Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

First National Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 482-4861 Fax: (970) 482-4738 View Additional Phone Numbers 205 W Oak St, Fort Collins, CO 80521 http://www.1stnationalbank.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that First National Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for First National Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on First National Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1934 Business started locally: 01/01/1934
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Banking- Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1175, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/banking/index.htm
Phone Number: (303) 894-7575

Business Management
Ms. Arlett Brooks, Corporate Compliance
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Arlett Brooks, Corporate Compliance
Business Category

Banks Loans Real Estate Loan Companies Mortgage Brokers Financial Services Financing Consultants

Alternate Business Names
1st National Bank
Industry Tips
Banking on Savings Financial Professionals Defined

Additional Locations

  • 100 Johnstown Center Dr

    Johnstown, CO 80534

  • 112 S Denver Ave

    Fort Lupton, CO 80621

  • 1450 N Boyd Lake Ave

    Loveland, CO 80538

  • 1505 Main St

    Windsor, CO 80550 (970) 356-7000

  • 1600 N College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524

  • 1701 23rd Ave

    Greeley, CO 80634

  • 201 W Olive St

    Fort Collins, CO 80521

  • 205 W Oak St

    Fort Collins, CO 80521

  • 2100 West Drake Rd

    Fort Collins, CO 80526 (970) 482-4861

  • 301 First St

    Kersey, CO 80644

  • 4100 Harrison Ave

    Wellington, CO 80549

  • 4603 S Timberline Rd

    Fort Collins, CO 80528

  • 750 N Lincoln Ave

    Loveland, CO 80537

  • 920 54th Ave

    Greeley, CO 80634

  • CSU Lory Student Center

    Fort Collins, CO 80523

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $1200 to have a *** tax credit added to my mortgage in May 2015. I went to file my 2015 taxes and found that they had never filed paperwork for my tax credit certificate. I have now paid $1200 that I have never been refunded and am ineligible for the tax credit which would have provided tax benefits for the next 30 years of my mortgage. When I contacted 1st National Bank I was not able to speak to anyone regarding the issue but did leave a voicemail with Jana F** *******. She responded with a curt email stating she was aware of the problem but had not notified me of the issue when it was discovered. This is not the first issue I have encountered working with Mrs. B*****. When selecting a loan she had provided me with a loan cost worksheet. Once I selected the loan from the information she had provided we began to move forward with the loan process. I received in the mail paperwork for a loan that did not match the terms outlined in the loan cost worksheet she had provided. It took many phone calls and emails to get a response from her regarding this discrepancy which she stated she had input information into her system incorrectly and was not able to provide the terms we had discussed. I feared I would not be able to move forward with the purchase of my new home if I were to begin the lending process with another company and agreed to the higher rate which she provided. Not once did Mrs. B***** take accountability for her actions in misinforming me or her data entry error. Mrs B***** also caused us to push back closing and was unable to provide information related to closing until hours before closing. Mrs. B*****'s correspondence during this process are rude and borderline unprofessional and I have records to support this. I was given the opportunity to complete a satisfaction survey from 1st National Bank after closing and gave honest feedback regarding my negative experience working with Jana F** ****** and never received any follow up regarding my dissatisfaction.

Desired Settlement: To resolve this issue I would ideally like to have the tax credit certificate issued. If this is no longer possible I need a full refund for the money paid for the tax credit certificate. In addition to either of these outcomes I would like a formal apology from Jana F** ****** for her part in this issue and her conduct and contact information for another 1st National Bank Loan Officer to contact regarding any other issues in the future.

Business Response: First National Bank
Centerra Office
1450 N. Boyd Lake Ave Loveland, CO 80538
970.494.5360

February 26, 2016

Better Business Bureau 
Attention: ***** *****
8020 S. County Rd 5, Ste 100 Fort Collins, CO 80528

Re: Case # ********

Dear Ms. *****,
 
 
I am writing you on behalf of First National Bank of Omaha (FNBO), in response to the complaint Ms. ***** ****** submitted to the Better Business Bureau on January 30th 2016. The complaint was received on February 9th 2016. It appears Ms. ****** was upset about her interaction with her Loan Originator and expressed concern regarding her Mortgage Credit Certificate (***). I would like to address each of her concerns individually. 

The concern surrounding the Mortgage Credit Certificate was brought to our attention on January 29' 2016. Up to that point, we had no indication that the certificate had not been issued as previously arranged. Ms. ******'s Loan Originator immediately made contact with several employees within the bank to find out who could assist in clearing up the delay as quickly as possible. As the certificate is issued by ******** ******* ******* ********* (****) and not by FNBO, we worked directly with **** to determine exactly what was needed to have the *** issued to Ms. ******. By Wednesday, February 3, 2016 the *** was issued by ****. This was confirmed via e-mail to Ms. ****** on this same day. Additionally, the **** underwriter notified Ms. ****** on February 3,2016, of the *** issue being resolved and the certificate being placed in the mail. 

Regarding the final interest rate, our records show that Ms. ****** originally locked in her interest rate on April 6, 2015 at 3.875% paying .25% discount for a total of $460.75. On April 7, 2015 the rate was relocked at 4.125% with a credit of 1.125% for a total amount of $2,073.38. As Ms. ****** did not have sufficient cash to close, the higher rate option with a large discount provided her opportunity to lower the amount of cash required at closing. Ms. ******'s Good Faith Estimate and Settlement Statement will be mail to her under separate cover for her review. 

In regards to Ms. ******'s interaction with the Loan Originator, we appreciate Ms. ****** bringing her concerns to our attention. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this has caused and that our service did not meet her expectations. We strive to provide our customers with respectful, friendly service in a timely and thorough manner. We are also committed to making improvements when needed to ensure we treat our customers in a manner that shows we value their business and time. We will use this as a training opportunity for our loan originators. 

From reviewing the loan file details, our record show the Loan Originator provided multiple Loan Cost Worksheets to Ms. ****** for numerous different Loan Programs. The Loan Cost Worksheets were generated in an effort to provide Ms. ****** as much information about the different loan options available to her. Additionally, there were multitude of e-mails between Ms. ****** and her Loan Originator confirming there were efforts to keep an open line of communication. However, Ms. ****** has requested the contact information of another Loan Originator at FNBO to assist her with any future needs or concerns and I have provided my information accordingly. 

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to address Ms. ******'s concerns.   Ms. ****** can reach out to me directly with any additional questions or concerns that may arise. 

Gary V****** 
Managing Director, Home Mortgage Division First National Bank 
************* *****************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on First National Bank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)