Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Houska Automotive Services Inc.

Phone: (970) 482-0156 Fax: (970) 482-0349 View Additional Phone Numbers 899 Riverside Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.houskaautomotive.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Specializing in complete auto and truck repair, tire sales, oil changes, diesel emission testing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Houska Automotive Services Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Houska Automotive Services Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Houska Automotive Services Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1952 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DORA - Colorado Public Utility Commission
1560 Broadway Ste 250, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/
Phone Number: 303.894.2904
Fax Number: 303.894.2065
cliff.hinson@state.co.us

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dennis Houska, President Mr. John Houska, Vice President Ms. Noreen Houska, Sec/Treas
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis Houska, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto - Emissions Testing Auto Repair - Maintenance Brake Service Towing Companies Auto Services - Oil & Lube Car Service Diesel Engine Suppliers Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles Shock Absorber Suppliers Tire Dealers Tires - Commercial Sales & Service Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service

Alternate Business Names
Houska Tire and Oil
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Houska Automotive Services Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 899 Riverside Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 482-0307 (970) 482-0156

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took our family vechile for an oil change,engine steam cleaning,tires rotated and to get an estimate for repair on passenger window. So my wife took our vehicle in. See was givin a loaner vechile for the afternoon. Later that evening my wife called to check the status of our vechile. She was told that they would have to keep the truck overnight. She said that was fine. The next my wife was driving the loaner and it had broke down. She called ****** and they picked her up and took her back ******. She then went to get the vechile and was told to pay $104.57 for an oil change and an UNAUTHORIZED DIAGNOSIS for the door. I was upset, I then spoke to a manager named ****. He stated to that there is string in pocket and he wanted me to guess how long it is. WHAT?! Was my reaction. I was insulted and disrespect by this comment. I then asked to speak with the Owner. The owner ** got on the phone. I then explained the situation to him and that wanted a refund for the UNAUTHORIZED DIAGNOSIS. He stated that their computers were down and he AUTHORIZED his staff to do the diagnosis even though I DID NOT. I DID NOT RECEIVE A REFUND FOR THIS UNAUTHORIZED DIAGNOSIS. WHO ELSE DOES BAD BUSINESS LIKE THIS?! I WILL NEVER RETURN!

Desired Settlement: I would settle at the amount of $49.10 plus the sales tax. Total amount $52.10.

Business Response: On 4/8 in the afternoon *** received call from **** ******
expressing concern for diagnostic charges related to a Ford Expedition window.
At the beginning of the conversation Mr. ****** was angry and cursing.  *** attempted to explain why there was
diagnostic charges and he would not let me say two words before stating "I
want a full (curse) refund".  He
stated that he "just wanted to know how much it was to fix the window".  In order to have that information the door
panel needed to be removed and an internal inspection performed to determine
the cause of failure, this inspection does have a cost involved.  *** attempted to use an analogy to make Mr.
****** understand that we cannot see the condition of something that is hidden
by using "I have a string in my pocket, can you tell me how long it
is?"  At that point Mr. ****** would
not listen to any explanations, stated that *** was a (curse) and wanted to
talk to the owner.  He then passed the
call off to ** ******. During the entire conversation *** was being cursed at
and Mr. ****** was unwilling to have any sort of a reasonable conversation.
** ****** then answered the phone to see if the issue could
be resolved.  Mr. ****** explained to **
using several curse words that he did not want to pay for any testing.  He also accused us of not changing the oil on
his vehicle.  ** said he needed to look
into the situation and call him back.  **
did find the oil change worksheet which the technicians fill out when
performing the service.  When ** called
Mr. ****** back he said the only way to prove the oil change was done is to
have him come down and look over the vehicle together.  If the service was done we would be able to
see that the drain plug shows signs of being removed and the oil filter would
be new.  ** agreed that Mr. ****** would
get a refund if there was no sign of the service.  At that time Mr. ****** asked if the testing
charge for the window would be dropped. 
** said that we have already cut the testing in half which your wife
agreed to and there would be no refund. 
Mr. ****** said he would not be back to Houska Automotive.

When Mrs. ****** picked up the vehicle after the loaner car
broke down she did say something to the effect "I didn't realize I was
being charged to check it".  The
paperwork was not printed and was located on the Tire/Oil front counter with a
oil change sheet in it, *** assumed that everything had been completed was done
and printed the invoice. (the advisor handling the repair was at lunch and
could not be reached and the person checking out the vehicle was unaware the complimentary
engine cleaning had not been completed) 
When the paperwork was located there was found a handwritten note for
repair instructions and no printed estimate sheet.  Investigation showed that when the vehicle
was dropped off the computer system was being repaired by tech support so no
printed/signed estimate sheet was available. 
In the interest of customer satisfaction *** offered to split the
charges with her which she agreed to saying "you are my guys, you always
take care of me" and began to laugh/joke with some of the other advisers
about their characters, especially ******** with his motorcycle helmet.  When Mrs. ****** picked up the car she did
come back in saying that her driver’s window was not working.  The technician went out and checked in the
front parking lot (no charge) and found a the fuse for that circuit missing to
which she stated “oh, we remove that fuse all the time so the battery dosn't go
dead because a running board light stays on”. 
At that point she left.

To be clear the passenger window regulator is broken and has
damaged the mounting surface inside the door. 
The door will require body repair and the regulator replaced.  None of these things could have be seen
externally and did require disassembly to diagnose.

During the time that Mr. ******’s vehicle was at Houska
Automotive Mrs. ****** was the only point of contact.  Mr. ******’s only involvement began after the
vehicle was picked up.

It was unfortunate that our computer system was
having problems during the drop off of Mr. ******’s vehicle.  As a professional auto repair we always
explain what charges a customer can expect before any work is done which is
then accompanied with a signature.  ******
Automotive would like to resolve this issue by refunding Mr. ****** $52.10 as
requested.

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently brought my car in to have my tires changed at this Houska location. Not a big deal I looked online found a close location to get it done. I dropped my car off, left for lunch. 2 hours later I give them a call and my car is done. excellent, in a hurry I pick up my car and go straight to school. While walking back to my car in between classes I notice the wheels are all chewed up, around the brim of the rim the wheels are destroyed. I immediatly call Houska and speak with an agent who is very comforting tells me to bring it down and well figure it out. I get there the next day the shift manager that I spoke with on the phone walks out to my car with me, 3 seconds says "yea, no we didnt do that" I argued a bit then he went inside to get the next higher up manager, he walks out and tells me its curb damage, and I did it either since or before but they didnt do it. "It is not how we conduct business" obviously not I said but this happened. so the rims, still having fresh marks and metal shavings comming off, I took the car for a second oppinion and was told that there is no way the scraped edges could even be curb marks. So back and fourth with the manager on the phone for 3 days, he ends up offering me a $40 gift card to there shop! as if I would take my car back there for any reason. When I told him that my wheels needed to be fixed. He says "whelp, then there is nothing more we can do here." So I have messed up wheels and the company that is offering a $40 gift card for them.

Desired Settlement: fixed wheels/ full refund/ time spent back?

Business Response: November 13, 2013

 

TO: Better Business Bureau

RE: Mr. ***** ****

From: ***** *********, Manager Houska Tire & Oil

On November 7, 2013, ***** **** presented his 1999 Dodge
Stratus for a tire exchange.  Mr. ****
brought the tires he wanted installed on the vehicle.  The replacement tires were mounted on other wheels
and needed to be dismounted prior to service. 
At time of service the vehicle registered 132,795 miles on the
odometer. 

On November 9, 2013, Mr. **** spoke with ***** ****, Service
Advisor, who looked at the wheels with the customer.  ***** came back inside the store and asked me
to go look at the wheels with the customer because he was being very
belligerent.  I introduced myself to Mr. ****
and inspected all four wheels.  All four wheels
are original equipment parts. All four wheels had significant damage to the center
hub area, which is not touched by any of our equipment.  I did confirm severe cosmetic damage to all
four wheels in the area where the rim meets the tire.  The damage is consistent with standard “curb damage.”  This damage is deep in nature and
encompassed the entirety of each wheel.  The damaged was filled with dirt, an
indication of the damage being present for some time.  The vehicle body exterior had numerous
scratches and dents present.  I explained
to the customer the damage, in my experience resulted from multiple curb
impacts.  This was two full days after
the customer had picked up his vehicle. 
I told Mr. **** I needed to speak with the service technician and would
call him on our next business day.

The work was completed with a Hunter Auto 34 Tire
Machine.  This machine is used for both
expensive custom wheels, and standard original equipment wheels.  The Hunter Auto 34 features a “Leverless Tool Head” which is designed
to prevent accidental damage to wheels. 
The Tool Head is made from
very dense plastic, which is not strong enough to cause the damage present on
Mr. ****’s wheels.  The damage on Mr.
****’s wheels is running vertically across the face of each wheel, our machine
moves in a circular motion with the wheel. 
The damage is not consistent with any movements our machine performs.

On November 11, 2013, I spoke with the technician who
performed the work.  ***** *******,
Service Manager, who has over 25 years’ experience changing tires.  Mr. ******* was the technician who performed
the tire exchange.   He could not recall
if the wheels had been damaged prior to service or not.  I called and spoke with Mr. ****.  During the course of our conversation, I once
again stated the damage was not caused by us. 
Mr. **** stated he spoke with a “specialist” who stated the wheels were
functionally flawed.  I explained to Mr.
**** the wheel damage was cosmetic in nature and was not a safety issue.  He stated that as long as the wheel damage
was only cosmetic, he would be satisfied with their current condition.  I did in fact offer Mr. **** a goodwill
offering of $40.00 in store credit to see how well our service department
operated.  He stated he would think about
it and let me know.

On November 13, 2013, Mr. **** called and asked Houska Tire
& Oil to repair the wheels to their like new condition.  Since we did not cause the damage, I told the
customer that I didn’t think there was anything else we could do to help
him.  He stated he would be reporting us,
and I thanked him for his business.

We would respectfully request that Mr. **** provide pictures
of the wheel damage that can be compared to the published images supplied
below.

If your ruling is that the damage was caused by our
equipment we are prepared to get the wheels repaired for Mr. ****.

Thank You

*****
*********

Manager
Houska Tire
and Oil Center
Nationally Certified Tire Expert
Tire Industry Association Instructor
National Tire Advisory Counsel

 Information on the Hunter Auto 34 Tire Machine can be found
at www.hunter.com/tirechanger/auto34/index.cfm#

Images of wheels with curb damage consistent with Mr.
****’s  damage can be viewed at http://www.nitrofill.com/graphics/curbDamage.jpg

http://www.kwicksilverrimrepair.com/images/uploads/page_images/curb_damage_inspection.jpg

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: What is being said is obsurd. I had a friend with me that was standing with us and would absolutly vouch that I did nothing of the sort of baligerent behavior and I am insulted. As well as the wheel damage that I clearly showed to both people that looked at my wheels saw fresh scrapes with actual metal shavings able to show. This also can be vouched for by my witness. Lastly why I would ever want to let these people touch my vehicle again after all this is beyond me, so even a $400 gift card to there shop would be a joke. and my vehicle isnt dented and scraped up like they have tried to portray, and this makes for a clear example of the half truths this company is telling.

Regards,

***** ****

Business Response: At Houska Automotive, we have always stood behind our craftsmanship. And as previously stated in our response, we are prepared to repair Mr. ****'s wheels if the BBB feels that the damage was caused by our equipment.  We would ask that Mr. **** supply pictures of the wheel damage to the BBB for inspection.  The BBB can then have an independent tire store examine both claims and make a decision. At that point we will abide by whatever the BBB decides.

***** *********

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I do not have the time to deal with this. This is exactly how they work, I was very polite in letting them know when this occured that I do not have the time the persue this. So they have been running this in circles. As for that statement they keep saying "we stand by our work" I think they have lost the meaning of that and need to do good work to stand by it. I would like a negative mark permanently on this companies jacket. Other than that Im done running around answering the same questions for this incompetent management team.

Regards,

***** ****

8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After conversations with the two individuals that helped me tow my car (knowledgeable automotive specialists), I was left to believe it was either the Battery, Alternator, or Starter. I decided to tow my car to Houska automotive because of my first satisfying experience with their "experts". I left my keys in the drop box with instructions about the problem likely being one of the aforementioned issues. I also put "oil change?" on the slip as I was not sure if I wanted one from them or not. The next day rolled around and I had not received a phone call from them by 10 AM to confirm that they did indeed get my note and my car keys. Also, I never received a phone call in which they were suppose to ask me about the issues of my car, which is stated on their invoice they hand to you. During this first phone call, they mentioned they could not inspect my car until Monday. I asked how I was suppose to get around and they informed me they had loaner cars and that they would call me back when they found one. Next thing I know, it rolls around to 3 or so and I still did not receive a phone call back, so I called back again. They said they attempted to call me, however, I had not not received a voicemail or missed call from them. Monday, August 5th rolls around, and I had to call them two more times just to find out more information about my car. They also informed me they were about to start an oil change without my consent. I told them that is unacceptable to and halt it. The Representative was rude and told me he would see if that was possible. After picking up my bill, I was charged a $100 diagnostics test, which I was told was necessary to ensure it was indeed my battery that was the culprit and that my alternator and starter were fine. Unfortunately, it turns out that was not the case. On Sunday, August 11th, my car died again and I had to have it jump started and towed. *******, from ****** ******* informed me it is likely the alternator since my car won't run after a jump. My car is currently

Desired Settlement: at Houska & I expect them to take full responsibility for not performing their job adequately on many levels: (1) did they perform a diagnostic test? If so, shouldn't they have been able to resolve the issue from the start? 2) I had to call 4 times and never once received a single phone call from them until the end & 3)They used the excuse of being "short handed" for their poor customer service skills. I want my car fixed. I want my money refunded. I feel like I was taken advantage of.

Business Response:

  First of all, please accept our apologies for any lack of communicate on our part.  It is never our intention for our customers to feel they need to repeatedly call to ascertain the status of their vehicle.  We will typically schedule a towed in vehicle for the next available appointment opening.  On rare occasions, the next available appointment may be several days out.

  Looking at the repair history, I see we tested the starting and charging system and found the battery to be defective.  We replaced the battery, (which comes with a 5 year free replacement at Houska Automotive.)   After installing a new part, we will always retest the system, which Mrs. ********** charging system passed.  The testing fee paid was $48.70, not $100.00 which was stated in the letter to the Better Business Bureau. 

  On August 11th, Mrs. ********** vehicle had another problem requiring the vehicle to be towed back to Houska Automotive.  We retested the starting and charging system at no cost to Mrs. ******** and found the battery to be defective.  The rest of the starting and charging system was still passing.  The battery brand in question is an ********** battery.  We have found ********** batteries to be among the most reliable.  We are so confident in the ********** product we add an additional no hassle warranty which pushes the total customer protection to five years.  Our ********** Battery stock is serviced weekly to ensure our battery coverage is always current and fresh. 

  As with all mass produced products and all mechanical process, there is always the chance of a defective new part or a failure in the craftsmanship.  Houska Automotive has and will continue to offer premium products and renowned services.  We are glad we were able to take care of this isolated problem with no additional charges to the customer.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ********

5/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am having trouble with my van since it was worked on by your company. I went out about 2 weeks after it was worked on and went to leave it would not go into gear, got around the block and re-parked my van and and found a huge puddle of red fluid. I figured since it did not go into gear it must be the transmission so i called the person who rebuilt the transmission a year ago and he said he would stand behind his work and had it towed to him. He was busy and did not get to the van then the holidays and then when he got to it he said that who ever worked on it last had not put a the hose back on properly and it took some time but had fallen off. This caused the transmission to drain . He refilled the transmission and said it was not as bad as he had thought it would be, and is drivable, but driving it I can tell it has damage it does not shift gears properly anymore. This is an 1,800.00 job to be done to restore the transmission back to the way it was. He took pictures of the way the hose was attached and knows that it had to be removed to do the work you did on the van. I have not been happy with the work you business has done on the van, the coolant is still leaking and the brake reserve in the front section was left empty which caused a loss of breaks. I was told all fluids were checked before I left the business. The work you did was vc gasket /rg, timing chain set, timing cover gasket set, water pump/ and by pass hose. You also replaced the Battery. I would like to be able to just call you and for you to fix what was done but my pass experience with you has been less than easy so I am going in this direction this time and hope this can be resolved simply. Product_Or_Service: auto repair Order_Number: 0077423,0075455

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like the transmission fixed to original working condition before Houska's work was done, coolant leak to be fixed properly. I would also like it checked by someone to make sure the work was done properly. I dont feel I can trust this company to do the work they say they are doing or listen to my requests. I know they are or were busy building there business and adding on to the building and distracted during the times I was in, I am not sure if this is a factor in the quality of work.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/01/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ** ****** VP Contact Phone: 970-482-0156 Contact Email: lj@houskaautomotive.com First of all I am sorry to hear about the problems you have had with your transmission. ****** Automotive warranties everything for 3 year 36,000 miles. The next step is for us to get the van back to re-inspect the line and the way the transmission is shifting. I'm surprised that you did not give us a call and went directly to the BBB. I remember when you picked up the van after the timing cover and water pump were replaced and you had noticed a coolant leak I met you at your house with extra coolant and a loaner vehicle to use while we rechecked the vehicle. At that time a coolant tee in a heater hose had gone bad. For this visit I can make sure we have a vehicle here for you to use while we are checking out the van for the transmission problem. Please call me personally to set up a time for us to check out the vehicle. Of course there is no charge for us to look at and if the problem was caused by the work performed we will cover the repair 100%. Thanks, ** ****** Consumer Response /* (450, 13, 2013/01/22) */ I received my van back last night after it had to be looked at again. I want to say ** has been wonderful, and suppotive and on top of this repair. I believe that if there is future problems that he will be there to resolve them and I will receive good customer service.I want to thank both the BBB and ** for following through with this issue in a fair and just resolution. I will continue to business with ******'s Automotive. Thank you for your time, and respect. Penny Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2013/05/06) */ I did get my van back and it seemed to be working well, except a little while after I got it back the transmission went and I just had a rebuilt one put in when I bought the van, it was one day pass the warrantee. I had my van towed to him he said he would stand behind it. When he looked at it he found that a piece was not attached properly and fell off, I told him of the work Houska's had done and he said when the worked on the water pump they removed a piece of the transmission pipe and didn't attach it back on secure. I then went back to houskas who said they would fix it and my van has been in and out of there for the last 3 mo.'s They found other things wrong and never addressed the transmission and charged me over and over again. When i got it back the last time the finally agreed to fix the transmission. I dont know what they did because they wont tell me but it was exactly the way it was, it wont shift out of first until maybe 40 miles an hour, not good. LJ has not returned my text messages which is how we communicated. Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2013/05/07) */ To whom it may concern, Since Ms. Walk's reply on 1/22/2013 there was an exhaust leak on her van that caused hot exhaust gasses to burn out a bushing on the throttle linkage assembly. This was not caused by any previous work done on the van. The damaged bushing in turn caused the transmission to not up shift properly. After this happened the vehicle was not towed, but was driven a distance not shifting properly and could have caused damage to the transmission. The exhaust leak repair was needed first to determine the extent of any other damage. LJ covered part of the cost of the exhaust repair in an effort to maintain customer goodwill. After the exhaust repair the transmission still had a delayed shift when cold. We added a conditioner to the fluid in hopes of helping to resolve the problem. Ms. Walk drove the van at that time and thought the shifting was satisfactory. From the very beginning we have noted that the engine does not start properly and runs poorly. Ms. Walk returned the van and insisted that the transmission needed repaired as per her friends diagnosis. Due to past confrontations with Ms. Walk, LJ agreed to replace the transmission with a known good unit. At that time it was explained to Ms. Walk that we would replace the transmission at no charge but would not be responsible for any other problems with the van. "Note: After replacing the transmission the vehicle is shifting smoother but still has a delayed shift due to lack of engine power. The engine requires more throttle to get up to speed. This in turn puts the transmission in kick down mode as if it was commanded for going up hills or passing on the interstate. Once the gas pedal raised and power command on engine is lessened the transmission shifts. This problem would require further engine work to get correct power. Vehicle is shifting to best of it's ability at this time. A lack of engine power can shorten the life of the transmission." The above quoted text was noted on the repair order and signed by Ms. Walk. Without the van's engine running properly the transmission will not shift properly. Ms. Walk said she does not have the funds to correct the poor engine running condition. After installing the transmission there was a delayed shift even though it did run smoother. Since Ms. Walk last picked up the van, LJ has not received a text message from her on his personal phone. Ms. Walk could have called or emailed the business during business hours if she wanted to contact LJ or any of our staff. Houska Automotive has all supporting documents on file if needed. Consumer Response /* (4200, 23, 2013/05/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) there are lies in this statement just proving why no one should take their car to this business. First off the first thing i asked when i came in was the van in worth investing money into and i was told several times it has a strong engine and was advised to that the work would make it even better. Second LJ is a BS artist with his words, he has you believing things are ok, and you want to trust him but obviously you can not trust him. I am worn out from the encounters with this business and given up on ever getting the truth or compensation for the 6mos they put me without a vehicle. The last time I picked up my van, it was to have a fixed transmission since they broke it the bushing is after the fact the transmission did not work since they worked on the water pump and connected the transmission wrong. they never fixed it. I picked it up i asked the guy what did you do to it he said i dont know lj is not here. I text-ed lj and never heard back. I had someone look at the van and they called and talk to Lj and said he is a BS artist. The transmission does not shift out of first warm or cold. Lastly it was not a friend that came over but a mechanic that i hired and payed to look at the car and diagnosis so I knew where i stood with Houska's and LJ.The diagnosis was bad transmission. I feel lied to and disrespected. And I am out of a vehicle and out of money. And dont want this to happen to other low income people. Tell the truth. We dont have money to waste. Consumer Response /* (-5, 28, 2013/05/13) */ I have had to sell the van since I was unable to drive it and sold it for less then what I purchased it at, and lost all the money that was put into a working van by Houska's. What I want is for people to know that this company is shady and their work is less than satisfactory.I would love to get the money for the work they say they did but Im sure I will never see that. I will be happy just knowing my story is here for others to see and make and be able to make a choice, knowing the truth.

2/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues