BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of The Brake Shop Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Brake Shop Inc

Phone: (970) 663-2101 Fax: (970) 663-1310 505 E Eisenhower Blvd, Loveland, CO 80537

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Brake Shop Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Brake Shop Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Brake Shop Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 27, 1990 Business started: 11/01/1989 Business started locally: 11/01/1989
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Dwyer, Owner/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Dwyer, Owner/Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Foreign Car Service Stations Brake Shops Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Car Air Conditioning Suppliers Car Alternator and Generator Repair Stations Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electricians

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 505 E Eisenhower Blvd

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 663-2101

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/2/11 brake svc; 3/16/12 Rotors warped and replaced by *****. 4/20/12 front rotors warped, rear rotors need machined. The 9/2/11 svc was the first replacement of original brakes (2005 model) and included ceramic pads, front rotors and caliper service. On 3/16/12, returned due to vibration when braking. Rotors warped and replaced under warranty by ***** who tried to tell me this was due to mountain driving (I have been to Estes Park once in the last 3 years and all my driving is highway to Denver for work) On 4/20/13, took car to Pedersen Toyota due to car shuddering when braking. ******** informed me front rotors warped again but pads ok. Rear brakes at 3mm and rotors need machined. Also informed SHIMS WERE GONE! They did not have shims in stock. Once again, I had to replace front rotors, replace rear brake pads and resurface rear rotors. (427.73) As for shims, they have to be ordered and I was advised that in order to install them, they would have to remove the brakes again....so advised to wait until pads need replacement again. NO ONE ELSE has worked on my brakes. Why were my shims removed and discarded??!!!! Would NEVER return to this business. They are using after market parts. Rotors should last longer than 6 months to a year and I still have done no mountain driving. I try to keep my business local in Loveland but I will not return to a business with such poor workmanship. Nor would I return to a shop that removed parts from my car without telling me. I would advise anyone against using this shop.

Desired Settlement: I believe they should pay parts and labor to have the shims replaced on my car at ******** Toyota.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The fact is that you cannot expect me to return to your shop after you took off the original parts on my car which included shims and replaced them with something that was not identical to the original! If you are going to do such, I believe you should disclose this to the customer up front, giving the customer the option to choose whether to do business with you or go somewhere else. Telling me up front that you don't have pads with shims would have been a much better way to go as far as your business is concerned. Instead you failed to disclose this and discarded what came on the car and replaced it with substandard parts! When I returend the car to you 6 months later with warped rotors, you had a second chance to tell me you had discarded my shims. But again, you serviced the car under warranty without disclosure. Yes *****, you did receive a complaint about missing shims this April. The noise is part and parcel of that whether specifically mentioned in my report to the BBB or not. As far as I am concerned, this would not be an issue but for the substandard parts you put on my car when the original work was done in 2011. When the rotors were replaced under your warranty the first time (your second crack at fixing the problem 6 months later), I was concerned about a recurrence and I specifically asked you in person to your face what I should do if this happened again. Your response was that "we only replace once under warranty." Consequently, why would I bother to contact you a third time to respond to the mess you created with your original work? Having just had brakes serviced AGAIN at ******** Toyota in April of this year, why would I now return to you for different pads with shims? Your response makes no logical sense. Continuing to replace what is now on my car with substandard parts will continue to create problems. Hell will freeze over before I allow you to touch my car or any of my friends' or familys' cars. You are not addressing the cause of these problems and you are not disclosing to your customers what you are doing to their vehicles!

Consumer Response: I have submitted additional documentation in support of this complaint. Please acknowledge receipt of same.

Consumer Response: **** ***** <**********************>
9:09 AM (1 hour ago)

to me

Please see documentation of these transactions attached. Please note rotors warped 6 months after original work at brake shop and replaced by ***** on 3/16/12.
******** Toyota receipt shows front rotors warped again on 4/20/13 and shims missing.
thank you,
**** ***** (Receipts for brakes - **** ***** 6-14-13.pdf)</**********************>

Business Response: As far as I can tell **** wants us to replace shim on the front pads. Some of our pads come with shims and some don't. The purpose of the shim is to reduce brake noise. I have never recieved a complaint about this vehicle making any noise. Therefore, I am hesitant to pay someone else to replace shims. If **** would bring the car back, I would be willing to install some pads that do have shims at no cost. As far as the rotors, they are currently out of warranty, however when we have a customer with an issue such as ******, we will try to work with them. Our warranty states that all warranty repairs be done at our shop. Therefore, I cant help with the rotors. **** also mentioned the rear brakes, but I don't show any repairs from us on the rear brakes. Thanks for your help. ***** ***** The Brake Shop-

--------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ***** ***** <**************>
Date: Mon, Jul 8, 2013 at 3:59 PM
Subject: **** *****
To: ********************


*****,

I am responding to let you know I am willing to accept arbitration with **** *****. Case # ********
Thanks,

***** *****
The Brake Shop</**************>

Consumer Response: ****** ********* ********************** ***** ** ** ******* ****

to **** 
Dear Ms. *****,

I understand. Please note that your email August 12th was replied to directly from the email in question. As previously noted, upon receipt of the signed Agreement to Arbitrate I will reopen the complaint. You may email, mail or fax a signed copy to my attention.

Sincerely,

****** ********* | Dispute Resolution and Advertising Counselor

Tel: 970-488-2034
Fax: 970-221-1239
Toll-free: 800-564-0370 x110
Email: ******@wynco.bbb.org
wynco.bbb.org | Start With Trust

BBB Serving Northern Colorado and Wyoming
8020 South County Road 5, Suite 100
Fort Collins, CO 80528

On Tue, Aug 13, 2013 at 11:05 AM, **** ***** <**********************> wrote:
I never received this e-mail and was waiting for a response to my requested changes.  That never came.  I would like the case reopened.  I have agreed to arbitrate previously.
****

Consumer Response: On Tue, Aug 13, 2013 at 5:59 PM, **** ***** <**********************> wrote:
I believe we have another misunderstanding here when you say "sent 3 times August 13."  I have gone back through every e-mail you send today and all of the attachments are the old version of the agreement to arbitrate.  As I indicated to you previously, the attempts to repair did not cause additional damage.  That is the old wording.  I have yet to see an updated version of the agreement to arbitrate with the new language I e-mailed to you previously.  As if 5:58 this evening, that remains the case.
You continue to send your verbiage in the agreement to arbitrate which is incorrect.

Consumer Response: **** *****
1:45 PM (18 hours ago)

to ****** 
You can close your file.  I have decided I can do more through social media to get the word out and keep others from being a victim of this very bad business.  It has been 4 months since I made this complaint and there has been no resolution.  It is obvious that businesses who carry your endorsement see no consequences from failing to respond to complaints and therefore, continue to screw over customers because there are no consequences.  It's as if no complaint had ever been made.  He doesn't even respond and he keeps his A+ rating.
I find the BBB endorsement, ratings and conflict resolution process to be meaningless for consumers and not worth my time. 
Thanks,
**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to arbitrate the complaint but the consumer declined.

1