Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

T L C Automotive Inc

Phone: (970) 522-9683 Fax: (970) 522-9643 210 Edwards Ave, Sterling, CO 80751 http://www.tlcautomotive.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that T L C Automotive Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for T L C Automotive Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on T L C Automotive Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 12, 1996 Business started: 11/01/1983 Business started locally: 11/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DORA - Colorado Public Utility Commission
1560 Broadway Ste 250, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/
Phone Number: 303.894.2904
Fax Number: 303.894.2065
cliff.hinson@state.co.us

Business Management
Mr. James Conour, Owner Ms. Chris Conour, Office Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Conour, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Towing Companies Truck Rental Companies Truck Repair Shops

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 210 Edwards Ave

    Sterling, CO 80751 (970) 522-9683

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my car on 1/8/15 to get alternator replaced. Before doing this, my remote control key was working fine. Went and picked up my car from them that same day and the remote wasn't unlocking the way it should. Got home and opened my key fob to see that the battery was removed and the clip where the battery goes was gone. Went back to the business to let them know what had happened and of course they said nobody messed with it. Called on 1/12/15 to speak to the owner to see if maybe they would be a bit more of a help but at the end of the call they still said nobody messed with it.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to fix my remote at no charge. I dont know where else to find the clip where the battery goes to make it work. Ive tried fixing it at home with some glue but that doesnt work. Now if I lock my car from the inside and when I go unlock it with the key the alarm goes off and wont turn off until I turn on the car. Also this morning I went to turn my car on and the throttle control light came on and thats due to the remote not working. I know because I had it happen before to an old car. Thank you for your time.

Business Response: When the customer left the car and signed an authorization form for repairs the car was left unlocked. My tech charged the battery, then drove car into the shop. He diagnosed the problem determined the alternator to be defective. **** called warranty company & customer for  approval @ 9;29 am. Permission was given & repairs performed. Car was test driven & then parked outside ready for customer to pick up. At no time did we lock or unlock the car with the key or the fob. He picked up the car that night. The next morning he returned saying the key fob was broken with battery missing. Our response was we had no reason to do anything with the fob. He made the statement that he knew the cost because he purchased one the week before. He then left the shop. That afternoon a lady called and spoke with ****. He told her the same as with the gentleman earlier. She then called and spoke with me (*****) about the problem. After speaking with my employees my response was the same we had no reason to take the fob apart. That was the end of the conversation. After I received this e-mail we called **** **** *** ***** ***** Dealer and spoke to ***. He said *** received a call from a lady stating she had dropped her fob and broken it. ALL I CAN ATEST TO IS THAT THE EMPLOYEES @ TLC Automotive & Towing LLC had no reason to take the fob apart and remove the battery.  Please let me know if you need anything else.  Thank you  *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: some of the things that were said were untrue.  Oh course his employees are going to say they didn't mess with it. How would he know exactly that *** had spoken with me. I did indeed call **** to see if I can find a replacement clip or have to order a whole new key fob never once in the conversation did I say I had dropped my key.  I think this is the worse customer service from tlc. I will never go back to them and warn others of not going with them either. I now have to pay $250+ out of my own pocket to fix their mistake. Whether they want to admit it or not they broke my key.  I have no reason to complain about something that was working just fine before going to their dishonest shop. 

Regards,

****** ******