS which reads as follows:
     Parental Fee:
a.       I agree to pay the parental fee listed on my child care authorization notice and understand that it is due to the provider on the first day of each month.

b.      I understand that my parental fee is based on my income, household size and number of children in care and is subject to change upon receiving notice from the county.

c.       I understand that if I do not pay this fee to my child care provider I will lose my child care benefits.

d.      I understand that if I request assistance with another child care provider or move to another county and I still owe fees to any previous provider, I will  not receive assistance until satisfactory repayment arrangements have been made with the previous provider.

Each of our child care centers is required to monitor and collect parent fees and to report parents who do not abide by these requirements. This parent, ***** ********, did not pay her fees for March, April, May, or June of this year, 2015 after repeated requests from our staff and collections department. We have email correspondence to support our attempts to get her to honor her parent fee payment requirements, as well as options of where and how to pay, and her email responses with numerous excuses. She received school-age child care for 4½ months without paying one cent. Documentation will be furnished upon request.

We also have signed documentation of Ms. ********’s several profane language assaults to my staff as well as in front of the center’s children. Our policies require appropriate parent behavior in order to remain enrolled in our centers as well. She complains about her child having had lice, and we asked her to make sure it was gone before she brought her back. We checked all of the children and her child was the ONLY child at the center to show up with lice.

This parent was very difficult to deal with.  I personally spoke with her and let her know that I paid her bill in full for her on 7/23/15.

Sandy B*****
President / Programs Director
SJB Child Development Centers Inc.
5000 W 11th Street / Greeley, CO / 80634
******* ***** ******** **** * ***** ***** ********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have been a teacher in our local school district and I did not use profanity in front of the children.  Originally I was told that the principal of my daughter's school told Sandy B***** that I swore in front of the students in the school.  I have spoken to the principal and the principal did not (and is not able) to tell people of our interactions due to confidentiality.   It also didn't happen, at least in front of the principal, Angela K****, although she was with me during a brief part of the search for my daughter, she told me that I did not swear that day and if I had I was allowed because at the time I was speaking to her my daughter was missing and we were searching school grounds for her.  If this had happened, why was I not spoken to about it for three months after the false accusations were made.  If this statement is to be used against me, I believe I have a right to see a copy of it.

I am enclosing a copy of the emails I received from the billing clerk at the day care.  I tried multiple times to correct the over-billing situation.   The daycare billed me for days my daughter wasn't even there and times she wasn't even there, like on June 12, when she was picked up before 9:30am but I was billed for a full day.  I have offered multiple times to bring payment over or mail it, but I have never been given a number that I can pay, only the over-billed number that I don't owe.  Even Human Services agrees that I shouldn't have to pay for the over-billing.  I have mailed a check for my parental fees, if it has not been received, or is not the correct amount, I need to know.  I do not want to pay over the phone due to the lack of the daycare to keep my bill straight.  I don't feel it would be wise to give them my credit card number.

The billing practices of this company are suspect, the ability to have my issues addressed have gone unaddressed.  Days that should not have been billed and I was told were to be taken off my bill were not.  In the end, months after all this began (January) when I complained to the owner of the company she began to defame me.  She made up untrue stories about what happened and lied about me.  She also lied about what was happening at her daycare.  I have been told by other people that children in most, if not all of the daycare locations have lice now.  I know of two locations for sure.  My daughter was also being bullied.  Sandy said she was there one day and found no bullying, I happen to know at least one of the children responsible was not there on that day because I know the child's mother.  The bullying has been an issue in other venues, but instead of dealing with it, I was fired by the owner of the business. 

I have told the billing contact that as a teacher I will not be paid again until 9/30.  I was attending a class this summer and I told her I would pay the balance on September 30th.  Sandy B***** also commented on the fact that my parental fee is so low, it is based on my income, because I have not made much money over the last year and my parental fee is only 96 cents.  I was in a training class this summer which lowered my income further.  I had no income last month at all (July) in June it was 50% of May which was about average through the year.  I currently qualify for **** (Aid to needy families).  My daughter's father has not paid child support in 4 years, I have not had to use daycare much in the past 7 years I just recently began to work in a position in which I needed child care, but it wasn't well paying.  

I had to turn down a job that started yesterday because I only need child care for 10 minutes before school and 10 minutes after school.  I couldn't find a suitable daycare to transport my child to and from her school.  ABC operates a location at my daughter's school.  It was a good position which would have caused me to loose my food benefits, child care, medicaid and **** benefits, but because I didn't have child care I remain unemployed.  The one daycare that could transport my daughter has a waiting list and so hopefully I will find a job when she hits the top of the list.   But until then I lost a job that would have paid $3000 a month.  This job was lost due to an unethical business owner who spreads rumors about her customer's breaking their confidentiality and slandering their reputation. 

If in fact there is a statement I have a right to see it, I don't belive it exists.  I am enclosing the emails, even the last one that said they were not demanding payment and suddenly when I complained I was reported to Human Services. 

****** ********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on A B C Child Development Centers
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart