Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Active Communications

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 328-9200 Fax: (970) 328-9295 332 Grand Ave, Eagle, CO 81631 http://www.visitactive.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Active Communications is one of the largest independent AT&T Authorized Retailer on the Western Slope of Colorado with six locations; Dillon, Edwards, Eagle, Glenwood Springs, Rifle, and Now Open in Aspen.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Active Communications meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Active Communications include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Active Communications
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 1996 Business started: 05/01/1996 Business started locally: 05/01/1996
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Anita Denboske, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Anita Denboske, President/Owner
Business Category

Cell Phone Stores Telephone Communication Companies Cell Phone & Tablet Equipment, Supplies & Repair Mobile Phone Equipment Suppliers Mobile Phone Services

Products & Services

Active Communications sells the following brand(s): AT&T

Active Communications offers the following product(s): Cell Phones

Refund and Exchange Policy
- See stores for details -
Products & Services

AT&T, iPhone, BlackBerry, Motorola, Samsung, Nokia, LG, Sony Ericsson, Pantech, Panasonic, HTC


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Active Communications has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 20 Market Street, Unit A

    Glenwood Spgs, CO 81601 (970) 947-1250

  • 300 Puppy Smith St Ste 203

    Aspen, CO 81611 (970) 429-8550

  • 324 Dillon Ridge Way, Unit F

    Dillon, CO 80435 (970) 262-3700

  • 332 Grand Ave

    Eagle, CO 81631

  • 56 Edwards Village Blvd Unit 127

    Edwards, CO 81632 (970) 926-3811

  • PO Box 5945

    Eagle, CO 81631

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this experience was so absolutely horrible that I had to share it to hopefully prevent this from happening to someone else. My husband has perfect credit and was turned into collections for a debt that doesn't even exist without so much as a phone call from this company. They "supposedly" sent one letter to us, but we never received one. When I asked her why she didn't try to call us she just became combative and defensive. The owner of this business turned my husband into collections for $594 for an I phone that we already paid a reduced fee of $200 for. She stated that she has to charge us the $594 because that is what **** charged her for us canceling our contract 2 weeks shy of the 6 months that we agreed to. Her sales staff also failed to mention that even when we cancelled the phone line that we would be charged a termination fee even if we had cancelled on or after the 6 month minimum. In reality, the sales person failed to communicate that to us. I complained to **** corporate, they waived the cancelation fee, and I am assuming that it caused a problem for her. Maybe she lost her commision on it...I don't really know. I tried to explain to her that her sales staff did not explain things properly to us. She proceeded to tell me that it didn't m***er because she has a signed contract and that I needed to listen better. I spoke to **** after I spoke to her , and **** told me that was not the way that it worked. She was not charged for the equipment or penalized in any way for me canceling my contract. They also said that I should not be getting charged for that. I confronted this person about her unethical sales tactics and unprofessional behavior, she proceeded to personally insult me and combat everything I was saying. So not only does she expect me to pay a total $794 for a $594 phone, but she was insulting me and and proceeded to tell me to make payment arrangements with the collection company as if I was degenerate menace to society before hanging up on me, on top of it! She heard absolutely nothing that I said and just proceeded to defend all of it...even her nasty behavior and ***itude. Speaking to her was so upsetting that it triggered an anxiety ***ack for me. This was hands down the WORST experience that I have ever had with a business and probably the most traumatic encounters that I have had with a business owner. It was absolutely terrible from start to finish. The really sad thing about this situation is that it has made me NEVER want to deal with a small business again. At least If I make a purchase with a corporation there will be standards that the company has to abide by.

Desired Settlement: I would like for her to apologize for the way she treated me and speak to me like I'm a human being rather than a lower life form. I would also appreciate if she withdrew the charge from the collection agency that she turned him into. It should not have gone to collections to begin with because she didn't even try to communicate that there was a debt prior to turning it into collections.

Business Response:

***** ***** ******** ***************** *** ******************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** ***** ** ******** *** *** ********* ********  ****** ** *** ********* *** ********

On 11/5/2013, Customer ******* ****** purchased a **** **** ****** ** at the discounted price of 99.99 + tax ($105.79). Signed Invoice ***ached.   As per the signed agreement, Active gave Mr. ****** a discount of $450.00 on the equipment with the expressed agreement that he keep the service active for 180 days.

On 11/29/13, Customer ******* ****** purchased a second ******, this time a ***** **, on the phone # ************ at the discounted price of 199.99 + tax ($211.59). Signed Invoice ***ached. Again as per the signed agreement, Mr. ****** agreed to keep the phone active for at least 180 days (6 months) or pay Active back the discounted amount of the device, $450.00.

The terms of the Active Communications agreement reads:

Two Year Contracts - Additional Discount Reimbursement Equipment Agreement:

On two (2) year contract agreements; if you cancel service within the 14 day return period, but do not return the equipment within the return period, Active Communications will charge you an amount equal to the difference between the retail/no commitment price of the
equipment and the price you paid for the equipment.  If you cancel service within the first 6 months (180 calendar days) or make changes to your account that causes a change to your contract, including, but not limited to; equipment replacement, service
cancellation, account modifications, change of responsibility, phone number changes, service suspension or non-payment, Active Communications will charge you an amount equal to the difference between the retail/no-commitment price of the equipment and the
price you paid for the equipment. This discounted amount is reflected on the invoice.

Collections:
If for any reason any amounts due Active Communications require additional collection action or have to be placed with a collection service, I agree to pay a $50 collection fee, plus ***orney fees and interest at the rate of 1.5% per month.

Guaranty:
I represent that I am legally authorized to sign on behalf of the wireless line account holder, and I agree to be jointly responsible, with the account holder for payment of any sums that become due under this Agreement. I agree you can collect directly from me in addition
to the account holder.

I understand the Discount Reimbursement Equipment Fee is in addition to ****’s Early Termination Fee and **** cannot waive this Discount Reimbursement Equipment Fee. This additional agreement is with Active Communications and the Discount Reimbursement
Equipment Fee is owed directly to Active Communications separate and above any other cancellation fees charged by ****.

I have reviewed and agree to the rates, terms, and conditions for the wireless products and services described in the Customer Service Summary (including Limitation of Liability and Arbitration provisions) and Active Communication’s Terms and Conditions.

Each time the customer signed the agreement and was given a written copy of the invoice/contract.  The customer gave us the address of  **** ******* **** ** ********* *******  *****.

In early July of 2014, **** notified Active that line ************ had canceled 5/17/14, and that this was within 180 days, so it caused a “chargeback” to Active for the full price of the phone. Phones not staying active for at least 180 days do not qualify for equipment discounts. Incidentally, the phone she purchased on 11/5/13 was outside of the 180 days mark and we did not receive a “chargeback” for that device.

On 7/11/14, we sent a collection letter to the customer at the ******* address provided to us during the activation and purchase of the phone. We did not receive the letter back as non-deliverable, nor did we hear back from the customer regarding the request for payment.

In 11/13/2014, after waiting a full 120 days for a response from the customer, we submitted the unpaid invoice for collections to a collection agency.  As per our signed agreement, we added an additional $50 collection fee.  

On December 5th the customer ******* ****** call the Active Edwards and spoke to ******* ******, the store manager. Following are the notes from that interaction  - CUSTOMER ******* ****** CALLED TODAY BECAUSE HE WAS SENT TO COLLECTIONS AND WANTS TO KNOW WHY. I EXPLAINED TO HIM THAT HE HAD PURCHASED A PHONE FROM US AND THAT *** NOTIFIED US THAT HE HAD CANCELLED WITH IN 6 MONTHS. I ALSO REMINDED HIM THAT HE HAD SIGNED A CONTRACT WITH US IN WHICH HE AGREED TO PAY BACK THE DISCOUNTED PRICE OF THE PHONE WHICH WAS $450, SHOULD HE CANCEL PRIOR TO 180 DAYS. HE ASKED WHY HE WAS GETTING COLLECTED FOR $500 AND I EXPLAINED I SENT HIM A COLLECTION LETTER IN JULY STATING IF HE DIDN'T RESPOND WITH IN 10 DAYS WE WOULD CHARGE $50 COLLECTION FEE. HE STATED HE NEVER RECEIVED A LETTER FROM US. I CHECKED THE SYSTEM AND IT WAS NOT RETURNED. I GAVE HIM THE ADDRESS WE HAD ON FILE AND HE WASN'T SURE WHY WE HAD THAT ADDRESS ON FILE. HE DOESN'T LIVE THERE. I EXPLAINED IF HE WANTED TO PAY DIRECTLY TO US I COULD SPEAK TO MY BOSS ABOUT IT AND MAYBE TAKE OFF THE $50 COLLECTION FEE. HE SAID HE WAS GOING TO CALL *** AND SEE WHERE THE CONFUSION WAS. I EXPLAINED TO HIM THAT *** WOULD NOT HAVE THIS IN THEIR SYSTEM BECAUSE TO CONTRACT WAS MADE DIRECTLY WITH ACTIVE COMMUNUNICATIONS, AN AUTHORIZED RETAILER, AND THE COLLECTION IS WITH ACTIVE AND NOT ***. HE SAID TO MAKE A NOTE THAT HE WAS GOING TO TAKE CARE OF IT BUT HE WOULD CALL BACK TO LET ME KNOW WHEN.

LATER HIS WIFE ***** CALLED WANTING TO SPEAK TO ME ABOUT THIS ISSUE BUT I WAS WITH A CUSTOMER, **** ASKED IF SHE COULD HELP AND SHE SAID SHE WAS GOING TO CALL ***.  **** ADVISED TO CALL ***** IN EAGLE BUT SHE COULDN'T TAKE DOWN THE NUMBER BECAUSE SHE WAS DRIVING. SHE SAID SHE WOULD LOOK IT UP AND HUNG UP. SHE WAS FAIRLY UPSET, MUCH MORE THAN *******.   ISSUE NOT RESOLVED

The customers wife, ***** ****** then called and spoke to me. d I explained the 180 days cut-off that we adhere to. She asked why **** didn’t tell her that she would have to pay for these charges when she cancelled, and I explained that the contract for the discount on the device was separate and in addition to the contract they signed with ****, so that is why the **** rep would not have known about the contract they signed with Active.  She explained that the reason that she didn’t get my collection notice was because I sent it to their parent’s home in *******, (the address where she was sending her phone bills). However, she said that the parents didn’t forward them the collection letter.   The more I tried to explain the contract to the customer, the more upset she got. I really wanted to help for her and I offered to take the phones back and give her a credit toward the bill for whatever the phones would bring in trade-in value and she didn’t want to trade-in  the phones. I offered to talk to the collection agency about accepting payments, for which she took offense, thinking I was trying to insinuate that she couldn’t pay her bills. I could see that no m***er how I tried to help her, that it had turned into a point of pride for her and anything less than writing off the debt and letting her keep the phones was not going to satisfy her.  My staff followed all the rules and explained the terms to the customer, not once, but twice. We sent the collection notification to the address the customer provided.  The customer agreed to the terms when they got the phones and signed the agreement.  Our invoice is a valid charge.

In the desired settlement the customer indicated she would like an apology and I would be happy to apologize if I hurt her feelings, it was never my intention to do that.  It is evident that the customer is very upset about the incident, and I empathize, no one likes to be turned to a collection agency. The customer has spoken out quite a bit on social media sites, and I have refrained from answering her there and embarrassing her any more by placing a spotlight on the fact that she was turned to a collection agency for a failure to pay a bill.  I fear that she really believes that this dispute is personal, for which I would like to assure her that it is not.  It is a dispute over a signed agreement between two parties, cell phone contracts can confusing for some, and that is why we require a signed agreements in the first place.  
***** ********
Active Communications – **** Authorized Retailer
Dillon-Edwards-Eagle-Glenwood Springs-Aspen
** ************ ** ************

3 ***achments 

Preview ***achment SaleInvoiceEDWARIN28230.pdf

PDF
SaleInvoiceEDWARIN28230.pdf
Preview ***achment SaleInvoiceEDWARIN27767.pdf

PDF
SaleInvoiceEDWARIN27767.pdf
Preview ***achment *************7 11 14.doc

Word
*************7 11 14.doc

Click here to Reply or Forward

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Ms. ******** is still failing to understand that the way that she spoke to me is completely unacceptable. In her response, she claims that she attempted to be helpful,  when in reality, she was anything but helpful. It has absolutely nothing to do with me taking it personally or having "hurt feelings". She insulted me multiple times while speaking to me. She said "You need to listen better!" and "That's what everyone that gets turned into collections says!" Also, she did not offer to help set up payments with the collection agency on my behalf. She rudely suggested that I make payments to the collection agency before hanging up on me. She also fails to understand that it was not the fact that it was turned into collections, but the fact that there was no effort made to contact me or my husband before doing so. I believe she has access to both of our phone numbers and could have contacted either of us at any time in regards to this matter. But instead, she chose to assume that the one collection letter that she supposedly sent out to us had been received. As far her sparing me embarrassment is concerned, I don't feel that I have anything to be embarrassed about. I still strongly feel that this matter was handled in an unethical way and was unjustly turned into a collection agency. I would just her to acknowledge that and take responsibility for her behavior and actions. If she can not do that, then this will not be resolved.

Regards,

***** ******