Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

H & R Repair & Towing Inc

Phone: (970) 587-2868 Fax: (970) 587-5989 123 W South 1st St, Johnstown, CO 80534 http://www.handrrepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that H & R Repair & Towing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for H & R Repair & Towing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on H & R Repair & Towing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 03, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated 01/01/1999 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DORA - Colorado Public Utility Commission
1560 Broadway Ste 250, Denver CO 80202
http://www.dora.state.co.us/
Phone Number: 303.894.2904
Fax Number: 303.894.2065
cliff.hinson@state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Ray, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Ray, President
Business Category

Auto Repair Road Servicemen Towing Companies Auto Diagnostic Service

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 123 W South 1st St

    Johnstown, CO 80534 (970) 587-2868

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 18, I took my car in for an oil change and tire rotation at 7:30 a.m. I picked my car up at 12:30 p.m. Donna, the receptionist, stated they had "had a mishap" with my car. She proceeded to tell me that the mechanic got distracted and forgot to tighten the lugnuts on one of the wheels and that is "jacked up". I asked her what that means and she said it was nothing they just wanted to let me know and send me on my way. I paid and went out to my car and got it in it. The inside of the car smelled very strongly of burnt rubber. I went back in to ask them about it and they told me not to worry about it, they were sure it was the smell of oil burning off the engine. I took my car home and noticed that the wheel cover is cracked. I went back to H&R and told them about my wheel cover being cracked. Donna, the receptionist, asked the mechanic which wheel it was and the mechanic said he "couldn't remember". They stated they would replace my wheel cover and I went home. When I got out I noticed damage to the passenger side fender, which included paint chips, cracked wheel cover, and the fender was crimped up where it landed on the edges of the tire. I took pictures with my cell phone and turned the claim into my insurance company. Larry, the owner, called me and was yelling at me saying that he would do nothing for me now that I turned it into the insurance. He not only acted completely unprofessional with the way he was speaking to me, but will not even try to make the situation right. He is denying claim.

Desired Settlement: For them to pay the deductible for the damage they caused my car by not tightening the lugnuts.

Business Response:

***** ***** **** **************************** *** ********************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** *** ********

On 12-18-15 ***** brought her 08 Nissan Altima into our shop for an oil change and tire rotation.  When done servicing it, while my tech was backing it out, he realized that he had not torqued down the lug nuts because the wheel kicked out slightly on the lug bolts.  Even though we saw no damage to lugs or bolts, we replaced them just in case.   When ***** picked up her vehicle, I explained to her what happened, and that we effected the repairs at no charge to her and documented it as such.  We walked out to the vehicle and looked at the wheel in question.
 
At that time she claimed the wheel cover was damaged, I explained that the damage to the wheel cover was on the outside edge, nowhere near the lug nuts/bolts.  The wheel covers all around were badly scuffed, and I told her that even though the damage was not caused by our shop, I would try to find her a decent wheel cover to help her out.  At that time we took pictures of all the wheels.
 
A few weeks later, I got a call from her insurance company wanting to know if we were going to repair her vehicle, I explained to them the circumstance and offered to share the photos.   Another couple of weeks passed when ***** called me wanting to know about the wheel cover.  I explained to her that since she opted to have her insurance involved, I could no longer assist her. 
 
Next thing you know she claimed we dented her fender, she wanted us to give her $500 for her deductible, her sister came in causing a scene in our customer waiting area, screaming obscenities at the business owner having nothing to do with matter at hand.  Within minutes of filing this complaint the sister Jaquie filed multiple online bad reviews, so I believe she was responsible for this complaint.
 
As I told the insurance company, we had three tow truck drivers, two technicians, two service advisors and the business owner present when all this transpired, and the business owner was also involved.  I can assure you, there is no additional damage other that the repairs I disclosed.
 
If you have any further questions, please feel free to call me.
 
Sincerely,
 
Donna R***
***** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on H & R Repair & Towing Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)