Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Scott's Import Specialists LLC

Phone: (970) 336-1484 2735 9th Ave, Greeley, CO 80631 http://greeleyautorepair.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Scott's Import Specialists LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Scott's Import Specialists LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Scott's Import Specialists LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 08, 2004 Business started: 07/01/1999 in CO Business started locally: 07/01/1999 Business incorporated 05/01/2004 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Norm Yurk Jr, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Norm Yurk Jr, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Auto Air Conditioning Equipment

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Scott's Import Specialists LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2735 9th Ave

    Greeley, CO 80631 (970) 336-1484

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see customer review posted 2-3 weeks ago. I had apparently misunderstood the 'review' section to be the complaint section.We were overcharged and experienced terrible customer service.

Desired Settlement: We desire refund of "soft fees" that have no basis, nor are related to any identifiable repair; as well as refund of charges not approved, which were expenses related to an extra half hour of labor that was not agreed to or expressed in the original estimate. Both of these charges were added on after defined repairs and charges were reviewed and agreed to.There is not way I know of to correct the terrible customer service and attitude that both my daughter and I experienced.

Business Response:

     I am the owner of Scott's Import Specialists LLC writing this response to hopefully clarify and resolve ***** complaint with my company.  I don't want to be too wordy but feel illumination is needed on this whole situation.

     ***** vehicle was towed to Scotts at 3:44 pm Friday 9/13 - not early Friday morning.  Friday 9/13 was the day east Greeley/ Evans was catastrophicly flooded- washing away roads, bridges and destroying homes.  Scotts closed early 9/13 as the town was shutting down and several employees were under manditory evacuation/ flood warnings.  *** did not receive a call from Scotts Friday evening- true.  *** called the shop at 6:10 Friday evening to check on the status of his vehicle and left a message on the answering machine.

     When Scotts reopened Monday 9/16 at 7:30 am, *** ( service rep for Scotts)  called ***** personal cell and left a message that ***** vehicle would be looked at that day.  *** called the shop mid morning Monday at which time Scotts had a diagnosis for the tow in condition and a list of recomended repairs.  *** was informed that we had done an analysis on the charging system and determined that the battery had failed but the rest of the system was ok.  *** also went over the recomended repairs on the vehicle a long with pricing for each recomendation.  $45 for the initial diagnostics, $175 for a new battery, $475 to replace rear brakes and a leaking axle seal, $60 to repair several lighting problems, $44 for an oil change, $65 to flush the brake system, $180 to flush the transmission.  None of these estimates are as *** perceives 'exceptionally high'.

     At this point *** gave the approval to go ahead with the lighting repair but said he would call back after checking our prices against other shops for the other needed repairs.  Scotts has communicated the $45 initial diagnostic fee and has $60 approval on the lighting repair.

     *** called Scotts at approximately 3:30 Monday 9/16 to give the go ahead on the $175 battery and $44 oil change but complained about the price of the battery.  *** continued to ask for a price reduction/ special consideration on the battery cost.  *** offered him a lesser quality battery option at a $20 savings that we could order in from a parts store (we stock Interstate batteries).  This option would mean the vehicle would not be ready until Tuesday 9/17 when we received the battery.  *** chose the $20 savings and Tuesday completion.  At this point Scotts had communicated the $45 initial diagnostic fee, had approval on $60 lighting repair, $44 oil change, $155 battery ($175- $20 for order in battery) - total of $304 + sales tax.

     *** called Tuesday morning to pay the invoice,  was informed the total was $358 and immediately objected- he was right.  Short staffed and still dealing with the chaos of the flood,  Scotts has over billed ***** invoice- we had billed for two oil changes.  The correct total was $311.  During this phone conversation ***** cell phone lost reception (Scotts only uses land lines) - this was ***** 'inadvertant' disconnection.  When *** called back *** told him there had been billing errors and the correct total was $311.  There were no 'additional' labor charges and I am still unclear what 'soft fees' *** is referring to.

     As the owner of Scotts I am deeply concerned with ***** complaint.  I have spent many hours investigating this matter and feel my response is accurate and true.  I think the timing of the flood was instumental with ***** perceived poor customer service treatment, Scotts works on hundreds of college student vehicles and interacts with many out of town parents and has never received such a complaint.  Scotts has been a BBB accredited business since 2004 and has an A+ rating,  we are one of only three AAA aproved auto repair shops in Greeley,  members of the ASE Blue Seal of Excellence Recognition Program,  and only employ ASE Master Technicians.  I have worked hard to maintain the highest level of automotive professionalism and customer service excellence.

     As far as resolution and or settlement, Scotts will do whatever *** deems to be reasonable and satisfactory to resolve this matter.  I leave the terms completely to his discretion because I value each and every customer,  and the customer is always right!

                                                                                                                                                                                                            **** **** **

                                                                                                                                                                                                            Owner,  Scotts Imports

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I appreciate the detailed response, but am having to reject it currently, as only 2 options were offered - to accept or reject.  I also appreciate the offer to resolve it.

I do, however, have to contest some of what was presented.  Also in this format (owner's response not visible on this screen), I can't review the owner's response and reply point by point.  As Scott's is willing to resolve this, I will hit on only a few points:

1. I received no phone message early that Monday, and in fact was eagerly waiting some sort of contact as my daughter was without her car. 

2. While the flooding issue is understandable, it does not account for the repeated lost calls, which in the context of the very rude and condescending attitude by the employee, seems more than coincidental.  The owner has an issue with this person as a representative of his company.  If I were owner of a company, I would embrace critique rather than avoid it.

3. The 'soft fees' are something that the employee stated and stood behind, stating that "it's standard business practice" to add such feeds.  This is absurd, and if it is being denied, indicates the hiding of unethical business practices.

4. Regarding the battery - the employee was especially difficult regarding my desire to NOT spend ~$175 for a battery, and implied barriers to having a quality affordable battery installed.  Since that time, the battery has had to be replaced again.  Another coincidence?  I don't think so.  Due to the significantly BAD experience previously, I was unwilling to entrust Scott's with my vehicle yet again.

For this to now be resolved to full satisfaction, we would need the original estimate of $260-280 be honored ($311 - 270 = $41), as well as either refund of the battery price from Scott's (around $125, from memory), or the cost of having it replaced a second time; $113.  Total reimbursement requested would be $151 - $166.

Again, I appreciate the sentiment offered in the owner's response, and hope we can bring the issue to resolution.

Regards,

*** *****

Business Response:

     The sincerity of my resolution offer stands firm and am satisfied to grant ***** settlement request of $166. 

     In response to ***** concerns-  I am still perplexed by the lack of the Monday morning phone call to *** as I was present when the call was made- I offer no explanation, just know the call was made.  As for the repeated lost calls, I have no control over cellular reception.  I share an office with *** and have never known him to be rude and condescending- as an owner this would not be tolerated by any team member. 

     I am still unsure what 'soft fees' *** is refering to on his invoice, I make the assumption he is refering to the EPA/SHOP line item for $8.80.  This is an industry standard charged as a percentage of parts and labor for proper environmental fluid disposal/ shop supplies used in the repair and service of vehicles.  It is not absurd and is in no way an unethical business practice.

    Concerning the battery, I understand ***** desire to not spend $175 for a new battery.  The reality is that Scott's chooses to use premium parts that will maintain original performance and peace of mind for the customer.

     I hope I have acknowledged all of ***** concerns and appreciate the opportunity to resolve this matter in a mutually acceptable manner.  I do need to know where to send the settlement check.

Thank you

**** **** **

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, with the following caveat: the resolution of charges is acceptable, but the unwillingness to accept that a customer had a legitimate complaint about customer service will likely result in tacit approval of the service, and will continue or repeat itself.  The owner would be wise to consider that his customer service expectations of staff are not representative of what is actually happening.

Regarding the willingness to reimburse, the check can be sent to: *** *****, **** ******* ***** ***** ******** ******** *****.

I will update the Better Business Bureau once resolution is complete.

Regards,

*** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Scott's Import Specialists LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart