Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fort Collins Muffler & Automotive

Phone: (970) 484-0866 View Additional Phone Numbers 2001 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80525 http://www.fcmuffler.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fort Collins Muffler & Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fort Collins Muffler & Automotive include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fort Collins Muffler & Automotive
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1983 Business started: 06/01/1975 in CO Business started locally: 06/01/1975
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Brian Dwyer, Owner Mr. Evan Harding, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Dwyer, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Evan Harding, Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Diesel Engine Suppliers

Alternate Business Names
Fort Collins Muffler and Automotive J & M Distributing, INC
Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service

Additional Locations

  • 2001 S College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80525 (970) 484-0866

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/11 took our 05 ford f150 for repair which had problems w stalling occasionally. After paying $2500 and price gouging on parts ($140 vct solenoids at dealer vs $423 at fc muffler). Pick up truck 11/14 only have it stall out on way out town. Returned and kept till 11/17...I had call them always...finally tell me they put really expensive parts(cam phasers) that I didn't approve, and still doesn't run. A manager suggests building a new engine....wow...they already racked up $2500(paid) plus phasers, and now they said I need a new engine. Clearly they didn't have a clue what was wrong or how fix it. I panicked because these timing chain issues can ruin an engine if done wrong. Knowing how incompetent they were, I had my truck towed to a ford dealer for a diagnosis. It was going be $150 to diagnose but the truck now made a god-awful noise when they started it. A problem we never had before so the dealer was charging extra $550 to have mechanic diagnose problem and take apart engine that takes about 6 hours. They discovered the new vct solenoid was incorrectly installed and had been damaged. Also the new cam phasers were installed wrong and damaged. Both installed by ft collins muffler. Additionally, there were some minor parts needed that they ignored. The employees involved are **** ******* (serv mgr), ***** *****(0wner), and **** ******* (serv mgr). Now it's going on a third week without the truck. The ford dealer estimates the cost new repairs at $2800. I spoke with ***** and **** today with nothing resolved. I had to contact them like always....no one has initiated contact with us ever since we returned the truck 2nd time after it failed. I was left in the dark with no explanation....awful customer service....especially under these circumstances...no apology... no refund ...nothing at all. I want them to Take Responsibility and refund our money plus extra expenses incurred including the cam phasers(that I now have to replace) and the dealerships cost to diagnose.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the money I have paid them plus cost of installing new cam phasers plus extra cost of having Ford dealer diagnose the problem including taking the engine apart . I have documents supporting all of this.

Business Response: We understand this has been a frustrating experience for ****.  We gladly welcome a third party like The Better Business Bureau to mediate a resolution for this situation.  **** and I spoke around noon on Monday 3-24-14. During that call **** expressed her concerns and frustrations.  I explained to her we would be looking into it and that either I or **** would contact her later that day which we did.  I shared with **** that we would know more on Tuesday 3-25-2014 after talking with the persons involved with the diagnosis at the dealership.  I eventually asked her what would it take to make her happy and she stated she wanted us to reimburse her in the amount of around $3200.00.  I offered to call and update **** on Tuesday and she agreed that would be ok.  My Service Manager and General Manager ****
and **** went to ******** **** Ford and talked with ****, the Service Advisor there.  **** was at ******** **** at that time and when my guys said hello to her **** said “why are you here?” **** explained he was here to find out what was going on with the vehicle. **** got very agitated and made a huge scene. It was at this point **** ******* thought that it would be best to just let **** vent and that we would definitely have to get some sort of third party help to fully resolve this situation. I was supposed to update **** today but in light of what happened at the dealership we think it is best not to contact **** directly for now.  There seems to be some conflicting information between what **** was telling me compared to what the dealer was telling us.  The vehicle is not even repaired by the dealer yet and **** has already started bashing us on social media. We want to find a solution which is fair for all involved.  We are optimistic and look forward to finding a peaceful resolution to this situation.  We will be happy to provide more details, records etc upon request.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: they aren't offering anything concrete.  I paid them $2500 and I cant even drive my car and I have been told by ******** **** ford and paying more that the job wasn't properly done. Yes, I was quite angry with the response from ft collins muffler because I did not feel like they wanted to resolve the situation....only find some reason why they shouldn't be accountable. 
Regards,

**** *********

Business Response: We stated in our first response and still want to resolve the situation.  We have not offered anything concrete as we do not know if ******** **** Ford has been able to repair the vehicle or if something we did caused the vehicle's issues.  We want to ensure that ****’s vehicle is repaired correctly and the situation is handled fairly.  Once the vehicle is fixed we should be able to determine what and if anything we did actually caused further complications with the vehicle.  **** stated the job wasn't done properly, but we have been told differently by persons at ******** ****.  After ****'s outburst in the lobby of ******** **** to us, it does not seem very likely that a call from us would be appreciated.  We feel that a third party will be the most beneficial option to help us reach a conclusion in the event we are unable to communicate with **** productively.  We are by no means saying that we do not want to be held accountable.  In the event that we have done something incorrectly we absolutely want to make sure that **** and her vehicle are taken care of.  The lines of communication have to be reopened in order to find a solution.  We are eagerly waiting to hear from **** or the BBB so we can get this handled as soon
as possible. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because I do have an estimate from ******** **** Ford  with special notes indicating what they saw wrong.  Also the repair includes same parts you replaced and few you neglected to and that's part of problem.  They stated solenoids and cam phasers were installed wrong or were defective and lifters needed be installed and were not.

Regards,

**** *********

Business Response: After receiving the estimate from ******** **** Ford, which did not include the invoice that was paid for diagnosing the vehicle, we feel that arbitration would still be the best path to follow.  We have telephone recordings of conversations that took place between **** and ****, as well as the conversations with ******** **** Ford.  We look forward to having the arbitration, to have a resolution that is fair for all parties involved. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have decided NOT to participate in Binding Arbitration to resolve my complaint with ID *******. I understand that because I have decided to not pursue arbitration that BBB must close my complaint. I have decided to pursue legally or via other avenues. 

Regards,

Also I want to make sure that this case is marked "unresolved" since obviously we don't have a resolution at this time.

**** *********