Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

VDR Foreign Auto Repair

Phone: (307) 721-2984 Fax: (307) 742-2206 1413 S 2nd St, Laramie, WY 82070 http://vdrforeignautorepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that VDR Foreign Auto Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for VDR Foreign Auto Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on VDR Foreign Auto Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 18, 1999 Business started: 06/28/1992
Business Management
Ms. Debbie Rieger, Partner/Owner Mr. Bob Van De Rostyne, Partner/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debbie Rieger, Partner/Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Restoration

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

VDR Foreign Auto Repair has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1413 S 2nd St

    Laramie, WY 82070 (307) 721-2984

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received repairs from VDR over Christmas break and the beginning of summer, neither of them fixed my car. Over Christmas break I paid for new gaskets and a thermostat. The summer repair was to replace the water pump and a break sensor. Since neither repairs fixed my car, I took my car to the **** Dealership in **** *******, ********. The **** Dealership did a tune-up and told me I need new gaskets, a thermostat and a water pump. These are all repairs I paid VDR for. The VDR secretary told me that VDR has an Ebay website and sells used parts. I soon became suspicious that VDR was taken good parts off my car or having me pay for new parts to resell them over the internet. I have papers from both VDR calming what they fixed and ****** estimates.

Desired Settlement: I would like VDR to pay the **** Dealership to fix my car, since I paid about the same amount to VDR that **** was going to charge me.

Business Response: BBB Complaint ID ********

We are unclear as to what problem was not fixed by our repairs as every time the vehicle (2001 **** **) was in our shop it was for a different problem. We are wondering what kind of problem the customer had that caused him to consult with the **** dealership in *** *******. Was the car overheating, was the water pump leaking, was a check engine light on, & also which gaskets are needing replaced? We have not spoken to this customer in regards to having problems with the thermostat or water pump. If this customer did contact our shop on 10/13/14 he did not identify himself or let us know that he was having problems with previous repairs. We offer a 12 month warranty in our shop so the thermostat & water pump which were replaced by our shop on 5/23/14 would be replaced again free. We have not seen the vehicle since it was last in our shop on 7/29/14. If the customer did have the dealership in *** ******* replace the thermostat & water pump we would need those parts back so we could get them warranted through our supplier. 

If we could get more information regarding the customer's concern & a copy of the estimate from the dealership we would be able to answer this complaint more completely. We will again emphasize that we have a 12 month warranty at our shop for any repairs & would be more than happy to honor this warranty. 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The reason I went down to the **** dealership because I was not satisfied with the air bag sensor being replaced, which was in July. This was the third repair I was unhappy about because of unsatisfactory work and my car not working properly after paying for repairs. After it was fixed at VDR, they were unable to clear the computer safe code,which kept the air bags in the same position before it was fixed.  Which, what was the point of paying to have it replaced, if they even replaced it? Because of the broken air bag sensor I now also need new suspension, the estimate to replace that was around $1,500. I feel VDR should also pay for that because of negligent repairs now costing me more money.  The **** dealership estimate also includes a gasket set and another gasket. I paid for two gaskets at the start of summer so I would believe that is the gasket set. So the gasket set should also be under a one year warranty. I also don’t understand while the other was not replaced since gaskets are cheap but the labor to replace them is the expensive part. I prefer to not have VDR work on my car again. I feel, I have gave them three chances in fixing my car,while none of them were satisfactory. I am leaving to grad school soon, so I need a reliable car. I believe VDR won't be able to do that.  I also paid for new parts, so I find it strange that all my parts stopped working in such a short period of time since **** parts are some of the best manufactured in the world.

Regards,

******* ********

Business Response: BBB Complaint ********  – 2nd Response 11/18/14

I am sending copies of all the invoices for this customer. Please note that we never worked
on the same issue more than once. Once more our question is what problem did
not get fixed?

Without estimates or evaluations from the **** dealership we would need to see the
vehicle again to determine what the problem is with the thermostat & water
pump & which gaskets are having a problem. Considering that there are
hundreds of gaskets on a vehicle we would need to know which specific gaskets
are having a problem. If it is the valve cover gasket then of course it would
be covered under warranty. If the **** dealership replaced the spark plugs they
might have thought the valve cover was leaking (again/still) because the valve
cover gasket had been leaking oil into the spark plug tubes before we replaced
it. The oil may have still been in the tubes because since we did not replace
the spark plugs we did not clean the oil out of the spark plug tubes.

As far as the height sensor issue we replaced the sensor because that is what code we
were getting from the computer. We usually start with a sensor rather than
replacing the computer first because of how expensive the computers are.
Replacing the sensor would not have damaged the suspension computer (assuming
that this is what the customer is referring to as needing a new suspension).
There is a note on Invoice stating that the suspension light would not reset
& that the problem was likely the suspension computer. So in a sense this
was the first repair we did that did not correct the problem that the car was
brought in for.

In conclusion we still need more information to be able to fully answer this
complaint.

See copies of attached invoices. Note will be attaching additional invoice as program was only allowing 4 attachments

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Here is the **** estimate
Regards,

******* ********

Business Response:

Please see attachment for response.

Business Response: 

BBB Complaint ******** 3rd Response 11/25/14
Thank you for the estimate of parts needed, but what we need is a copy of the diagnosis of the problem. We will complete warranty work at no charge to the customer. Also please see the disclaimer signed with each invoice. This notice states that “Warranty work has to be done at our shop and cannot exceed the original cost of repair”.  It is not a hardship for the customer to bring the car back to us since he lives in Laramie. We do not feel that we had failed to fix any problem at the end of any appointment, except for the suspension light. The car never had to be brought back to redo a concern or repair. So we believe the customer is being unreasonable as to refusing to allow us to do the warranty work.

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The dealership never gave me a diagnosis paper. When I signed the receipt , each time I was under the impression my car was fixed properly. I would like to bring my car back to get it replaced under warranty but I paid for four separate repairs. Out of those four repairs, four parts/things went wrong, that is 100 percent failure. I would have at least gave VDR the benefit of the doubt if it was 50 percent or less, but it’s not.  When I first went to VDR, I told them I am moving soon and need a reliable car at any cost. (Which in retrospect was a mistake to say) I took my car back to VDR because I thought they were fixing it properly each time. When my car still had problems after about a year, I was upset and wanted someone else besides VDR to take a look at my car. After I went to the **** Dealership, I was surprised to see that the things I paid for at VDR needed replaced in such a short time. **** makes some of the best parts so four part failures is hard to believe, so I believe it is mistakes on VDR's part. Also with VDR’s used part Ebay store, how do I know that I was not being scammed with good parts being taken off my car and sold? Now that we have had this dispute, I feel like VDR will be more negligent with repairs. I just want my car to be fixed, and feel VDR can’t accomplish that.   I am sorry but I rather have a safe, reliable car and I am not being unreasonable for wanting my car to be safe and not a danger when traveling.


Regards,

******* ********

Business Response: We are only human and make mistakes. That is why we have a 12 month/12,000 mile warranty on our repairs.
We watch our work very closely on warranty jobs because we would rather not do
any job again because of course we make no money when we have to redo a repair.
We would never purposely do a poor repair job. We have more ethics than that. 
We even have a code of ethics posted on our office wall.

As far as our Ebay store is concerned. We started the store to put good used parts
that were in our shed back into the market place instead of selling them for scrap metal.
We probably could have made more money & saved the time & the ef**** of listing them on Ebay by
just selling them for scrap but we realize the energy & materials it takes to make these parts. It
saves energy & resources to reuse what is already made. We make a concerted ef**** to reduce,
recycle & reuse at our shop


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Could I just get a refund for those repairs? I do understand that we are all humans. My car is not safe and I am moving soon. I might move to California so I need a reliable car.

Regards,

******* ********

2/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/22/12 I paid VDR for a 'Trip Check' before traveling across the country. VDR found no problems with the alternator. On the day of departure (11/12/12) the car would not start because of a bad alternator. This was replaced by VDR the next day together with two other bad parts they had somehow missed in the Trip Check. On 11/27/12 the car again would not start. The car was jumped and taken to a mechanic (in **********************) and diagnosed with a bad alternator. Since the part was still under the 90-day warranty, arrangements were made for VDR to ship a replacement out and pay for the bad part to be returned. On 12/05/12 (after waiting for the part to arrive) the ****** shop switched the alternators out, and I paid them $133.50 for labor. Over the phone to VDR I was promised a refund for that labor, in part because of the considerable inconvenience (more than a week without a car).On 12/28/12 I phoned VDR because I had received no such reimbursement. They claimed that the alternator was not in fact defective, but that there was just a bad connection; therefore they would not refund me. This however is not logical, because even IF it were just a bad connection, VDR installed it in the first place. Hence it was their negligence that led to me being drastically inconvenienced by the whole matter. Order_Number: VDR Invoice #XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I think it would be fair to be reimbursed the $133.50 labor charge, since my life was significantly impaired for over a week. If it were installed correctly in the first place, I would not have had to deal with any of this mess.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/01/18) */ BBB Complaint Case#XXXXXXXX The customer did not pay for a trip check on 10/22/12 as this is a complimentary service that we do. VDR does not routinely test the alternator when doing a trip check unless the customer has reported a problem with the electrical system. Alternators can fail without warning (i.e. can fail even if has tested good recently). The other 2 parts replaced with the alternator were the serpentine belt & the tensioner pulley. We should have noticed that the serpentine belt was worn but the tensioner pulley had no obvious problems until removed to replace the alternator. The customer was told that he would be reimbursed for the alternator replacement labor done by the shop in ************** if the alternator tested bad when we received it back On the day the customer contacted us about the problem a replacement alternator along with a prepaid return label was shipped immediately to **** (at no expense to the customer). Upon receiving the alternator back VDR took the alternator to ******************** to be tested. ****'s stated that the alternator tested good but noted heat damage from a loose connection on the terminal & a melted terminal protector. From this VDR surmised that the alternator had a loose connection & was never bad. If the shop in **** had correctly performed the test on the alternator they should have discovered the loose connection. If the alternator is checked at the alternator instead of at the battery a loose connection is easy to diagnose. An experienced technician would have noticed a loose connection upon a inning the removal of the alternator and at that point retested the alternator to confirm the diagnose of the alternator being bad. If the **** shop had diagnosed a loose connection they would not have had to replace the alternator nor had to hold the car for numerous days for the replacement part to arrive. VDR wonders why the customer has not contacted the **** shop regarding the alternator being good, about their shop misdiagnosing the problem, and charging him for an unnecessary repair. VDR, does not feel they should be held responsible for paying for labor on a misdiagnosed problem. We would be willing to pay for the diagnosis & repair of a loose connection less the freight paid to ship & return the alternator.