BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northern Colorado and Wyoming
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Auto Warehouse?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Auto Warehouse

Phone: (970) 490-2886 Fax: (970) 490-1700 2019 N College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524 http://www.giantautowarehouse.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Auto Warehouse meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Auto Warehouse include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auto Warehouse
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 09, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1992 Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated: 05/01/2005 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Auto Division-CO
140 W 6th Ave Rm 109, Denver CO 80204
Phone Number: (303) 205-5696

Occupational/Industry License Database Colorado
1560 Broadway Ste 1350, Denver CO 80202
http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Lindberg, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Lindberg, President
Business Category

Used Car Dealerships Boat Dealers Mobile Home Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Auto Warehouse Inc

Additional Locations

  • 2019 N College Ave

    Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 490-2886

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Thursday, September 19, 2013 I received in the mail two final notices of $250 each of a payment that they supposedly had not received. First of all, yesterday, was the first time I was even contacted in any way or given notice of these payments. I do not have a copy of anything that shows me I owe them anything but I do have all the paperwork on the vehicle and on the contract it shows that there was a $500 CASH ON DELIVERY ALREADY PAID.I spoke with them on the phone yesterday as soon as I received the mail, and was told that I was already turned in to the collection agency. I spoke to someone in the financial department of a dealership who looked over the contract and paperwork for the vehicle to see if anything was missed. She assured me that the $500 that they are now trying to get me to pay, was listed at the bottom of the contract as PAID CASH ON DELIVERY. It shows that $500 was DEDUCTED from the total amount of $15,528.56 leaving $15,028.56 om the retail installment sale contract. It says on my copy of the buyer's order and invoice contract, "Total Downpayment $500." This loan/contract HAS BEEN PAID OFF and then out of nowhere, I get this mail regarding more money not only that but I was turned in to collections. My credit is great. I worked my whole life to keep it that way and this is very disturbing.I truly hope that you can resolve this issue I DO NOT OWE THEM ANYTHING and I want my name out of collections immediately. And I do not want any more harassment from Auto Warehouse.(I can fax paperwork to you. Scanner is down at the moment.)

Desired Settlement: This loan/contract HAS BEEN PAID OFF and then out of nowhere, I get this mail regarding more money not only that but I was turned in to collections. My credit is great. I worked my whole life to keep it that way and this is very disturbing.I truly hope that you can resolve this issue I DO NOT OWE THEM ANYTHING and I want my name out of collections immediately. And I do not want any more harassment from Auto Warehouse about any money owed or anything else to do with them.

Business Response:

Hi ***,

 

Attached is a copy of the promissory notes that you signed and agreed to the terms.  Obviously, the amount financed was decreased because of the contract showing $500 that you did not give us at the time of sale.  In turn, we allowed you to make a payment arrangment (Promissory notes attached) that you agreed to pay at a future time.  You did not fufill those agreements and still owe $500.00.  These were all terms that you agreed on.   I don't know why this would be a suprise to you?  Our office has only contacted you once regarding the non payment of the agreement.  She spoke to you by phone and you agreed to pay Auto Warehouse with help from social services.  She also told you that if you didn't fulfill this by a certain time, you would be sent to collections.  By failing to comply with your own arrangement and not responding to the mail sent to your PO Box, we were forced to send this account to collections. 

Regards,

Management

12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to fix issue with the car that was noticed before purchase and was part of the deal to buyt the car. We purchased the car in October of last year with the understanding that the dealership was to fix the catalytic convertor before we picked it up the next week. When we picked it up they told us it was fixed and we signed papers and drove off the lot. We got no more than 2 miles from the dealership and the engine light came on so we took it back to the dealership and they put it on the computer and he said he couldn't find anything wrong with and reset the code. We have had the check engine light come on and then it flashes and we have no power. I have had it into the shop 4 times or more and have had the coil fixed, spark plugs changed, and the last time we had it in they said it was the catalytic converter and it will cost us 1000 to fix it. We called the dealership and asked for the paperwork that they actually fixed it and they said they know they got it fixed and would call. They called back and said they never fixed the catalytic convertor but replaced the coil and spark plug. When we told them we wanted them to fix it they said the best they could do was pay for the labor and give us the parts for cost. They also wanted us to get it to them in Colorado. We can't drive it anymore so it will cost us around 200 to have it trailered to them. We want them to pay for the fix and let our mechanic up here to do it. I am paying for a vehicle I can't drive. We have paid to have it fixed here in ******* and that cost was 1195.00 and want the money it cost reimbursed to us. I have paid for at least 500plus out of my own pocket trying to get it fixed because we never could find out what was wrong until we had it break down in SD in August. **********-Mechanic XXX-XXX-XXXX ****************************, ********, SD XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: We want the cost of the replacement we had to do of the catalytic converter reimbursed to us becauase they told us it would be done and they never did it.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/11/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@yahoo.com Mr. ******, I have reviewed your complaint as well as your deal regarding the Nissan Murano. The story that I recieved was that you brought it down for repairs and my mechanic recommended replacing the fuel cap, spark plugs and coil. After the repairs were done, everything appeared to be working fine and you were ok with te repairs. Then, 10 months later you contacted us regarding there was a problem. From our prospective, it's hard to be atied to a used car longer than a day. Especially not, 10 months. So, here are my resolutions: 1. Trade the vehicle in and well give you a trade allowance as if it was repaired. 2. Get it down to Fort Collins and Well pay for the labor if you pay for the parts. Labor is at least 40% of your prior quotes. Both of these options will require us to go above and beyond. We realize that you have purchased almost a handful of vehicles from us. Certainly, it's in our best interest to take care of you. I believe paying for a repair in your town is an unrealistic compromise. Especially, given the time frame. Please let us know if you'd like to take advantage of our compromise. Sincerly, ****** ****** President Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2012/11/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ********,the story you recieved is inaccurate. After test driving the Murano we noted, as ****** agreed that is had a power issue and that the catalytic converter was needing replacement. We agreed to purchase the vehicle if he could repair the catalytic converter first. When we picked up the vehicle we were told the converter was replaced. 10 blocks from the dealer we returned because the check engine light was on. The mechanic reset the light and told us that is was just that the gas cap needs to be tight and lack of pressure set the light off. We took him at his word. From that time, we have had it in several shops trying to deduce the problem. We did not contact ****** at this point because we understood the "as is" policy. 10 months of continued shop time I finally brought it to the 2nd top Nissan mechanic in the ocuntry who told us that the catalytic converter was the problem. That is when I contacted ******. Any other mechanical problem I would have freely paid for. He misrepresented the facts when he told us the converter was repaired. The mechanic misrepresented when he said it was the gas cap. Only after I contacted ****** to get the documents for the converter repair so I could take the issue up with the shop who replaced the converter did he finally come back to me and tell me (after misrepresenting the facts again by saying he was sure it was done) did he say they only replaced the spark plugs and coil. That is when I moved forward with this report. It is unrealistic for us to pay to tow the vehicle 200 mi to pay for parts that your company was to be responsible for in the beginning. We have already had the repairs done because I could not pay $470/mo. for a vehicle that I am unable to drive it. Satisfying our request is the right thing to do given the REAL story. Had we been told that only the spark plugs and coil were replaced and the check engine came on we would have immediately returned the vehicle and cancelled the sale. We have also lodged a complaint with the State Emmissions Board regarding a vehicle sold with the knowledge that the emissions do not meet the Colorado standard is subject to severe penalty. By ******'s own admission, he did just that. Hd ****** been honest with us in the beginning we would not be at this point. Sincerely ****** ****** Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2012/11/29) */ ******, We are familiar with the laws regarding the emmissions on motor vehicles in Colorado. It appears that you would like to handle this in another way given your threat of lodging a complaint with the emmission board. We can either wait for the status of your complaint or work it out amongst each other. Please let me know how you would like to proceed? ****** ****** Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2012/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ****** I'm sorry you take the filing of a complaint regarding the emissions as a threat. Given the circumstances of the complaint it was prudent to do so under the advice of my legal council. It has no bearing on the outcome unless they find fault with your practice. If not, the facts still stand that your dealership misrepresented a customer on several occassions costing not only financial but also personal hardship since we had not been able to utilize the vehicle for nearly half the time we have had it. We shall continue forward to resolve this matter and the other complaint will be what it may. As someone who has been an upper level manager in customer service oriented businesses for more than 30 years I understand how important it is to build business by serving the customer. I have purchased 4 vehicles over the past several years and have recommended your establishment to numberous others. I know that you will understand this and do what is right. Thank You ****** ****** Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2012/12/06) */ ******, Because I respect the fact that you've purchased 4 vehicles, referred friends, and there was definantly a communication mixup. I am prepared to offer you a one time settlement to resolve your concerns. Otherwise, I am prepared to handle it in any other setting of your choice. My basis for the offer is an amount that it would have cost us had you brought it to Fort Collins for repair. Auto Warehouse will write you a check for $700.00. Our cost on parts would have been $495.00 and the remaining labor. Should you accept the offer, my attorney will draw up a settletment agreement to be signed. The agreement will state that there will be no future considerations regarding this matter legal or otherwise. If that works for you, please let me know in writing so I can move forward on the agreement. Sincerly, ****** ******

7/19/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service