Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of High Country Automotive Repair?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

High Country Automotive Repair

Additional Locations

Phone: (970) 668-8288 Fax: (970) 668-1848 699 Ten Mile Dr #7, Frisco, CO 80443


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that High Country Automotive Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for High Country Automotive Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on High Country Automotive Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 23, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Business Management
Mr. Steve Marsh, Owner Mrs. Kerri Marsh, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Marsh, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engine Repair Rebuilding Companies Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Auto Transmission Suppliers Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service

Alternate Business Names
High Country Auto Repair
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 699 Ten Mile Dr #7

    Frisco, CO 80443

  • PO Box 2901

    Frisco, CO 80443

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 5/8/14 I brought my Jeep in because it was randomly dying while driving and was told it needed a new alternator and thats what was causing the stalling issue. I paid $ 407.18 for a new alternator but a day later I still had the same problem of my car dying while driving so on 5/12/14 I brought my Jeep back for them to try again to fix the original problem. I was then told it was actually because the transmission fluid was low and needed replaced and that they went ahead and replaced it and that should take care of the stalling problem. I then asked " So it had nothing to do with my Alternator?" and was told " No, it was fine." When I went back to get my jeep back I was surprisingly charged another $75 dollars.

Desired Settlement: I feel I was taken advantage of by High Country Auto and given false information about my car resulting in a needless repair bill that did not fix the original problem. And then I was charged a second time for their mistake and misdiagnose. I am seeking a full or partial refund.

Business Response: ATTN: BBB & ****** ********* 
BBB complaint ID#:******** 
May 20, 2014 
****** Came into our shop on 5/8/14 for a battery light on her dash and a check engine light- The Check 
engine light was on due to Code #P0420- catalytic converter- we checked her exhaust system and it was 
bad- customer declined repairing this, Then we checked her Battery light- tested battery and alternator-
her battery was good, alternator was bad- so we replaced it. This repair got her battery light off and her 
initial no start fixed. Then she came back with an intermittent stalling out- we inspected her car again, 
this time we found her transmission fluid 3 qts low and her transmission pan bolts severely loose so we 
tightened them- the battery light was no longer on, but she had an intermittent stalling out issue. Her 
Jeep is a 1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee with 224,600 miles. We repaired only the two necessary problems. 
I think there might be more issues due to the worn out exhaust, but she declined to repair that. So yes 
she did need an alternator, and she did need the transmission pan bolts tightened and the fluid filled up. 

Sincerely, 
***** ***** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 
 I was told about the code for the catalytic converter but not given an estimate for that repair. I was promised an estimate for that repair when I retrieved my car after the new alternator was installed. When I picked up my vehicle and asked about the estimate I was told that they had forgotten to do it. Also I was not told anything concerning my exhaust system at any time. As to your claim of fixing the initial problem with the first repair that is false. There was no battery light or engine light on, I took it in for stalling while driving not a no start issue. I also thoroughly explained when I took it back the second time it was doing the same thing I had taken it in for the first time and asked if they would check the sensors, which was not bothered with. When I retrieved it a second time with 3 more quarts of transmission fluid and an additional false diagnostic fee of $75, it still stalled while driving on the highway the next day. I took it in a third time with the disclaimer I did not want to be charged a third time for diagnosing the problem. I was called by the mechanic the next morning around 8:30am asking to hear directly from me what my car was doing. I explained it a third time and he said he would go look at it. 7 hours later I called for an update and was told that they hadn't got to my car at all yet. it was 3:30 in the afternoon so I went and picked up my car to try and fix it myself. I checked the sensors and replaced the Crankshaft Position Sensor which solved the problem I have since drove my car 1300 miles on a family vacation this week with zero issues. The implication that my car is older and has a lot of miles on it does not excuse the way  I was ignored, overcharged and dismissed at your business. I have been diligent in maintaining my older vehicle and resent that you would use that as an excuse for your mistakes. I am simply offering you the opportunity to make it right.

Regards,

****** *********

Business Response: ATTN: BBB and ****** 

June 2,2014 

Complaint 1D#******** 

I personally was not here when ******* came in regarding these complaints. After speaking to my Technician and front desk person- *****, ***** wrote down what the first complaint of Check engine light and battery light on dash. The Technician scanned the computer for codes- the only code was for Catalytic converter- NOT Crankshaft sensor, and the technician tested the battery and alternator- the alternator tested bad so he replaced it. The second time she came in 5/12/14- she was not scheduled and we tried to squeeze her in, we could not get her vehicle to stall out, and no codes were present, She was 3 qts low on ATF and her transmission pan bolts were loose- the charge for this was $75. The Third time 5/13/14- the next day, she was also not scheduled, and the shop was overbooked and we could not get to it. I apologize for this, and asked ******* to call me, I was out of State till May 21's, and she did not call me. Sometimes we are so Busy we can't do everything immediately for people. it seems that ******* needed her car back the same day she dropped it off. Unfortunately our shop only had one technician working that week and could not get to everything. t know that ******* does not understand that we try very hard to satisfy everyone, but can't. We also try not to oversell anything to anyone. There is no way to check every sensor on her car in the time frame she allowed- it would take several days, so we scan the check engine light for codes. If her Crankshaft position sensor was bad- it would have eventually thrown a code for it, we did not get a code for it, nor do we like to guess. Unfortunately, the vehicle did not stall out for us, so we could not reproduce the problem. The alternator did test bad, and the transmission pan was loose and was 3 qts low on fluid, these things we did fix. 

Sincerely, 
***** ***** 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *********

1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/16/2013 I brought my 2001 GMC Yukon XL to High Country Auto Repair for which they removed an intake mainfold and replaced the gasket between the manifold and Cylinder head.Ten months and 8,000 miles afer this service the engine died. The spark plug on one of the cylinders had physical damage. The engine required replacement and it was found when removing the intake manifold a spark plug had somehow entered the intake chamber of the cylinder head and over time had broke apart and entered the cylinder damaging the piston and plug.Note: the spark plug found had a differetn grip length and would not have come the same engine in the Yukon.The only way this could be possible was if the intake manifold was removed.High Country was contacted and spoke with the shop where the engine was removed. High Country was asked if they would like to inspect the damage personally which they declined.Since removal of the intake manifold is not part of regular maintenance and typically only would be required for gasket change or cylinder head removal and since no maintenace was performed to the vehical other than oil changes I beleive the forein object found inside of the engine was a direct result of the service performed by High Country Auto Repair.When speaking with High Country Auto Repair they agreed it was not possible for a spark plug to enter this area of the engine without the manifold removed however, they claim "this just does not happen in our shop" and they claim they never removed the spark plugs from the Yukon during the time of service. The technician who performed the work is no longer employeed by High Country Auto Repair.Due to the age of the vehical I requested they consider covering 20% of the cost of the repairs which is a fair and reasonable request. I was told I could not prove they were responsable and they were too busy to further discuss the matter and they hung up the phone on me.

Desired Settlement: I feel that High Country Auto Repair caused me damages exceeding $5000 in repairs and they should cover 20% of the cost of the engine and 20% of the cost of the labor involved.I agree the engine had some miles which is why I'm requesting only 20% and some new parts were installed ie. water pump, new plugs and wires and consumables such as oil ect which I will agree to cover payment of.

Business Response:

In regards to ***** and ***** ******** vehicle, High Country Auto only spent 2.5 hours removing the intake manifold gasket and replacing it. My ASE Certified Technician did not remove or add an additional spark plug to this customer's vehicle. The customer stated that we removed his engine, we did not remove his engine, this would require 20 plus hours. He also states that we are the only shop to perform maintenance, other than oil changes on his vehicle- which I find hard to believe in a vehicle which has over 185,000 miles. I did not decline to look at his engine, however, this customer lived in Falcon Colorado, and we only saw his 2001 Chevy Yukon XL once. I also find it impossible to believe that his vehicle could go for 1 year and over 8,000 miles with an extra spark plug in the cylinder head. This is a VERY far fetched story which no Certified mechanic would agree with. We tried to be civil with this customer and reason with him, but he needs to speak with the person who replaced his spark plugs, which should be done every 90,000 miles, not 185,000 miles. Enclosed is the receipt for replacing the lower intake manifold gasket. 

Sincerely, 

***** ***** - owner of High Country Auto