BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Stan's Auto Service?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Stan's Auto Service

Phone: (970) 667-6852 Fax: (970) 635-9994 1019 S Lincoln Ave, Loveland, CO 80537 http://www.stansautoloveland.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Since 1984, our knowledgeable and courteous staff has served the Loveland area with quality car repair and superior 24-hour towing and roadside assistance. We repair: Light & Heavy-duty trucks, Imports & Domestics, RV's, motorcycles and 4x4's

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stan's Auto Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Stan's Auto Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Stan's Auto Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 25, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated: 01/01/2005 in CO
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DORA - Colorado Public Utility Commission
1560 Broadway Ste 250, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/
Phone Number: 303.894.2904
Fax Number: 303.894.2065
cliff.hinson@state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Sheldon Barthlama, President & CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sheldon Barthlama, President & CEO
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Shops Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies RV Repair Shops Towing Companies Auto Transmission Suppliers Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Car Air Conditioning Suppliers Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electricians

Service Area
Northern Colorado & Wyoming
Alternate Business Names
Stan's Auto Service Inc.
Products & Services

30,60,90K SERVICE/AIR BAGS/ALIGHMENTS AIR CONDITIONING/ENGINES/TUNE UPS OIL SERVICE/ANTILOCK BRAKES/FUEL SYSTEM BRAKE SERVICE/FLUID FLUSHES/TIMING BELTS STEERING/SUSPENSION/TRANSMISSIONS COOLING SYSTEM/DOT INSPECTION COMPUTER SYSTEM ANALYSIS

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 1019 S Lincoln Ave

    Loveland, CO 80537 (970) 667-6852

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First of all, I want the reader to know that I have a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering, and so I am not some incompetent individual writing this review. When my wife's car suddenly stopped on the road due to the engine overheating on February 11, 2014, it was towed to Stan's Auto Service in Loveland, CO, simply because they were close to my work place. **** called to tell me that the condition of the car was the following after he inspected it: 1)all the coolant evaporated 2)all the engine oil was gone 3)the car would not start as the engine was completely shot. I soon discovered that these were ALL blatant LIES. On the phone, **** stated that my options were either to have a used engine for $2500 or a rebuilt for $4000 installed, including parts and labor. When I went to pay him a visit, he hands me an invoice showing a used and rebuilt engine cost of $5414 and $7971.31, respectively, copies of which I have in my possession. When I told him these are double what he quoted on the phone, he stated that he didn't know 4-cyl 2007 Toyota Camry engines were so expensive! Then why did he give me the original quotes? I also have his inspection document stating to "...replace it (the engine) with a different engine." It gets much worse. I decided to have one of his guys tow the car to my place, since repair was too costly. A friend and I camped out late and watched ****** driver (who was obviously unaware of ****** criminal practices) drive the car onto the bed of the tow truck! How was this possible when **** stated that it wouldn't even start? When his driver arrived at my place I backed the car off her truck! When I inspected the engine, the drive belt was missing and the bearings of the water pump were completely shot. There was plenty of coolant in the reservoir and the engine oil was at its proper level! After putting in a new water pump, new drive belt, new engine oil, and topping off the coolant, MYSELF, the car has been running just fine! What **** did was criminal and I am seeking legal aid.

Desired Settlement: Due to ****** lies and criminal practices, he must pay for the following costs: 1)the wrong inspection that he charged me 2)the parts that I replaced on my car 3)the rental car that I had to pay for while getting my car fixed 4)towing the car to my place. The collective cost of the inspection, water pump, drive belt, engine oil, coolant, car rental, and towing are approximately $800. I have receipts for all these expenses. If I am to eventually take **** to court, he will incur greater costs!

Business Response: Mr. ******** vehicle was towed into Stan's Auto at 5:00pm on
February 12th 2014.

The repair order states, as per Mr. ******** description:
"vehicle died driving, when he tried to start it, it made a whirring
noise. Starter problem?"  The repair
order also states that the serpentine belt had come off, was jammed behind the
water pump pulley, and the water pump was broken. The engine was empty of
coolant and 2 quarts  low on oil. Note: This
vehicle was driven while overheating until it finally died. This is when the probability
of engine problems and failure occur and damage is the greatest(This was explained
to Mr. ******)

Once the technician was able to un-jam the serpentine belt,
he added coolant and oil in an attempt to start the vehicle(customer was not
charged for these items).

We informed Mr. ****** that the oil, coolant and engine
smelled burn, and even after we were to install the water pump and belt,  the possibility of an engine problem was still
very likely. Mr. ****** asked how much a new engine would be a and was supplied
with a written estimate.

Mr. ****** decided to have his vehicle towed to his residence
at *** ****** ***** ** ******* ********.

Stan's Auto Service tow drivers are Wreckmaster Certified tow
truck operators. They do not drive vehicles off or on flatbeds. Period!  It is the safest and easiest way to unload a
vehicle from the bed of the truck, not only for the bystanders but most importantly
for the operator.   In addition, this particular day, we had just
experienced a snow storm, the tow truck beds were cold, wet and slippery, thus making
it nearly impossible to even attempt to drive a vehicle off the bed of the
truck.

On February 25th 2014 **** *****(mutual acquaintance )contacted
******* at Stan's Auto and expressed that Mr. ****** was unhappy with his
service. That same day we attempted to contact Mr. ****** and the number ****
***** had provided  ************, this
number did not work.  On March 7th 2014
we spoke to **** and received yet another number ************, this number also
did not work.

On March 14th 2014 ******* spoke again to **** ***** and
explained that he had attempted to contact Mr. ******, and still was unable to
connect.  At that time **** informed
******* that those were the only numbers available to him.

At this point Stan's Auto had exhausted all avenues and were
thus unable to contact Mr. ******  to
address his issues or attempt to rectify any alleged problems.  Mr ******, to date, also has not made any
attempt or effort to contact Stan's Auto to express his complaint(s).  

We are unclear as to the $800.00 dispute. Mr. ****** was
given and refused the option to have the  water pump and belt repair, with the
possibility that the engine may still have a problem.  At the time Mr. ****** indicated he did not want
to "chance" the repair, as he didn't have the funds available to fix anything
of greater expense than the water pump & belt.

The vehicle was in our possession for  2 business days. Towed into the shop the
evening  of 2/11/14, and towed back to
Mr. ******s residence on 2/13/14.  Because
of this minimal amount of time we had the vehicle , we are also unclear as to
the demand for a rental car.

There obviously was a communication issue. We believe we
made every attempt and did everything in our power to contact Mr. ****** and
come to a resolution.  Mr. ****** did not
make the same effort. We strongly believe that if Mr. ******s complaints had
basis or merit, he would have certainly found a way and the time to call and express
 those to us, and therefore we would have
been given the opportunity to rectify the situation. If he believed there had
been a misunderstanding as to the diagnosis or repairs, we would  also hope that Mr. ****** would give us the
chance to explain in greater detail, or to his understanding.  Ultimately it seems  Mr. ****** had no intention of contacting us
or allowing us any opportunity to address his complaints.  

This does not appear to us to be a lack of ethics, skill,
diagnosis, or effort on our part to contact an unhappy customer. If given the
chance we are grateful and welcome the opportunity to prove why we have a strong
and loyal customer following . Also, why we proudly have been in business,
family owned and operated in Loveland Colorado, for 30 years.

Unfortunately this seems more an issue of frustration, lack
of funds, and lack of knowledge, rather than an issue with the way Stan's Auto
Service conducts business or treats its customers.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The reply thatStan'sAuto Service posted in response to my initial complaint is full of the following deliberate lies:
1)  First of all, Stan conveniently leaves out the fact that their written inspection states verbatim the following : "Recommend either exploratory surgery of engine or just replace it with a different engine."  I have this document from Stan's Auto Service in my possession. 
2) Secondly, **** states that I inquired about a quote for a new engine.  Who in their right mind asks for a quote for an entire engine unless the mechanic tells them that this is their best option?  Even the most naive and uneducated individual will know that replacing or rebuilding an entire engine should be the last option and obviously the costliest one.  **** stated clearly over the phone that after their inspection, they found that the car would not start and will require either a new or rebuilt engine.  He is the one who gave me quotes on a new and rebuilt engine over the phone, the price of which he doubled when I met him in his actual shop.  It is after receiving these quotes that I ultimately told **** that I could not afford replacing an engine and would like my car towed home.   
3) Thirdly, **** goes on to state that coolant and oil were added to the engine, without charging the customer.  Why is it that **** conveniently decided to leave this out of any written document that he handed me, and is now stating that his technician performed these tasks? Furthermore, how is that engine oil can evaporate even if the engine block overheats, as **** states in his response that it was low by 2 quarts?  **** must have discovered new laws of physics unknown to the common man.  There has been no leak anywhere whatsoever where engine oil could have leaked before or after the incident occurred.  I check the oil level on a regular basis and it is right where it should be.     
4)  Fourthly, **** goes on to state that vehicles are neither driven on or off flatbeds.  My friend, ****** ****, who is a ******** resident, and I both witnessed my car being driven onto the bed of their truck as we sat in his parked truck outside of ****** shop.  I then drove the truck off the bed and parked it alongside my house.   
5)  **** goes on to state that he called the following two phone numbers, namely ************ and ************ that he acquired through an acquaintance, **** ******.  He states that he tried calling both numbers and that they did not work.  If either of these phone numbers did not work, as **** clearly states, then how is it possible that Stan's Auto Service called my wife on her cell phone number of ************ on the day of the incident asking her for my phone number, as I was the one handling the issue?  How is it possible then that **** called me on the day of the incident on my cell number of ************, after acquiring this number from my wife on her cell phone number of ************?  How is it possible that I also called Stan's Auto Service from this same number to discuss the situation?  I believe that **** doesn't live in the 21st century where ALL phone calls to and from a cellular device are reported by the cellular carrier.  My cellular provider has furnished me with a list of ALL phone calls made and received, and the duration of each call, in the months of February, March, and April for BOTH phone numbers listed here, namely ************ and ************, which **** states do not work.  The records clearly show that phone calls were made from BOTH phone numbers to Stan's Auto Service and phone calls were received from BOTH phone numbers from Stan's Auto Service between the days of February 11th and February 13th, when the incident took place.  However, the records also show that NO phone calls were made from Stan's Auto Service after the car was towed home on February 13, 2014.  How is it possible for Stan's Auto Service to call BOTH my own and my wife's cell phone and we BOTH call Stan's Auto Service from these same cell phones, when he says both phone numbers do not work?  Furthermore, there has been NO interruption in our phone service whatsoever this entire year of 2014.  My cellular carrier will vouch for this fact in writing if subpoenaed by a lawyer.  How is it then that **** states that both of these phone numbers do not work and that he has attempted to contact us by calling these numbers?  Phone records for both phones clearly show that no phone calls were made after February 13, 2014, from Stan's Auto Service or any other unknown phone numbers, while **** states that he attempted to make phone calls after talking to **** ****** on February 25th, March 7th, and March 14th.  In fact, Dr. ****** asked me if ******* had actually called after I explained to him the criminal practices that Stan's Auto Service follows.  I told him that neither my wife nor I have received any phone calls to phone numbers ************ or ************ from Stan's Auto Service, and Dr. ****** will state this conversation occurred in his medical office in a court of law if subpoenaed by a lawyer.

Since my wife and I both have full time jobs, we had to rent a car immediately after the incident, and it took approximately 2 weeks of renting a car before I was able to PERSONALLY repair and test her car, to validate that it was safe to drive. 

To conclude my response to Stan's statement that I never called Stan's Auto Service to discuss or rectify my grievances, I respond with the simple fact:  "Which victim of a crime attempts to call the criminal to resolve or rectify an issue, especially when that criminal has attempted to rob the victim of a great sum of money and then attempted to cover up their criminal practices with numerous blatant lies that are clearly obvious by their very nature?"

Regards,
Dr. ****** ******

Business Response: I D ********* 

******* ****** 

After spending 45 minutes going through the 8 phone lines on the ******* **** bill, we found no evidence of  calling Mr. ******. We called ******* **** to find out the issue. After spending 30-40 minutes with an account  representative we discovered that from our land lines, if you call ************ you get someone named "*****",  If you call ************ you get "**** *****". 

******* then tried to call from a cellular phone instead. The ************ just rings and rings with no answer. The  *********** goes to an automated voicemail and does not identify anyone, so he left a message. ******* has not  heard from Mr. ******, nor does he know if he received the message. Since clearly M r. ****** had no problems in  the past contacting Stan's Auto Service, we do not believe it is fair of him to accuse Stan's Auto of all any  dishonesty without having made an effort on his part to contact and talk to *******. Especially since it was after the  fact that he believed there was a problem.. 

There is no way we could have determined the shape of the engine without a new water pump. We apologize that  the use of the phrase "exploratory surgery" was used and misinterpreted and Mr. ****** assumed that to mean we  would have to install a water pump and then see if the engine (that already overheated to the point it shut down) had been damaged. Again, sometimes communication and messages from one person to another can be misinterpreted. We were not allowed the opportunity or permission to repair the vehicle. The initial tow charge is fair. We also  feel the charge for removal of the drive belt, that was stuck behind the pulleys locking the engine up, and topping off the already low fluids, is fair and legitimate. 

While we agree these was clearly communication, interpretation and understanding issues, we feel these initial charges would have been incurred no matter what was done to repair the car in the future. 

We still are unclear and fail to understand why, if there were so many issues and Mr. ****** was unsatisfied with  Stan's Auto, he didn't he attempt to contact us. We were never notified that there was a problem until Mr. ******  sent his letter to the BBB, nor does he claim to have tried to contact us and was unsuccessful. We would most  certainly made every attempt to rectify the situation had we been given the opportunity for resolution. 

Ultimately it is impossible for us to address, troubleshoot, or correct a problem, if we are unaware one exists. 


Stan's Auto Service Inc. 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

First of all, I am completely amazed that both phone numbers, namely ************ and ************ received phone calls from Stan’s Auto Service the day the incident occurred on February 11, 2014, as I have clearly stated before.  As I have also stated before, I have phone records clearly showing proof of these phone calls.  How is it then that all of sudden, after a complaint is filed with the BBB, that Stan’s Auto Service comes up with the excuse that it could not call me from the same phone lines it reached me before?  It’s also amazing that in *******’s previous response, he states that neither of these numbers worked (meaning that they were not even active phone lines), and now he states that you get someone named “*****” and “**** *****”.  Which is it *******?  Please, stop making more lies to cover up your previous lies to save you’re “A” rating on the BBB website!
******* did eventually leave a message on ************, but I refused to call him back, as I am extremely angry, frustrated, and still in shock as to the entire chain of events.  I still cannot believe that a company could be so deceptive, where simply changing a water pump, serpentine belt, and replenishing some coolant were essentially all that were needed to repair this car, but the customer was instead told over the phone and given written estimates (which I have in my possession, as I have stated before) that a new or used engine would be necessary, by co-worker Stan.  Stan’s Auto Service stated in a previous response that I, the customer, asked about the cost of a new engine and so I was supplied with an estimate.  *******, who in their right mind asks for the cost of a new engine unless he or she is told by the mechanic that this is their only option to fix the car?  That’s the same as saying, if I asked No one is that ignorant, so please Regarding *******’s statement of “exploratory surgery”, he keeps managing to leave off the rest of the sentence, “just replace it with a different engine”, that his company has written on the diagnostics.  Again, as I have stated before, I have this in my possession, so **** or *******, please stop lying. 
As I have stated before, why would I attempt to contact Stan’s Auto Service if I still feel that I have been outright lied to and deceived.  **** tried to scam me of thousands of dollars, where the cost should have been in the hundreds of dollars.  This is criminal activity, and I don’t call and deal with criminals.  My advice to Stan’s Auto Service is to stop lying to, deceiving, and trying to scam its customers of money, and then later attempting to conceal those lies with additional lies to save their reputation.
I am writing about my experience with the BBB so that other individuals that have vehicle issues will steer with caution before they ever decide to do business with Stan’s Auto Service.  The damage both monetarily and emotionally that has been done to me cannot be remedied, but I sincerely hope that through these e-mail accounts, another individual does not become the victim of this criminal corporation.           

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1