Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since


Phone: (970) 377-4236 Fax: (970) 377-4237 4263 South Mason St, Fort Collins, CO 80525

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This business has been locally owned and operated for 13 years and offers full service car repair.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Meineke meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Meineke include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Meineke
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 19, 2010 Business started: 11/15/1999 Business started locally: 11/15/1999 Business incorporated 09/21/1999 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Napier, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Napier, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Repair Shops Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Battery Supply Companies Clutch Suppliers Shock Absorber Suppliers Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Car Alternator and Generator Repair Stations Auto Electric Service

Alternate Business Names
Undercar Specialists LLC
Products & Services

car repair, auto repair, brakes, full service, diesel, exhaust, shocks, front end, alignments, oil changes, CV axles, electrical, batteries, AC service, domestic, foreign, tires, clutches, tuneups, timing belts, water pumps, radiators, cooling service, muffler,

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 4263 South Mason St

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 377-4236


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Imagine a plumber replacing a sink, turning the faucets on and off, then leaving. It would be unacceptable for the plumber to disclaim responsibility when the faucet fell off the next day, saying, “It was working fine when I left.” Imagine a roofer replacing shingles, then leaving after a cursory inspection. It would unacceptable for the roofer to refuse to repair the roof when half the shingles blew off the next day because “The roof was in good shape when I left.” Imagine an electrician installing a light switch on the wall, flipping the light on and off a few times, and leaving. It would be unacceptable for the electrician to refuse to correct the installation when a wire falls off the next day, stating “The switch worked fine when I tested it.” I took my 2000 ***** ******* in to the Fort Collins Meineke, 4263 South Mason, on June 16, pending a “road trip” from Fort Collins to *********** planned to take place sometime in following 6-8 weeks. I advised them about the upcoming road trip and asked that the car be inspected and serviced to be safe and reliable during the trip. Meineke advised extensive service, including the installation of a new radiator (which involves removing and reinstalling the radiator and shroud assembly), which cost over $1000. The next day, after approximately 1-2 hours of total driving time since picking the car up from Meineke, a very loud fan clatter and noise started. I took car back in on June 18 and again June 20 to have it looked at again -- two return visits within 96 hours of the service. Meineke’s diagnosis: the fan and shroud were misaligned, resulting in the fan blades hitting the shroud. Their position was, “It’s not our fault because car passed our inspection when we were done.” I was also told I shouldn’t worry about it, it would be fine for the cross-country trip, because “the fan blade will wear a groove in the plastic shroud and the noise will stop.” I had car looked at yet again in mid-July when noise didn’t stop. I received exactly the same lame explanation from shop manager Steve and the same refusal to do anything to correct the problem. We headed for *********** Aug 18. The car overheated the afternoon of August 18 in *** ****** **, when fan blade finally dug far enough into the shroud to bind completely. The fan froze in place, burning out the fan motor and blowing the fan fuse (fortunately before the fan motor caught fire). We were stranded in *** ***** while the repair shop got parts in from ***********. The car was repaired on August 19. Result: a $969 repair bill plus an unscheduled day in *** ***** with an extra night in motel and an extra day of restaurant bills. We returned to Meineke on Aug 31 after our return to Fort Collins. I received a half-hearted and insincere quasi-apology from Steve with yet another disclaimer of all responsibility, along with a repeat of the same story: “it should have been OK, it wasn’t our fault, the car passed inspection, it was purely a coincidence the fan blade/shroud interface went bad the day after removed it and reinstalled it while changing the radiator.” TRANSLATION OF THEIR CLAIM: “It passed the 5-minute post-service inspection, therefore it’s impossible that a bolt that wasn’t tightened correctly became fully loose 24 hours later. It passed the 5-minute post-service inspection, therefore it’s impossible that something we bumped slightly out of alignment got worse over the next 24 hours. It passed the 5-minute post-service inspection, therefore it’s impossible that something we damaged during the radiator changeout failed completely 24 hours later.” I filed a complaint with Meineke national headquarters on September 1. I received a call from Meineke Corporation two days later stating that they had followed up with the Fort Collins shop, and the Fort Collins franchise was refusing any further action or follow-up. Meineke Corporation stated that because it was a locally owned franchise, the owner’s decision was final and Meineke Corporation had no power to do anything. They therefore closed the case.

Desired Settlement: My position is that the fan and shroud were working fine when they were removed, set on the floor of the shop for several hours, and reinstalled after replacing the radiator. It beggars belief to maintain that it is a sheer coincidence that the assembly malfunctioned within 24 hours and within 1-2 hours of actual driving. It is entirely possible that the fan blade/fan shroud malfunction was present when I picked up the car if the five-minute post-service inspection didn't run the car long enough to trigger the temperature-activated fan. The noise and clatter could very well have been present from the first moment the fan motor turned on following the service. I believe the fan motor/fan shroud assembly was damaged during Meineke's removal and reinstalling, with the damage showing up the next day, and that Meineke should take (and should have taken) responsibility for repairing/replacing the fan, fan motor, and shroud.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Several points of note:

1.  I apologize for getting the name wrong; I thought I had been discussing the issue with the shop manager and I did not realize that I was talking to the owner.

2.  The fan did not fail after "800 miles of driving."  The total trip did cover 800 miles, 200 of which occurred before the fan failed.  The other 600 miles were driven after the fan replacement.  Secondly, the mileage is a secondary consideration, since most of the mileage was on the interstate when airflow over the radiator was sufficient for cooling without activating the fan.  The fan is thermostatically activated and runs only when additional airflow over the radiator is needed at low vehicle speeds.  The time before full fan failure was only hours of run time, not days or weeks, and not in miles.

3.  I appreciate Dave's extension of my analogy.  In his example of the plumber removing and reinstalling a fifteen-year-old faucet and then having the faucet fail the next day, the plumber would have a very difficult time showing that his manipulation of the 15-year-old faucet during the removal and reinstallation caused no damage, even if the faucet worked immediately after the service and failed the following day.

4.  I am happy to see that Dave did acknowledge that the problem occurred the day after the radiator service, and acknowledge that I did return the vehicle to his shop as soon as I noticed it. 

5.  Dave states he told me that the fan contacting the shroud "might not be a problem."  His reassurance was significantly stronger than that.  I note in his reply that he does not deny telling me that the fan should "wear a groove" into the shroud, causing the noise to go away, and he does not deny that (a) he knew we were planning a cross-country trip, and (b) did not use his professional judgement to recommend against the trip.  Had he done so, we might have opted to either take another vehicle or to have the fan replaced (though we would have argued at that time about who should bear the cost).  Though I know which end of a screwdriver to hold and worked on my own cars extensively 45 years ago, I do not consider myself an expert mechanic and rely on the professional judgement of service providers.  Had I been advised that there was a high probability of system failure, we would have done something differently to avoid being stranded almost exactly halfway between home and our destination.

6.  Dave's final point about the cost of the repair does not match my memory.  He states I paid "$969 for a $385 repair."  As stated in my original complaint, the repair was actually $769, which included additional work beyond just the fan and shroud (including a new thermostat, temperature sensor, and fan activation switch).  Additionally, our memories disagree -- as best as I recall, Dave's original oral estimate (not a formal written one) was in excess of $600, not $385.

At this point, it is becoming obvious that we will not be able to reach an agreement, and I am honestly sorry that is the case.  Dave and his staff have provided great service to me and my family for many years.  We have been very happy with the service and advice they've provided, and have recommended the shop to friends many times.  I certainly do not consider a single mistake to be unforgivable, and it was my strong desire to remain a customer of Meineke in the future.  It's unfortunate that Dave would rather lose a loyal customer (a family of four with five vehicles) who has provided his business with multiple thousands of dollars of revenue and over a dozen recommendations over the years, instead of simply admitting to even the slightest possibility that some small imperfection in his mechanic's performance could have possibility contributed to the failure of a major component 24 hours after that component was extensively manipulated.  The attitude of total denial because "we're perfect and it's impossible for us to ever make a mistake" does not inspire confidence in the future.  All I can do is "vote with my feet," though I truly regret the need to change service providers from a business I had come to know, like, trust, and recommend.


***** *****

Business Response: I would just like to say a few more things. First Mr. ****** states that I have a "we're perfect and it's impossible for us to ever make a mistake" attitude, which is completely incorrect. My technicians and I are very good at our jobs, but yes we are all human and we have made mistakes in the past. When we do make a mistake I have always taken ownership of it and done what ever it took to resolve it. I have been repairing vehicles for about 26 years and I know with out a doubt if my technician was at fault or not for a problem with a vehicle. If he is, then we take care of it. I realize Mr. ***** is having a hard time realizing that the problems he had were not our fault, but all I can do is assure him it was not. If I had any doubt in my mind I would take care of it. I am truly sorry to lose a very good customer over this! I do wish him well and if there is any change in his feelings toward us, we will be more than happy to continue to service his vehicles.


David N*****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It's interesting that Dave did not dispute or otherwise respond to any of the points I made in my reply other than to state he acknowledges imperfections when they arise.  I'm curious about one hypothetical, though.  He stated they ran the car for 45 minutes after the repair.  That might have translated to 20 minutes or so of intermittent fan run time as the temperature switch cut on and off.  The system malfunctioned the next day after a few hours of driving at speed, with perhaps another 20-30 minutes of intermittent fan run time. 

I curious as to what might have happened if they had tested the car for an hour or instead of for 45 minutes, so the that the fan actually ran for an hour, and the fan assembly then failed at the 58-minute mark.  Would they then have released the car to me, saying "it passed our 45-minute test; what happened after that is not our problem"? 

Why would it have been their responsibility to fix if it failed during the first 45 minutes after the repair, but not their responsibility when it failed an hour or two of operation later? 

My position is still that is simply so highly improbable a coincidence that a major system would fail spontaneously one day after being extensively manipulated that I find it impossible to believe.  I wish Dave and his staff well, but I will be patronizing other repair services from now on.


***** *****

3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 28th, I brought my Honda Accord into Meineke to have the alignment adjusted. After the technician had looked at my car, I was told that I would have to replace the control arm and steering knuckle. As they did not have in-house access to one of the parts, I was told he would have to call around to find it. Because of this, he was unsure of the total price but that it would be "around $700 or so", at no point did he give me an exact figure let alone a written estimate of such. I was informed that this could take a couple days and that he would call me when/if the pricing would change. He also explained that there may be more work to do, but could not judge the full extent until after they removed some of the pieces. I was told that it would be best to leave the car there because they felt it unsafe to drive. I saw no reason to risk doing anymore damage to my vehicle. On Thursday, I received a call from the manager/owner stating that the initial repairs had been completed totaling $757. He also stated that further repairs would be necessary and approximately $500, bringing my total cost to $1200. For 2 hours, I explained to him that I had not given any authorization to do that work and had I known that the total costs would exceed $1000 I would have taken the vehicle to another shop. Not only to get a second opinion, but also to have a portion of the price covered by my insurance company. When pressed, I was told that it was their policy not to provide a written estimate so as to "save paper". He continually touted the fact that he had run the store for 15 years and never had an issue like this. Yet, the Motor Vehicle Repair Act of Colorado explicitly states that a tangible estimate must be presented and signed to give consent to any such repairs. When I asked for the number to Meineke's HQ, he simply gave me the number to an automated message service that helps locate a local Meineke shop. Suffice it to say, I felt utterly disrespected throughout my dealings with this man.

Desired Settlement: I am unsure of how to resolve this situation considering the complete disregard for myself and the legal restrictions his place of business must abide by. Whether a refund of services or reinstallation of my original parts is the proper solution, I question whether either will resolve the issue fully. Considering his actions in the matter, I struggle with the belief that any of the work that was completed or suggested in addition to can be trusted. I hope to hear back about this matter soon.

Business Response:  On January 28th the customer brought his 2004 Honda Accord into our repair facility after he drove it into a curb, causing major damage to the right front suspension.  He told me he was referred to our repair facility by numerous people. Upon his arrival my staff provided a free inspection of his vehicle. The technician's visual inspection of the vehicle revealed a bent lower control arm and steering knuckle on the right front of the vehicle. My Assistant Manager explained the visual findings to this man as well as the possibility of additional damage currently not visible. He also explained to the customer that we would have to replace the visibly bent parts first, then hook the vehicle up to our alignment machine to check for any other problems caused by the damage. Because the steering knuckle that needed to be replaced is a very expensive part, my Assistant Manager (A.M.) offered to call around to try and find a good used one to save the customer some money.  The customer accepted the offer and my A.M. was able to find a good, used steering knuckle while the customer waited in the front office. At that time my A.M. provided the customer with an exact estimate of $757.71 for replacing the lower control arm and steering knuckle, the alignment, and that it would take two days to complete. The customer then verbally agreed to the repairs by saying, "OK, it has to be done". The A.M. told him that he would call him if he could get it done sooner or if it needed any other parts.        The customer states that we told him it would take a couple days for a estimate, however the fact is it only took thirty minutes for the estimate. There is no absolutely no reason a estimate would take two days. The only reason he left his vehicle at our facility for two days was to have the lower control arm and steering knuckle replaced.  Once we replaced the parts, we hooked up the vehicle to the alignment machine and verified that it needed more work in order to align the vehicle. Before doing any additional work I called him and told him exactly what additional work that it needed and the additional $415.09 cost to finish the repairs. He told me to not do the additional work yet and he would call be back. He did call me back, and at that time he told me that he never authorized the initial work.         The customer states that we spoke for two hours, the fact is we spoke for only twenty-five minutes on the phone and another fifteen minutes when he picked up the vehicle. I assured him that we have never done any repair work on a vehicle without authorization first.  Our standard operating policy is to receive authorization before doing any work on a customer’s vehicle.  If we did not operate our business that way we would never have people referring friends and family to us, nor would we have stayed in business for the last fifteen years.          The customer also states that I told him it is our policy to not give written estimates.   The fact is, I told him we do not print an estimate on every vehicle, but will gladly do so upon request. We work on over three thousand vehicles a year and only about five percent of customers want a written estimate. So yes, that would be a lot of wasted paper.           I understand that this person is upset that he crashed his car and it is expensive to fix it, but this is not the way to go about it.            Settlement:          I have already asked him what I can do to make him satisfied, to which he told me nothing. I am unsure of what I can do at this time. As far as a refund, I don't feel that is fair because we only did what we were asked to do. As far as putting back on his old parts, considering his allegations and actions toward us, I feel I would need a lawyer present and to video record the verbal agreement before working on his vehicle again. I am willing to hear any suggestions to make this person satisfied.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Colorado Motor Vehicle Repair Act (MVRA)A Plain English Guide to C.R.S. 42-9-101
Amended effective May 21, 1997
A Service of ASA-Colorado


NO repairs can be made to a vehicle without the written consent of the owner which includes an estimate of repairs. 

The estimate MUST include:
total cost of repairs (excluding sales tax and towing charges)
completion date
whether customer wants replaced parts returned
cost of reassembly (if the customer chooses not to have the work done) and replacement of parts destroyed in disassembly
Exceptions: Consent for repair MUST be written unless:customer signs a waiver of right to an estimate
estimate is after disassembly necessary to determine problem
estimate is for additional charges
vehicle is towed in or left before or after business hours, in which case NO MORE THAN $100 WORTH OF PARTS AND LABOR COMBINED IS ALLOWED without owner consent.
To give up the right to an estimate, the customer MUST sign a statement printed in BOLD type: "I DO NOT WISH TO RECEIVE ANY ESTIMATE, EITHER WRITTEN OR ORAL, TO WHICH I AM ENTITLED BY LAW. BEFORE REPAIRS ARE AUTHORIZED." Authorization for repairs must be gotten, nonetheless. 

If consent is not given at the onset of a business transaction, the motor vehicle repair facility must ORALLY communicate the estimate to the customer, which must then be recorded IN WRITING in specific detail on the invoice and/or repair order. 

Specific information to be recorded on the estimate includes:DateTime of callPhone number calledManner of consentPerson's name giving consentEmployee's name who takes consent


Regardless of the owner's attempts to question the credibility of my complaint and his assertion of events that he himself did not witness firsthand, the matter still comes down to the fact that at no point did I give written consent for the repairs on my vehicle.  As much as he would like this to come down to a simple case of semantics or misunderstandings, the law (clearly stated in the passage I have provided above) leaves little room for argument.  As he repeatedly noted in our conversation, there was no recording of the interaction between myself and his employee, yet whether this is his store's policy or not is irrelevant as it goes against the clearly stated letter of the law.

I would also like to make it clear that at no point did he attempt to resolve this situation with the slightest bit of respect as evidenced by providing me with the incorrect number for the Meineke Headquarters.

Again, I want to stress the fact that I did not simply leave my vehicle there to have the repairs completed but rather because the technician (AM or otherwise) informed me that the car was unsafe to drive.  Had this not been the case, there would have been no reason for him to ask if I wanted to take the car with me. Furthermore, I maintain that the reason it was left was because the technician claimed that he was still looking for the part and promised to call me when he had a more definitive price.


******* ******

Business Response:        All I have done is state the facts. No, I was not a witness first hand, but my assistant manager (A.M.) as well as one of my technicians are first hand witnesses. I do find it odd that this customer is no longer stating that he did not give verbal consent, he is only now stating that he didn't give written consent.      
       He also states that at no point did I try to resolve this situation, which is false. I (the owner) talked to him face to face right out front of my office and asked him what I can do to make him happy, to which he replied nothing.    
       Again the customer did leave his car at my facility to be worked on. As I said before, there is absolutely no reason a estimate would take two days. It took only thirty minutes for my A.M. to produce a exact estimate.  My A.M. told the customer it would take two days to get one of the parts and then asked him if he wanted to leave the vehicle while we got the part or bring it back when the part arrived.        
       Now, on to the law this customer keeps touting about, yes there is a law about written estimates that help protect the customer and the business. I have always done business on a hand shake (verbal agreement), but I guess after this I will have to change my ways so I won't have to go through some thing like this again. There is also law that states a verbal agreement is a binding contract. With all that said, let's stop the back forth and get to a resolution. Once again I would like to know what I can do to make this person happy? What does this person want? I am willing to refund my total profit on this job which is $105.00 in order to end this conflict. I hope this will be sufficient.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


******* ******