BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Absolute Flooring?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Absolute Flooring

Phone: (307) 778-3173 Fax: (307) 778-2813 3573 E Lincolnway # G-2, Cheyenne, WY 82001

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business is a full service carpet and floor retailer.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Absolute Flooring meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Absolute Flooring include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Absolute Flooring include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Absolute Flooring
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 30, 2011 Business started: 09/01/2011 Business started locally: 09/01/2011
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Lee Goepfert, Owner Ms. Roseline Goepfert, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lee Goepfert, Owner
Business Category

Carpet Stores Carpet & Rug Pads, Linings & Accessories Floor Materials Vinyl Flooring Suppliers Flooring Retailers Linoleum Dealers Non-ceramic Tile Stores Carpet And Rug Distributors Natural Stone Suppliers Carpet & Rug Measuring Ceramic Tile Companies Hardwood Floors


Additional Locations

  • 3573 E Lincolnway # G-2

    Cheyenne, WY 82001 (307) 778-3173

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Absolute Flooring was supposed to come and fixe my floor under warrenty with congolium through there warranty with bad grout. Congolium paid them Absolute flooring was supposed to come and fix the grout that was bad in my floor. It was placed in latter 2007 and the grout has cracks in it. ****** has refused to fix it and congolium paid him to fix it and now he refused to do it. It was placed by ************ and Absoult Flooring took it over and the worked on it twice and the last time the repair person was here for 15 min and said I can't fix this and left. It has to be cut out and replace and they new that. I have been working with ************** from Congolium and she said they sent him what to do and now he refused to do it being it was placed by carpet works but they have been here twice this year and looked at it. I feel they do not stand behind there work. Mrs ******* told me to find another person to do the work being Absolute told me he would not do it any more. Congolium sent me a lettler saying they would give me $200 and I can not get it fixed for this. The last person that came and messed up the floor messed up my cubords on the bottom and I had to resand and stain and varnish it he was here for 15 min. They tryed to go over the grout but they have to cut it out and replace it. All I want is it fixed and the said I put something down on it so they could not do there job. They tryed to go over the old grout and I know they could not do this so am not pleased with them just fix it ok

Desired Settlement: Get it fixed or replace it so its right that all

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/11/03) */ Per Case XXXXXXXX: Complaintant had a Duraceramic floor (by Congolium) installed on January 4-5, 2008 by ****** of Cheyenne, Inc., a company that shut down on September 1, 2011. I was employed by ****** at that time & was the complaintant's sales person. At some time after the installation he complained about the grout cracking. I cannot be sure of the time frame as the records belonging to ****** which were made available to me make no mention of the complaint. However I do know that each time the complaintant called, the information was passed on to Mr. ****************., the owner/manager of ******. It was his responsibility to make sure the issue was being handled, which it is apparent he didn't. When ****** shut down, it caught us all by surprise. At that point my wife & I decided to approach the bank holding ******' assets to see if we could purchase them & start a new company. We opened up on October 1, 2011 as Absolute Flooring, a company not associated in any way with ****** and therefore not liable for any disputes connected with them. On the advice of our lawyer we were instructed not to handle any ****** complaints due to liability issues. However when the complaintant called and said no one was handling his issue I contacted the original installer, who had been a direct employee of ****** at the time of installation,and asked him if he would inspect the floor. His report back to me was that there was some grout repair needed but that he would charge us to do the job. As Absolute Flooring could not take on that liability our hands were tied. Subsequently the complaintant contacted Congolium with his problem and Congolium contacted me. They said the complaintant had an issue with "a few" grout lines & asked if we would be willing to do the repair needed. After expressing our liability concerns, the following was agreed upon: Congolium would supply 1 gallon of grout to the complaintant to be sent to Absolute Flooring. Congolium would also credit Absolute Flooring's account with $150 and they would find an independent subcontractor willing to make said repairs (independant of Absolute Flooring) for $150. When the subcontractor arrived at complaintant's house, he and his helper found the job to be more massive than Congolium led us to believe it was. Not only did every grout line need repaired but further, the tiles were installed with a pattern which created many more grout lines than a straight installation. The subcontractor made an attempt to grout over the existing lines only to find he could not do that with this product and that all the grout would have to be removed & replaced. The subcontractor left the job sight and soon after, the complaintant entered our store to express his displeasure with the whole situation. I then proceeded to contact ***** at Congolium Claims to tell her that the job was not at all what we had agreed to. She said she would have to contact someone to reevaluate what needed to be done. That was my last contact with Congolium. The complaintant has since been in touch with ***** (according to his records) and as he indicated in his complaint Congolium has asked him to find someone else to fix the problem & offered him $200 to pay the installer but as he expressed, no one is willing to do it for that amount. As I have tried to explain to the complaintant several times Absolute Flooring and ****** are two separate entities and as such Absolute Flooring has no liabilities concerning the original installation. However we did attempt at the request of Congolium to try and help as much as we legally could, but to no avail. Further, the complaintant maintains we had been informed that the existing grout would have to be removed. This information was never relayed to us. Since the scope of the work to be done far exceeds anything Absolute Flooring or the subcontractor agreed to, we will take no further action on this job. Although we feel for the complaintant (and he is not the only one with unresolved issues with ******) Absolute Flooring cannot legally take any further action on this issue due to liability concerns. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2012/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was told by all the flooring in Cheyenne Wy that if they come in and try do the grout they would be responsible for the floor Absolute flooring has been in here at least twice and worked on this floor and I feel they are the one's now responsable for the floor. When I call and left a message for ****** he never call back or got back to me so he just dumped the problem and I also feel that congolium is part of the blame. I don't care if they had to come and take the hole floor up and redo it. But being Absolute was the last to mess it up they should be responsible for the floor no matter what they say and the rest of the companys here in Cheyenne I call said they would be reponsible for the floor if the were to come and do the floor which I do understand. So Absolute is still responsible for the floor and the last person he sent out was rude and very unhelpfull and mess up every thing. Congolium told me thay sent out what has to be done when they redo the floor like take out the old grout and replace it. I feel that ****** know this and they sent instuctions to do the floor the right way so Absolute is wrong and so is Congolim. They (Absolute and ******) have been messing with the floor from 2009. Still is bad and not getting any better. Congolium pad ****** to do a job and ****** told me $100 all the paid and Congolium said $150 also the person that came and tryed to do the floor said he was paid $100 and could not do it for that. I did call Pat at Congolium back when they tryed to buy me off for $200 and and a bid of $300 to $400 so I stand the loss for the floor. Congolium agreed to redo the floor bid but never a call from any one Just would like to have it done right Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2012/11/10) */ Complainant says he has talked to all the flooring stores in Cheyenne & they all told him if they went out to handle this situation they would be responsible for the floor. However I question whether he gave them all the facts or just the details as he sees them. As was stated in my last response ****** of Cheyenne Inc., NOT Absolute Flooring, made the original installation of complainant's floor. Therefore all issues with said floor fall back on ****** if the issue was labor related or Congoleum if it is material related. Since ****** went bankrupt in September of 2011 & is therefore not in a position to fulfill their labor warranty, any relief complainant seeks falls to Congoleum. Once again to clarfy Absolute Flooring's part in this situation,Congoleum contacted our store seeking to help complainant solve his grout problem. They asked if we could accept a gallon of grout for the complainant's floor and if we could also find a sub-contractor willing to go over and repair the grout lines that needed repaired. Aboslute Flooring was acting soley as an agent for Congoleum as they had no way to find a sub-contractor for this job without our help. At no time did I agree to do this under the name of Absolute Flooring. The sub-contractor was paid in cash $100 and his helper $50, both standard minimum charges for such work. As for the complainant's claim that we knew in advance the extent of repair needed, its obvious that since no one else wants to do this for less than $300-$400, we had no information to relay to the sub-contractor who agreed to handle the repair that the floor needed such extensive work. As for complainant's claim that since Absolute Flooring was the last to "mess up his floor" we should be responsible for fixing it, once again I point to the fact that our only involvement here was contacting a sub-contractor for Congolem. Neither he nor his helper are directly employed by Absolute Flooring. The reason the sub-contractor left a portion of the floor "a mess" was because once he saw the floor was going to need much more work, he left it knowing Congoleum was going to have to get someone back in there to effect proper repairs. It was at this time I was in contact with Congoleum explaining how much more work needed to be done at the job site and was told they would have to get someone over there to examine the complainant's floor further. Lastly complainant says Absolute Flooring has been in there twice to do work on his floor. This just is not true. Any repair that may have been done was handled by sub-contactors previously used by ****** at the time they were still in business. The only time after Absolute Flooring opened its doors that someone was sent to complainant's home was when I contacted the sub-contractor who originally installed his floor for ****** and he is the one who told me he would do the repair but that I would have to pay him since ****** was no longer in business. As I stated in my previous response, I feel bad that ****** never lived up to their responsibility to repair the complainant's floor, but since Absolute Flooring is not ******, we cannot take on the liability for this floor. We have done everything we told Congoleum we would do for them based on the information they gave to us and should they contact us to help them further, we will repectfully decline. Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2012/11/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I feel like the contractors that have been here will not do anything, they do not want to be responsible for the floor if they come in and Absolute was here last or sent some one out last. Absolute told me when I talked to ****** he would not do the floor and was going to call congolem and talk to them but did refuse to do the floor. I will have to replace all the floor I feel and the contractors that have been here told me they say the grout will not mach with the old so I guess this case is closed and Absolute will not stand behind what they got paid for from congolem and there warranty is not good So the bad floor is mine and they get paid and I suffer with a bad floor. Thanks for no help like I said case closed and will have to replace it all on my own ****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1