Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

European Motor Cars Inc.

Phone: (970) 484-0040 Fax: (970) 484-0453 505 Riverside Ave., Fort Collins, CO 80524

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that European Motor Cars Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for European Motor Cars Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on European Motor Cars Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 06, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Robert Mitchell, Sec/Treas Mrs. Allison Dunning, Marketing Mr. John Mitchell, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. John Mitchell, Owner
Principal: Mr. Robert Mitchell, Sec/Treas
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Diesel Auto Repair Shops Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Car Lubrication Shops Auto Services Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Car Dealerships Used Car Dealerships Auto Air Conditioning Car Alternator and Generator Repair Stations Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service

Industry Tips
Auto Repair & Service Research Key in Buying New Vehicle

Additional Locations

  • 505 Riverside Ave.

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 484-0040


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 1995 ********* ********* in to European Motor Cars to have an engine problem diagnosed. After months and months of not getting my calls returned I arranged to have a tow truck pick the vehicle up and return it to me. Upon receipt of the vehicle I noticed that someone had apparently been living in the vehicle. There were cigarette butts strewn about. Cigarettes had been put out on the interior - carpets, seats etc.. There are burn marks and the car reeks of cigarette smoke. There was trash all over and bottles full of urine left in the vehicle. Furthermore the original car battery (an expensive ****** *********), the windshield wipers and miscellaneous parts from the engine had been removed and were missing. The car had been left out in the weather during this time and the exterior paint had degraded significantly. It also appears that a part was painted near the right rear of the vehicle as there is white paint overspray on the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like European Motor Cars to put my car back in the condition it was when it was put in their care initially. I would like the interior to be completely and professionally cleaned - and if there are burn marks in the upholstery and carpet then those would need to be replaced. I would like an ****** ********* battery to be put back in the vehicle. I would like the windshield wipers replaced. I would like the parts (spark plug, wire, etc..) in the engine to be put back like it was. I would like the ECU and trim panels to be put back in place. I would like the exterior to be cleaned up, waxed and polished to hopefully bring it back to the condition it was and the overspray paint to be removed.

Business Response: Dear BBB,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. 

Mr. ******* towed his 1995 ********* ********* into European Motor Cars Inc (“EMC”) on 3/26/2013 – Please see screen shot of our computer
that confirms that date.   Mr. ******* did (at that time) indicate that this ********* is just another car of his and not a priority.  EMC did finally get his motor running after many “after hour” interludes over the course of months.  EMC diagnosed the problem in his car as a bad motor and recommended a motor rebuild or to get a used engine.  We proceeded at that time to purchase another ********* ********* of the same year with a good motor that we could use for his vehicle.  Unfortunately for us, Mr. ******* did not choose to have the repairs done on his vehicle and we are now the proud owner of a ********* *********.  After putting the motor back together Mr. ******* was called several times to come get his vehicle.   It is possible that a spark plug or wire was not fully connected during this time as the motor was bad and those parts were probably just placed inside the engine bay.  EMC does not recall why Mr. ******* did not come to get his car after he decided not to fix it.  After a while we put the car on our back lot as we could not keep moving our customer cars around a dead vehicle. John M. did call Mr. ******* at his request several times, each time there was no answer.  Mr. ******* could have just as easily come in to speak with John as John hardly ever leaves EMC.

Our back lot is a storage lot.  We did not charge Mr. ******* for storage and we do not monitor the lot.  There was a rash of homeless that did utilize some of the cars as places to sleep and allegedly Mr. ********* car was affected by that.  EMC’s invoice states at the bottom the following: “ EMC is not responsible for loss or damage to cars or articles left in cars in case of fire, theft or any other cause”.   A good example of this is “If you leave your car in ********* parking lot overnight and it is broken into, it is not ********* responsibility.  It is the vehicle owner’s responsibility”.  What allegedly happened to Mr. ********* car is not EMC’s responsibility.
Mr. ******* finally sent a tow truck to come pick up his vehicle in July of 2015.  There was no charge at all to Mr. *******.  Keep in mind that EMC spent
countless hours diagnosing this vehicle.  At the time he came to pick up the vehicle we had already taken the loss, we just wanted his car off the lot.   

It is baffling that he has decided to lodge a complaint against EMC considering that his car was on our property for over two years and
he was never charged anything.   We would have no reason to take parts off of his car as we already had a parts car that we purchased, not to mention he had a bad motor.  EMC is offended by this allegation of dishonesty especially in this case where EMC went over and above normal for Mr. *******. 

We do recall that after a while of the car being here, the battery was replaced because the battery that was in the vehicle was dead.  Again there was no charge for the new battery.  If Mr. ******* would like to have EMC put together an invoice with all the hours of diagnosis, the storage time in the back lot and parts that may have been needed to diagnose his car EMC will be happy to provide that for him. 

EMC does not have any responsibility to repair the interior of this vehicle.  We are sad that Mr.******* feels he has suffered a loss and encourage him to file a complaint with the police for vandalism to his vehicle.   However, EMC feels that nothing will come of that as the police cannot hold accountable a vagrant that cannot be found.  That was our experience anyway.

EMC is ultimately in business to make money.  However as you may gather from this particular case, EMC made no money, stored a vehicle on our lot for over two years and is now the recipient of a bad review.  This is just another chink in the coffin for good people like John M. to be willing to do business the old fashioned way that includes not only integrity and honesty on his part, it also requires it from our customers.  This is a sad circumstance for both parties.

9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This has been the worst experience I've ever had with a repair shop, and right off the bat I would not recommend anyone take their car here if they want to keep their sanity, you will be deceived like I was in the least, or even worse damages to your car. I had problems with the transmission in my ** *****. I took my car to European motor cars and waited 5 days for them to even diagnose it which is just way too long, while during this time they told me "they were looking at it" it wasn't till the 5th day they told me the truth that they just got to it... They got me a rental car for a day, then I came into the shop and discovered that I would need a new transmission. It was at this point that I explicitly told the service manager Jordan that "this car is the only form of transportation that I have, can I keep the rental until my car is fixed?" Jordan replied "Yes" and then proceeded to contact the rental service, during this whole time it looked like European Motor Cars was going to take care of the rental and there was no indication otherwise. So I waited a couple more weeks until the new transmission came on a Wednesday. Jordan, the service manager told me they would start on Thursday and finish it by Friday. Friday morning comes around and Jordan tells me they think they should get it done by the end of the day. It wasn't till later that day at around 4pm that Friday that I call European motor cars and learn to discover THEY HAVEN'T EVEN STARTED IT YET. While Jordan earlier that day told me they were working on it. Then the following Monday I receive a $750 charge from ********** for the rental car of 21 days. During this period of 21 days I was not charged at all by ********** and had no idea that European Motor Cars would slap the bill on me last minute when they said they would cover it. To me this is very deceiving and a terrible business practice. If European Motor Cars told me/or switched the billing over to me immediately then I would not have rented it as long. They finally get my transmission in and I go to pick it up and it is still not shifting correctly, part of the center console is in the way, this was part of my original problem. I wait another 2 hours while the technician fixes the center console, something that should've been done before I even got there. I then proceed to explain to European Motor Cars why I should not have to pay for the entire bill on the rental car (because they never told me I would or switched the billing over to me so I had no idea I would be getting any charges). John, the owner admits it was a communication error on their part but would will not cover more than a little over the half of the bill. So at this point I owe them $2800 for the transmission and yet they will still not cover the rest of the rental car bill. Now I just wanted to get out of there get my car back, and not deal with them again. After 4 days of getting my car back from European Motor Cars and driving to ******* Springs, the passenger side engine mount completely broke and the engine dropped to the ground. Luckily I was only going 20 mph or else I could've been in a serious accident as I was about to drive on i25. This occurred without warning (as in no event led up to this happening, I did not run over anything, etc.) The only factor was that European motor Cars installed the new transmission 4 days prior. Now European motor cars claimed they don't have to touch that side of the car while changing the transmission, which is true if they did it right. However before I brought my car in, the engine was sitting in the engine bay. 4 days after I get my car back from European motor Cars the engine is on the ground... Something doesn't add up. Previously in April I had European Motor Cars inspect the the motor mounts as I was having some noise from the front end. They wound up telling me in April that I needed a new dogbone mount. Then John the owner told me exactly "We tightened up the driver side mount and it shouldn't be going anywhere." It was fine for the 2 months and 1500 miles before they changed the transmission out, which then the engine fell to the ground 4 days after getting my car back. During this time no one else had touched my car and they were the only ones doing work on it. The Shop in ******* I had my car towed to after the engine fell out said that the bolts in the mount have been loose for a while and that they broke which is why the engine fell, this required them to re tap the threads. But European Motor Cars told me only 1500 miles ago that they were fine. Either they did not tighten them/make sure they were tight in April. Or they did something when they changed out the transmission, because the engine should not fall out only 4 days of having my car back I just want European Motor Cars to accept the responsibility of the damage and cover the cost of repairs of my engine falling which is $1035. Also to cover the rest of the rental car bill. European Motor Cars currently also has my old transmission which they will be make money on, yet will not help me out on the repairs for my car. Overall I am tired of dealing with them, their terrible ******** service, and being deceived all along the way, and just want compensation for the damages. Here is an image taken the night of my engine falling out, only 4 days after I picked my car up from their "shop"

Desired Settlement: $1035 to cover damages due to the engine mount Cover the remaining balance on the rental car.

Business Response:

1.)    This vehicle was towed into the shop in a “non-operational” status.  The day a vehicle is towed in does not make
it the day it is scheduled.  In fact, we told ***** that if he got it to us sooner rather than later, we may be
able to get it worked in more quickly, but there was no guarantee.  ******* appointment was scheduled for
Thursday.  However, we did have our technician attempt a parking lot diagnosis, as the lifts were full and would be taken for
the next couple of days. After determining he would in fact need the lift, we had to wait until there was an open slot. 
Our first open lift ended up being on Friday s***e we got behind on our schedule.

2.)    ***** did ask if he could have a rental car, but his initial question was something
along the lines of, “I really need a vehicle to get around, is there any way
you guys could get me a rental car?” We told him that wouldn’t be a problem,
but that all we can authorize is for the first day.   He then asked the next day if he could extend
the rental for another “couple” of days (definitely not “until the car is
fixed”, we would never agree to that, especially when we were suspecting the
transmission). This is when the miscommunication truly began, we told him we
would call ********** and extend the rental car, but did not expressly tell him
that he would have to pay for it from there on out. – (Please see general
********** contact where it states that ******** is responsible for payment of
the car if our company is not authorizing payment).   We accept a little responsibility. However we
told him the day prior that we can only pay for that first day.  We never said we would cover it. EVER!
Transmissions are a process. We have to diagnose it (~2 days), find a
transmission (3-5 days), ship it here (~5 days), install it (2 days), and then
get the car to alignment (1 day)… minimum of two business weeks, and definitely
don’t make enough profit to even cover the cost of a rental car for that period
of time. 

3.)    We have special contracts with ********** with discounted rates for our customers.  This is a relationship we have built up and
offer in good faith to our customers.  We are NEVER automatically responsible for paying rental car bills for our customers.  We did extend our authorization from June 9th
to June 17th and paid $260.97 for ******* rental car service, we also discounted ***** $125.00 off his repair bill as compensation for this miscommunication.  ***** decided to keep the car beyond the 17th
by his own choice.  As you will see from the contract, (which ********** does have a copy with his signature on it) that
he agreed to those terms.

4.)    The center console of ******* car is completely separate from the transmission.
This is in the interior of the car, and completely unrelated to any of the work
we did when his car came in on the tow truck.    What he came in for (invoice #*****) is as follows: “******** REPORTS SHIFTING PROBLEMS:-1,3,5,
ADJUST SHIFT LINKAGE, BUT DID NOT SEEM TO HELP.” That pointed to a problem with
the transmission, which we replaced.  

We took care of the issue with the center console by having our Technician spend a
couple more hours to fix the problem even though ***** declined the repair on
an earlier visit. We fixed it out of goodwill, and at no additional charge to
*****.  At this point we would have expected gratitude instead of complaints.

5.)    In ******* statement he says he was getting ready to get onto I25 when the engine
fell out of his car. ***** told us that he was driving to his parent’s house in
a residential neighborhood, going no faster than 25 mph.  While we understand this is a stressful
situation, we are concerned with lack of integrity to details.

6.)    In ******* statement the engine was sitting in the engine bay, ***** makes it seem
like we took the engine out of the vehicle.  European Motor Cars did not have to remove the engine at all to fix the
transmission. We never take the engine out of a car to replace the
transmission. If we had taken the engine out, that would have been an
additional 15 hours, that we certainly would have charged ***** for.

7.)    ***** has a 12 year old vehicle with under 100,000 miles on it.  It is a manual transmission.  In our expert opinion, a car with this many
miles and age should not have the wear and tear that it obviously does.  Everything that we fixed is working and
correct, all of the broken items we have fixed point to harsh driving habits. 

8.)    When ***** brought his car here after he had the other shop tighten his
mounts, (Please see our notes on invoice # *****), we were looking for a front
end noise, which we found – his torque mount (a.k.a his dogbone mount) – This part
is located on the bottom of the transmission and is directly related to the
transmission. We replaced the mount and the noise went away, there was no
reason to tighten the other mounts. As far as we know, nothing was said to
***** about tightening any mounts other than the mount that we replaced.  Had we made any other adjustments we would
have written it on the order.   Please understand that just by visually looking at Motor/Engine Mounts we would not
have been able to see that they were worn. Only an actual diagnosis would have given us that information and that
is not what ***** brought his car in for. Especially s***e he recently had another shop work on it.

9.)    The fact that one of the engine mounts broke 4 days after we replaced the transmission,
while unfortunate, has absolutely nothing to do with us. The only part of the
motor we touched was the rear where the transmission is located. We never
touched that side of the car – we had no need to, as nothing we were doing was
situated there.

10.)    While we do take old parts out of cars, we don’t sell them, we recycle them or give them to the ******** upon request.  If the transmission is bad to *****, it is
bad for anybody else.

We ask that ***** take responsibility for his vehicle and his actions. 
European Motor Cars does not have any responsibility to pay for *****’s
rental car, nor to pay for the repairs caused by the motor mount breaking.  European Motor Cars has already paid for a
portion of the rental car and given a discount on the service to repair the transmission. 

Please see the supporting documents to validate our statement.


Consumer Response:

1) If European Motor Cars told me that they were waiting on a lift and that all of the ones they had were occupied I would have been more understanding of the situation. Instead they neglected to tell me straight to the point the status of when my vehicle would be looked, etc. And led me to believe they were in fact looking at it.
2) First off European Motor Cars was the one to suggest getting a rental car for me, which yes they said one day at first. I did not ask for the rental car for “a couple of days.” I EXPLICITY said “until my car is fixed.”  For them to say otherwise is putting words in my mouth. I specifically was talking to Jordan when I said this, it is his fault he heard me ***orrectly and fail to mention any stipulations along with it. Throughout my experience with European Motor Cars talking to Jordan has been difficult and I believe a lot of these problems with miscommunication are a result of him. I do not need to ask European Motor Cars for permission to keep and pay for my own rental car; I do not need European Motor Cars to contact Enterprise for me to pay for my own rental car. They led me to believe something completely different.
3) European Motor Cars extended the rental car from June 9th to June 17th AFTER charging me $750 for the rental car. Meaning they chose to cover an extra 8 days AFTER I complained about this to European Motor Cars and Enterprise. For them to say “***** decided to keep the car beyond the 17th
by his own choice” is completely false, because European Motor cars only after my complaint extended the rental.  They make it sound like I knew I’d be charged after the 17th which is completely FALSE.
4) For European Motor Cars to deny that the center console was one of my original problems when I brought my car in to be fixed for the transmission and is unrelated to the transmission problem is absolutely ridiculous. I told them (as they have shown in their response) that I had problems shifting and that, the center console would move while shifting to 2nd gear and 4th. For them to not realize this is related, and to just replace the transmission and not actually check to see if is shifting INSIDE THE CAR correctly (where shifting occurs) is absurd. It was obviously a problem the whole time; I noticed it immediately when I picked the car up. For them to not take care of it before I got there is negligence.
5) In my statement I did in fact state that I was getting ready to go on I25, as in 10 more minutes driving out of my residential neighborhood (going 20mph) I would be on I25. Meaning that if the failure of my engine mount happened 10 minutes later, I would be on I25 going 75mph which would’ve resulted in a lot more damage and possibly an accident that could’ve resulted in my death. European Motor Car’s lack of comprehension is astounding. 

7) European Motor Cars is correct in stating that my car is 12 years old, or 4380 days old. So for more than 4370 days the engine was sitting in the engine bay. 4 days after I pick it up it is sitting on the ground. The odds are against it that European Motor Cars had nothing to do with the failure of the engine mount, there’s no arguing this. This is something their “expert opinion” overlooked. I had the other mechanic who fixed my car after the damaged caused by European Motor Cars tell me that it is due to THEM that the damage occurred, So another expert opinion thinks otherwise. Also European Motor Cars has no idea about my driving habits. They will be the first to tell you that the dogbone mount is one of the most common things to fail on this car and that replacing it is not unheard of at all, and that the OEM mount is weak. That’s why we went with a poly urethane mount, so this would not happen again. Also John, the owner, personally told me that the failure of my transmission was not due to me at all. He said that problems with these transmissions are rare and that this was a “fluke” event, not caused by anything Ive done. So to correct European Motor Cars, none of this points to my driving habits at all. All their claims are baseless.
8) “there was no
reason to tighten the other mounts. As far as we know, nothing was said to
***** about tightening any mounts other than the mount that we replaced.  Had we made any other adjustments we would
have written it on the order.   Please
understand that just by visually looking at Motor/Engine Mounts we would not
have been able to see that they were worn. 
Only an actual diagnosis would have given us that information and that
is not what ***** brought his car in for. “
For them to state there was no reason to tighten the mounts is absurd.  I brought my car in explaining specifically to check the engine mounts. For them to state that they would’ve added it on the order, no they wouldn’t have, because they didn’t charge me to tighten the mount. John, the owner tells me he doesn’t remember every specific detail about every car that comes in, and I believe him. However this is my car, and I remember every detail that was told to me. Without a doubt I was told that they checked and tightened the engine mount when I brought it in during that time, I’d even take a polygraph to confirm this. For them to say “this is not what ***** brought his car in for” is  laughable, they are only trying to make it look like this was unrelated. 

All European Motor Cars has done with this reply is make defamatory accusations, be dishonest about our interactions, and make baseless claims about my driving habits. All of which I will not tolerate. It’s evident from their reply and their dishonesty, that all they care about is profit, not ******** satisfaction, nor a job-well-done. All of this proves the bad business I have received s***e day one. It is surprising to me they are a bbb accreted business s***e they are not the least bit honest.  I’m certainly not satisfied and will not be until European Motor Cars accepts responsibility for the damages and pays for them and the rest of the rental car bill accordingly. I spent over $2800 dollars at their shop and then 4 days later another $1000 is needed to fix the damage THAT THEY CAUSED, this is absurd.  

Business Response: Dear BBB,

In regards to the complaint made by ***** ****** and his last responses, we feel it necessary to provide an explanation in detail.

This ******** has had many problems with his car.  As you will can see from our statement and service records, our shop had nothing to do with why his motor
mount broke.  Our shop repaired the problems the ******** came in with each time.  All the repairs are working in his car. His complaint that our shop had something to do with his main engine mount breaking is false as you can see by our explanation.  Repairing the Torque mount and then following that repair with having to replace a transmission is a lot of money to any person.  However our shop had nothing to
do with this customers engine mount.

Invoice # ***** -- This vehicle is a2003 ** ***** ***.

On 4/22/2015 ******** brought his car in with a concern over a front end noise.  It states specifically that this ******** recently had another shop tighten engine mounts, however the noise persisted. Our shop was not informed about which mounts were tightened by the other shop, as we never received that information from *****.   Our shop performed a
diagnoses which recommended repair of Torque mount, Shifter cable slides were worn, brakes needed to be replaced and struts were in need of replacement.  Our shop performed all recommended repairs at that time.  In a conversation with the owner of this shop after repairs were completed, ***** was informed that his center console was not lined up properly and that we recommend getting that fixed at his next appointment. The center console is a plastic piece that goes around and over the shift linkage inside the interior of the car.

5/20/15# *****

Mr.****** brought his car in for an oil change and was concerned with a creaking coming from the rear of the car – his comment to us is “please check if we have
enough time”.   Our statement says “we could not find any obvious problems, recommend keeping an eye on for now, will need further diagnosis when problem worsens”. 

7/1/15 –Invoice # *****

“******** reporting shifting problems, 1,3, 5 and reverse are fine, 2 & 4 seem like longer shifts.  ******** attempted to adjust shift linkage, but did not seem to help. 
Mr. ******** appointment was on a Thursday, however we mentioned that if he got his car to us sooner we would try to squeeze it in.  As we mentioned in our last statement, we did have our tech do a parking lot assessment, however that assessment told us we needed a lift and we did not have another lift available until Thursday.  It is unfortunate that Mr. ****** did not hear us correctly when we stated that. 

This diagnosis resulted in a recommendation that the transmission be replaced and that the shifter cable ends be replaced.  Both of which our shop performed and are in good working order on Mr. ******** car. 

If you don’t know anything at all about the location of the transmission please know that the transmission is in the Driver’s side of the engine bay and underneath
the vehicle. 

While Mr. ****** has several complaints against us, many of them are misunderstandings that are easily clarified.  I will address them here.  Regarding the rental car; Under no circumstances is our shop ever responsible for covering the cost of a rental car.  We offered to pay for 1 day.  When he asked if he can keep it longer and we replied yes, that never meant that we would pay for it, he had a contract with Enterprise when he signed it stating that he is responsible for payment.   Any additional discount we offered was to try to make him happy, not out of responsibility. 

There are three “motor mounts” in this vehicle: the main engine mount – located on the top of the engine on the Passenger side of the engine bay.  The bolts on this mount go directly into the engine.  The torque mount – which is located underneath the car in the center, (we replaced this mount, see Invoice #*****), and the transmission mount – located on the Top of the engine bay on the Driver’s side of the car – the bolts go directly into the transmission.  (The transmission mount is the only mount we worked with when replacing the transmission).  

Mr. ****** has asked that our Shop pay for the repairs the ******* shop completed on his vehicle due to his Main engine mount breaking and dropping the motor.   The technician at that shop told us that the bolts were worn out and that is why they broke.  There is no way anyone can visually inspect the condition of Motor Mount bolts without taking them out.   Clearly, our shop never had anything to do with that particular mount.   Our shop diagnosed and fixed the problems in his car and all of those parts are in fine working order.  Our shop also offered a discount in addition to the two hours we provided free of charge to fix the center console on the interior of the car.   The image this ******** shared on his initial statement looks like the passenger side of the motor has dropped.  This indicates the main motor mount on the passenger side of the motor.  Our shop is not responsible for the new damages to his car.  If he wishes to complain to a shop about his main motor mount, he should consider talking to the shop who worked on them before bringing his car to us.

Mr. ****** visits many different shops, he also performs some of the mechanical work on his car.  This is not someone who is looking to build a relationship with the people who fix his car.  He is looking for someone to blame for the problem in his car.  If it was our responsibility, we would be the first to step up and take responsibility; however this one is not our responsibility.  Mr. ****** is fishing for someone else to pay for his repairs. 

We ask that Mr. ****** cease his complaint with European Motor Cars, we are not responsible for the damage done to his car when the Main engine mount broke.  We ask that any negative reviews he may have written be taken down and that he not bring his vehicle to us in the future.

Here are some recent positive reviews our shop received:

***** ** ** ********* ** on 07/15/2015
***** said the business has great
******** service and really good employees who are super honest. He trusts them
Vehicle: ******* ***
Category: Service
Service Date: 07/13/2015
Order #: *****
******** ID: ****
Review Created: 07/15/2015
Source: API
Response Time (in days): 33.3
This review was collected via phone
interview by ******** ******** ***.

******* ** ** **** ******** ** on 07/15/2015
******* said this business' service
was efficient. She was happy with the overall experience.
Vehicle: **** **
Category: Service
Service Date: 07/13/2015
Order #: *****
******** ID: ****
Review Created: 07/15/2015
Source: API
This review was collected via phone
interview by ******** ******** ***.

***** ** ** **** ******** ** on 07/12/2015 Great service and knowledge of Euro cars European
Motor Cars service has been great. They really know what they are doing and are
a very honest repair shop.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have made it pretty clear that I am unhappy with the service from European Motor Cars, the damages they caused to my vehicle, vehicle, and their dishonesty throughout this whole process. I have nothing to add to my statements, they are pretty clear in showing European Motor Car's faults, everything in my statement is what happened 100%, can't say the same for European Motor Cars.
Now it's time for them to take some responsibility, instead of blaming me, and pay for the damages they have caused to my vehicle. I won't be satisfied until they do.

***** ******

5/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would not recommend taking your vehicle to European Motor Cars (EMC) for any type of repair. Around November 2013, the engine in my 2006 *** ***** overheated and I took the vehicle in to European Motor Cars. It was recommended that I replace the radiator hose and sensor which I did for $504.00. When I picked the vehicle up on November 27, 2013 it was recommended that I have some additional repairs done to prevent the vehicle from overheating but the parts would need to be ordered. I took my vehicle back into EMC to have the water pump replaced and I paid $947.44 on December 6, 2013. The overheating issue persisted and I continued taking the vehicle in and having coolant added and having it looked at. The only issue that I had with my vehicle was the overheating issue. The dates and cost for repairs attempting to fix the overheating issue are as follows: November 27, 2013 - $504.32, December 6, 2013 - $947.44, June 23, 2014 - $451.49, July 24, 2014 - $84.57, September 25, 2014 - $292.11, October 10, 2014 - $1,553.90. KEEP IN MIND THAT ALL OF THESE REPAIRS ARE FOR THE SAME ISSUE, THE ENGINE TEMPERATURE LIGHT. After the last repair, the problem still persisted. Needless to say, I was pretty tired being charged this kind of money for repairs that were not properly done. Before the final attempt to repair the car, I called Terry (who I believe is the service manager) and told him that I felt like that I had been taken advantage of and that I wanted to take the vehicle to a different mechanic. I was told that if I brought the car in one more time "he guaranteed the problem would be fixed." $1,553.90 later, my engine temperature light was still coming on. I paid EMC $3,833.83 to fix the overheating issue. I took the repair to a different mechanic, paid an additional $1,542.73 and my car has never overheated again.. I would like to also point out that I have contacted the business several times attempting to resolve this issue. Two of the times I was told that they would look into what they could do, but I have never received a call back. When I took my vehicle to the mechanic that actually repaired the problem, I was told that one of the gaskets was not replaced properly and that was causing oil to leak into the coolant. The oil in the coolant caused the water pump to fail. When the cooling system was drained, the mechanic found that the coolant was mostly water and that it was the incorrect mixture. I was able to put this in writing for me but there were additional things mentioned that the mechanic believed could have been caused by EMC that he would not put in writing. I would not take any vehicle that you want to run reliably to European Motor Cars.

Business Response: Dear BBB,

EMC is very saddened by this customer.  Mr. ******* recently attempted to not pay EMC by filing a dispute with his credit card company.  The bank dismissed the case in favor of EMC.  In Mr. ********** complaint to BBB he references the dealer invoice that the overheating was caused by the oil leaking into the coolant.  Please see the repair order from his first visit to EMC where he was told the same thing.

It is simply not true that EMC did not know what was wrong with this car.  This customer implies he brought it back for EMC to fix the car six times. Different repairs were made at each visit but never the necessary repair to fix the root problem, at the customers insistence. This customer states in his letter that the repairs done by EMC caused this contamination problem.  He brought it to EMC because of the problem.  Why does he state EMC caused it?

The customer also implies that he paid for the same repair six times.  This is obviously not true either, please see the timeline of repairs.  

11/27/13 -- RO # *****  
Radiator hose and sensor were repaired along with and oil service. At this time it was reported to customer to repair oil cooler (AKA oil filter housing) and seals which were leaking.  He was asked to bring the car back ASAP to have it repaired.  Customer declined at this time.
12/6/13 - RO # *****
Customer had water pump replaced but again declined the necessary repair which was the root cause of the problems in the car.
4/24/2014 - RO# *****
No complaint of overheat -- Oil Service performed
6/23/14 - RO # *****
Customer returned with coolant and over-heat issues.  EMC replaced belt, hose and hose barbs.  It was noted by mechanic at that time that coolant mixture was not correct as customer was adding water.  Customer declined recommended repair to fix the root problem.
7/24/2014 - RO# *****
Customer came in to have his codes cleared & oil service.  He was advised to fix the initial issue.
9/25/14 - RO # *****
Customer returns with overheat issue.  EMC replaced the thermostat and bolts.  Customer continued to decline recommended repair stating financial hardship.
10/10 14 - RO # *****
Customer finally agreed to have recommended repair on oil cooler/oil filter housing. The vehicle left EMC in good working order.

One week after this final repair, Mr. ******* personally came into EMC to say thanks and the car has never run better. He was a very happy customer.

11/4/14 - Dealer Invoice -- It states that the cooling system overheating is due to waterpump failure.  

The root problem as confirmed by the dealer invoice was component failure caused by oil leaking into the coolant.  We told him this at his first visit and he always refused to fix this until his last visit to EMC.  Exactly what we told him was going to happen did happen which was that he had to fix the oil cooler housing/seals to ever fix the car and the cooling system components would deteriorate and fail prematurely until this was fixed.  

Unfortunately, the waterpump failed sometime after the last repair.  EMC installed the waterpump on 11/27/13.  Of course it was subjected to an oil and water mixture for about a year before it failed. Our parts are warrantied for 2 years for normal failure.  His choice to have another shop replace parts that should have been under warranty was his own and he should be responsible for that choice and not try to get EMC to pay for that choice.  

Every mechanical part that EMC sold this customer (and all the labor it took to install) is still in good working order,  with the exception of the waterpump which failed probably due to the oil/water mixture of the previous year.  The customer is driving his vehicle with EMC’s parts and labor in his car.  His vehicle is an older *** with continuing problems.  As with most things, if repair is not done in a timely manner, other elements will also sustain damage.  It is not correct to say that EMC did not know what the problem was in this car.  It was recommended from the very beginning of EMC’s service to this car to have the oil cooler housing/ seals replaced.   

Mr. ******* is asking for a refund of a whole year of service, parts and labor to his older model BMW.  EMC understands that having to fix a car is not always pleasant.  However, EMC has clearly documented that Mr. ******* did not authorize the recommended work.  Mr. ******* states that he contacted EMC several times to attempt to resolve the issue.  Shop owner **** ******** spoke to him each time and offered for him to bring the car in to fix the issue.  Mr. ******* refused.  EMC does not diagnose cars unseen.

EMC requests that Mr. ******* cease his complaints about European Motor Cars Inc. 

******* ******* 

European Motor Cars, Inc.
505 Riverside Ave
Fort Collins, CO 80521

10 Attachments 
Preview attachment **************.jpg
Preview attachment *************.jpg
Preview attachment *******#*****.jpg
Preview attachment *******#*****.jpg
Preview attachment *******#*****.jpg
Preview attachment *******#*****.jpg
Preview attachment *******#*****.jpg
Preview attachment *******#*****pg1.jpg
Preview attachment *******#*****pg2.jpg
Preview attachment *************.jpg

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

Dear BBB,

I am rejecting this response because European Motor Cars has done nothing to make this right.

I would like to say that I am also saddened by the way EMC has handled their inability to repair my vehicle.  I would also like to point out that although I did attempt to contact Ms. ******* and left messages for her a couple of times that I have never spoken to her.

I would also like to point out that throughout the period that I was taking my vehicle into EMC that I had all recommended repairs done.  Each time I took the vehicle in EMC thought
the overheating issue had been repaired.  If you look through the invoices, you will see that the only invoice that mentions additional repairs being needed is the one from 11/27/13.  The parts needed to be ordered for the repair and I took my car right back in to EMC about a week later and paid for the recommended repairs.

It was never mentioned to me and it is not printed on any of the invoices following the invoice on 11/27/13 that additional repairs were recommended.  Each time I took my car in EMC thought the issue was repaired.  I think that it is interesting that only one invoice recommends additional repairs and it is followed by another invoice about 10 days later for $947.44
and now EMC is saying that I was not having the recommended repairs done.

Although EMC did swap out different parts over the course of almost a year, I did bring my car in for the same issue each time which was the overheating issue.  It was recommended that I purchase many parts that probably were not necessary.  A good example of this is when a perfectly good battery was replaced (invoice from 10/10/14).  I had never had any issues with my battery but I was told that the battery was somehow involved with my engine overheating.  The overheating issue was never repaired by EMC.

If the root problem was the final repair that was done by EMC then why did my car continue to have the same problem?  Another question is if everything was “in proper working order” as of 10/10/2014, then why was my coolant contaminated with oil and my coolant improperly mixed on 11/4/14?  Although I NEVER added water to my cooling system, even if EMC receives the benefit of the doubt, wouldn’t it make sense to replace contaminated fluids after a $1,554 repair?

If it is not correct to say that EMC did not know what the problem was with my car (overheating), it certainly is correct to say that they were unable to repair it.  EMC is saying that I did not give them the opportunity to look at my car to fix the issue; I gave them plenty of chances to fix my car against my better judgment.  I wish that I had switched mechanics sooner.

I would not recommend taking your vehicle to European Motor Cars.

******* *******

Business Response: Dear Mr. ********,

We hear that you are unsatisfied with the result of a years worth of service with EMC.  It is our experience that upon 1st seeing your vehicle we estimated the cost of fixing the leak on the oil cooler housing.  You declined.  This recommendation is on the first repair ticket.  Our system keeps recommended repairs listed on our computer and does not continue to print them each time you come in.  As you know, you get to talk to **** or our service writer face to face each time you bring your car in for service.  During that face to face conversation, you are given a verbal play by play of everything done to your car and reminded of recommendations that are still outstanding.  You were given verbal reminders each time you came in and each time you declined.  

You were also instructed that unless you fix this problem, you would continue to have issues and things will deteriorate.  So yes, you may have been bringing your car in to fix an overheat problem, however it is clearly documented that you did not fix the recommended repair until a year later.  At that point EMC had provided you with parts and service and discounts to help you during your prolonged financial difficulty.   Asking for EMC to return money for an entire year of service is simply ridiculous.  Not only did we spend time, parts and money on your vehicle, you are currently driving around with all of that in your car.  

To address your issue about the battery being replaced.  Your vehicle is a fully computerized car that runs off an electronic system.  If your battery is not properly providing enough energy, your Electronic water pump, electronic systems will not work properly.

11/27/2013  -- Made recommendations to repair.
10/10/2014 - 1 year later - made the recommended repair.  One year of damage and deterioration to your car parts. 

Mrs. ******* simply works as a support for EMC and is only in the office one day a week.  **** ******** is the person you need to communicate with and you did speak with **** several times.   Keep in mind that EMC was notified by you one week after the final repair that everything was great.  You personally came in to tell **** and everyone at the shop how happy you were.

It was a complete surprise to EMC when the following two things happened:You chose to take your car to a dealer and have them replace the water pump.  As you may know now, that pump would have been under warranty at EMC.  EMC replaced the water pump on 12/6/2013.  Almost a year later (a year of deterioration and neglect due to you declining service) you had the water pump replaced at another shop 11/14/14.  Of course the water pump was subjected to contaminants.  However, to suggest that EMC did not put the correct coolant levels in your vehicle during repair is untrue.  If a major part (Water pump) is still working when a shop does a repair, the shop does not take out all the parts of a car, clean them and replace them as a courtesy.  Shops replace things when they break, otherwise all cars would always have brand new engines and parts all the time and mechanics would all be millionaires.   The other shop also charged you for a thermostat and other things which EMC had just completed, effectively charging you a 2nd time, seems to us that you would have a dispute with them about replacing something you just paid for.You disputed your final two payments with the credit card company which found in EMC’s favor.  Both of these actions result in EMC’s loss of confidence in wanting to help you as a customer.  EMC did provide you with many parts and discounts to help you out over the course of the year.  The discounts are documented clearly, however the parts are not.  EMC did those as a favor and you are well aware of them as you mentioned them in your letter.  IF your car is running without a overheating issue now, EMC is glad you are satisfied.  Your troubles would have been nothing had you simply done the recommended repair when EMC first suggested you do so.  Your choice of refusing that repair over the course of a year was your own.  European Motor Cars should not be held responsible for your actions.

European Motor Cars Inc. does not feel that anything is owed to Mr. ******** especially not an entire year worth of service tickets, that is ridiculous.  We ask that Mr. ******** accept that he made poor choices with the maintenance and care of his vehicle and understand that no mechanic will force an unauthorized repair on a customer.  It is always up to the customer to authorize needed service and repairs.  To do otherwise would be unethical.   European Motor Cars has 20 years of positive community service in Northern Colorado.  

It is unfair for a person to attack our reputation because he is unhappy due to his own choices.  We ask that Mr. ******** cease his attack on European Motor Cars Inc and accept his responsibility in how things played out with his vehicle.

Best Regards,
**** ********
Owner - European Motor Cars Inc. (EMC)

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

Dear BBB,

I am rejecting this response because:

The one thing that is clearly documented is the fact that less than a month after European Motor Cars (EMC) attempted a major repair to the cooling system in my vehicle is that the cooling system failed due to the coolant being improperly mixed and that there was oil in my coolant.  I cannot see how these two things would happen if my cooling system was in proper working order as of 10/10/14.  I can only see two possibilities for this scenario, either the seals were not put in properly or if they were, contaminated and improperly mixed coolant was left in my vehicle.  Either one of these is a major oversight.

There is no way that me taking my vehicle to a second mechanic was a surprise to EMC.  I communicated my frustrations and intentions very clearly before taking my vehicle in to EMC for the repairs the final two times. 

The second mechanic who successfully repaired my vehicle after a year plus of taking it to EMC flushed the cooling system.  This seems like a reasonable way to remove contaminants from the system.  I would like to know why this was not done during the repair on 10/10/14.  I would also like to know how my coolant was mostly water prior to taking the vehicle to the second mechanic.

I disagree with what **** said regarding me not having recommended repairs done to my vehicle.  I did not refuse repairs recommended by EMC.  After I paid for my repairs on 11/27/13, I brought my vehicle in a little over a week later for additional repairs which I understood was the recommended repair. 

After I left the shop on 12/6/13 it was never mentioned to me verbally or in writing that there was work that needed to be done to my vehicle that I had not done.  To suggest that I would continue to pay multiple bills from a couple hundred dollars up to $1,553.90 to avoid paying to have seals put in my vehicle is nothing short of ridiculous.  What **** is saying about me refusing to have needed repairs done is not true.  I also did not voice a financial hardship and paid my bills immediately after additional parts were swapped out of my car each time.  I would like to know how they came up with this because it has been mentioned a couple times now.

Regarding replacing the battery, I have not spoken to anyone that could say that engine overheating is caused by the battery.  All I know is my vehicle overheated before the battery was replace and afterwards.  I had never had any issues with the battery.

The only discounts that I could find are for $114.05 off labor and installing a radiator hose on the bill from 10/10/14 and $100 on the bill from 9/25/14.  If additional undocumented parts were installed in my vehicle, I findthat concerning.

My vehicle is running without an overheating issue at this point.  The fact that my vehicle is running well at this point is because I took it to a different mechanic that was able to repair it.  I think it is interesting and frustrating that EMC is trying to take credit for something they never repaired.

Regarding my poor choices that I made with the maintenance and repair of my vehicle, the only one that I can think of is taking it to EMC.


******* *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like my complaint ID ********, to be handled through an Arbitration hearing with BBB.



Business Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like my complaint ID ********, to be handled through an Arbitration hearing with BBB.


**** ********


2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought 2003 LandRover on 12/6/12. Motor filed on 12/19. Brought back under warranty on 12/21. Truck is still not fixed. on 12/6/12 i purchased a 2003 Land Rover Discovery SE7 from European Motor Cars.Vin SALTWXXXXXAXXXXXX. The Sales Person was ***** ******. I paid in full by check, #0752 for the ammount of $6791.40.the vehicle came with a 3k mi / 3mo powertrain warranty. the odometer reading was XXXXX. On 12/20/12 the truck had mechanical problems while driving, truck broke down, and was towed back to EMC on 12/21/12. The damage was a broken crankshaft / piston and the motor needed to be replaced. I spoke with ***** and ****** at EMC to discuss options. They said that they would make things right, cover all labor. They would try to keep the replacement parts at or around the $1000 warranty. days and weeks went by. I contacted the dealer for updates and finally after over a month i finally had to purchase a used engine block and oil pan out of pocket.only after this did the repairs start. We discussed the issues and concerns about using the used parts before they started and we both agreed to proceed. I have tried my best to work with them, but now after having the parts for over 2 weeks, i just think something is wrong. I have talked to ****** in the shop and he reassuring me, but i just dont know what to expect next. I realized that i purchased a used car, and expect mechanical issues, but not a blown motor. When i discussed the condition of the vehicle with *****, before purchase was made, i asked specific questions about the motor and oil pump and he said that the shop had replaced the oil pump when they got the truck in and that the shop inspected it and there were few issues. since some of these things were replaced i thought that the truck would be a good buy. There has got to be something done, it has been almost 2 months in the shop. As of 2/8/13, when i spoke with the shop, there are yet more issues. I have incurred rental car expenses of over $1400 and a lot of inconveience. I had only heard good things about EMC, that is why i decided to by the truck there. This has gone on too long,i am just not confident that they are willing to make things right that is why i am writing this now. This has been a huge financial drain on me.

Desired Settlement: This appears to be a lemon law issue, i would hope that we can work out a trade for another vehicle or a full refund, unless the truck is ready this week. I feel this is more than reasonable, as I have paid over $1400 for a rental car during this time, and i paid out of pocket for parts that the shop was supposed to install. I have been more than patient and cooperative with them.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (450, 6, 2013/02/19) */ I have spoken with *** ab=nd **** at EMC. I think there ws a lot of misunderstanding and mis communications on both ends. I think i jumped too soon to file the complaint. **** and his staff had worked really hard and spen lots of time getting the truck repaired. I believe they were hones and were in no way being deceiving, Becaues of the vehicle, it was had getting some of the parts in, and that i do understand because i have owned these types of vehicles for several years now. If there is any way to unfile this complaint that would be my request